Rent Phantom Brave: We Meet Again for Wii
view large frontback

Phantom Brave: We Meet Again

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

324 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Phantom Brave, not that hard to understand at all

posted by moldymilk (Elgin, TX) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Phantom Brave: We meet again is a fantastic game. It is a strategy RPG developed my Nippon Ichi in which you play as a Young Chroma by the name of Marona.

Marona has the ability to summon phantoms to aid her in battle. So she accepts jobs to help people while her phantoms aid her in battle.

The battle system can be confusing yes, but anyone who can't get the hang of it after the second chapter shouldn't be playing RPGs to begin with. Where you confine your phantoms does indeed change their stats but that is something that is easily shown to you when you select that object. All enemies can be thrown out of bounds EXCEPT boss enemies and the LAST ENEMY STANDING.

Also this game was not originally on the DS, it was originally on the PS2 where it received great reviews before hand. You can play this game with the wiimote by itself, the classic controller, or even the gamecube controller.

In all honesty Phantom Brave is a great game worth picking up if you enjoy a great heart-warming story, intense character building, strategy, and FUN in general. Don't listen to the other user reviews, trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good if you understand Strategy RPGs

posted by Branovices (GRANDVILLE, MI) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ignore the reviewers that have obviously never played Strategy RPGs because is certainly among the best of that genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Phantom Brave is a Phantom Itself

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Phantom Brave: We Meet Again is fairly decent game exclusively for the Wii, and surprisingly unique for a RPG.
With a distinct and in-depth battle system and a fairly excellent storyline, Phantom Brave may not be the top-notch RPG, but does not deserve the negative criticism it has been receiving.

Marona is a girl gifted with a talent of seeing and summoning Phantoms at will. This gift, or rather curse as some say, has placed her with the reputation as being "The Possessed" by most townsfolks. She is guided by Ash, a mysterious Phantom who swore on his life to protect Marona at all cost. Together, they venture out taking on evil Phantoms and saving the world of an unknown malice.

Phantom Brave is fairly decent RPG game for those who have a Wii and never got a taste of the RPG genre. Phantom Brave is more of a strategy game than a RPG.
The battle system is very unique and has a "Fire Emblem" and "Advance War" characteristic. You will get confused how the battle system even works, and you may get used to it or learn to hate it.
What's so unique about the battle system is that Marona is the only character on the battle grid. However, Marona can summon, or "confine" other Phantoms, including Ash. Each Phantom has a number of turns before it disappears for the rest of the battle, thus it will take some thinking and strategizing to defeat your enemies.

The voice acting in this game is not one of the best I have ever heard. Although you can switch to the original Japanese voices, Marona still shows emotion through her dialouge that makes you show sympathy for her even more.
The sprites in the game, unfortunately, do not stand up to other sprite games for the Wii, especially "Muramasa: The Demon Blade." But nonetheless, it's fun!

Despite unimpressive sprite graphics and a confusing battle system, Phantom Brave is for those who want a taste of a decent Japanese RPG and strategy game. Unfortunately, it's not good enough for a buy but rather for a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game if you like this style of game.

posted by divinejoke (PERRYVILLE, MO) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Phantom Brave is a game by Nippon Ichi, the creators of Disgaea and was originally released on the PS2 (not the DS).

Pros

1.Good amount of depth and strategy to consider.
2.Tenpei Sato does an excellent job on the soundtrack.
3.Decent length with plenty of side content.
4.Interesting and unique play mechanics.

Cons

1.The graphics are sure to disappoint many.
2.The game can get repetitive.

If your a Nippon Ichi fan (yes I understand there aren't too many) then you owe it to yourself to try it out. I personally like the game better than Disgaea, but my favorite game of theirs is Soul Nomad (you should check it out it's for PS2).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UGH!

posted by Frankkfury (ROSEDALE, MD) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very good concept for the game, and is actually really fun for about the first 15 hours. But then the enemy's start getting more and more strong and your team starts lagging behind, making every mission near impossible to do without spending hours in a random dungeon leveling up. Be prepared to reset your game many times due to all your main characters dying. Lots of strategy involved, so if your not a thinker, don't bother with this game. BUT if your one of the few who pass high school =p and like turn based strategy, give this a try. If you can get past the horrible graphics, which even SNES could probably put to shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Phantom Brave: We Will Not Meet Again

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I have to admit, I've never been a fan of RPG's, and Phantom of the Brave: We Meet Again just isn't going to give me any reason to give the genre another chance.
In this game, you are a "Possessed" girl, Marona, who can summon different characters for different number of turns. These summoned characters can heal, attack, grab, throw, and use items.
But the whole system is just too confusing and convoluted for me to get my brain around. Some enemies can be thrown out of bounds (whatever that means) then get destroyed and some can't. Where I summon my helpers also changes their stats and abilites. There are spells to be cast that may - or may not work as intended.
But what really angers me is most of the characters are weak at the beginning of the game. Marona can't attack at all, most of the other characters do very little damage with their attacks and the only good fighter, Ash, can't stay on the field long enough to get rid of all the enemies.
And just think: As I go through the game I can summon up to 16 characters and have to keep track on how long each character can stay on the field, how many hit points each has, what special moves and attacks they have, which mosnter is best for them to attack and what items they should carry. It's a headache just waiting to happen.
Phantom Brave: We Meet again is for those looking for a serious RPG - and only for those looking for a serious RPG. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip it.

posted by JadedJay (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of RPGs for a long time, and rarely have I come across one that I regretted playing. This is one of those few regrets.

The battle system could have been stimulating, but ends up being little more than frustrating and confusing. The story is weak, the graphics poor and the voice acting annoying at best.

There is little to get excited about with this game. The idea surrounding the battle system is good, and it could have been a good game if only the developers had put a little more effort into it and remembered something very important...A GAME SHOULD BE FUN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by xemnort2 (FRUITLAND, NM) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This game is a very good game. I love the graphics i miss the sprites the gameplay is okay. The soundtrack is awesome and the controls are simple this ps2 remix is really good. The story its self is good but you need to be prepare for some battles be sure to level up your phantoms, because it gets hard when you're under level. Marona life makes you sad by her being so called possessed chroma and her trusty phantom ash people really hate her witch is sad, and you can unlock many phantoms witch can really help you in battle so i recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by micsoul (CLINTON, MS) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is great to get cause the story is realy good and the journy by it self is fun. its a little hard for me but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disgaea: We Meet Again

posted by rhopp (MUSCATINE, IA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game reminded me a lot of Disgaea: Hour of Darkness from the PS2. Unfortunately, it didn't have the amusing storyline of the older game. I didn't notice any story at all, actually. (Admittedly, I only played about an hour before giving up on this one.) You summon phantoms to possess objects to help you defeat your enemies. The type of object to which you confine a phantom determines what type of bonus they get (flowers +Int, rocks +Def, etc). Why phantoms? Why not recruit some real people to help? What is this place you visit to fight battles, and what's stopping you from just hanging out at your little phantom world house? I was disappointed that this game lacks any driving force behind the conflict. It's just, "Hey look, bad guys. Let's defeat them and grab the loot."

It seemed like a number of pointless, gimmicky game mechanics were thrown in, just hoping to spark some interest in what is basically a pretty standard retread of this genre. On the up side, it seems like this game is pretty long. So, if you like this Tactics type game, Phantom Brave: WMA is a great value in terms of hours of play per dollar. Do not expect revolutionary game play, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

There's 30 minutes I'll never get back...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

What were they thinking? In the same vein as Crystal Chronicles 2, Phantom Brave: We Meet Again decides to throw a DS title onto the Wii with no effort to improve it in the process. You would be wise to avoid it.
But if you'd like to know why, here we go: Phantom Brave is similar to Fire Emblem, except Fire Emblem is good. It's a turn-based strategic RPG where you equip and lead your characters into battle against strange creatures that want to kill you for some unknown reason. Try not to think about the story or the weird idea that this girl talks to dead people and makes them fight for her. In fact, throw logic right out the door, because the developers did.
Unfortunately, that's not the bad part. The graphics don't even look good by DS standards. Animations are terrible, sound might as well be absent, presentation is a bust... it's just a mess. Simply attacking your enemy requires way too many menus. Most of the stats in the game seem extraneous. You start to wonder if the blob of goo that's attacking you would die faster if you tried explaining your stats sheet to him rather than smacking him with your poorly-rendered sword.
This is a game that's trying to cash in on a series that has little merit to begin with. And essentially slapping your handheld game onto a console... there's just no excuse for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Phantom of the Brave

posted by hollie (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

Extremely disappointed. The graphics are at best 1st generation Nintendo along with the music. I had a cell phone 3 years ago that played the same kind of sound. The controls are vast, but too involved to just jump in and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring!

posted by gameboy27 (OCEAN GATE, NJ) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

we turned the game on and that was it. The graphics and game play were not even enough to keep a 9 year old happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »