Rent Pimp My Ride for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Pimp My Ride

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
3.1

1734 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pimp My Ride - An Unbiased Review

posted by Charlito (MIAMI, FL) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

32 out of 33 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I originally rented this game because I heard it was a pretty easy 1000 points. Someone lied to me.

PROS:
The game is mildly entertaining for the first few minutes. The maps are fairly diverse, as in, you're not on the EXACT same map for any one level to the next. Sometimes Xzibit says something so asinine, you may laugh. But probably not. If you like the TV show, you may even like the stupid rides you pimp in the game. But probably not.

CONS:
The game mechanics are uncomely at best. Controlling where your car is going is easily the hardest part of the game. You can't play for more than half an hour without turning off your system in a bloodthirsty rage and kicking your dog. Get used to shouting unforgivable things at your TV. The physics are so unrealistic it made my little sister cry. The graphics are last-gen and the animations are extremely disappointing. At the end of each pimping mission, you would at least expect a pretty fly ride or something. No. Why such high expectations? Have you not been listening? The cars are ridiculous. I would rather just ride a bicycle. The objectives and mini-games are equally daft. They will get old FAST, but you have to keep doing them if you want those Benjamins. Conversely, you could get money to pimp your ride by doing random things around the city like hitting parking meters and other cars... just like in real life. It's almost like they tried to make the game an upsetting experience. All this driving around and meeting shady people in alleys makes me feel like a drug dealer. Perhaps that would have been a better game.

CONCLUSION:
Do not waste your time. Do not waste you money. This game has psychologically scarred me. I gave it a 1 out of 10. There is nothing beneficial about this game. Society is worse because of it. I had to shave my legs after playing because I felt so dirty. Since renting this game, my girlfriend has left me, my dog ran away, I broke an Xbox controller and I think I've gone sterile. Thanks, Xzibit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Makes Me Want To Kill Someone!

posted by Demanacus (DENVER, CO) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I had to go to the Hospital, after playing this game... because it made my EYES BLEED, it was so bad!! The graphics suck, the gameplay sucks, the story sucks, the music sucks, the concept sucks, THE WHOLE GAME SUCKS! Its like they had a "Give Us Your Idea For A Video Game" contest at some random elementary school!

Where to begin? Well, the graphics are on par with PS2 (not very Next-Gen). LAME! The gameplay is horrid! You drive around in a pimped car (they call it a whip) thats hard to control, so you crash into everything. But thats ok, because the object of the game is to crash this dope ride into parking meters, billboards, and other cars, to earn coins, to pay for your pimping. Isnt that a little unrealistic? LAME! The story must've been written by an aspiring 4th Grade Script-Writer. You drive around, crashing into things, to earn enough money to Pimp random peoples rides. LAME! The soundtrack is horrible. I think they got it from an iPod belonging to some random 12-year-old white kid who wants to grow up to be a "Gansta Rapper". It was REDICULOUSLY repetitive. LAME! The concept? Like I said; "Create-A-Video-Game Contest" at a random elementary school. LAME!

So, lets do the math, shall we?

LAME Graphics
+ LAME Gameplay
+ LAME Story
+ LAME Music
+ LAME Concept
----------------
= SUPER LAME Game!

Dont waste yours, or your mailmans time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pimp My Ride? Oui s'il vous plaît!

posted by Tivey (METUCHEN, NJ) May 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game astutely reflects the modern era in the video game format. Not only has it captured the life of the common "hood", but it has also illustrated the complexity of modifying one's vehicle.

I highly regard this game as well as Lucha Libre: Heroes del Ring. As a minority myself (male, caucasian), I find myself drawn to these games like a horse to water or a cow to pasture.
The mini-game feature allows enormous quantities of fun to be had. For those interested in "Ghost Riding" their "whips" this game should serve as a springboard for your creative needs.

I know what you're thinking, and it pains me to relegate this masterpiece to the lowly level of "9". But there is one grievance I hold against the creators of "Pimp My Ride". The game simply did not quench my proverbial thirst, in that it was far too hasty. The game clearly could have gone on for a millennia and I would have been over the moon with delight.

In closing, bravo to the creative development department at MTV Studios for they have birthed a game that will stand the test of time for its verisimilitude despite its foibles.

A reluctant 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games made

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

After reading all the reviews I was almost not wanting to put this into my poor 360.

Well I did and for the most part the reviews where right on. This game (I use that word loosely) is horrible. The gameplay is sub-standard, like an old NES type. The graphics are nothing to what they should be on the new gen consoles, barely pulls off the last round. Activision should be a shamed of themselves for even publishing this game. Games this bad is what has put other publishers out of business (just like Accliam). This game suffers from too much to even mention in this little space allowed.

This game ranks up there with Aquaman. Way to go, any game produced by MTV Games to me will now be passed on unless I really hear something good about it.

Thank god this was a rental, if I was dumb enough to purchase this I would have to like blind myself to enjoy it, well that and make myself unable to hear the bad voice acting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game play

posted by spballa33 (SAN PEDRO, CA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

When I first seen this game I thought it was going to be awesome, but the game play is horrible, the graphics are maybe good enough for regular xbox. After two or three missions of doing the same thing I just packed it and sent it back. I love the show, but I would say the game isn't worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

peace of badgame

posted by dsthegamej (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY, NOR RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!why?BEcause it sucks the amount of customs you can have is like just 20!when i bought it i said "finnally a game where i can play one of my favorite shows"but no once i started playing i t i took it out and threw it on the street!did i mention IT'S ALOAD OF never mind!YOUmight as well watch reruns of sesame street that is more entertaining!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game I have Seen

posted by Deddra (GLEN ROSE, TX) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Not much to say here. Game was of such a low quality that even my 6 month old son started to cry when I started to play it. The only way I could see someone enjoying this game is if they had a labotomy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh man...

posted by Willstien (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for the easy achievements and let me tell you... it is not worth it. I played it for about a total of 2 hours and couldn't bring myself to put it in my XBOX360 to play it. Terrible...don't rent this... immediately take it off your game queue. Please for the good of man kind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pimp My Ride

posted by jlira11 (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is without a doubt the worst game EVER made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'm sending a letter to Activision

posted by xnickx (LEXINGTON, KY) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm going to send a letter to activision, thanking them for releasing such a great game with top notch graphics, great gameplay, and such an interesting storyline.

Thanks Activision, thank you for releasing this kicking, screaming, little b word into the world. This game is absolutely terrible. Easily the worst game for the 360. Seriously i'm like the 7th person to review this game and look: nothing above a 3! Don't even rent the flippin piece of trash..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by cheesehed0 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Very simply, this game is nothing like the show. There is not enough uniqueness when being able to "pimp a ride" for all the options are pre-chosen. This game has a lot of room to improve and if there was more freedom to pimp a ride the way that you personally want, the game would be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The is the worst game ever

posted by DatKidMont (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth buying renting, matter of fact, remove it from the list of games. I have played ColecoVision game better then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I Ever played on the xbox360

posted by MoniQAZ (TUCSON, AZ) May 19, 2007

Member since May 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awful, and makes no sense. You have to€ get money in order to pimp a ride and you do this by hitting cars (how is hitting cars just driving around, not trying to dodge ya worth rewards?), or getting a high holla level when you pass a crowd. Then when you do get enough money, you have to locate shops to do certain parts of the car, but what you pick has to be better than what the other competing shops pick ( who is to say what paint job is the best ?). Basically I ran around a town, doing nothing fun, and then got even more bored with trying to find shops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I was so excited...but come on MTV!!!

posted by SgtPinky (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. I thought that it was going to be a stellar looking customization game but the graphics are last gen and look worse then the orig GTA. The game glitches and is hard to play and the driving part of the game is horrible. If you want to get this because you love the TV show then don't because it almost has nothing to do with the show except for Xzibit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

blows

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

19 out of 40 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

this game blows monkey chunks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its okay, i guess.

posted by jordandfco (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ya know, everyone says this game blows. it does, to an extent. the graphics pretty much suck. every other word is "x to the z" and the driving blows. if u wanna drive like this, just get burnout. if u want pimping like this, hey, just get saints row.
peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Listen to what everybody else says

posted by pooooop7 (SAN ANGELO, TX) Mar 17, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I didn't even rent this game and I can tell that it sucks so just listen to what everybody else said like I did and don't get it. Besides if the game is rated 3.4 then why would you rent it anyways!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BLAHH! BAD!

posted by Brohammer7 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

itz simple. dis game iz da worst game on da 360 rite now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest Game ever made

posted by FATALV (RALEIGH, NC) May 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Hey someone had to do it. :)
In all actuality, all the negative reviews were right on the money, pass this game up, actual rating 1 for the poor guy stamping out the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beware!! Only for Dedicated Achievement Gamers!

posted by marathon50 (CHICAGO, IL) May 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You start each mission by trying to gather money to pimp a customer's ride. You do this by smashing into billboards, parking meters, other cars, and participating in events. The events are indicative of what all the mini-games consist of, which is constant button tapping. It is very easy to perform well on every single event. Also, you have to find the hidden supplier during this time to have a chance of getting a perfect rating. After you gather enough money, you need to visit the customer and then you proceed to the pimping process. You have two minutes to reach all the suppliers to pimp out the car. The suppliers consist of rims, interior, ice, body kits, custom mods, and paint. Each of these tasks require simple button tapping or movement of the left analog stick. You should always go to the far right as possible and get the pieces that have the most star ratings. There is also a red star supplier that will give you parts that will be better than one of the suppliers. The red star supplier randomly shows up on the map. If you get to him first, you do not have to meet the supplier of the part you just installed. There are also three xzibit challenges per mission. All you have to do is make it to the destination in time and you further pimp out your car. To get a perfect rating in every mission besides the final one, you have to go to every supplier, the red star supplier, and complete all the xzibit challenges. Most of the missions are pretty easy to get a perfect rating. This game receives such a poor rating because it is just boring. All the mini-games are ridiculously easy and require barely any effort. The driving mechanics are iffy at times and the music gets very repetitive. Only get this game if you are like me and want easy achievement points or you love xzibit. Watch out though, some of the achievements take a while to get especially if you do not have a guide. I recommend the guides on achieve360points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rockz

posted by Marissa321 (APOPKA, FL) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Every one is saying this game is bad don't believe it it is fun. I cant stop playing it. You get to turn old nasty cars into pimping new cars shiny cars. Yes they can the graphics better but i think you should rent the game :) <3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont even bother

posted by budweiser (OAKDALE, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The 1st review by sparxxx said it all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pimp my ride

posted by streetrace (SARANAC LAKE, NY) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

ive never played the game but from all these reviews ive read it must suck so id like to thank all the ppl that wrote reviews so i do not get this game ahahhaha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

?????????????????????????- ????????????????

posted by Anomonys (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Who wants to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever

posted by chedderbob (CRESCENT CITY, CA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 51 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Pimp My Ride is one of the best game for the xbox 360 right now who ever says this game sucks don't know good games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse