Rent Pikmin for GC
view large frontback

Pikmin

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
8.3

641 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Many different ways to kill your Pikmin!!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game was a launch title for the Gamecube in late 2001 -- almost 5 years ago. It was a blast to play then, and a blast to play now!

Presentation
The game looks great. From the menu to the text, it all just seemed... Pikmin-like....

Graphics
The graphics are really nice. They're not perfect, but they're very colorful and all of the creatures they have just have a look to them that looks really cool.

Sound
It's not amazing but it's very nice music to listen to while playing a strategy game. There's not too much music in the game, but what there is, is great! The levels, "The Forest of Hope" and "The Final Trial" have the best songs. There's not one song in this game that is annoying.

Gameplay
Obviously the best part of the game. The first few minutes I ever played, I was liking it only a little. But then I really got into it, and by the end of the first day, I had a blast with the game. You can have three different pikmins. Red, yellow, and blue. Reds are immune to fire and are the strongest, yellows can carry bomb rocks and can be thrown the highest, and blues can go in water. The game isn't too difficult but your pikmin will die if you don't think of a strategic way to get a part for your ship. That only goes for some, however. The first few parts are a breeze to get, and really shouldn't sacrifice many of your beloved pikmin. There really are no weak points to this game. Just the fact that it isn't too long really.

Lasting Appeal
Not a very long game. It should take you about 10 hours. Challenge Mode is fun, but doesn't last too long. But, you'll probably come back to this game a lot. I played and beat it a good 4 times. There are 3 files in this game, and it takes up 19 blocks in your memory card.

So this is a must-play. Whether you rent or buy, you'll get your moneys worth ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best series of Nintendo games ever

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Aug 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game rocks hard!I couldn't stop playing it after i got it.The game just spoke to me when i got it. It said "Buy me"now i just cant stop playing it im hoping to get Pikmin 2 and to be able to write a good review on that game to.This is a real time strategy game and it's great for people who like mind games.Bottom line rent it buy it keep it!!!Stop reading this and get it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pikmin RULES!!!!!

posted by BadReview (WALLA WALLA, WA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games for the Gamcube
it definetly wasn't better than Pikmin 2 though.
It starts out as Captain Olimar going on vacation
, but he crashes into a meteor, and crash lands on planet.... EARTH!!! He estimates his suit will only keep him alive for 30 days.(Everybody whose ever played the game wishes it were a few days longer)He runs into a red thing witch spits out a seed witch grows into a Pikmin.

This is a great great so it is hard to believe it was made in 2001.

P.S. If you want to get a TON of Pikmin go to the landing site(this requires blue Pikmin) go over to the grey wall, and blow it up with bomb rocks inside the box(to pick bombs you need yellow Pikmin)after that go to the small pond, and throw a lot of Pikmin into the clam's mouth after the pearl pops out take it to any of the onions for 50!! Pikmin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The time limit is the problem

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jul 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What with all the environments to explore, obstacles to overcome, and strategies to plan, "Pikmin" can be a very enjoyable game. That enjoyment is severely marred, however, by the restrictive, stress-inducing time limit. Not only are your daylight cycles timed, but you have only a limited number of days in which to find and recover all the missing components of your spaceship. If you fail to meet that deadline, then...well, you're just plumb out of luck.

The sunrise-to-sunset time limit isn't so bad. In fact, it's a pretty essential part of the gameplay. The game would have been improved greatly, however, by the allowance of unlimited days during which to get things done. After all, if you're rushed off your feet, then you're not having fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Charming and cute, but not my type

posted by Plague310 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say that I am rather critical on games and my views may be a bit harsh. Now that that's said and done... Whether or not one likes this game will depend on their personal tastes. The Pikmin are cute and this game creates a cheery and joyful mood.

THE GOOD: the music, scenery, and characters make this game look and sound good. It's fairly addicting, and having hordes of little flowers following you brings back memories of caterpillar parties in late 90's and early 00's adventure games. Control is good, and sending funny-looking flowered imps to their death can be satisfying.

THE BAD: The game does not have a lot of action (at least, not on the level of Metroid or some other games), and that's because it's not an action/adventure game. Also, the passing of night and day, an integral part of the plot, can become rather annoying and pedantic. Just when you realize where to go or when you finally get somewhere it's night, and time to turn in. The controls are strange, taking a while to get used to, and the pikmin blindly following everywhere gets bothersome.

There's really NOTHING TERRIBLE about this game. It's charm is fairly addictive, and after a short time, you'll either find yourself playing for hours or never wanting to see it again. Like I said in the beginning: liking or not liking this game really depends on your personal tastes. It's definitely worth a try if you have any interest in games which don't involve gore, racing, or sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE FINAL OPININON

posted by PkMiNLoVeR (Clermont, FL) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hey poeple and fellow pikmin lovers. well basically the game is an over all gud!!!!!! (9/10) and for the most part to get minions ITS THE BEST!!!!!! its an overall gud game beacuse the music and the reason for the game was great pshhhh who dosent love to be in control of so "far-out" species? i haven't beaten the game(whitch is sad beacuse im wiring a reiew) and if u dont like the grapics on the game cube version i recommend getting the "wii" version of pikmin(havent played it waiting to get it) is verey gud (comming from the screen shots) and it's easier then using a stick to show were you'r throwing but if u dont have a wii game cube is the best rason for getting the game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my favorate game

posted by stephen (GLENDALE, AZ) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

pikmin is a very good game. To me it is perfect! I would change is that you can throw pikmin faster. i suggest you play it non stop for 5 years!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pikmin try to help you, but they get eaten!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I can't see why anyone would like Pikmin. Somehow you crash on a planet with poisonous air. Afterwards you meet some weird plants called Pikmin. You only have fifteen minutes each day to try and find your spaceship parts to get off the planet. The pikmin really want to help you, but sometimes weird creatures eat them!! Hurry and look for the spaceship parts, because if you don't get off the planet, then the poisonous air will kill you! I tried hard to look for the parts, but in the end I couldn't find any!!! Remember, if all your pikmin get eaten then you have to pick more pikmin. So it wasn't for me, but it might be fun to you. So rent this pikmin game right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD

posted by mattside (HOWES CAVE, NY) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS GREAT. THE ONLY THING IS THE TIME LIMIT ITS A HASSLE. IF YOU WERE ABLE TO TAKE YOUR TIME THIS GAME WOULD BE ALOT! BETTER! ITS A MUST PLAY BUT ONLY RENT IT CAUSE ONCE YOUR DONE WITH PIKMIN......... YOULL NEVER PLAY IT AGAIN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game

posted by Freibergs (LUTZ, FL) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

However, I just couldn't get into it. That's why I gave it a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Fun and Challenging.

posted by SonicHeadK240 (WATERVLIET, NY) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I first played this game when it first came out and I loved it from the start and I actually like how once you get to a certain point its just very hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do you have the time?

posted by shadow96 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

THIS is the worlds MOST addicting game, in fact it won a award for it, to.
I own it, back win I was 6, and I played hours on end, just to see what has around the comer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pikmin is almost guarenteed to capture your heart.

posted by MegaLuigi (SLIDELL, LA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Pikmin was and still is an AWESOME stradegy game. In this game, you find strange creatures called Pikmin, and there are 3 types. Reds who are immune to fire (and have noses), yellow who are immune to electricity and can be thrown higher (have ears), and blue who can swim (gill/mouth). You play as Captain Olimar, who crash lands on this planet whil on vacation. You must fight Polka Dotted enemies called bulborbs, hop-happy frogs named Wolly-Wogs, and enjoyable bosses. This game shouldn't be to hard, if you know how to strategize your movements. While the 30 day time limit might be annoying, the game is still enjoyable. For no time limit, check out Pikmin 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dis game is awesome

posted by cutie123 (Bronx, NY) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

yea like da title says dis game is awesome!! it may seem a little difficult but trust me its worth playin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »