Rent Pimp My Ride for PS2
view large frontback

Pimp My Ride

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.6

703 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not even worth the shipping wait

posted by minority42 (RANDOLPH, NJ) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought this would be almost like a sims games where u get to shop for parts and earn money doing it. but no you do dumb mini games such as ghost riding and dancing next to the car to get cash and have to speed around the whole town to get stupid upgrades to pimp the contestants car...i wouldn't even rent this game for free

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pimp this game!

posted by Laveve (LAKEWOOD, OH) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pimp my ride the show is great i watch it every time its on but this game was very disappointing. I thought it would be like the show u go to a shop and pimp a car but no u have to do annoying mini games to get cash to pimp then u have to speed around town with less then 2 mins to get parts for the car. This game could of been way better and lots more fun, id say don't waste your rent on this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice Try

posted by dken2311 (NEW CANAAN, CT) Dec 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Okay, this is the scoop on pimp my ride. Obviously it was irresistible to make a video game about the hit show Pimp My Ride. There is a huge audience for it, and people love car modification games, right? In most cases yes…in this case GOD NO! This game was just plain stupid. Maybe I should have known, but it was too alluring to resist. Each car you “pimp” gives you approximately 3 or 4 modifications to choose from at each shop (rims/tires, radios and electronics, paint, body kits, and then special mods). So you race around trying to out pimp a rival garage, but there is no creativity involved. It is easy to have enough money to afford all the most expensive mods, and therefore that is all you would buy. If you buy the cheaper parts you lose to the other shop. So essentially the path of the game is all laid out for you, AND it is stupid. No good, stick to the TV show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worth to try...!

posted by balistaus (MC KEES ROCKS, PA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rented this game, because i want to play some car game.. just started playing ps2 again heh. Well the game its pretty bad for me. The fact that there aren't any racing part on the game(at least after 3 hrs playing it) and that the super easy competitive play. It started that you got to help this poor people with their half broken car just like in the show. You required money.. i mean its no a problem to get it after all just ramp to all the car you see in the city and you got the money. And after you got enough money, all you need to do is upgrade the customer's car with mid-high cost equipment, guaranteed you going to win. Again this is after i play for 3 hrs at least. If you "pimp my ride" fans or like to upgrade cars, you might want to try this game out. Other fans? nah chill...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow...I Rented This???

posted by sora199362 (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Nov 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is not like the show in any way. You Pimp people's rides that are from the show and its obviopus what they want. (pst they want the more expensive things) and if you don't buy them the most expensive you lose to your really dum rival. The graphics are good but the basic concept make's you feel like your in a rushed arcade game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Japan IS Upset

posted by jcoleman (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the dumbest game ever can you say matrix reloaded on wheels this is what this game is. dont even rent it. Our friends in Tokyo would be highly upset if they knew we were putting such garbage in their fine machines

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

LIESSSSS!!!! ITS NOT THAT BAD!!

posted by bonceboy (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game itself is...er..ok with fairly good grafics and lots of eqipment its prety adictive BUT STILL TRY BEFOR BUY!!It might not be what your looking for rent beFOR U COMPLAIN!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it rooks

posted by pritpal (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

i love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD GAME

posted by socomking (DOWNEY, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i was expecting something good because activison Makes this game instead it is a very confusing game also after a while it starts to get annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW......

posted by jeebus (CAMPBELL, CA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

does this game suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dont pimp my ride

posted by twbucs (ASHBURN, VA) Oct 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

this game is so stupid i mean you have to drive around trying to collect money just to get a person with a ride to pimp out. then you get timed on how to pimp the ride. and you pretty much win every time. the last level is so cheesy because you have to pimp xzibits ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

>>>>>!!STAY AWAY!!<<<<<

posted by Cash89 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I tought this game was going to be awesome and I eveb got more exited when I saw the intro video but unfortinately it is nothing like that. I dont like the concept of it and Im glad I got to tested out before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I Never Played Anything Worse

posted by wolfwood4u (WADDELL, AZ) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Ok so if your a video game designer this is how not to make a game . . . if you did the opposite of what these people did to this game than you can make a good game. well i would tell you whats wrong with this game but i dont have enough room in this review to write it all so ill just write whats good about the game. . . . umm ok so i cant think of anything lol. I played this for 20 minutes just giving it a chance to get good or exciting or entertaining for that matter and i decided that im going to send it back the next mailing day i get. The only way i can describe how bad this game is i would rather bash my head in and do surgery on myself using surgery utensils made out of pure salt while i go outside when its raining alcohol and acid than play this flop of a game for another second. You know what. . This has made a new category of gaming. . its called suicide gaming. . cause the only reason you would want to play this game is if you wanted to drive yourself to go suicide. Oh yes and just so everyone knows i love Pimp My Ride the show . . i watch it every time its on Xzibit is the greatest but this game doesnt even deserve to have the same name as the show and im so sorry to X for ever having to be in the game. P.S. Watch Pimp My Ride Dont Play It Cause This Isnt A Game Its A Spoof. I would give this game a lower rating if their was one lower than 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Amusing for awhile

posted by Terra327 (JEFFERSON CITY, MO) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

While this game isn't good for the older set. My 8 year old loved it. It was just challenging enough to keep him interested, but to easy that he got bored. He enjoyed the tasks needed to pimp the cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by xSaMuRaIx (BRADENTON, FL) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is not worth renting or buying. The graphics were terrible, the sound was terrible, and the overall gameplay was terrible. There was no real objective to the game and it was nothing like the actual "Pimp My Ride" televisions show, was much much worse. If you want a good game to customize your car and even race, check out the Need for Speed series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thisgamerock'sidon'tknowh- owsomanyotherpepshateit!!

posted by mikeRA (LEBANON, CT) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

i loved it i just can't understand how people hate it!i do not like the stiering but is is kinda fun u gatta admit. and also it is a little to easy i am on my 14 car out of 16 anc i did all that in 2 day's! but out side of all that it is a great game but do me a faver and don't rent it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but buy it for $14.99!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just plain dumb

posted by DJBigg (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

if you've already played this, you'll know what im talking about. the graphics is a 3 out of 10. story is a 0 of 10. horrible, horrible, horrible. this was a nice try for the game designers, but it stunk. i returned it 5 miutes after playing it. but this is only my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

X to the Z, I gave this game a F!!!

posted by TravisQ (HARRAH, OK) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

First off I would like to say I am a HUGE fan of the show "PIMP MY RIDE". But this game was robbery. Robbery of my time and probably someone's money. The whole "Ghost Ride The Whip" feature was cool....for a few seconds! I own a copy of "MNC3:DUB Edition" so I kinda expected some of that kind of sweet customization action, but yet again I was disappointed. The customization on this game was very minimal. The whole customization stage was annoying. I HATED this game SOOOOO much I actually want to find "Pimp City" and BURN IT TO THE FREAKING GROUND. Just so everyone out there knows I am not a pyro. This game was HORRIBLE. I rated it with a 1, but I am starting to thing I have given it to much credit. Activision, this was a HORRIBLE game. Y'all have made some really good games, such as Tony Hawk. WHAT HAPPENED?!? In my personal opinion they should end Capitol Punishment and just make the murders play this all day, everyday. STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So so

posted by kmcursi (CONCORD, CA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

A little hard to play for an 8yr old. too many controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wait......huh?

posted by jimmerz42 (EAST SETAUKET, NY) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

O.K., I have to give Activision some credit. They made a game that had a good idea, but they just couldn't supply the goods. T.V. or movie based games are supposed to be identical to its show or movie. That was NOT here. Instead of having to pimp out the ride in a garage, you have to drive around Pimp City and get paint, parts, tires etc. To top it all off, you are racing against time and a rival garage that has the same car you started with. With limited parts and paint jobs, stupid and repetitive mini-games, and overly bad graphics, this game falls WAY TOO SHORT of a buy or rent. Overall, good idea, but bad execution of the idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWWSOME GAME

posted by LADYT2265 (DETROIT, MI) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

THIS GAME IS AWESOME. I LOVE IT AND I'M ABOUT TO KEEP IT.
BEAUTIFUL GAMING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun at First then challenging

posted by kenny3 (IRVING, TX) Jun 3, 2007

Member since May 2007

I got this game because I like the TV show. The first few "Pimpings" were easy, but then the next ones were harder. In game hints were not helpful.
I was disappointed in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hi!

posted by 654321 (LAFAYETTE, AL) May 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

The t.v. show is much better than the game. You have to do dum minigames to get money and to get discounts on parts. And when you do have enough money to pimp a car you have two minutes to compete with rivals and their pimin the same car as you! Basically it's pretty stupid,I recomend you to not get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dude this is alright

posted by giraffeboy (HOPEWELL, VA) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

people i have discovered that what it takes to become part of pimp my ride. It was hard to play at first but t got the hang of it and i think it pretty darn cool now it's your turn to play get ready to go into pimp my ride

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pimp my ride

posted by malibu79 (BRYANS ROAD, MD) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

the game was wothless and a complete waste of my time. the graphics were ok and the overall plot was stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse