Rent Pinball Hall of Fame: Williams Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Pinball Hall of Fame: Williams Collection

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

433 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by b0mccue (KALAMAZOO, MI) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of pinball and I was totally blown away with this game! The graphics are AMAZING! One of the best parts of this game is the “Instructions” feature for each pinball machine. The “Instructions” feature is a narrated game play presentation of each pinball machine. If you were to walk up to a pinball machine in an arcade, there would be no way to really know how game play or score is affected by each bank of targets or how to enter or activate different game play modes. The “Instructions” feature gives you this. It names all the banks of targets, raceways, roll-overs, and spinners that are used in game play.

I found no problems with the sound or music. And by the way, if you don’t like the music, you can turn off the music. You have full control of the volume lever of the music and sound effects. If you don’t want to listen to the music provided with the game, you can turn off the music and play your own music on the stereo in you home in the background.

The pinball machines features in this game are the actual pinball machines Williams manufactured. THEY WERE REAL PINBALL MACHINES! All the game play and table art is the same. Here is a list of the pinball machines included with this game and the year Williams made them.

Jive Time (1970)
Gorgar (1979)
Firepower (1980)
Black Night (1980)
Sorcerer (1980)
Space Shuttle (1984)
Pinbot (1986)
Taxi (1988)
Whirlwind (1990)
Funhouse (1990)
Tales of the Arabian Nights (1996)
No Good Gofers (1997)
Medieval Madness (1997)

I played the PS3 version of this game. I can’t testify to the game play of this game on other consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

for a classic pinball fan

posted by thamuffins (PAWLING, NY) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i will hand it to williams for faithfully reproducing several of their classic pinball tables that somehow managed to eat many a quarter from me throughout the years.

sad to see that my favorite table of all time, 'comet' (1985) did not make the cut. maybe next time.

their attempt at creating a virtual arcade experience was 'cute', but unnecessary. a simple menu would get us quicker to the tables instead of having to go 'upstairs' or 'in the back room'.

younger generations may just find this selection of tables 'boring' compared to the CGI 'fantasy' tables that modern video pinball games feature. realize the point of this release is a historical trip of (now) rare pinball of the past, even if it be faithfully 'archaic' by 21st century gaming standards.

in fact i was mildly impressed to notice how little power the flippers produced on some of these tables compared to tables on zen pinball... something i'm sure you'll encounter if you had the real thing in your basement.

on the downside, this game should have taken a cue from zen pinball's features and configurations (custom music, multiple table views). otherwise it's a solid pinball emulation.

i know the next time i see one of these tables in real life, i want a go at them again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Harder Than You'd Think

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really fun game once you get into it. My girlfriend loves it because there aren't so many buttons to push. Some of the tables are hard to master, but you have to have patience and keep trying. The one thing I don't like is the "Williams Challenge". If you start it you have to keep playing because if you only play a few tables and quit, your progress isn't saved. And if you lose at a table, the game stops right there and you have to start the challenge all over again. Other than that, this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tell Williams to make one of these every year!

posted by parkpunk (KETCHUM, ID) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...Until they run out of machines. I'm amazed how much I liked this. I thought it would've been a game I played once and sent back. It's totaly addicting. I'm buying it and adding it to my collection of classic acrade compilations I have from PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Pinball Sim, But Not Great

posted by Robio (OVIEDO, FL) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

As a longtime fan of many of the pinball machines in the Midway Collection, I was really looking forward to playing this. Sadly it didn't blow me away like I expected. The physics are good, and the sound is spot on. But the camera options are really lacking, and I never found one that really did a good job of capturing all the action. That makes playing the game extremely difficult on tables that you're not very familiar with. I say if you're looking for a good pinball game, check out of the the games that Zen Studios has made, and you'll be a lot more satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow a classic on (PL3)!!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) May 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I can play more than one table (nice)! A simple classic is always nice..

I always whated to play MARIO BROTHERS on (PL3) Too....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back when I was a kid....

posted by tbt924 (LACEY, WA) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I LOVED this game. For a kid who grew up playing games in the 80's... this was a huge flashback! They just don't make pinball machines like they used to! I wouldn't want to own this game, but had fun playing with it for the week! Definitely worth the rent for any 80's kid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty much don't need the arcade anymore

posted by ThaGipper (EUGENE, OR) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

All of the other arcade games have been out done with home systems and until now the pin ball was the only game that you couldn't play at home until now.

Extremley accurate the the arcade game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loads of fun!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

I did rent this for the trophies but when I got it I didn't know it would have full detail recreations of the origional pinball machines I used to play. After playing "Medevil Madness" a few times I was hooked! Not only do you just get to play your favorite machines but to up the value of gameplay each machine has a set goals to complete during the game like get the high score or get a multiball madness etc. The control set up is very nice and simple. Its an awesome game overall, its even better if you have a friend to play with. The trophies are simple if your a trophy person but its fun if you want to get them or not. I actually want to keep it and pop it in every now and then. its one of those games you want to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

give me a break

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

this should have been a network onl release if even a game release, who has time for this old crud, I played some of these tables when they first came out, and its not like I wanted to go back and play them, try working on something new that people actually want to have something do with, all these bad releases are really getting out of control, there is only like 3 -5 games worth playing a year. The game industry has really gone off the deep end of bad game release decisions. I can't believe this generation reminds me of the 3do, jaguar, Cd-i generation, what's this cycle nonsense that doesn't have to exist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ok this game not good

posted by magicbritc (MESA, AZ) Oct 13, 2009

Member since May 2006

the PS3 zen pinball is way better then this game. its too kiddie the zen pinball offers a more realistic feel and you can us your own music which make it even funner, not sure if thats a werd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »