Rent Pikmin 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Pikmin 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
8.1

411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The ghosts of Pikmin past!

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) Jun 13, 2012

Member since May 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was super fun. The levels were interesting, the caves were challeging, and the removal of the time limit was a very smart move. Now, the only small problem I have with this wonderful game is the loss you feel when you lose your pikmin to the enemies or environment. It makes me feel bad when I see their ghosts floating up into the air, but it does make you try better next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I couldn't put it down!

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The original "Pikmin" had a good concept and a solid execution, but the thirty-day time limit just about broke the whole experience for me. Well, say good-bye to that pain in the neck, because "Pikmin 2" gives you unlimited days during which to get things done! Need to take a day to scout the area and plan strategies? Do it! Need to take a day to buff up your Pikmin reserves? Do it! Time is not pressing on you, and there are no stressful deadlines.

Of course, that's not the only way "Pikmin 2" improves upon its predecessor. The new purple and white Pikmin are welcome additions to the ranks, as is the ability to control two different captains. The cave systems are each unique, and very challenging. The graphics and music are beautiful, the Wii controls work like a dream, the Pikmin AI is supremely competent, and, overall, the whole affair is highly compelling and addictive. My obsession with the game didn't end until I'd found every last treasure.

If you missed this gem when it was originally released for GameCube, don't make the same mistake twice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Good

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have rented plenty of HD collections for games that I had missed out on the PS2. I'm sure they were all good games in their day, but I couldn't enjoy them as much as many modern games due to their outdated feel. Since Pikmin 2 was an old Gamecube game that was ported to Wii, I thought I would feel similar about it. This game has really held up over the years. I had a really good time with it and kind of wish I would have played the original Pikmin back in the early 2000s. The gameplay is very unique and doesn't get repetitive even ten hours in. Hearing that this is a strategy game may scare some casual players away, but it's very accessible. Definitely buying Pikmin 3 whenever the Wii U launches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pikmin2

posted by jkunze (MERRILL, WI) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Found this very enjoyable. Not too easy but not too hard either. Played it from beginning to end in one sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was good.

posted by JGltno (MIAMI, FL) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was a good game. but after you discovered all the pikmin you got pretty bored =( cant wait for pikmin 3 to be released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!!

posted by OmegaKingD (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Pikmin 2 is such a great game it is unbelievable. The graphics and Pikmin Ai have been greatly enhanced since the last game. There is no more lag and the new enemies you face are better looking and fun to fight! The best parts are in the holes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am going to buy the game tomorrow cause I thought the game was AWESOME & COOL!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good but repetitive

posted by Megafan200 (INEZ, KY) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good game i rentend to play as the dou olimar and louie but after two days i got bored because you do the same thing over and over again and after you beat the game you do it again only with the president as your sidekick the mutiplayer is good but it gets boring to, so rent it dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just as good as the Gamecube version

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Back in 2001, the game Pikmin 2 came out – a sequel to the smash it original.
Now, in 2012, the second installment comes out for the Wii, and it keeps much of the original gameplay, looks, combat, and little guys who carry really big items.
For those of us who don’t know what the game is about, Pikmin 2 is about a guy named Olimar who has to journey to a planet filled with little guys and use said guys to beat up monsters, blow open obstacles, and gather up treasures to pay off a massive debt.
But these little guys are dived into five colors. There’s red Pikmin which are fire type creatures, blue Pikmin who are water types (and only ones that can safely swim over water), yellow Pikmin who are electric type and can be thrown very far, white Pikmin, the poison type, and purple Pikmin, the heavy, strong fighters.
The trick here is to make up your army of just the right types of Pikmin to defeat the monsters, get past the obstacles and get the treasures. This is where the fun lies.
And it’s also fun to search through four different areas and several underground lairs for those treasures. Pikmin 2 is one game that will make time fly by.
But there are a few problems with the Wii version. First off, it’s a copy of the Gamecube version – which you can probably get for $10 (they’re asking $20 for the Wii version.)
And I don’t like the save system which makes starting parts of the game over again a real pain.
Pikmin 2 is a lot of fun to play, and fans of the game will want to get it to relive past memories. It’s a definite rent, and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

error

posted by sarsfieldj77 (WEBSTER, FL) Nov 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I wanted to play this game so bad. When I put it in I got an error to take it out and power off my wii. So I did and the same thing showed back up. I then cleaned out the wii with compressed air and tried it again and the same. Put a diff game in and it worked so the game must be bad if all my others work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by karri71 (GUYMON, OK) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

Wished this game was for sale i would buy it, but i enjoy playing it, love the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pikmin, enough said.

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

It's Pikmin. What's not to like? Relaxing, colorful, charming, fun, funny, and strategic.

You control an army of 100 Pikmin who help you out. It's incredibly fun, good looking despite its age, and enough ways to challenge you that it can be fun for anyone. Chibi robo 2? Please nintendo? Also, if you want to buy once you've rented you're out of luck. These are getting harder and harder to find on places like eBay and amazon. Expect $30+ for an average used copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pikmin 2 is the best in the series

posted by JamesCraft (WOODBURY, NJ) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Now I am one to not judge Pikmin. These games are amazing and with Pikmin 3 being my favorite game on the Wii U , but it is not my favorite in the series. In Pikmin 2 Olimar has to go back to the Pikmin Planet with his new colleage Louie who is pretty funny with his Piklopedia (Mamuta Inedible tastes like chicken) to pay of a debt of OVER 10,000 Pokos. While collecting treasure I found the new types of pikmin being really fun. Purple Pikmin or in my case Big Berthas are practically the best type ever released. Purple Pikmin are 3X more powerful than the average pikmin , when thrown can do a divebomb attack and can stun enimies, and can lift 10X the normal pikmin. White Pikmin are imunned to poison, can dig up buried treasures, run faster than the normal pikmin, and when eaten drastically hurt the enemy. Once you have paid off the debt of 10,000 Pokos Olimar forgets Louie on the planet and must go back to save him and PLOT TWIST the President replaces Louie in search of Louie and more treasure. Pikmin 2 is my favorite in the series and try it for yourself. Go get it now seriously

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well...

posted by xXXboxCrafterXx (LONGVIEW, WA) Aug 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

I liked the Gamecube version and the 1st Pikmin. But the new control scheme is hardddddd. I spend an an hour trying to swarm and then a volitile dweevil comes over and blows up half my squad. Wut's up nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

new controls are horrible

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

i personally found the new control scheme absolutely %100 pathetic especially the command and control i could never ever get my pikmin to go where i wanted them to lets say im getting yellow nectar i point at the nectar of course a bomb falls from the sky kaboom! 85 pikmin gone thanks to the new controls ive played this on gamecube for years so maybe that had something to with it other than the god awful controls everything else is more or less the same i especially like that they took out the 30 day limit nintendo should get alot of credit for that i did have a big but not complete drop in interest in this game once i found all the colors of pikmin but i still play it ah yes the replay ability is massive in this game to end this review the enemies are very challenging warning beware of the water wrath!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pikmin 2

posted by NoobishTuna (NEEDHAM, MA) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Pikmin 2 is an amazing game with lots of hours of fun just waiting to be had! The wii version may not be quite as fun as the gamecube version due to using motion controls, it's still a wonderful game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by rere195 (HENLEY, MO) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Loved this as a kid, and its even better for the Wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by Gavin_the_beast (KINGS PARK, NY) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

i love it....yea.....thats it......
:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IT ....UCKED

posted by kkennedyviolin (PLYMOUTH, MI) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

IT ...UCKED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »