Rent Pinball Hall of Fame - The Williams Collection for Wii
view large frontback

Pinball Hall of Fame - The Williams Collection

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2, 3DS
GF Rating
7.0

663 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best pinball game ever.

posted by thericky (WINTER GARDEN, FL) May 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm a big pinball fan and have always longed to have a machine of my own. The high price tag and maintenance level have prevented me from getting one, so I regularly seek out virtual pinball games to satisfy my craving.

I've tried everything from old school 2D virtual pinball games to the Microsoft Pinball game that came with Windows to more recent XBox games... none ever really felt like pinball to me. They were nice representations but didn't do the trick.

Enter Pinball Hall of Fame - The Williams Collection. This is easily the best and most realistic virtual pinball game I've ever played. It's not perfect, but it's close enough to get the same feeling as when you're playing on a real machine.

Pros:
- Using the nunchuck in one hand and Wii remote in the other allows you to spread your hands apart, as if you were really clutching the buttons on either side of a machine. It feels natural.

- The ability to shake the nunchuck and Wii remote to bump and rock the machine is really great. It's not exactly the same as pounding the side of a machine, but it's close enough.

- The nunchuck thumb stick makes for a great plunger replacement. Flicking the thumb stick works wonderfully and gives you the necessary analog control.

- This game offers a multitude of camera angles to choose from, many of which are far superior, and smarter, than past pinball games.

- The pinball machines are modeled after real-life classic machines, so they feel like real machines.

- The physics are fantastic. The ball moves exactly as it should.

Cons:
- It's wonderful that the machines are real, but they're all so "classic" that I've never seen any of them in real life. I hope Stern makes a similar game soon.

- I want more machines. PinBot is great, as are a few others, but a couple are too simple to enjoy.

Overall, I highly recommend this game to any pinball enthusiast. It's not perfect, but it's the closest to real pinball I've ever played on a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hooked and Lovin it!

posted by Jonny1500 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To keep it simple: If you like pinball you'll like this game.
This is one of the most accurate pinball sims ever created. Physics are dead on and the graphics are great. That alone makes it a great sim, but it's the controls that make it the best sim ever created.
The Z button is the left fliper, B button is the right and the plunger is activated using the analogue stick. Nudging the machine is achieved using the wii's motion control! This is the closest you can possibly come to playing the real thing.
The game includes many classic tables, including pinbot and funpark. What more could you ask for?
10 out of 10
~JL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best pinball available - perfect classic tables

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The combination of the truly classic pinballs featured in this game, the graphics that genuinely recreate the atmosphere of the originals and the fantastic ball physics make this the best pinball game on any platform.

Any true enthusiast will have played many of these tables (I have) - Pinbot, Gorgar, Space Shuttle and, my fave, FunHouse. The awesome thing is that this game plays the tables so well if you play on a big screen TV you can almost swear you are on the real thing!

The graphics are done in great style and are true to the original tables. Sound is realistic and reproduces the table noise and machine vocals accurately - a few of these machines were the pioneers of speech chips.

While all the above is great it would all be for nothing if the tables didn't play well but give these guys the Oscar for "Exceptional Ball Physics". The bounces off the corners of bumpers and posts are absolutely perfect and every shot that I can remember is executed in exactly the same way in the game as it was on the real table - the trapdoor shot in Fun House is still moving lightning fast on the second run around. You can make the weird little shots that you can on a real table too - the one from the top of flip(per) which goes vertically up and the one from the tip which goes up the opposite flip(per) lane which is almost always missing from other pinball games.

BEST OF ALL you can make the shot where the ball is almost going down the middle but you skim it with one flip and deflect it enough to hit it with the other hit sligthtly later - JUST LIKE A REAL TABLE and I have NEVER seen this pulled off in any other pinball game.

Finally, as the playfield is larger than the screen the viewpoint has to move around. This has been a problem on other games but again this has been handled wonderfully by great logic and a minimal auto zoom in and out. Even on a multi-ball, multi-level machine like Black Knight it works perfectly.

What can I say? RENT IT! BUY IT! ENJOY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best pinball game ever!

posted by AARGH2K (STERLING, VA) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing countless pinball games on various systems, I have finally found the promised land! Real tables (and some real classics!) with on spot gameplay and sounds! The only ding is the resolution could have been a tad better, but I'm not complaining as I bought it and the PSP version! If you love pinball this is the game to get, playing with nunchuk and using the trigger buttons for flippers and motion sensing for tilt, this is as close as you can get without the machine itself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pinball HOF, a nice addition to the Wii

posted by matteus38 (RAPID CITY, SD) Apr 22, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Whether you are a long time fan of classic pinball arcade games or not, you will find something to like about Pinball HOF. Everything from Taxi pinball to the Space Shuttle pinball game is here. You get the feel that you are in an arcade room. There are machines on 3 different levels of the arcade. Some of the pinball games are locked, and you have to complete certain goals on each pinball game to unlock them. The wii remote is used to pull back the spring and push the ball into play, while the nunchuk is used to activate the flippers. Be careful not to move the remote too much or the game will "tilt" and you will lose a ball. The game starts out kind of fun as you watch your ball bounce around and the points rack up, however it is when you get 2 or 3 balls into play that it really is fun and challenging. I have not played Dream Pinball 3D yet, so i don't know how this stacks up to that game, but this is a fun game for all ages, and is especially so with someone else to play with. Pinball HOF is not a groundbreaking game that will suck you in for days at a time, but it is a good game and if your older it takes you down memory lane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the Best Pinball Games on Consoles

posted by RaulDuke (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Excellent Physics, authentic sounds and tables and a great tutorial which tells you how to score huge points on every table. This is probably the best pinball game on any console, and it's certainly worth a rental for anyone who's interested in Pinball. That being said, with the lack of any real unlockables, no online modes and only a handful of tables, it's probably not worth much more than a week or two of rental time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Pinball Wizard

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Is it just me or is something really lost in the translation of a real pinball machine into a virtual one? Now I love pinball don't get me wrong. Pinball machines are a lost art that are very sadly most likely gone forever but there is something missing from the formula when you play pinball on a T.V. screen that can't be felt unless you get off the couch and go to some dark, smoke filled bar at 3 A.M. just to play some Star Wars : Episode One pinball. (Ah the good old days) Now for the record some will find that playing pinball sitting on your lazy rump with a controller in your hand is quite alright (what you don't know can't hurt you) but for old school gamers like myself there is something missing in video game pinball that can never touch a real pinball machine experience. There are great video pinball games out there (Alien Crush and Devil's Crush are two that come to mind and they're both available on Wii Virtual Console BTW) and this is a great pinball video game but i'm afraid that is all it will ever be. R.I.P. pinball. I knew ye well...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PINBALL FEVER!

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is THE quintessential pinball game to have, whether you are new to pinball or are an old salt who might have actually played the tables represented here a few times.
The game play is spot on, the graphics are true to life and the atmosphere of the game itself will ring a few nostalgic bells for some.
I happen to live in Las Vegas, where the caps of these machines were done at the pinball hall of fame, I HIGHLY suggest you look up the Pinball Hall of Fame if you come to Las Vegas for a chance to play the ACTUAL machines scanned into this game. Every machine in the PHOF works and you can play it. All moneys go directly to CHARITY! Have fun and keep pinball ALIVE!
(One of Vegas' best kept secret fun things.)
Bottom line, this game ROCKS, and so does the PHOF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fu n game

posted by bob1957 (ELYRIA, OH) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great game for us old pinbll lovers. I rented it a few years ago from a store, and was happy to get it on Gamefly. One drawback is the lack of saving options. Seems once you start a Williams Challenge, you have to finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed

posted by stircrazy001 (BUCYRUS, OH) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

What can I say but EEEEEEEENT! I was so disappointed when I started to play this game. The number of pinball machines to choose from to play was so small. Out of the I think ten pinball machines to choose from, only 2 even come close to my wanting to play them more than once. The visuals and the realistic way the ball played were pretty good but for the remainder of the machines, your ball pretty much drained or there just wasnt much game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's true pinball

posted by oldschl (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you like physical pinball machines you will like this game. It has a lot of old school pinball games. I got it because of Pin Bot and it was more the machine version than the old Ninendo version where the screen changes and the ball changes shapes. (At least I didn't seem to keep the ball long enough to see it happen if it does).

Pin Bot was still my favorite amongst the other games in this collection. I do like the Nintendo version a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pinball hall of fame

posted by vamlmay (BOX SPRINGS, GA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

should not come chiped.with food on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pinball players dream

posted by ChuckYaz (MESA, AZ) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I/we found this game as exciting and and enjoyable as the real thing only we didn't have to leave our living room or spend a bunch of money to be disappointed when it ran out. The controls are excellent and handle very well. If your family enjoys gaming together well this is a must have. To bad it isn't for sale or I would have bought it to go along with the other one Gottlieb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pinball mania

posted by Wiiiiii (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

It's just a great game over all..Been a big fan of pinball all my life and had a great time playing this sim.
I'm ordering the Gottlieb next.Hoping Bally makes one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Remember when?

posted by nealka (ROANOKE, VA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I normally don't write reviews but this reminded me so much of the pinball machine we had in the game room growing up (saved from the dump). Jive time is just like it....no fancy voices or music, but challenging to get the high score. All the games have their own special items that will take us old timers back and show our kids why going to the arcade was so much fun. Thanks for helping me remember when times were easier and we could as kids run around town all day without our parents worrying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING!!!

posted by stephieb29 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was so much fun! I put it in thinking I had about thirty minutes to play and ended up playing for over two HOURS!!! Even my seven year old loves it. And once I showed it to my dad, aged 65, I didn't think he was going to EVER let some one else play! He wants to come over for dinner more often now jsut so he can play it (my mother won't let him get a wii of his own!) ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Recommend

posted by sew3521 (BRIDGETON, MO) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game has been a lot of fun this weekend and I am considering buying it. The game play does not get old and there are numberous tables.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty close to real thing

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I grew up playing the real pinball machines for a quarter in the 70s. I don't recall playing any of the machines in this game but it's still fun to remember the fun times I had playing one. This game comes close but I still miss the real thing, putting your fingers on the buttons on the side for the flippers, pulling back the plunger, etc. The controls are easy to pick up and work fine for this game. I did discover after I've been playing it for a while that each game tells you how to rack up the points. It also gives you a high score on each table too. Some of them are way up there beyond my reach currently but I was able to get my initial twice on one game though. The downside is that you're limited on games. There seem to be more available downstairs to play but I'm guessing that you have to unlock them. There are only 2 games upstairs. I never reached a 3rd level of playing pinball at least not yet anyway. I liked this game enough that I shopped around for a good deal on the game to buy since I was unable to keep my copy. It's a fun game to rent to try it out to see if you'd want to keep it. Like others have said sadly the real pinball machines of yesteryear don't exist or are too costly plus space consuming too to own. This is the next best thing to it and look forward to the next pinball game coming out sometime in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid pinball title

posted by Davidb (WILMINGTON, DE) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

Love all the Pinball tables, challenge mode keeps me playing more and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Snooze

posted by jonisme (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This suite of pinball games appears to be updated graphics on the exact physics utilized in the free Pinball game that shipped with Windows 95, alongside Minesweeper and Hearts. But wait, you say! These games didn't include other awesome features, like navigating a "virtual arcade" to go from table to table. The only effect that the virtual arcade had was making me wish I was playing some other game.

This game is a rip-off, which is saying a lot when we get it for essentially no additional cost. Get any other game and you'll be happier. Get another copy of Wii Sports that came with your Wii, just in case yours gets scratched, and you'll be better off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pinball Hall Of Fame

posted by cc1126 (LIVONIA, MI) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is ok at first then gets boring fast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its OK if you're really bored

posted by rholling (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This game is ho hum. not even alright. the graphics are fine but does not give you the same feeling and satisfaction of playing real pinball.
maybe if the controls had a feeling when you flipped the flippers it would be better.
don't waste your time or money to buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Pinball - Wish there were more games

posted by RightTOO (Fort Worth, TX) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Fabulous game, just not enough of it...hope they come out with additional versions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What the heck? Pinball in 3-D Cool!

posted by DashyRoo (BURBANK, CA) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I have played this game before. I got a Rudy Gulp Bonus! Rudy is so stupiet. My favorite one is the funhouse. It has a trapdoor! At the end of the Rudy Gulp bonus She throws up. That was a stupiet Shot. It plays cool music.I wore 3-D glasses while I was playing too! Rudy is a boy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DON'T DO IT!!!!

posted by NeverAgain (Lithonia, GA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

IF U HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DO THEN GET THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse