Rent Pikmin 2 for GC
view large frontback

Pikmin 2

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
8.6

1308 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS A SWEET GAME!!!!!

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is sweet as heck seriously it is really adventurous i loved the monsters. This game is so cool and has a great story. Has sweet 2 player action and a co-op mode if u beat a giant spider in one of the cave. I am 13 and i even like it don't think i am weird but this is a really good game. You should rent it even buy I know I did. Pikmin 1 is sweet also but not as good as Pikmin 2 but still it is good trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I knew I would Write a good one!

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Nov 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you read my review for Pikmin 1 you would of known I would write one for Pikmin2!

This game was great!So much better then Pikmin1 and a lot more fun!Nintendo has out done themeselves again with are small little hero Olimar and his side kick Louie.Now you have two captains to comand!Which means twice the action,twice the collectiong and twice the Pikmin!There are now new areas to exsplore new caves filled with treasure new bosses in each cave of the game!Do you hvae what it tales to comand your pikmin army to slay the mighty Titan Dweevil?

Pikmin 2 is one of the best games for gamecube I have ever played it is just as good as the first!.So rent it buy it play it LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than first

posted by chocobofan (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

this game was very fun much better than the first but it had its pros and cons so ill list them. pros= 2 player battle and co-op,unlimited days to get money,5 kinds of pikmin,easy to beat,and reconizable creatures. cons=co-op has a time limit, the day ends after a while, and your have to go into a cave to get more white/purple pikmin. dont let the cons get ya down this is quite a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PIKMIN 2 IS AWESOME!!!!!!

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first Pikmin was pretty good but it's nothing compared to Pikmin 2!For one thing you don't have that dumb time limit!Realy how do they expect you to beat the game in 15 minutes!But Pikmin 2 has way more types of pikmin.Along with awesome co-op play.You also get to play as that second guy!(sorry I forgot his name)Trust me you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo's great franchise gets better.

posted by RacerKing4 (AVALON, WI) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a total nut when it comes to Pikmin. I am on my 5th play-through and lovin' it!!!!!! Graphics-wise, this game is amazing. It's still hard to find a blue pikmin's gills, though. The game's Single and Multiplayer modes are both perfect. If i could sum up the game in one word it would be: funawesomecoolwowgreatperfectfunnyunbelieveable. Go. Buy the game. RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pikmin 2 GREAT GAME

posted by Ross10 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great.I think the game should have a few more pikmin colors though.I can't wait for Pikmin 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Little onion game ever!!!!!

posted by Brex222 (KINGSVILLE, MD) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was way better then the first. One reason, Purple and white pikmin woohooo! Also now red pikmin can help more for fire. Including yellow they can now help with electric. Purple can equal to the strength of 10 pikmin each. White have x-ray vision basiclly. Nowing that it makes the game alot better.The new sublevels really make the game interesting. For example all the bosses. Really fun.I like this plot better then the first game's. The last game you were just concintrating on reaparing olimar's ship within 30 day:/. But on this game you get tresures and pay off debt and unlimitate days. Oh and i can't forget louie i think of him a a giant dumb pikmin who is useless. Finally there are alot of ne enemys you will encounter and lost of strategy parts of levels to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pikmin2

posted by checkers (CRESTVIEW, FL) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

pikmin 2 is the sequel to pikmin. It is about two guys who need to pay off the debt to this delivery company i forgot the name of. The game unlike pikmin has no time limit so you can waste as much time as you like making more pikmin to aid you. The other cool part is that you get to more new pikmin who are very useful i wont tell you there abilities though that just ruins the surprise. The game is very based on strategy and is good for all ages and can be very addicting. Though there is one con the two new pikmin are so annoying to make! You can only get like ten a day (in pikmin time). And when you do it like every day it soon disappears making it impossible to use ever again! There is also a 2-p battle mode so you and a friend can fight each other in pikmin combat. And if your openet kills your pikmin they turn into leaves back at the onin (the thing how you create pikmin. Any ways i highly recommend this game to who ever enjoys have a huge army at your will. I give this game a perfect 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Like a More Scientific,Cuter Copy of Zelda

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Now that I think about and play Ocarina of Time along with this, this is much like Zelda in many
ways, only you're not armed with a sword and shield.You're equipped with Pikmin, adorable plant/mammal creatures.And you have to pay off a debt, not save a magical kingdom. Nevertheless, there are some much
commons to Zelda.
For instance, the layout is quite similar. There are small caves that you commonly enter in order to collect all those darn treasures. They're similar to the dungeons in Zelda.You can't find very many treasures on the overworld,so it has less signifigance than the overworld in Zelda, and you access dungeons a lot less frequently than the caves.And it takes you a looong time to
completely beat the game. I've had this game for
a year, and I still haven't beaten it,
contrast to Sonic Heroes and Super Mario Sunshine,which I just completed the story in a matter of months.And SA2B only took from Christmas to late January,or maybe even shorter.
The graphics are still as eye-shocking and wondrous as the Zelda series,but they're better.
OoT had several rips in the graphics,and WW pertained too much to cel-shading.But Pikmin 2
outdoes them by having a magical enviroment like
Star Fox Adventures. It processes as slow like KH, but that speed is just fine. Now that I'm thinking about it,I play more games with average
movement than blazing-fast,eye bending Sonic.
Pikmin 2 is a classic game,just like their ancestor. It closes to Zelda more than Virtua
Quest,which is a hybrid of its own magic,Zelda,&
modern Sonic. It may not be a Player's Choice, but it's
still a recommended buy. Who says a game's gotta
be a Player's Choice to be good?
When I first played it, it took me 86 days to clear the first half. The second time, however,I
did better,and finished the first half in 32 days
flat!And guess what?I lost NO Pikmin to fire,and
less than ten to poision!And I birthed over 1000
Pikmin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks

posted by killermoc3 (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love the pikmin series i love love love the the nois the roket thing makes when it talks mshasss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Send adorable little guys to their death! YAY!

posted by Kashabo (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I didn't play the first Pikmin, so this is coming from the perspective of one who can't compare the sequel to the original or comment on any changes Nintendo made on this second installment. That being said, I must say that I enjoyed it.

Those cats at Nintendo are some strange folk. Who else could conceive this scenario? You build a team of miniature, adorable little sprites, each color group with a unique ability, and explore a strange new world looking for buried treasure. And then you look on in horror as they are eaten by large creatures or walk straight into electric, poisonous, or watery death. And you know that there are those kids who can spend hours on end just sending squad after squad of Pikmin to their horrific death. Good times...

2-player versus is loads of fun. There's just something so appropriate about putting your army of little guys against your friend's army. If I had more friends, I would probably lobby for 4-player versus.

Even though I didn't play the first game, I found Pikmin 2 easy enough to learn and get acquainted with. The in-game instructions do a good job of educating first-timers. However, it does get repetitive after a while. Every so often you stumble on something new you can do with your pikmin, but I don't think that keeps the game fresh enough. I sent back the game before finishing it without regretting it. But it was fun while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

impressive 10 years ago

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) May 21, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

everything about this game was impressive 10 years ago pikmin is a creative strategy game where your little tiny pikmin do everything for you without spoiling to much lets just say that your company has gone bankrupt and you go back to the pikmin planet to repay the debt only this time without the infuriating 30 day limit purple and white pikmin are the 2 new types of pikmin as i said before i prefer the gc controls but thats really the only difference between the gc and wii versions even though pikmin is a fantasy game the game looks and behaves realistically if you see a frog in real life get ambushed by an army of pikmin he would probably fight back the water and things like that really show off the technical capabilities of the gc we tend to take this stuff for granted today but those things weren't really done that often and it makes pikmin a visual masterpiece so rent or buy and travel back to the pikmin planet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pikmin Comeback

posted by PikminPlayer (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

In Pikmin One, I felt it was extremely short. In Pikmin two there in no time limit and two parts to this exciting adventure. The two new pikmins, purples and whites, add an agressive turn to the adorable game. With two captians, you can easily coop with the harsh elements and beasts. The enemies and new with quite a few comebacks from Pikmin One. This is a great game for all ages. It has it faults, but who can frown at the face of a blue pikmin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BooYaa

posted by gamefreak22 (DENVER, CO) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

amazingly amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

??

posted by aswercvbnu (NORWAY, ME) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i wude love too play thes game agen BUT IS NEVER 4 RENT :( PLZ DO SUMTHING ABUWT THES

I NO I HAVE BAD SPELLING SORRY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as Pikmin 1

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

As a big fan of Pikmin, I was looking forward to playing this game. Insofar as the game mechanics are identical to Pikmin 1, the game was good (hence my rating), but I disliked almost every change that was made.

First off, Pikmin 2 has no "ticking clock" which forces you to go through the game in a certain number of days. In my mind this was the whole challenge of Pikmin 1, and what made it so replayable. It gave the game tension, and made it exciting. Without the time limit, this game comes off as a bit more tedious and dull.

Second, one of the big additions to the game are underground caves. In these caves, there is no time limit for sunset, and in addition you cannot get new pikmin out of your onion. This makes underground caves less of a frantic rush to get parts, and more of a slow, careful crawl where you are trying not to lose any pikmin. This is kind of a neat idea, but I found caves to be much slower and more boring than above ground. I eventually came to dread playing caves since I found them so tedious.

In summary, I enjoyed this game, but I think I would have enjoyed playing through Pikmin 1 again just as much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love this game.....

posted by dsgfuwefg (NORWAY, ME) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i love this game but is not EVER rentable if you have it send it back so i can play it PLZ plz plz plz come on don't be mean :) :( :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the winner is pikmin 2 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

this game is aswome.
it has great graphics,funny cutscenes,and 2 brand new typs of pikmin,white and purple.the funny thing is that olimars whistle sounds normal,but louies whistle sounds like a train.well,thats all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A huge jump for Pikmin

posted by MegaLuigi (SLIDELL, LA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

While Pikmin stole the hearts of many, Pikmin 2 comes out on top to most, mainly because of TWO new types of Pikmin and no time limit. That's right, this time you are allowed to roam the Pikmin planet for UNLIMITED Days. Captain Olimar returns once again to the planet, because his employer Hocotate Freight has obtained a huge debt, due to a space bunny eating the golden pik-pik carrots, but this time is accomponied by his partner, Louie. Pikmin 2 introduces new 2-player mode where friends race to see who can get the most treasure.

The New Pikmin:
In Pikmin, you had 3 types of these odd creatures. A red type, blue type, and yellow type. This time, old Pikmin will be returning and new ones being introduced.

Purple Pikmin:
These bulky guys (or gals) are strong. They are worth about 50 regular Pikmin (as I recall) and are heavier. While they deal more damage and make hauling ship parts a whole lot easier, they also are harder to throw.

White Pikmin:
The last obtained Pikmin, these little guys are much smaller than the others. They are immune to poison, and they can dig up treasures from the ground using their beady red eyes.

Overall, I give this game a 10. It is masterfull, and sure to capture anyones' hearts if they're into stradegy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dis game was cute!

posted by cutie123 (Bronx, NY) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 me dis game was sort of cute n funny in a way cause da pikman were so cute lolz well dats all i have 2 say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for renting

posted by gparsons08 (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Great game for renting. It was a lot of fun, most of all for people who like puzzles. I don't think that this is a game that I would want to buy, although. It's fun, but gets old after some time. The game is long which is good, there is always something new to do, but it all seems the same. A must-play in my book, but better if it's rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pikmin 2

posted by niaiscool (DEWITT, MI) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I liked this game, and it was better than the first game. with even faster paced game play. i lost about 1200 pikmin total

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sounds Like Bad Game, Plays Like a Legend

posted by nddfahgda (SANTA ANA, CA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

Who knew a game like this can be so fun? To me when I heard of the first Pikmin game it sounded weird but when I heard their was going to be a sequel I was excited. They have made excellent improvements like multiplayer. Now you don't have to feel alone when your killing bugs with your pikmin.
Sound: 10 the sound is great
Graphics: 10 the graphics are great
Gameplay: 10 you won't get bored and I was entertained the whole time
Overall: 10 it's a great game for anyone to play

This game is even better than the first which most games can't compete with the original but this one can. Pikmin 2 is a awesome game and one of the best games for the gamecube. You start out with one player but as soon as you know it you can control two people at once and split up groups. That's the beginning of the game and I won't ruin the middle or end. I'm still wondering how can this game be so much fun when all you do is move little bugs around...................- ........and kill bigger bugs!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic little experience!

posted by MarCry (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

Although I've never played pikmin 1, I was able to enjoy this marvelous game fatastically.

It's graphic is superb with tiny little details with challenging levels. The two player capability in the other mode is also very interesting in a different way from the story mode.

This marvelous game gives the player opportunity to use their noggin and their courage. (Which is quite rare these days)

The down side is that it seemed a little bit too hard for my little brother to play although the game rating was good E.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

beautiful just beautiful

posted by XXXGhOsT (HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

pikmin2 i say is a really awesome game. it has great graphics the pop up was beautiful as well. this game is just absolute great and is just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »