Rent Pikmin for Wii
view large frontback

Pikmin

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
7.3

1427 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In its own league

posted by gamejumper (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game can be compared to no other, and it is a great game that is very enjoyable and innovative. Only disappointment is that if you have already played all the way through pikmin on GC, it is identical, but if you haven't, the controls on the wii are much more advanced and efficient, making it worth the buy/rent/keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game But...

posted by idnotimportant (SIDNEY, KY) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Excellent game wish it had better tutorial; however, After playing it for several days and the pikmin are sooooo cute. I began to get sucked in deep, I will try this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short and Fun

posted by gameexpert13 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was one of the most addicting games i have ever played, i played it for 4 hours straight, went to sleep and then the next day finished it at noon.

1. Short: It should have been longer so everybody playing the game could further enjoy the experience. Glad they fixed that on PIKMIN 2.
2. FUN: NO NEED FOR WORDS ON THIS ONE.

the gameplay in this game is unique and special and aren't we glad there are sequels to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome and Stategic

posted by mariomaster15 (VILLA PARK, CA) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pimin is the best game I have played in a long time! The balanced controls are good, but I hate when a slug guy comes and eats all of your pikmin or while trying to push a box, all of your pikmin are just randomly pushed by other pikmin into the water. The saddest thing about pikmin though is when the sun has come down and your hurrying back to your ship. You and the other pikmin fly into the atmosphere to safety, but the last pikmin left behind is running toward the ship as its leaving and gets eaten by the giant slug guys :( I had a ton of guilt for the rest of the night. However, that's what makes pikmin fun so this truly is an awesome game and I reccomend most people to play it even though they dont want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pick a pint of pikmin promptly

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

When Pikmin was released on the Gamecube so many years back it became a revolutionary concept that proved Miyamoto still had plenty to contribute to gaming. Who knew that it would hold up so well over time.
First of all, it should be noted that this is basically the same game as it was in 2001. The mission is still to collect all 30 parts in 30 days, you still have three kinds of pikmin to use (fire-proof red, water-loving blue and aerodynamic bomb-throwing yellow). The monsters, challenges and environments are the same. Considering it was all great, this is acceptable, though some new content would have been nice.
What has changed? The controls, which are now mapped to the Wii's light-sensing controls. This makes aiming more dynamic, but the system isn't perfect. In some cases, trying to move or throw your pikmin is more difficult because of the control sensitivity. If your wrist twitches, the pikmin might end up in the lake, rather than the island. This might just be due to my familiarity of playing Pikmin with the Gamecube controller.
Needless to say, Pikmin holds up as an enjoyable and engaging experience. For those who didn't play it before, this is the perfect opportunity to do so. And if you did play the original, like me, you might find revisiting this modern classic a welcome piece of nostalgia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pikmin 1.0 for Wii; the way it should have been.

posted by M83oss (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I remember trying to play the original Pikmin game with a wavebird; I'm not one for analog sticks and the like. Without the manual for reference it's a little more challenging, but the interface becomes very intuitive. It's literally point and direct. Controlling the camera is still a bit of an issue, but at least directing pikmin is as easy as I wanted.

Fundamentally though the major bonus is just another kind of mouse, though a slightly better input method than normal as you get to point at the screen instead of being fully abstracted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old game, new controls

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pikmin is a pretty interesting Gamecube game. And now its on the Wii. With new controls combined with the old game it really revamps this old school game. About the only thing changed in this game is the controls which seem very thought out and work very well in the game. The general game is all the same. Same graphics and everything. You can still use the original controls for the gamecube controller or the new controls in this one game. If you havnt ever played this game its kind of interesting as in your this space guy that hit a meteor and crashed on this weird planet. The planet has toxic plants on it so now he has to find a way to find all of the pieces before your life support runs out. And alone the way you find things that this guy calls Pikmin. So this game is pretty cool and is kind of a problem solving game. Try it out on either Wii or Gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dose not work

posted by kyay (SELMA, AL) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

everytime i try to play game it says error

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game from the gamecube port

posted by YousifA (WILKES BARRE, PA) May 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

The game is great adding the motion controls with better graphics is showing how the Wii is awesome and benefited from this title. I played it on my Wii U The graphics was great although I did finish the game cube version a long time ago so I decided to give it a try one more time . Although i wished for Pikmin 3 and yet it will come on the Wii U on August this year. Cant wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REALLY GOOD

posted by dkdeloss (PHOENIX, OR) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

JUST TRY IT! ITS VERY FUN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but could be great

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) May 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

"Pikmin" is a very fine game; pretty graphics and music, great concept, lots of things to explore and accomplish. The game is dragged down significantly by one factor, however, and that's the "thirty days, then game over" time limit. It's way too restrictive, and it makes the whole experience feel frenzied. I'm very glad Nintendo did away with that particular rule for "Pikmin 2".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by JCGir (WEST CHESTER, PA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I love playing this game! I've 100 percented it about 4 times and it still doesn't get old. I love the enemies and the pikmin in this game. Each time I play it I get better. My best amount of days total is 16. If you are thinking about getting this game, I HIGHLY suggest you do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Game!

posted by manceps1 (COMBINED LOCKS, WI) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It's a good game but it is going to go downhill since it's the exact same game as the Nintendo Gamecube's Version but just diffrent controls! Pikmin 2 is a way better game and I really hope it comes out in America on the Wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my thoughts of this game

posted by justbeingme (RENO, NV) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I honestly like this game creative and fun i am not really a fan of RTS games (real time strategy) the character depth is phenominal. In my opinion it is honestly one of the best titles released by nintendo. The wii controls make this game alot easier. If you not a fan of RTS this game will get you into them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!

posted by uberzeldanoob1 (COVINGTON, WA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is great! i totally recomend it if your a big fan of collecting games. remember one thing: if you don't have atlest 25 parts at day thirty then its game over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pikmin

posted by Kelly12 (CORONA, CA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Its not so good I mean its sucks its so stupid even I dont like it for a person who plays video games all day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jjrodz (ARCADIA, FL) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Thefighting is cool and it is a really deep stagery game i would recomand this game to anyone who want's to HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good

posted by superwariw (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

this game has a good plot and how olimar gotin on the distint planit but to me if the pikmin are ompletely gone i can't do much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by lizard5 (DANVILLE, CA) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This was a very good game, but it is not perfect. My biggest problem with it is when the pikmin get stuck somewhere and you cant get them out. The graphics arnt the best but it gives the game its own specific flavor. the gameplay is also very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

underated genius title

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

must play, one of the best strategy games ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by samworld (OLATHE, KS) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Pikmin is one of the best titles I have ever played I love how I can get more flowers for my army I love every thing about the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pikman...

posted by flac97 (SHEPHERD, MT) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Pikman is a very cute and explorative game, the story-line is: You are a cute spaceman that crashed your ship on a planet known as earth. Your suit cannot handle the oxygen, so you must repair your ship in less than 30 days or else you will die. The gameplay for the wii is better than most games but still lacking in the ability for camera rotation. The gameplay itself is alright if you are into that kind of stuff. Basically, you have 3 types of pikmen. Normal(can be used to throw and carry) Blue(lighter than the yellows and have bigger ears) and red(I honestly didn't get that far into the game to find out... it bored me) and you send these little fellows to carry your heavy things and repair your ship. I give this game 5 onion sprouts out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by wero890 (MICANOPY, FL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

the game was great but the camara was hard to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Most Addicting games you will ever play

posted by Treilond (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Okay by far Pikmin is one of the most Addicting games you will ever play in your life. The control you get on your pikmin is so fun and makes you feel like you have such great power. The only negatives about the games is each level is about 15 mins long. If you multiply that by 30 days that you play in the game, it would only run you about 8 hours. Another problem with the game is the fact that sometimes you can't get the pikmin to follow you in a straight line, this can get annoying. Bottom line it is a awesome game and I can't wait for the second one to come out on wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still Totally Original and Fun

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

I played this way back when on the Gamecube and thought it was just fantastic - one of the most creative and well thought-out games ever. Well, it still is. Even if the graphics look a little smudgy ported to the Wii, the characters, story, art, sound and challenges are all totally original and engaging. There's nothing else like it, and it's just plain fun to play. I thought I'd get bored since I played through it years ago, but was charmed all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse