Rent Pilotwings Resort for 3DS
view large frontback

Pilotwings Resort

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
6.5

846 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by thewwwyzzerdd (BUZZARDS BAY, MA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just sent back Pilotwings Resort today after playing it for about 2 weeks. (probably averaging an hour or so a day give or take) On the surface the game seems a little light on content, but if you are like me you will find that the game has a certain charm to its challenge. I did all the mission stuff first (i wanted to unlock all of the aircrafts), the missions are not too difficult but not incredibly easy either.
Once I finished the missions i started messing around with free flight mode. At first i felt restricted by the time limit, but after a few runs i realized that free flight is more challenging and rewarding than the mission mode was. There are white orbs to collect, for each 20 you grab you can increase the free flight time limit by 30 sec (it starts at 2:00) certain orbs are only accessible in specific aircrafts. There is also a unique pick-up for each aircraft that will unlock "dioramas" in the title menu. These are are mostly only mildly interesting, but a few do a great job of showcasing the 3d. Finally there are also a number of locations that can be picked up in any aircraft. I managed to obtain all of each of the collectibles and had a blast doing it.
I wouldnt say that this is the best game out for the 3ds, but if you are looking for an enjoyable game you can just play for a few minutes or a few hours i would say this is worth a look. I think that while it doesnt push the system graphically anyone who plays this will get a good idea of how much more power the 3ds is sporting over its preprocessors. The game moves at a smooth framerate, has pretty decent physics, and a great color palette. The 3d effect also adds to the gameplay here unlike in most games where it is just icing on the cake. the improved depth helps a lot in some of the more precise flying challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lot's of fun

posted by captainzhao (BRIGHTON, MA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a lot of fun. it's pretty easy to play, but getting the best scores on everything requires skill. it will probably prove to be a little light on content when all is said and done, but the free flying mode is pretty fun to explore and item collect in. for a launch game, it's pretty great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rent, Don't Buy

posted by Scootercoconut (AURORA, IL) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Pilotwings Resort continues the original Pilotwings from past Nintendo systems. However, this one is just missing something.
Pilotwings Resort has two modes, mission and free flight. I regularly come back to mission mode, however I only played free flight around 5 times.
Mission mode has different ranks of difficulty. They are training, bronze, silver, gold, platinum, and (if you're good enough) diamond. There are either 6 or 9 levels in each rank. Each mission tells you to do something, and then land. Based on how you did, you get a score and up to 3 stars. You need a set number of stars to unlock the next rank. It's fun, but once you've done all of it or find it's too hard, you won't come back much more.
Free flight mode isn't exactly... free. They give you a time limit, so technically its the restricted flight mode. They give you many different things for you to collect, although almost all of them are vehicle specific, so most of them you can't actually collect at one time.
Graphics are bright, colorful, and just like the wii. I just wish there was a little more than Wuhu Island all over the place. Music is refreshing, but repetitive. If you rent Pilotwings Resort, you'll have a great time. If you waste 40 bucks on it though, you won't be a happy person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the first 3ds rental

posted by megamanretro (POPLAR GROVE, IL) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this was the first game i got and i have to say it is the best game that they have for it so far. the 3d aspect is very good and adds alot to the gameplay. there is also a good variation of missions to do in the game and they are both fun and callangeing. the only thing that i didn't like was the fact that you were stuck on the same island the whole time and there isn't alot of variation to the island once you travel the whole place. but this is the best 3ds game untill legend of zelda comes out and anyone that owns a 3ds should check this out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pilotwings Resort

posted by Bosh (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I definitely feel this game has been underrated by the critics. The fact that I'm a fan of the older versions of this game might have swayed my opinion a bit, but nevertheless it is worth noting that I throroughly enjoyed it. Before buying this I read alot of misleading information about how short on content this is. I already logged 18 hours into it and I still am trying to get perfects on all the missions, which is going to take awhile. It's not short on content if you play the game the way it's supposed to be played, like getting 3 stars on every mission, and collecting everything (or as much as you can) in free flight mode.

Graphics/3d effect: The graphics are decent but I don't feel that they really showcase the power of the 3ds. The 3d works well in this game and actually improves gameplay and depth perception. The 3d dioramas that you unlock are pretty good demonstrations of the 3d effect and a couple of them even appear to pop out of the screen.

Sound: The music is ok, not bad not good. The 3ds has a surprising good sound quality to it but I don't feel that this game really does anything mindblowing with it.

Controls: Controls are solid, and they better be because that would be a dealbreaker if they weren't. The analog stick feels good and works well with this game.

Lasting Appeal: My overall experience was a very good one with PWR. Like I said earlier, I'm a fan of the previous versions, so it appealed to me from the get-go, but I think anyone who has a 3ds should definitely at least rent this . If you play this the right way and try to get 3 stars on every mission, you will find a very challenging and rewarding experience, and if it's not your kind of game, you can at least blow through it and beat it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great job on Pilotwings Resort Nintendo!

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I did not rent this game from Gamefly, I bought it at release. It's pretty awesome! I wanted to get this game cause my dad's a pilot (but that's not his line of work) and I'm interested in being a pilot when I get a little older (I'm a teenager). I know this game isn't a flight simulator or anything like that, but it's a good start for people of all ages who are interested in aviation.

Anyway, let's get to the game. Wuhu Island look's the same as it did in Wii Sports Resort, and the 3DS graphics are so good it's like actually being on the Wii, but it's even better cause of the 3D. Gameplay controls are simple, but getting good scores in some missions require skill. That's what Free Flight Mode is for. In, Free Flight Mode, you get 2 minutes to fly around, but don't worry, you can do it as many times as you want. There's also a bunch of stuff to collect like locations, white balloon things, stunt rings(you get stunt rings when you unlock the silver class in Mission Flight Mode), and rings(you can only get those when you unlock the pedal glider). In Mission Flight Mode, there are five different classes: in order: Training (where you start), Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. I'm currently in Gold Class. To move up to the next class, you have to earn a certain number of stars. Also, you can always replay a mission that you have already completed. At the beginning of the game, you'll pick a Mii character to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shows what the 3DS is Capable of

posted by iJarritos (CUMMING, GA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked it. I played Wii resort from the Wii and this is one of the games on Resort! (Personally my favorite game on there) So when I found out that there was a Pilotwings resort for the 3DS I decided to rent it.

I really liked the game but I wouldn't buy it for $40. I guess that's what Gamefly is for! The game goes by pretty fast and some levels are kind of hard. Within 2 days I finished the game. Out of all I really liked my first 3DS rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good rental, but not worth $40

posted by mattwach (KENMORE, WA) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game does a nice job of showing what the 3DS is capable of and makes a strong first impression.

After playing for about 30 minutes or so, however, I began to realize that there just was not a lot of content. So I did a little research and my suspicions were correct: Compared to it's successor, Pilotwings 64, this game has about 1/5 the content.

The game needs more planes, modes, weather effects and stages to compare to its successors or any decent full-priced game.

In conclusion, I'm glad I rented this game and might pick it up some day if it is heavily discounted, perhaps in the $10-15 range.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but too short

posted by Torque (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Surprisingly better than I expected. The missions were fine but I actually enjoyed the hunt for all the items in the free mode more. The only down side to all of this was it only took around 8 hours to complete the whole thing.

Definite rent, but would have to offer something more than I got for a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

perfect rental

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Apr 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the reasons gamefly is such a great service.
the game is fun but repetitive and after a few days you are done with it, it is nice to be able to send it back!

At most, this is a $10 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just horrible a waste of time

posted by seb (WHITINSVILLE, MA) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game lacks so much i thought it would be good but it lacks modes, and is to easy and when you play free mode it times you for 2 minutes so its not much of a free mode. This game also hurts your eyes because when you try to go into small areas with 3D on you cant focus and will most likely crash. I reccomend you think twice about renting this game because for me it was a total waste of my time so i rated this horrible game a 3 on the 1 to 10 scale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Return to the Skies

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The first Pilotwings on the SNES was great, I'm not sure about the N64 Pilotwings yet seeing as how I've yet to play that one sadly, and this one is quite good as well. Remember the flying games of Wii Sports Resort where you basically flew a plane with the Wii Remote to find landmarks and pop balloons and stuff? This is basically that same thing but with more aircraft. The plane plays just like in Wii Sports Resort but without motion control, but the Rocket Belt and Hang Glider play exactly the same as in the previous Pilotwings which is awesome for both old time Pilotwings fans and newcomers. There are also 3 extra aircraft you can earn by playing missions, but I won't tell you what they are, you have to earn them yourself to find out. The only problem is that when you finish all the missions, find all landmarks, and pop all balloons and find all hidden stuff it's all over, and there's no multiplayer like in Wii Sports Resort, and without Mii's in the background it feels kinda lonely. But other than that it's a good game and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good good good good good good good!

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is a great game! Its fun to explore in free fly mode and get the collectibles! I recommend the game to everyone. BUY IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An acquired taste but worth a rent

posted by MulliganMan (CUPERTINO, CA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is completely different from other games. The graphics and flying physics are well done but it is a very low key game. If you like collecting and working for a higher score it can be very fun. I liked the game so much I bough it. I found a copy on eBay for $12 brand new. Totally worth that much money. I would never pay $30 for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Special Game

posted by yoshinetzero (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

this is a very well made game but definately not worth over $15. I rented this game some time ago and really enjoyed. I ended up buying the game a few days ago for about $10 and its totally worth it. Flying around in 3D i find it so much fun. The missions are challenging and there's a lot of stuff to collect, discover and unlock in the game. Those three are my OCD. I love the game but not a game for everyone nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great 3D but lacks in gameplay

posted by jjmesa16 (MESA, CO) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The 3D effects for this game are phenominal so if you want to show your friends the 3D effect this would be the best game to do it on. However gameplay is sort of lacking in that once you complete the missions you have completed the game. It's fun to fly around the island but after a while is gets boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fdaw

posted by stevie2003 (WESTON, MA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

ragw

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pilotwings

posted by agmx11 (RUTLAND, VT) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

This game was a fun flying game. You have to be into flying and airplanes to really enjoy this game. There also are not a lot of things to do on this game. I myself liked the graphics and the ability to change how you are able to control the airplane and jet pack, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by xAZAZIN (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

the title describes what I think of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pilotwings (The Nightmare veiw)

posted by NightmareXIV (RIVERTON, UT) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game is amazing every moment of missions, and even free flight you have a moment to think. You could choose the right option or the wrong option. You choose the right one you get through the mission but if you don't. You crash, and burn.

Order it today, and see if you crash, and burn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Attention, All Fans of Wii Sports Resort!

posted by wimsfamily (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you just got a 3DS like me and started making a list of interesting games that look cool and you're fans of the Wii version, Wii Sports Resort, I don't blame you if you wanted to immediately buy Pilotwings Resort for your newly bought game system. I played the game for only a couple hours and if you love just having 2 minutes to fly around a tropical beach and wanting to have career of being a pilot I recommend this game to you. On the other hand, if you hate time limited tours around the complete same beach you flew around in the first game and having to choose from 3 lousy, aircrafts you probably wish you had not even looked at the name ever again. I hope this review will give you your decision to either buy this for an extremely cheap price or waste 22 dollars on this game. If they make another I hope they add more aircrafts, extra parts to Wuhu Island, and unlimited flight around this beautiful island.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A terrible injustice.

posted by 3DSee (KENOSHA, WI) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Having played the first two pilotwings games and thinking I would love another one, this game is a massive disappointment even on a system with few games.

This game has absolutely no character and it's ugly. Sure, it's a better looking 3DS game, but that's not saying much at this point.

The "challenges" are anything but challenging or entertaining. The island is very drab, lifeless and soulless. While the previous games were champions in their time, this is just a reminder of how sterile Nintendo has become (Miis are ridiculous)

This is an incredibly average game and in no way is it worth a purchase for more than $10. There just isn't enough value in it. After this, and after loving Pilotwings, I don't want another sequel. Definitely not if it's just going to be this bunk again.

Sure, I'm being harsh and jaded because this game was rushed and under any person's expectations but there really was no reason not to up the ante and make this game phenomenal and a looker to boot.

If you're new to the series you will most likely enjoy this casual game. It offers enough challenge for newcomers and there really isn't another game like this series. So, if you're new bump the score up to 6 or 7.

If you loved the first two games, come into this with bated breath and no expectations.

The 3D effect on max is also way too aggressive. I have issues with 3D games where the character/car is up front and center. It makes it difficult for me to focus on the rest of the scene, regardless of depth slider setting. If you don't have said issue (or don't mind first person view), then the 3D is pretty decent at times.

Still, this is not a pilotwings game. This is a game that feels sterile and in the line of Wii Sports series. It should have been called Wii Fly or some tripe. Outside of the three vehicles it bears little resemblance to Pilotwings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pilot wings resort

posted by Jacob100 (BURLINGTON, KY) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

It was fun but yet challinging

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

pointless game

posted by Firepunch15 (READING, PA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

all you do is fly around a stupid island and crash into stuff that you aren't even near. extremely dumb and i see no point to it whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent game for newcomers to the 3DS

posted by GameGuideGuy (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is the first game I bought when I got the 3DS and I didn't stop playing for 3 hours. This is a game that proves how far the 3DS can go, by showing a roaming-around game while also giving the players missions and other tasks. Also this game gives more descion to make it feel a little bit more personalized. You may choose from 3 ways to fly: You may use the Jetpack, Hang-Glider, or the classic Plane. But you might as well find more options. This game is perfect for the newcomers to the 3DS. You may also see the return of a well-known character in the series... This is great game to rent or buy and I hope you think it is,too

Now get back to Gaming! And watch out for that Tre- never mind...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse