Rent Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End for Wii
view large frontback

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

778 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If pirates used a Wiimote...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the annals of movie tie-in games, few titles are worth the discs they're printed on. Only a few are truly noteworthy (Goldeneye 007 and Chronicles of Riddick come to mind). Luckily, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End is not bad. In fact, it's pretty cohesive, but .
Basically, you play a bunch of main characters from the Pirates movies in swashbuckling missions. You use the Wiimote to slash and stab opponents, chaining those actions for combos. You also get knives, pistols and bombs as equipment for those tough spots. The minions tend to attack you in waves of two or three, but you have some boss battles that have you dueling one on one. Occasionally, you'll stumble upon quick time button sequences, but they're pretty infrequent.
Many of the levels play out with one battle after another, which is very repetitive. However, several levels take place in ports where you can complete sub-missions and play pirate dice and poker. These also include quite a bit of repetitive swordplay, but they're much less linear.
This game actually has most of the story from Dead Man's Chest in addition to At World's End, mostly because that title had no game of it's own. Still, it's not all that long, but bonus objectives could cause devoted players to revisit levels. You can also unlock challenge mode and duel a friend. Still, the limited gameplay (keep swinging that Wiimote until your hand gives out, rinse, repeat) will likely have you ending this back quick. It flows well and has a nice flair to it, but it's a lot of flash with little substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

About what I expected...

posted by tvwebguy (Mentone, CA) May 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My first impressions are that the graphics could have been a bit better. But, modeling people is more difficult then modeling cars or something.

The game play is pretty good and the controls work well enough. But, after a bit of swashbuckling, it becomes more about throwing your arms around a less about strategy. That said, the sword play is still enjoyable.

Their is a dice mini-game that is absolutely boring. I still haven't figured out what the real purpose of it is.

Overall, for a third party game, it's not to bad. Definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but short on game save abilities

posted by kevinj (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The game is fun.

But, the abilities to save the game are sorely lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for your extra time on the weekend...

posted by chuck0late (APO, AP) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game plays decent and the graphics are okay, but the key to any good game is control. The Jackanisms and action sequences are interesting, but normal fighting could have been tightened up a bit more. The game is entertaining when you aren't constantly fighting as the moves aren't very deep. Constantly receiving whole chickens (health points) isn't something I look forward to as you have to eat them often if you are slashed a couple of times when a gang swarms you. I guess part of my problem may be that I have been playing God of War 1 & 2 (for the 1st time) so much on my PS3 over the past couple of months that the bar is set pretty high for an action/adventure game.

Graphics could definitely be tuned up because they are still below par on the Wii. Multi-console release games don't really get enough focus on the Wii as they should to make a good game. Companies definitely need to start sharing the wealth of their programming team resources. Yes the Wii is underpowered from a graphical perspective, but most ports aren't receiving an honest effort to make a good game.

That said, if you like action/adventure games there isn't much else to choose from on Wii, yet... If you can wait a little longer through the summer do just that as games like Resident Evil 4, Scarface, and Metroid are on the way. First two in June and Metriod on Aug 20th...

Rent? - Yeah it is worth some of your time on the weekend.

Purchase? - Not a chance. Not even if Wiis fly over the moon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Good Theater to Game Make

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Here is my new rating method....

Gameplay: Fun
Difficulty: Hard
Graphics: Good
Audio: Good
Controls: Good
Camera: Good
Length: 10hrs
Replay Value: Medium

This title is very good but it is more towards teens and older. It is linear but there are some side missions and it is worth a rental. It follows the 2 movies very well and there is not much bad things to say about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad controls and poor graphics

posted by benjc79 (Denver, CO) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The graphics look unfinished and cheap ... and the controls are horrid for fighting. You just swing, shake, bash the remote to fight people -- which becomes non-stop by the second level and therefore means you just shake the remote non-stop which becomes horrible and old very very quickly -- not to mention the pain in the arm and wrist that comes from it.

Just because the remote CAN be used like that does not mean it SHOULD.

Very poor control system, boring gameplay, bad graphics.

Don't like this game at all.

Ben

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Long live jack

posted by Ringostar (FAIR OAKS, CA) May 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

this game is so fun it has both pirates 2 and 3.one of the best wii games ever you will love this game if you like swashbuckling action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by sparrow (TROUTVILLE, VA) May 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 24 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

yo ho ho this game revolutionized wii it picture are wonderful it fighting scen are exellent that's all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game be a tresher.

posted by dogwhisperer (CONNERSVILLE, IN) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

,ARG, This game be a tresher. Rent it and you can be expecting plunders of action, funy moments, exitment, and adventuer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

johnny depp rocks!

posted by flheidiho (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

enter a world of swordfighting,with jack,will and elizibeth .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Short and Frustrating

posted by BoredinMN_30 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game was not as fun as the video preview made it look. The swordplay controls on the Wii remote are inconsistent, awkward, and just a whole lot of flicking the remote around. When you encounter enemies throughout the game you are always surrounded and outnumbered 4 to 5 to one. This wouldn't be a problem except that when you are fighting one enemy the other three jump in and attack you from behind or your sides. This is frustrating because once they start blocking you can't get a hit in period. The game in total will only take 2 days max to beat it. Then the only replay value is unlocking other characters and treasures through different challenges like performing chained combos of 15 to 35 hits (good luck)!!! The graphics are also weak but the voice acting is so-so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD GAME DONT GET IT !!!!!!

posted by zxcvbnm (LEICESTER, NY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

the reason this game is so bad is because the grapics are bad and it just gets so boring so fast. it was fun at first then got boring so you should not get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HARD

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

So I played this game and there 2 really hard parts.
The first hard part is close to the end but towards the middle.
You have to press the buttons and swing the wiimotes as they show up. Everytime you mess up it starts over completely.
The second hard part is the I think the last level.I have had it about a year and haven't got passed it yet. If you have seen the movie this will be familar to you. Your fight the the crew of Davy Jones' locker. You have a time limit and you switch from both ships and there is lightning, tornatoes.
Do I recomend this game yes but as a rental.
Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good (For A Licensed Game)

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) May 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

As many people may know, I despise most licensed games. But this one was actually fun.

Pros
-cool humor
-interesting environments
-swordplay works
-variety of weapons

Cons
-so-so graphics
-enemies guard is practically unbreakable
-high combos are hard to pull off (see above)

It's fun, but it could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pirates Aren't Just For Kids

posted by Moodys13 (LEXINGTON, SC) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

A FRIEND RECOMMENDED THIS GAME AND SINCE I LIKED THE MOVIE(S), I FIGURED I'D TRY IT. I WASN'T DISAPPOINTED AT ALL. THE GRAPHICS WERE PRETTY GOOD WITH GREAT GAMEPLAY TO MATCH. THE CONTROLS LOOKED COMPLICATED BUT I JUST "PRETENDED" TO HAVE A SWORD IN MY HAND AND THEY CAME TO ME PRETTY QUICKLY.THE JACKANISMS WERE TOUGH BUT FUNNY WHEN THEY WORK.THE CUTSCENES WERE ACCURATE AS WELL AS THE WHOLE STORYLINE. A GREAT GAME FOR KIDS AS WELL AS ADULTS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BEST PIRATE GAME EVER!!!!!!

posted by Camandlay (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

It was 1/2 and 1/2 on the story being based on the movie, but you also get to play Pirates 2: Dead man's Chest. You arm hurts at times and it is difficult to unlock 2 Player Levels, but the levels are good and the Graphics are good for a Movie game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but tireing.

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

When i played this game it was great. But, to swing your sword you have to swing the remote. Plus there are enemies everywhere. The story goes by pretty quickly. If you like the movies and your mom or dad are complaining that your not being active then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

posted by pirategirl (COPPELL, TX) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I think this game was great! I really loved the way the charters were made and how they moved! I also loved the story line! I think I will buy this game when I go on my vacation! My sister loved this game too! It's really good for all the people who loves The Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy! I also love how the charters move and battle against the enemies! By the way some of the game was really hard!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Dreadful

posted by Rorschack (PATTERSON, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I was a fan of the movies and when i found out about the game i was praying that it wasn't like other movie based games. when is comes to movie games most are swings and misses, save for a precious few, and this is a fine example of an enormous flop of a game. It had very few redeeming qualities. The game play was repetitive and very predictable. The music was rather nice but that is simply because it was taken from movies. The controls were absolute garbage most of the game you spent flailing your wii-mote around to attack the enemies. The graphics are comparable to that of an average gamecube game. The game require almost no skill at all. The difficulty is rather odd, at one point it will be really difficult then it becomes a piece of cake in the next area. This "game" is an awful excuse of a game and the developers should at least try when making these games. Just because they know that the casual gamer will buy this carp doesn't mean that they shouldn't put effort into the quality of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I`ve played better

posted by gurujones (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This isn`t one of the best games I`ve played for the wii. The graphics and the game play is good but swinging the wii remote to attack is challenging. When I swung it took a while to respond. The game is good but the controlling isn`t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You can't kick my butt!

posted by Snow1118 (WOODHAVEN, NY) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

Pirates is a very good butt kicking game! Hope alot of people play! Game on!
From,
Snow1118

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great but easy

posted by ihav3nolif (LANCASTER, CA) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

this is a great game if you don't beat games a lot. it is quick and easy but still a lot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Arrrggg... my shoulder maytees!!

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

yes it can get repetitive... but that Kraken boss kix major booty. I thought it was well done... snored through the first movie didn't care about the rest... made for a nice game rental... will I buy it? Hades no... but I may rent it again... or just hang on to it a little longer... sure need to constantly massage my shoulder though... but kind of want to finish it... or wait till I get a better game in the mail... from my list of course... kind of going through the duds right now so I was impressed...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

POTC; At World's End gets a 7.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

It's nice to live an adventure as a pirate. This game offers some decent swordfighting, along with some puzzles to make the adventure more interesting. Plenty of players to choose from on multiplayer. The voice overs are ok. Story mode doesn't feel long enough. Could have used 4 players. For the fans of the movie, it's a decent buy. It's worth a rent to see if you are interested or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

posted by Firelink13 (SHERIDAN, WY) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I enjoyed this game. On the Wii platform it is a lot funner than playing it on xbox(for example) because you actually get to swing your sword, and have interaction other than just buttons. The game itself uses the actual voices from the movie which is a big plus! You actually feel like you are in the movie, and that you are Capt Jack Sparrow. However, as with most things there is a downside to this game. The not so smooth controls system, at times I would have to swing my remote controller very hard to get Capt Jack to swing his sword. It was very frustrating! Also, the game is good for a movie game, but still just average in my book. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse