Rent Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Trials & Tribulations for DS
view large frontback

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Trials & Tribulations

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

840 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Phoenix's Big Finale

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The last game for Phoenix Wright plays just like the previous two and doesn't disappoint. If you loved the first two, you should already be playing this.

For those that haven't played any of the Phoenix Wright series, the game is basically an adventure game, almost like an anime styled CSI. You are a defense attorney and your job is to defend your client. To do this, you'll have to investigate crime scenes, question witnesses, find contradictions in testimonies, and present evidence.

Being the third in the series, some of these 5 cases can get lenghty, so don't worry on this being a short game.

The only vice I have with this series is that sometimes it can be difficult to figure what piece of evidence goes exactly where. Sometimes, you may have the entire case figured out, but you need to use the 'wright' evidence at just the 'wright' testimony. lol

Yet, by thinking about each case throughly, and thinking about evidence and testimony though your head, those contradictions are sure to pop up.

A great game with a equally great story. You'll shed a tear, you'll even giggle. Thank you, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phoenix's legacy goes out with a bang!

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, it's Phoenix's final show. He's at his peak in defense now. He's basically the best defense attorney out there now. But now, it's time to look at his past(Devil May Cry, anyone? No?).

In the first cutscene of Trials and Tribulations(T&T), Phoenix is seen arguing with one of his fellow colleagues about a girl(yes, this goes pretty far back). Phoenix eventually shoves his colleague and asks himself what he's just done.

Gameplay/Story - 10/10

"NO! You're wrong about Dollie! She would never hurt anyone!". You're playing as Phoenix's good old mentor, Mia Fey for the first case. Guess who the defendant is for the first case? It's none other than Phoenix Wright himself. Phoenix is charged for supposedly murdering a man named Jack Swallow(you know, his colleague?). But, surely someone can't die from just being shoved, right? It's up to Mia this time, to save Phoenix in the case five years ago that would forever connect them.

Phoenix's girlfriend at the time is Dahlia Hawthorne(don't worry you will absolutely hate this girl later on, I actually get queasy from even mentioning her name). The twist is, Dahlia says Phoenix really did kill Jack! A few minutes later and Dahlia is accused of killing Jack. The rest, you'll have to see for yourself.

Graphics - 8/10

This time, it'll take seven words to sum this part up. They're the same as AA's and JFA's.

Sound/Music - 10/10

Awesome as usual. The cornered theme is just mindblowing. It's just, so energetic and makes you go "WHOA!". Sound, relatively the same. There's one new sound clip though, and it's used at the end of the fifth case. You know about Scary Maze? If you don't, that's ok. The sound clip is.. a scream. Whose scream it is, you have to find out on your own. I'm just putting it out there so you don't have a heart attack when you hear it.

Overall - 1000000000/10(Just joking, 10/10)

Phoenix has finally recieved the achievement "Become an Ace Attorney". Kudos to him! Rent it, buy it. As usual.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun on all fronts, but still a bit difficult

posted by Kenkaku (LIVONIA, MI) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My previous review on Justice for All sums up my feelings on the Ace Attorney series: it's deep, fun, funny, touching, and beautiful to look at with quirky characters and great artwork. Anybody that passes the opportunity to play this should get a 'GUILTY' verdict.

But like previous Ace Attorney games, this one still isn't quite at the perfection level. Once more, I found myself having to use FAQs to find out how to move on from time to time. I think the biggest problem with the series regarding its difficulty curve is the inventory system. It still just gets packed with items and profiles that you don't know what to do with them. It's also hard when the game requires you to find a certain set of items before moving on. You just don't know if you have everything or haven't shown everything to the right people. There should be some form of indication letting you know if you're missing anything.

Speaking of, it ticks me off when I'm wandering around, figuring out what to do, only to find out that I missed a conversation with somebody. It made me pick up this habit where I go up to someone and just go through every item and profile I have until they spill their guts. It's more painful when you find out that you don't need to talk to that person, especially in the final chapters where you have three pages' worth of items. There should be some kind of prompt to let you know which person you still need to chat with.

Other than that, I have nothing but praise for this one. The stories are still brilliantly crafted and usually wrap up with a heartwarming ending. The skits between characters are funny to boot, and as cases unravel, it gives off that same rewarding feeling that games should be giving you.

Granted, the twists in the stories are always so bizarre that you either buy it or you don't. Me, I always buy it. The quirky style of the series just makes the world you're in feel believable, making you forget that this is a game where you play as nothing but a lawyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best game in the series

posted by Moose1220 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Trials and Tribulations, the final installment in the Phoenix Wright series, is definitely the best one in the series. One reason it is the best is that you can play as four different characters: Phoenix Wright (obviously) long-time rival Miles Edgeworth, Mia Fey, (Phoenix's mentor), and Franziska von Karma, another one of Wright's rivals. Although it doesn't add much to the gameplay experience, it still adds a fresh spin on the series. But the biggest reason this game is the best is that the five cases that you can play are much more difficult. For example, the first case in Justice for All seemed rather easy; it felt like I barely had to think at all because you could spot contradictions extremely easily. But in Trials and Tribulations, you actually have to look at all of the evidence you contain and see if you can find the contradictions. It may sound easy, but it really is challenging. They have also added some new characters that are as crazy and as strange as ever. They also brought back some classic favorites, like Detective Gumshoe, Maya Fey, and the somewhat gullible Judge. The only character they brought back that I really despise is Larry Butz... I cant stand him! He is so stupid and annoying, he makes Helen Keller seem like a genius! Although he isn't really involved much in the cases. This game is full of great mystery, suspense, and of course humor. This was a great way to end one of the greatest game trilogies of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zvarri! It is all becoming elegantly clear to me!

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

PW1 is great, 2 is slightly worse, and 3 is the best of the three. It is a very worthy finale to Phoenix Wright (but not the continuation of the Ace Attorney Series, Apollo Justice (yes, that is the real name of the protagonist(what were they thinking?! (by they, I mean capcom. Did the meeting go something like this? "Okay, we need a name that suggests our hero is for Justice." "Um... how about 'Justice'?" "...Brilliant!"))).

The most important thing to say is this: If you haven't played the first two, then play them first, in order! This is especially true for this game which has a much larger overarching plot and it relies heavily on previous games, as well as on cases in its own game (Only 2 of the 5 cases are not extremely related to the same plot.)

There is no reason to go on. If you liked the first two games, rent this one. If you didn't like the first two games, then I probably don't like you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nice

posted by JordanJay7 (SEASIDE, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

good game. nice story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice but nothing new

posted by Pogomon (WASHINGTON, DC) May 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

I have played all games in the series up to this one, and I have to say while this is still an entertaining game is does not feature a lot of innovation in game play. Except one very short minigame the gameplay is only the usual talk/examine/present mechanics.

The story offers a few nice twists but I felt that the conclusions were starting to get very sketchy towards the end.

If you have played and enjoyed the other Phoenix Wright games, you will enjoy this one as it offers a lot of background on Mia and Maya, if you have not, play them in order ! This game references a lot of old cases you will enjoy it more if you know the context

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OBJECTION!!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

i really love the phoenix wright series i really enjoy the psyche locks. i don't like case 4 very depressing ending on case 4. i give pheonix wright 3 4 psyche locks out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not For Everyone

posted by evil4life (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Ok if you don't like to spend your time reading like if you were reading a manga then i don't recommend this game. Phoenix Wright is all about reading to trying to put pieces together in a puzzle and that's ALL, and trust me when i say this game isn't for everyone since all friends hate it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lame

posted by tyzilla (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

this is my first time playing Phoenix wright and i was disappointed i thought it would be all cases and OBJECTION!!! but no most of the game is lame listening to people i only liked episode 1 but if your in to strategy games you should give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You can only cry when it's all over

posted by Axelerate (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

A fitting finale to Phoenix Wright's portion of the series, Trials and Tribulations ties up every last loose end and gives us a beautiful story along the way.

...You have finished the original Phoenix Wright game and Justice for All, right? Good.

Gameplay is the same as last game. Psycholocks...err, Psyche-Locks return and are tougher than ever to break. But the tedious walking around and finding evidence is here as well.

The story starts out with a shot in the arm, playing as Mia defending Phoenix! But you'll return to him soon enough and meet your new prosectuor Godot. The stories of all the important characters tie together in some of the greatest cases you've handled yet!

And some of your favourite characters from the last two games return! Old friends, new friends, old enemies, new enemies...Really, the story here is the greatest yet. Complete with an ending that makes you want to cry because you'll want to spend more time with these characters.

So now, you can cry. Trials and Tribulations gives you the ending to a great trilogy and a great time along the way.

(And certainly don't forget Apollo Justice. Phoenix's story continues there!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Cases, Same Old Gameplay

posted by Zoidberg89 (CHELSEA, MI) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The third iteration of Phoenix Wright is identical to the second in terms of gameplay. So instead I'll describe the cases (with as little plot spoilers as possible). One big difference about this game compared to the others, is that for two of the cases you get to play as Mia Fey (these take place only in the courtroom).
The first case has you playing as Mia Fey on what is her second case ever taken (apparently something bad happened during her first case, and we find out what that was later). It's nice to play as Mia during what is pretty much a tutorial level, since giving Phoenix amnesia in the second game just so they had an excuse to explain how the game worked was kind of stupid. It's also fun to see Mia during her rookie years.
The second case involves the sacred urn from the Kurian Village (fans who've played the other games will remember this from the second game) being stolen during an exhibit. Fans of the second will notice Adrian Andrews makes a return in this case. This is by far the worst case in the game and maybe worst in the series (boring plot and characters).
The third case once again involves Mia, except this time we get to play her first case. Not only is it Mia's first case, but also Edgeworth's which makes things a little more interesting.
The fourth case involves Maggey from the second game, who appears to be having more bad luck as she is accused of poisoning a mans coffee at the restaurant she works at. It's a pretty interesting case and ten times better than the second case.
The fifth case is arguably the best case in the series. Without giving away too much, it ties up case one and three nicely. Also fans of the second game will be happy to know that Franziska makes a return. I couldn't put my DS down while playing this case and ended up beating it in a night. My only problem is that it never felt like the end of the series. As far as I know this is the last Phoenix Wright game, so it's sad that it ended like every other game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the first two

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

By now you should be familiar with the Phoenix Wright series, so on with the new stuff.

The stories are much better this time around. You get more insight into Mia Fey,'s past, the strife of the Fey family, and some familiar characters pop up at the most interesting times. Phoenix sounds like a new man, reflecting the confidence he's gained throughout his career. And all the cases tie together to make a cohesive, engrossing tale.

You still hit a few snags from time to time, with some objections making little sense and some info gathering sessions to be held up by a single item you may miss repeatedly, but it's not nearly as bad as in the prior games.

It's funny, it's entertaining, it's the third in a trilogy. If you like the others, get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Phoenix's third and (last?) hurrah

posted by TandD99 (HAYWARD, CA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

These popular lawyer games seem good for those who :
1)like reading
2)can get engaged with the quirky characters
3)enjoy shouting at their DS
4)like the limited detective work aspects
5) enjoyed the previous games

The good stuff.
-More crazy characters (My favorite the great detective). Also many previous return.
-More stories. Some are awesome. This is the lifeblood of the game, and the fact they are engaging enough you'd want to see the end of them.
-Clue finding. Gets addictive.
-The last case has a very interesting element in the first investigation part I found refreshing. More this kind of stuff.

The bad stuff
-Some plot twists are a bit of a stretch (including using a soap opera schtick).
-If you don't know what the game is hinting at, its a wall until you figure it out.
-Is he a defense attorney just for murder cases? geez!
-Same ol' graphics.
-No replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slow, repetitive, reading game

posted by JimDScott (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I thought I would really like the Phoenix Wright games, but I couldn't be more wrong. The game is basically, "click, read, and repeat".

The game play is S...L...O...W. I often figured out the solution to the puzzle, then had to look through the menus to find the opportunity to solve the case. It just wasn't fun for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Somewhat of a rush job but still fun.

posted by Kalinsan (Los Angeles, CA) May 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I'm a huge fan of puzzle games and while the Phoenix Wright series weighs heavily on the old point-click adventure model - the game essentially boils down to logic puzzles and memory.

The premise of picking through flimsy (or not so flimsy...) testimonies for logical flaws is perfect for a game and the first game really hooked me. The second one expanded considerably on the formula by adding more actual gameplay elements to the "investigation" portion of the game so it wasn't just going from person to person talking until the trial started.

The third installment, Trials and Tribulations, makes no attempt to innovate in any gameplay sense (it even removes a number of mechanics such as dusting for fingerprints and using the black light to look for blood stains) but otherwise holds true to the basic form of the game.

The second game opted to have fewer episodes (4 instead of 5) but to make each one considerably longer. The third game goes back to 5 episodes but after playing the second one, the episodes in the third game feel a little underdeveloped. And that would pretty much go to describe the whole feeling of the game - slightly underdeveloped.

Trials and Tribulations is certainly fun and has a good handful of stumpers that may require multiple stabs in the dark but some of the episodes are startlingly short (episode 4 could be finished in a couple hours easy, less if you don't get stumped). There was a moderate attempt to tie several of the cases together by having flashbacks to older cases (2 of which you get to play as Mia Fey, a nice change of pace) and seeing those characters show up in current cases.

Ultimately though, the game ends up feeling like an afterthought and since the previous games didn't leave a lot of questions to be answered, this game's attempt to answer them feels a little awkward and forced.

Nonetheless if you like the genre and like the series, it is still a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game!!!

posted by ryuhalto2 (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

If you haven't played this game, or heard of it, rent it now! or i take that back. Rent the first game in this wonderful trilogy. Phoneix Wright is thought-out, mind-bending trial. You want a game of mystery, play this one!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another excellent entry in the PW series..

posted by ReverseW (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 26, 2008

Member since May 2006

For those of you who have played the earlier games in the series, it's definitely a must-play; it fleshes out a lot of the pasts of the main characters (especially Phoenix and Mia). In fact, if you haven't played any of the other games, I recommend you do first to get the most out of the story.

Like the other games, I love the story; you can never predict exactly what happens. It is a little bit more frustrating than the earlier games though, in that there seemed to be a lot of times when it's not very obvious what evidence the game wants you to submit, and I spent a lot of time on trial-and-error-ing. But otherwise, it was very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I guess im hard to please...

posted by KingTreybo (CLEVELAND, TX) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

Maybe its just me, but i was unimpressed by Phoenix Wright. First of all, it is totally unrealistic. The stuff that goes on in the courtroom in this game would be totally unacceptable in real life, but i guess that makes it more interesting for a game.

Im not even gonna talk about graphics, theyre as good as you can expect for a DS...nuff said. The lack of variety is what doomed this game for me. Its the same thing over and over and over. Ask questions, look for clues, go to court...rinse, lather and repeat. Its fun at first but gets really boring really quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

phonix beats court in this third installment

posted by baldrick (TROY, OH) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

In this game you play as a young lawyer named Phonix Write. The game if filled with plot twists, hard cases, and a chance to investagate crime seanes. With an aray of different characters in each case changes the atmosphere of the court. It contains flashback cases where you learn about Mia's past. This game passes without an OBJECTION!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My first PW game...

posted by CMiYCii (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I'm certain there are aspects of the story I am missing since I didn't play the first two games. However, the format is engaging enough to keep me reading along.

For those wondering what the game is, I explain it this way: it is a puzzle game around a story. It reminds me of the "Choose your own adventures" stories from when I was a kid.

What I didn't like is the unnecessary flashing and shaking of the screen. It is a little distracting when trying to read the story boxes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best one yet

posted by ashepherd (BOISE, ID) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

If you're a fan of the Ace Attorney series, you will certainly be satisfied with this latest installment. The gameplay is unchanged from Justice For All, but the stories behind the cases have become much more involved and interesting, the cases generally last longer, and the characters are for the most part more developed and meaningful. The major drawback is that it only takes a few hours to beat and not worth playing through more than once because there's no challenge or interest if you already know the 'answers' and how the story unfolds. A great rental for the adventure game fan, but only worth buying if you're really into the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OBJECTION!!!This Game Is The Best!

posted by Stovall (CHESTER, PA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

Of course this game plays like the ones before,but the plot is always fresh. You will have to defend "some" new characters and prove their innoscense,all with profiles and hard evidence.You still get to use the "phsyce lock",to get hidden secrets out of those tight-lips,also.Personally I luv how this game put some humor in it too!Oh,and there's a new shady prosecutor,so get ready.Just to get to the point,BUY IT!You won't be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »