Rent Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball for Wii
view large frontback

Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.2

348 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

How Not to Play Dodgeball

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

There are many ways to spice up the classic dodgeball game - dressing the players up as ninjas and Mushroom Men isn't one of them.
Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball has the players playing dodgeball and a similar sport called dodgebrawl (which is dodgeball with melee weapons thrown in.)
The game play is the same as the real sport; pick up ball, pass ball and hit other team player with ball (or melee weapon).
Two teams, each varying between one and four players, go at it. Each dodgeball hit takes a bit of life out of the target. When the life meter runs out, that player is out of the match. First team to lose all their players loses the match.
If the mechanics are perfect, this might be a fun game. But that is not the case. (Oh, this game has sooo many technical problems in it).
Balls wander off camera so often that I think they're camera shy. Getting to said balls is aggrivating.
The ball stays the same size no matter where it's on the court, so it's tough to tell where the ball is on the court.
When I do get to a ball, picking it up is a chore; many times my player would walk past the ball.
When I finally get the ball and try to hit the other team, sometimes they catch the ball (something the player can rearly do), sometimes they don't. Sometimes the ball goes off in a different direction then I wanted it to go.
I got no joy out of the solo mode; it's just one bad story after another as I try to unlock a new dodge ball team. What's the use? There's no real difference between pirates, aliens, robots, or any other team on display here.
Some levels in solo mode are tough because it puts limits on what I can do, but not on the AI (in one instance, I couldn't use melee weapons, but the AI can hack me up all it wants. It's frustrating.)
I say you'll have more fun playing the real game in a real playground than Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball on the Wii. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by Blueranger (VISALIA, CA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Just when I thought no game could be worse than Chicken Shoot. I was wrong so very wrong. If your thinking about renting this don't waist your time. The controls are difficult to use. It's hard to see what's going on. In short this game is about as much fun as having you teeth drilled without novocine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pirates vs ninja dodgeball

posted by codperson (LITTLETON, CO) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dodgeball for the wii a great idea. but such a horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont waist your time

posted by theduck39 (CHICO, CA) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Horrible game dodge ball was cool until this game showed up i am sorry but i would not buy this game for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

could be worse

posted by lilbuddy42 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Pirates vs Ninjas: Dodgeball is kind of reminiscent of the old Super Dodgeball on the NES. It's not a bad game, but it doesn't keep my interest. The story is weak, the controls make the game pretty repetitious, and before you know it, you've beaten the game.

There are a few additional character types to choose from aside from the obvious Pirates and Ninjas once you unlock them.

Try it for yourself, but I personally would have liked Super Dodgeball on the NES much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should have came with a Happy Meal

posted by djonesax (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Wow, how can I say it? This game was bad. I played it for 15 minutes and put it back in the envelope. They would throw the ball at me and no matter what I did to DODGE the ball it would hit me. Even if I were rolling across the screen, the ball would curve mid flight and hit me. Maybe I was missing something but the game wasn’t fun enough to make me want to learn more about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OK, but 1D

posted by gijoear (FAIRBANKS, AK) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game was like playing the old Nintendo, its very boring, and just so 1D and not really worth your time unless you like them old games. Low quality for a Wii system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thought Ghostbusters was bad? This is worse!

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

There are many ways to spice up the classic dodgeball game. Dressing up the players as pirates, ninjas, zombies and creepy-looking Mushroom-like men isn't one of them. Pirates Vs. Ninjas Dodgeball is practically the worst game of 2009, worst of the decade, and maybe the worst I've ever played. You'd have more fun being kidnapped by pirates and ninjas than playing this awful game. The graphics are HORRIBLE--like the old Atari. The gameplay is so awful--you can't even tell which side and player you're playing on! The controls are silly, and the dodgeball game breaks the rules--you can beat up opponents with pirate swords and ninja knives as you run around (parents--no blood or gore or extreme violence). When you are hit by an opponent, you can't get back up for at least a minute. It's so annoying. And if you get hit like four times in a long game you have to start all over again! However, there is one positive remark I must give about Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball. You can play with a friend which might make it harder to see which character you're on, but at least you can compete together and so on. But it's so easy it's impossible to lose in this game, and there are so many more awful rounds--including aliens, zombies, and creepy-looking creatures from animated sci-fi/fantasy movies. You'll definetely have much more fun playing dodgeball outside with friends on a real playground instead of playing this pitiful game, even if it's nearly impossible to lose. However, it's also impossible to have fun with this boring, lifeless new title. Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball is so far the winner of the WORST WII GAMES OF THE YEAR competition, and makes Ghostbusters: The Video Game (which recieved a 2/10), look like the best game ever. Don't you understand how AWFUL this game is? If you don't skip it you will waste your time and a rental with a major bore!
I hope to rent the video game of Transformers 2 next, but I hope it'll be much more fun after a drought of horrible games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So bad

posted by zachy1030 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I thought to myself 'Pirates, Ninjas, Robots, and Zombies, man all this game needs is Chuck Norris!' Chuck couldn't save this terrible title. Title sounds awesome, disc looks great, but game is so dumb. There is a samari on the ninja team. They didn't think this through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pirates vs. Ninjas Dodgeball

posted by reddragon1 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

When I rented this game, I thought, "Sure, it's shovelware, but pirates and ninjas? How could I go wrong?" But I was wrong. Oh, so, painfully wrong.

I guess I couldn't have known that after completing the tutorial, you've basically played the entire game. And that's it. The whole game is one board. One repetitive, awful, uninspired, craptastic, board that barely has any ninjas in it. There is essentially only one "character" that they simply paint different colors.

If after reading this review, your morbid curiosity requires that you still rent it, allow me to say something in advance......

"I told you so."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stinker

posted by MJMBulldog (CHINO HILLS, CA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since May 2006

This game is so horrible. About the only good thing is the awesome picture of a skull on the outside of the game disc itself.
The figures on the screen are too small, if you are playing this game on a regular sized tv, even 32inch-beware you won't be able to see much. The gameplay is horrible on this game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by sdrizzit (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is just plain bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »