Rent Pikmin 3 for Wii U
view large frontback

Pikmin 3

Rent

Keep for: $44.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.7

300 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Pikmin yet!

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From 2001 to 2013, Nintendo has continued to refine and evolve the Pikmin series, coming a little bit closer to perfection each time. "Pikmin 3", with its lusher environments, polished gameplay mechanics, and new types of Pikmin, leaves me wondering what Nintendo could possibly do to impress us further with a hypothetical "Pikmin 4". Giving us the choice to play with the Wii Remote and Nunchuk is greatly appreciated, as the Wii versions of "Pikmin" and "Pikmin 2" controlled flawlessly that way. The new characters are fun and endearing, and teamwork is more important than ever. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the game strikes a happy balance between the stressful urgency of "Pikmin" and the open-ended lack of consequence of "Pikmin 2". In this third entry, you're not really limited by number of days (you're allotted 99 days, which is dozens more than even the least efficient player is likely to require), but you're tasked with the responsibility of keeping your food rations in stock. This gives the gameplay a sort of "soft urgency" that still allows the player to take all the time he or she needs to cultivate Pikmin forces or simply explore the vibrant regions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Title on Wii U.

posted by venom3 (MEDFORD, OR) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As of now, Pikmin 3 is the best title on Wii U. This game has had quite a development cycle, starting on the GameCube, moving to Wii, and being delayed 4 times on Wii U. Let's see if it was worth the wait:
Gameplay:
Gameplay of Pikmin 3 as is follows: You control an army of Pikmin, little ant-like creatures, to collect fruit for the main characters' dying planet.There are a few types of Pikmin, including the Fire-resistant Red Pikmin, the water-breathing Blue Pikmin, the shock-resistent Yellow Pikmin, The new strong Rock Pikmin, and finally the flying Winged Pikmin. If you're wonder where White and Purple Pikmin are, they are in the new multiplayer mode. The multiplayer consists of two modes: Bingo Battle, and Mission mode. Bingo Battle is a game of Bingo where you have to collect the objects shown on a card in either a vertical, horizontal, or diagonal line. It can be fun and crazy at times. Mission mode is basically doing missions like you would in story mode, but you have a time limit. These are fun too. Also, if you found Pikmin to be hard because of the 30 day time limit, it has been replaced with how much fruit you have. Everyday, you will consume one piece of fruit. It's not as restrictive or scary as the original time limit was.
Graphics:
The graphics are amazing. A question many people may have is how it looks compared to games on the 360 and PS3. It looks noticeably better than most games on those systems, and I can confirm the ground isn't as bad as many other reviews have made it out to be. As the game was meant to be a launch title, the game is rendering at 720p, but upscales to 1080p just fine. Nintendo has stated that the Wii U can handle native 1080p no problem, and just launch titles were going to be running in 720p.
Final Verdict: Pikmin 3 is a game that all U owners need to own. The game is the best looking game on Wii U, the gameplay is solid, and the story is great. It was worth the wait. 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very disappointed

posted by exclusive316 (RENO, NV) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

When I tried to play the game it did an update after the update my WII U stopped working. I had to call Nintendo and they told me to remove the update and then my WII worked. This game from gamefly has some kind of bug on the updates.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Greatly Enjoyable Adventure

posted by ZaneSade (ADA, OH) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I loved my experience with Pikmin 3! The atmosphere was beautiful, the new Pikmin types were used in creative ways, and the new enemies were delightfully creepy. Like most players, I found the Wiimote/Nunchuck combo to be the most convenient control method, and the new "lock-on" function was incredibly useful. The AI of the Pikmin has been improved: when crossing bridges, your troop will squeeze in a bit to reduce the liklihood of those on the edges drowning, something that happened much too often in past games. My friend and I had a blast playing the co-op missions, but we found ourselves wondering why co-op wasn't implemented in Story mode, or why Purple and White Pikmin were left only for use in Missions. These would be ideal additions for a fourth installment in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Didn't see this coming!

posted by izzy_aka_izzy (DELAND, FL) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Ok, first let me say that I have never played any of the previous Pikmin titles and was very hesitant in trying this out. After all, youtube vids of gameplay looked a little slow, boring, and just not my cup of tea...BUT... I decided to give it a go and I am left with no regret whatsoever. I never thought I would be a Pikmin fan?! This game is relaxing and a whole different kind of experience.

I enjoy the exploration aspects, the strategy involved, and beautiful astthetics...this game puts to rest all of the "Wii U is graphically weak" arguments. The game may be cute on the outside, but don't let that fool you into thinking it's easy-peasy; you will have to use your BRAIN! But that's not a bad thing as the game is extremely satisfying once you complete levels, collect fruit, and defeat bosses.

If you are on the fence, and have even a mild curiousity in this title, try it out, I hope you'll be pleasantly surprised as I was!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by karri71 (GUYMON, OK) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

My husband and i are playing this game and it is really fun , entertaining, great graphics and challenges. I am thinking of buying it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A pretty game that wears off its charm fast

posted by largetree (TELLICO PLAINS, TN) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

I never played Pikmin 1 or 2. I have only played pikmin on Nintendo Land, and I love what i played. When i heard they were making a Pikmin 3 for Wii U, i was really excited for it because it is a different game than i have ever played. When i first got this game i was very impressed with its beautiful top down graphics, vibrant colors, and cute little pikmin that follow you where ever you go. The puzzles at the beginning were not too bad, expecially when you get 3 characters to switch back and forth from and you need all 3 to do certain puzzles...

Then the game started to get old and very very very annoying fast. The AI in this game with your Pikmin is TERRIBLE. If you cut a corner too fast, your pikmin sit there, or run through a puddle of water, and die. Glitches galore especially at end of the game where you zone out while your Pikmin are fighting a boss, and when you load into next area, they all die. And you have to start over with 1 pikimin because it protects them from extinction.

Or the worst one which is not a glitch but huge annoyance. It is counting down to 0 to gather your pikmin and you finish gathering them and you put the controller on the table and it hits a trigger button and disperses all your pikmin and they are all dead. 100 Pikmin dead instantly.

It just got old hitting the throw button 100 times, whistling over and over, rinse and repeat. I almost sent it back before i realized i was on the last mission. It is short too, only 24 days.

I didn't feel any sort of accomplisment after i beat the game, i felt relief that I can send it back and get a better game. I gave it a 5/10. It was pretty to look at and the Wii U doesnt have many games like this, so you might want to try it, but never buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The third time is more than a charm

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

The Pikmin crew is back – ready to give their lives for some strangers who just happen to show up on their planet (how nice is that?)
This time around, your task is to find fruit that you can turn into juice which keeps the crew alive for another day (I hope they have a fully functioning bathroom on that ship).
If you’ve played either of the previous versions, then you know what to expect. You start off with a few of the cute creatures and build up their numbers by gathering items like numbered discs.
Then, you go off and explore large areas, battling monsters while gathering even more items (numbered discs, fruit, special suits, or communication devices)
But this game also lets you use three captains – after a few days. This lets you get into several areas that one captain can’t get into – which makes for some inventive puzzles.
And this sort of game style is hardly used in any other game, and I still have fun making up what sort of Pikmin to use in my adventuring party (there are five types overall, and you can have up to 100 Pikmin to use at any time).
And I get great joy in seeing those little critters beat up on monsters much larger then they are, then carry off the dead creature’s body back to ship to make more of them.
This game – like the last one – doesn’t have much of a time limit because it’s easy to build up your juice supply. And if you mess up, you can go back and retry any day again.
But there is a problem with Pikmin 3: it will take a while to get used to the controls, namely aiming where you toss your Pikmin. It can cause some annoyances.
But that doesn’t last long. This is one game that the WiiU really needs – an exclusive game that all sorts of gamers will want to play.
Pikmin 3 is one of the best games I’ve played on the WiiU this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

super addicting

posted by thekavinwall (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I've Never played a pikmin game before. So I figured I'd try it out and this game is addicting! Environments look pheNomenal to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »