Rent Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Justice for All for DS
view large frontback

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Justice for All

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

1071 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, Very fun.

posted by diddy59501 (HAVRE, MT) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun, but you will need some time for it because there is a lot of thinking involved. It is very difficult, but it is a worthwhile game, i am very impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you liked the first game, you'll like this one.

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

That's not much of a title, but it's the most true thing I can say in this review: If you liked the first one, you'll like this one. Feel free to stop reading.

I'm going to write this review operating under the assumption that you have PLAYED the first one, because if you haven't, you should play that one first, anyway. (Yes, I do mean that - the game is DEFINATLY not as enjoyable without knowing the characters from the first game.)

What's different? Well, a few things.

One, the music. Wow, it sucks this time around! Phoenix Wright 1 had one of the best soundtracks, and this one just doesn't. Remember those great momenets when Phoenix found out something really important in trial, and the music was so intense? Well, yeah, it's been replaced by something lame.

On the other hand, the investigations have been vastly improved. In PW1 you felt like you were wandering around. In this one, it feels much more like you're being a detective while evenets around you unfold. Also, "psyche-locks", a new thing in PW2, are great. Remember the Feys? Well, using a jewel of theirs, you can see when people lie. So you try to gety the truth out of them like you might get the truth by cross-examining in court. As a result of those two things, investigations don't feel like filler anymore.

The third and pretty much final difference in this game is the fact that you can present profiles as well as evidence. This is good in investigations, because you can get a feel of what other people feel about different characters.

There's a new prosecutor in most of the cases. She's not as cool as the others from the previous game, but she gets the job done, and she's funny to boot.

One of the best things about this game is the fourth case. It'll blow your mind, I swear. Which is good after the "meh" third one. Complete with a really great twist and EXCELLENT character development for Phoenix, you're sure to love every second of it.

All in all, the first is better, but this one rocks. GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just as Amazing as Ever

posted by fullmetal (EDISON, NJ) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about the first game. I heard how good it was, but couldn't imagine how a game where you're a defense attorney could be interesting. Boy am I glad I tried that one. And Justice for All is better in most ways, semi-lackluster in others. All in all, the game must have been at least 20 hours, though I wasn't keeping track. There were only 4 cases, including the teaching trial (he had amnesia. lame) but at times, it seemed like I was solving 3 different cases at once. They also seemed more difficult than in the first game, though definitely solveable, even to someone without an attorneys' badge of their own. Just be ready for some trial and error n.n;

The new addition of the Psyche-Lock earned some points in my book. Remember in the first one when someone was hiding something, and you just had to show them something and they fell apart? Don't expect to see that anymore. This time around, you might have to show them 3 or 4 different things to get them to spill the beans. Though it tells you when you need to break a lock, so that makes it less difficult.

Another new feature I enjoyed was the life bar. Instead of giving you 3 check marks and knocking one off with every mistake, you have a life bar, with some screw-ups more painful than others, at times late in the game, they may even cost you the entire bar.

Overall, this is an outsnading game. The addition of new characters and features, and the welcome return of some of our favorites. It's not a necessity to have played the first game (they included a teaching trial for you newbies) I'd reccommend it, so you can understand some of the underlying stories. And so you'll know who the second prosecutor you face is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome Back Mister Wright

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If I was asked to review this title in one word, simply put - wow. About three months ago I set my DS aside, having played all of the "best" titles available already. It seemed as if clones of these titles were all on deck, so I kinda ditched the system - THIS game brought me back, and how. Phoenix Wright is essentially an interactive crime drama/comedy story - insanely smart, witty, fun, and addictive. This title is much like the first in that it probably won't appeal to a younger audience, however - mature gamers who are tired of STILL playing Final Fantasy III, Metroid, Lost in Blue, Trace Memory, or even the original Wright now have something new to drool over. Compared to the first title, the plot is better, the characters are better, the animation is better, the humor is even better. Absolutely every aspect of this game has been polished, and a few new interactive options are even here for your detective disposal. Capcom made a very smart decision in bringing another Phoenix title state-side, the only thing I could imagine being better than this is seeing Phoenix show up in the next Marvel VS Capcom title. Just imagine, Wolvering busting out his claws to a loud OBJECTION! Much like this DS title, GOLD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, superb, and few flaws

posted by pie94ftw (FLORENCE, SC) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have played the first game as I have you will not be dissapointed, however if you have not played the first game I advise playing it first. Often in the game it refers to things that happened in the original and you can not fully appreciate the story without knowing the whole story from the previous installment.

The only other flaws I see is there may be times when you know what to say in court but not wich peice of evidence to present (as there are more than one piece that, to me show the same idea) It is a great game but I think this takes away from some of the fun.... Also sometimes the ideas are just a little too far fetched.... If you play the second case and clear it.... the ending is so unrealilistic (even if you accept a certain magic to the powers of maya and pearl)

Alltogether a great game the plot is kind of insane sometimes but its really fun.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HOLD IT

posted by Fragkitten (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Justice for All

I awoke after waiting a 7 days for the first of my game fly games to come to my door and as I open my rustic apartment mail box I was quite pleased to see that they had both arrived before my trip to California. I was really in need of something to do during my 7 hours of flying. Though I will admit I was somewhat confused when I saw this title. Leave it to my better half to pick something like this.
"It'll be great sweetie, just try it."
So somewhat reluctantly I put it in my DS and began to fiddle away.
I was really quite surprised at just how quickly I found my self screaming "OBJECTION!" and "Take That!" when ever I presented that key piece of evidence, and the pure "giddy" feeling I got when I found myself finally winning the case.

Personally I found this game to be very "cute" for lack of a better term. I enjoy the semi-flash game style. Though I will admit that there were several points where I wished I could skip a step when you knew the turn out of the case. Each "case" takes at very least an hour and a half out of your life just through the text. Then in the event you cant figure out what to do and find yourself to proud to look it up the time begins racking up pretty fast. Though all and all I found the stories to be quite enjoyable (Say for the few characters that I found to be very obnoxious).

I found it somewhat annoying that it took what seemed FOREVER to get the simplest things done though some times were less apparent than others.
The other thing that I found to be frustrating was that when you found yourself "loosing" while in court there was no way (that I saw) of getting your favor back up. No matter how often you presented the right thing it wouldn't bring up your bar by any amount. Which could be quite a pain in the event that you had a bit of a "bad luck" streak.
All in all I think its more of a bargin bin treasure than a must have new release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game for long trips

posted by Leumas (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this game is good for anyone who like detective work...if you are interested in being a lawyer, read books on philosophy then. I just hope the game would retain the original Japanese names for the character instead of "Nick" or "Wellington" when you can tell by the way the characters dress that they are Japanese!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

an ok game with great potential

posted by crazypethy (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Dont get me wrong, I did enjoy this game. I gave it a 5 rating because there is to much talking between actual game play, and i didn't enjoy that. If your someone that enjoys this, Id say you'd enjoy the game as about a 9 because the story is pretty good. As for myself, the lack of INTENSE DEFENSE ATOURNY ACTION that I loved so much about this game in the long talking areas made me unhappy... Also, when you lose you must go back way way far, and thats a bummer too. Worth a try at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

When did court become fun?

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Even this colorized cartoonish version of the legal system is boring. They really tried, and it shows, but this game get dull, and repetitive quick. You really have to love mysteries to suffer through the tedious journey Phoenix Wright drags you through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic story telling, but incredibly difficult

posted by Kenkaku (LIVONIA, MI) May 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

Anyone who loves great, in depth stories with complex characters and detailed plots would love the Ace Attorney series. After the original Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney, I was looking forward to this with pretty lofty expectations. Some were met, others weren't.

To get the stink out of the way, I found this to be almost needlessly complex and difficult compared to other titles. Expanding on the evidence system from the last game, you now can present people's profiles, not just tangible evidence. This is a good idea in theory, but just makes managing all the little details in your head even more demanding than before.

The series has also been known for its subtlety; you have to wrap your head around items in ways you never thought of to find holes in witnesses' testimonies. Here, however, I found myself looking up walkthroughs not only on dozens of occasions, but only to be baffled by some reasoning behind the evidence. You really have to absorb what people said to you earlier on in the chapters in order to win without any help. There was one particular segment near the end of the game where I had to recall what my client said to me halfway through the chapter. Checking evidence in the court record just doesn't do you justice anymore (no pun intended).

But I can forgive this crazy difficulty curve for one particular reason: although I found myself reading walkthroughs just as much as character dialogue, I still loved the experience this game offers. The stories are so well crafted that I can't believe the series is not as well known as it should be. It's different, yes, but words can't describe how satisfying it is nonetheless. I am about to order the final Ace Attorney game and still hold lofty expectations while expecting them to be met.

One thing I should note is that I'm not a very patient person; if I took the time, the game probably would not be as difficult as I make it out to be. I'm sure your experience will be drastically different than mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TAKE THAT!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

another phoenix wright game from capcom i thought they will do the 1st one only. how many more will they make? this game only has 4 cases though like apollo justice has. the phoenix wright series and apollo justice are my favorite games made by capcom well done. i give phoenix wright 2 4 OBJECTIONS out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Picks up right where the first great P.W. left off

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Really all that needs to be said is if you like the first one, you will like this one. I enjoyed both a great deal. Will be playing the 3rd one soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sequel...

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This sequel holds almost identically to the original. To get a better feel for the characters and their back stories, you should definitely play the first one.

The typical game style is still there. Talk to everybody to gather information and then break apart witness testimony in the courtroom to defend your client and get a "Not Guilty" verdict.

The game play outside the courtroom has been expanded some. Now you do more than just talk to everybody and show them pieces of evidence from the court record to get a reaction. You do this plus there's the "psyche-lock" minigame of sorts where you attempt to prove a person is lying to you and get them to tell the truth by presenting evidence and stuff from the court record that when presented at the appropriate times, leads you to the truth and more information for the case.

The in court, gameplay has not changed much at all. You still listen to testimony, press to get more information to figure out the contradiction, then present evidence that somehow contradicts the witness testimony. The only things that have changed slightly is that you can now present people profiles as well as evidence. And instead of the 5 strikes your out set up they had in the first game, you now have a life meter and depending on the situation, different actions can take more off your life meter than others. The life meter is also in the "psyche-lock" minigame for out of courtroom play and will take hits if you get things wrong there too. The only way to heal your life is to complete a "psyche-lock" minigame which heals approx. 50%. So, if you go into court with a small amount of life left from the minigame, you could be in trouble if you can't produce the right evidence.

Similar to the first game, this is very much a story-driven game. You spend most of your time talking to people to collect information about the case. But the characters and the stories are interesting enough to keep you playing.

Ok, my 2 cents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phoenix is back! Sherlock Holmes II, baby!

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Phoenix Wright is undoubtedly my #1 video game series of all time. Sorry Devil May Cry, Metal Gear, God of War, Grand Theft Auto! No other game(s) have captured my heart as much as the Phoenix Wright series has. When I found out there was a sequel, I had to go and get it ASAP.

Gameplay/Story - 10/10(can I go higher than this?)

It's been one year since the first Ace Attorney. Phoenix has improved no doubt in his defense skills(not self-defense). Edgeworth has been saved by Phoenix. Everything is going just dandy. But, what's this? Edgeworth has chosen death! Phoenix shakes off his memories of Edgeworth and continues his attorney legacy in his sequel. Not much has changed since the first Ace Attorney, gameplay-wise. You still have the same press and object style of gameplay. However, Phoenix now has a new tool of getting information from people. The Magatama. With the Magatama, Phoenix can tell when people are lying and he can engage them in mini-investigations in order to break their "psyche-locks" and get the true story.

I'm trying to make my reviews less "wordy". So, you'll just have to play Justice For All on your own to get the story. Ah, what the heck! I'll squeeze in some of the first case for you.

SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT

A policewoman named Maggey Byrde(who calls their child MaggEY? Or "Phoenix"? Just joking!) is accused of murdering her boyfriend(Deja Vu, anyone? coughAAcough), Dustin Prince. It's up to Phoenix for the sixth time(fifth not counting the extra case for AA) to save his client. But, it's gonna be hard when he loses his memory by getting a fire extinguisher to his head.

SPOILERS OVER SPOILERS OVER

Graphics - 8/10

Again, for the sake of space and time, I'll sum it up in five words. Ready? They're the same as AA's.

Sound/Music - 10/10

The sound is the same. The music however, has changed. The cornered theme is energetic and feels like the world is gonna end.

Overall - 10/10

If you liked AA, get JFA. Fourth case = love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweeeeeeetttttttt

posted by gamecraze (FREEHOLD, NJ) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i thought this game was great! the storyline for each case was great, same thig for case devolopment. i've only played 2 ace attorney games, bot amazing. this game is worth two rents!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Miracle Happen Here!

posted by Axelerate (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I'll assume you've already played the first Phoenix Wright game, okay? Because otherwise, you're playing a sequel before the original and that's just bad form. Especially here in Justice for All! Yes, your favorite (and least favorite) characters return! Making this the shortest game of the Ace Attorney series, you'll defend your way through four exciting...mostly exciting cases!

Since I'm assuming you played the first game, I'm going to just talk about the changes in gameplay when I talk about the gameplay, which I'm doing now. Instead of the five !s for a life meter, now it's an HP bar! Penalties take away certain amounts of the meter and you get to see how much each screw-up will take away.

The greatest new feature, by far, is the Psyche-Locks. People during the Investigation sections will have secrets, and instead of the unrealistic "Oh, there's that scarf I lost, now I'll tell you my deep, dark secret" from last game, now you have to piece it together by breaking between one to five locks on their heart. Psyche-Locks break up the monotony of go there, point at this, get evidence. And, as if they weren't great already, although they deplete your life meter when you guess wrong, breaking all a person's locks heals your meter! Great for those of us who bluff our heads off in court!!

The story is lacking slightly, though. Although a return from Payne (you remember him, no?) starts off the game, the new prosecutor is Franzika (spoilerific-last-name- here), who wants to whip the stuffing out of you. Literally. She'll whip you, the Judge, and her witnesses in COURT. Hello, assault and battery please?!
The cases themselves feel a little bit shallower, especially the third case. Luckily, the fourth case heals all wounds, if you can make the miracle happen. Save oftener!

Phoenix Wright fans, you'll look past the slightly shallow stories and treasure the gameplay and characters. And, of course, there's always one last twist to break. No objecting that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertaining without playing the first

posted by Catalyst (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Due to availability, I wound up with this game instead of the first. However, while I don't have all the story info, I still found it to be a wonderful and touching game. I'm looking forward to getting the chance to play the first game next so I know what I've been missing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It does justice for game 1, but not much else...

posted by Ledgic (MASON CITY, IA) Jul 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

Phoenix Wright rises from the ashes of his first incredible game to captivate courtrooms once more. If you loved Ace Attorney, the first game of the series, there's no reason not to check this one out.

It's a good game in its own rights, but it doesn't explode like the first game. You've still got the same drama, the same genius (and I mean Jeen-ee-us) plot twists, and of course, the same noisy shouting attorney stuff, great. Unfortunately, the courtroom music isn't as heart-quickening as the previous game. Also, many of the cases have thrown out the whole "OBJECTION"-"OBJECTION"- "OBJECTION" style conversations, mostly because your rival in this game would rather smack you with a whip (why would this be allowed in a courtroom?) than mince words.

Also, there are only the 4 chapters from the original GBA title, so don't expect any DS features to be implemented besides what is already built in.

But all in all, Justice for all (I'm saying "all" too much) is the same ol' Phoenix, solving unsolvable cases, and honestly, who doesn't love that??? Check the game out anyways. Even though it's probably the worst in the Ace attorney series, it's still one of the better DS games out there.

"TAKE THAT!!!"

Sorry. Couldn't resist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Quite as Good as the Original

posted by Zoidberg89 (CHELSEA, MI) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The second game in the Phoenix Wright trilogy doesn't really change much from the first, which is mostly a good thing. The only thing added is the psyche-lock feature, which involves you having to present certain items to "unlock" information from certain people who are unwilling to share everything with you.
This second installment isn't as good as the first, but it has its moments. The first 2 cases are good, the 3rd one sucks, but the 4th one is probably the best in the series. So this game is lacking in quality cases, but is more than worth it to play for the 4th one. Although if you're a Pheonix Wright fan you're going to play this game anyways, so stop reading and rent it already!
Although if you're new to the series, it's hard to play one Pheonix Wright game without playing the entire trilogy and because of that I definitely recommend playing the games in order (you'll regret it if you start mid-series and go back)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boring job, exciting game

posted by DavidSnit (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

When I saw this game in my magazine I thought the idea was crazy. How could a game about lawyers be great? I found my answer when I rented it. The game is challenging, creative, charming, and funny. The only real flaws here are the fact that you can't have more than one save file going at once, and that the game is ludicrously hard. But everything else is almost perfect. I beg you, please don't reject this game just because of the premise. This game is to good to miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same old situation.

posted by Toxikfoxx (ENFIELD, CT) May 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

Another P.W. ds title comes and goes, with very little improvement made. I understand this is just a port of the Japanese GBA version, but they could have spent a little time adding some more touch screen functionality.

Even though I felt like I was playing the same game as part 1, it's still an entertaining game. The localization/translation is top notch and the story line is as fun as ever. Hopefully the 3rd installment brings some technical advances. TAKE THAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Servicable Sequel, but new features annoy

posted by TandD99 (HAYWARD, CA) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

OK, first thing to do is play the first one so the return characters make sense. The leads are explained, but one of the gems about this series is its weird populace - and a healthy dose from the first game are thrown back in with little backstory.
Now, if you played the first, you should like this one. Its more of the same (the graphics have'nt changed, some reused music and similiar court crimes), but a few new things thrown in, such as the new life bar, new admission conversation tool, and new music and characters.
I must say, the second and fourth case in this are the standouts. I thought the last (4th) case was a better plot than the final drama from the first game, which to be honest, really just went on for too long. Unfortunately, there is no DS-esque case for this installment, and that is a letdown. You can still use the mike in the courtroom, but there is no 'evidence gathering' with it like in case 5 of game 1.
The new music is actually pretty lame, which came as a surprise. Fortunately some good songs are rehashed to keep me from muting this game. An overused whip sound in particular got to be really annoying.
Humor is ramped up in this game, it seems wittier than the first. I saw a trend with chatterbox characters auto-scrolling the screen with their nonsense, kind of irritating.
The first new addition is the court life bar... which takes off different chunks when you present evidence.. is not even a big deal since you can save anytime. Trivial.
The second is the 'Psyche Locke' which is basically making a courtroom confessional (complete with life loss) take place in the rather ho-hum evidence gathering stage. This I had problems with, as many times you are given several people who hide these secrets, and trial and error as to which one you are supposed to unlock first and progress the story.
All in all, this does the job, but the new expansions seem to do nothing to improve the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as interactive as the first...

posted by Javella (DANVILLE, IN) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I'm still a big fan of Phoenix Wright, but Justice for all was a bit of a letdown. The third case didn't even make sense to me, but maybe that's just me. The first game used innovations like finger printing and examination of video evidence. Even though they seemed a bit cheesy in the first one, I really missed their presence in Justice for all.

The new characters they introduce range from overly cute to overly annoying, but this is somehow part of the Phoenix Wright charm. I was very annoyed with Francisca's character.

If you consider yourself a cult fan of the original game, rent or even purchase this game without hesitation. If you were a little annoyed by the world of Phoenix Wright and all its quirks, I wouldn't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I object that this game rules.

posted by Panuco (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

awesome with great storyline and interaction with the characters. there are some parts that gets kinda boring when they start talking too much, but it gets very enjoyable when your in court to protect your defendant from murder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game! Involving story line.

posted by cb80361p (YORKTOWN HEIGHTS, NY) Mar 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2007

This game is very fun. My best advice I can give is to SAVE OFTEN. This game has a great feature where you can save as often as you like. The best time to save is when you are about to cross-examine someone. That way if you mess up a few times, you can start again without having to re-read all the information and story line. That is one thing about that game that you have to love, Reading. It has a very interesting story line and fun twists and turns. I enjoy yelling "HOLD IT and OBJECTION" into my DS. At the end of the game, you can actually fail at your final trial. That is not the true ending. Make sure you get the one that ends in the Airport with one of your co-characters. That is all I will say about it.
Enjoy this game, I did and I am renting the first Phoenix Wright game so I can solve that one as well. :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse