Rent Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End for PS3
view large frontback

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

1017 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great graphics but repetitive game play

posted by SJAM16 (HAINESPORT, NJ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is all about its graphics but not really about game play. I got bored and frustrated very quickly because you seem to do the same tasks just on different quests. The fighting is the same thru out the game and I really didn't like how the camera movement was. I was constantly correcting it do to normal game play. Also the camera adjustments were opposite of what you want for example if i want to pan left you have to move the control to the right. Some of the sword duels with the bosses were a pain because the controls seemed to be slow and i'd die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible and Repetitive

posted by LatinPrinc (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game play made me feel like a 4 year old for about the first hour, but after that the only real concept to master was the repetitive button mashing! After a while I actually finished the game simply by button mashing, bad experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just another movie based game

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Repetitive fighting, having to switch between characters and keep them all alive when your AI is like...DUMB... got aggravated with this game but stuck it out and beat it in like 5 hours just because I was Jack Sparrow. There are a ton of games out there better to rent than this one so unless your looking for another one to beat quick like I was to add to your list of games beat, dont waste your time. ARRRRRRR, would love a GOOD pirate game but this is not that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by carrockrig (MARYVILLE, MO) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is probably one of the worst games I've ever played. The ONLY good thing about it, is the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by turtle510 (AUSTELL, GA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This came was so bad I couldn't make myself finish the tutorial. I love my PS3, but this game was just shameful. I have Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Man's chest on the PSP and it is a 1000% better than this game. The controls were stiff and the HUD was hard to understand. Jack walked like an 80 year old with hemorrhoids.

Come on guys you can do better than this!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do Yourself a Favor and...

posted by Rid117 (ROBERTSVILLE, MO) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Every once in a while we get a good videogame based on a movie, and this is one of those times. The title of the game may suggest that this game only takes place during the events of “At World's End.” However, roughly half the games take place during “Dead Man’s Chest.”

First of all the game looks very good, and the audio is decent too, although it doesn’t quite capture the epic score of the movies. Regrettably the game play is the games major downfall. The action in the game is hardly comparable to the amazing action scenes of the movie trilogy. The combat in the game is repetitive and extremely simple. The inclusion of split-screen co-op and competitive multiplayer is nice to see but feels tacked on.

Do yourself a favor and rent this game, or avoid it altogether.

Additional Info.
· HDTV 1080i/ 1080p/ 720p
· 2 player co-op and competitive play
· 4 playable characters in story mode
1. Jack Sparrow
2. Will Turner
3. Elizabeth Swan
4. Hector Barbossa
· The Xbox 360 version also includes
1. Joshamee Gibbs
2. Pintel
3. Ragetti
· There are 13 unlockable characters
1. Davy Jones
2. Tai Huang
3. Chevalle
4. Sumbahjee
5. Eduardo Villanueva
6. Cutler Beckett
7. Mercer
8. James Norrington
9. Teague Sparrow
10. Jocard
11. Ammand
12. Ching
13. Bootstrap Bill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prates of the Caribbean:At World's End

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) May 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

At World's End is one of those few games that can be called a good movie based game.On the PS3 the graphics and cinematics are very good.They look like the real actors in the movie.There are some very cool sequences in the game, like the duel fights were you go against a boss and have an all out swordsmanship fight.Bar fights are also fun.You can throw bottles,knives,or just throw punches.The environments look very nice,but since there's always someone trying to slice you up, I don't think you'll be able to enjoy the great views.When your just sword fighting with a group of enemies you have a couple of things to do.You can grab your enemies and throw them around.If you don't feel like sword fighting then just shoot them.You can play as Jack,Will,Elizabeth,and other pirate lords.You can switch between characters during fights too!At World's End is a very good game. It's a must rent for Pirates fans and for everyone.I deffinetly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) May 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only thing that i felt that was bad in this game was the way that u control the views. it becomes a little tricky at some points, but the game as a whole is incredible. the look and feel of the game gives u the impression that u are controlling the movie. the way that the characters looks is fantastic, the game play (controls) is well done, and there are virtually no load times. This was a well done game and i would recommend renting this one. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool Stuff

posted by kairav (Atlanta, GA) May 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I strongly recommend this game for all the pirates fans. This game opens a new genre for a swash buckling game. The co-op mode is fun. The graphics are decent. Not a big multiplayer game. Rent this game, play it and return it. Not worth spending 60 bucks on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING

posted by Grifter (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Jun 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Can sum this game up in 2 words...painfully boring. Not worth $60 dollars...hardly worth renting. Yeah the graphics look nice, but that doesn't hold a lot of weight when 90% of the enemies are defeated by simply repeatedly mashing one button. The boss duels had potential but once again had absolutely no depth. Yet another game where great looking graphics are overshadowed by a complete lack of interesting gameplay. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ahoy matey.. step rite up to this waste of time

posted by LucasBuck (MULBERRY, FL) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let's be serious here...gimme a break with this game already. I would rather chop my finger off and swallow it whole than spend anymore time playing this hogwash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PIRATES OF THE CARRIBIAN: AT WORLDS END

posted by gamepro (ORLANDO, FL) May 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow!...this game was S fun. The graphics were great and the action was never dull. I love the feature where you can grab your enemies and throw them in any direction. The game covers the second movie and the third movie. The missions were fun especially the puzzles that sometimes were really complicated but still interesting. You could visit all the major places in both movies like Singapore and Port Royal. You could use all sorts of attacks like sword, pistol, fist, foot and grab. You even had some missions where you have to switch between characters to keep them all alive. In this game you most times have to use your environment to help you fight like climbing on ropes, firing cannons, lighting things on fire or throwing enemies off walls or cliffs. The face expressions were amazing to! I dont think I would want this game any other way. I totaly, thumbs up, 100%, absolutely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally!!

posted by ratley21 (LAHAINA, HI) May 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game!!This is what i expected out of ps3 games.Great gameplay,fun,and excellent graphics.The duel mode is awesome.This is definetely the best game i've played on ps3 so far,i love this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game sucks

posted by bdawg514 (PARAGOULD, AR) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game sucks it didnt work it would let u play it and it glitches i checked my whole system and i even pluged in diffrent controlles to the system and still wouldnt work dont buy it or rent it from here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pretty, yet pretty horrible

posted by Berbrow (Woodacre, CA) May 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is no doubt one of the best looking games for ps3, yet the game is horrible at being fun. The main objective of this game is to fight and interact with in the world but I found it to be very clunky in its combat. There are very few things to do to fight in the game. The worst part about the fighting is that if your enemy is facing you, your cant fight him, basically your sward slashes do nothing. I found it frustrating, but it seems other people enjoy it so give it a go and if you like it great, just remember that i told Y so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game everrrrrr

posted by jjjjjj (WYLIE, TX) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 27 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this is the best game ever the multiplayer co-op is the collest thing ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Must Be Pirates Movie Fan

posted by druski422 (VILLA RICA, GA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Being a Pirates movie fan I enjoyed the game. But it lacked good video game dynamics, it only took me 5 hours to beat it. The graphics were good but the gameplay left a little to be desired, after a while I was just racking up as many points as I could because beating the levels became a cinch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

oh well

posted by chadestroy (CAPE CANAVERAL, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

well, at first the game seens to develope as a nice adventurous video game, which you easily get bored after a fews stages, all the missons are about the same, playability has no variation at all, controls are about the same throughtout the whole game, graphics arent too good either, i played for a few hours and i thought i was playing PSone or PS2, the games from 2007 which could explain a lot, i bet if any other title comes out, it would be a lot better than this one !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's an ok game

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

If you wanna relax by all means play this game, it feels like a platformer, collecting coins and goodies. It's fairly easy too. Graphics are pretty good. It's a short game , so take this one out for a night and have a relaxing time while you at it even it flaws will have you cursing a few times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Damaged Game

posted by Jrod76 (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was disappointed because the game was sent to me and would not work. I am sending it back immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

posted by l2urik (ELGIN, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

i guess Disney games are only for kids. this was the worst game ever, i only lasted 10 minutes and i had to shut it off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game!

posted by mjmahrooz (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Easy to kill ...no real action....returned the next day !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Michael96 (SOUTH BEND, TX) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Graphics are awesome and very good detail thru out the game !! Almost just like a Pirates of the Carribean Movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

graphics

posted by datwins (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is awesome,very fun to play,the graphics are amazing and the story line gets you hooked I would buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is the best

posted by july04 (ONTARIO, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

this is the best game ever.if you dont play it your a looser.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse