Rent Phantasy Star Zero for DS
view large frontback

Phantasy Star Zero

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

286 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!!

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Nov 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

WOW! This game is one of, if not the best RPG out for the DS. It stays with the basic phantasy star idea. It has CASTs, humans, and newmans. The game has really well animated cut scenes and a solid story line.

One of the best features is, YOU CAN PLAY ONLINE! The wireless play has a cool new way of talking with others too.

This game also has so many weapons new to the series. A new type of weapon is a sword combined with a gun. It takes time to get used to using them.

A new combat maneuver is the dodge roll. It comes in handy for those quick attacking monsters.

All in all, this game is excellent. I definitely recommend renting it. Wait, forget renting it, BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic game

posted by XeroAngel (COCOA, FL) May 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first time ever playing a game related to the oh so great PSO. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:

The game is set up like PSO

It has online play

Extremely great story

Story starts out differently depending on race

Gorgeous anime cutscenes

CONS:

poor graphics

poor camera controls

too much reliance on the L & R shoulder buttons

game is impossible to play with broken L button

Too many ppl flame this game for no reason at all. I'd definitely buy this game if I had the money because its real fun. If you were a fan of PSO then you will most likely love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but almost too simple

posted by Keeleybros (PROVO, UT) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game and story. The main problem I had was that the gameplay was almost too simple. The gameplay didn't have the same excitement as PSO 1 and 2, nor were the monsters anywhere near as exciting to face as the ones in PSO.

Still, the simple gameplay was quite fun for a while, but did get a little old by the end. The other problems was that killing most the monsters was most easily done by a simple hack, slash, and heal method that got too repetitive by the end. By the time I beat the normal mode, though, I didn't really want to keep doing it any more.

The storyline was also simple, but enjoyable. It has some interesting moments and even a few that are quite powerful. A lot of it follows many of the things one might expect from this genre, but not in a bad way.

Overall, it was a fun game and I rate it a little higher than I would purely for the awesome Phantasy Star nostalgia factor. But, truthfully, I think I'd have just as much or more fun playing through Phantasy Star episode 1 and 2 again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ds game ever

posted by Taruindrag (DARIEN, IL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now this game held alot of promise, but the game itself Failed at a few major junctions. First off, the Controls are very touchy and hard to use. The game itself is like the PS2 PSO games, but with two less trigger buttons to change camera angles, so that you have a harder time lining up your enemies to actually hit. Also even if you time your attack string just right, it sometimes doesn't recognize you hitting the buttons on time.

Next problem with the game was that you could create unique characters, but only if the person next to play the game didn't use the same race, class, and choice of 4 heads, 3 hair colors, skin colors, and 5 clothing and mag colors. I know its a ds cartridge, but even pokemon holds a lot more info than that on one ds cart.

My final problem was the difficulty. Most games with difficult control schemes try to ease you into the game by making the first few stages as learning stages, but this game starts out hard from the get go. I created my character as a the begginer type human hunter male, and still found the game itself to hard mainly because of lack of lock on targetting and having to change my directions every time a mob moved a split frame from where it was. Dieing was way too often, and level ups came mostly just in time to save me from my fourth or fifth death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Action RPG/hack and slash.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Jan 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you like the newer Phantasy star games you'll probably like this one. I prefer the turnbased ones and had trouble with the 1st big boss, mainly because you have to manually change the camera angle every few seconds. Also the game doesn't pause while you search your inventory. The gameplay is similar to the PSP version(the load times are better but the graphics aren't as pretty on the DS version). This one also has less custom options for personalizing your character.
The story is set on a planet rather than a space station but otherwise feels the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

High Expectations...Real Dissapointment

posted by SkyosSolar (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 28 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I had really high expectations for this game.

Presentation: 4

Terrible loading times.

Graphics: 10

Really nice graphics. There's a bunch of hand-drawn animation (for the time I played) and has similar quality graphics to Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days.

Sound: 7

I wasn't impressed.

Game-play: 0

I actually put the game down it was so terrible. It was a hack-and-slash RPG but...bad. I thought maybe it was the weapon I was using ( a sword) so I changed to a gun. You don't even have to aim. Just shoot in a general 5 mile radius and the bullet uses its magical super powers to kind of flies to the enemy.

Lasting Appeal: 5

I put 5 because it lasts about 5 minutes until you get sick of the lame battle system.

Overall: 5.2. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Idea, Bad Implimentation

posted by Molechan (HARDIN, MT) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

Phantasy Star Zero reminds me of all the bygone, PSOne/N64/Sega Saturn era qualities best left behind, even as it fights to fill me with nostalgia.
The cartoon cut scenes are pretty, if brief, and the "get monster killing missions from the hub area" structure isn't out of the ordinary. This does not excuse for how heinously clunky the game controls - all of my near death experiences during play I can blame on a complete inability to lock on to anything for more than a second, and during that second it is just as likely that my slow as tar attack animation with allow the target to skedaddle away. You press the attack button to interact with items - have fun watching the attack animation a million times because your character won't focus on the glowy bobble you're trying to pick up. Also have fun looking like every other pile of low res legos you're playing online with. I understand this is an older game, but lets look at some of the others that came out in 2009... ah, Infinite Space. Low res, but you can tell that the spaceships are spaceships. Crystal Chronicles! Vibrant, fluidly moving and easily recognizable character sprites. Dragon Quest 9! Gorgeous looking, and doesn't ever fall into the "oops we've walked into a grand adventure based off of an easily corrected misunderstanding" that kicks off your quest.
I've seen far better (although in fairness, also far worse) from this franchise, and the DS library as a whole - I wouldn't completely condemn the game, but I'm certainly not recommending it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Face thine enemy

posted by krepta3000 (MESA, AZ) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

It's really hard to turn around and face the enemy, I have to do a lot more running around to get my licks in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so addictive and actually challenging

posted by djphat (ARLINGTON, NE) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

the story mode is fantastic and the choice of charaters is huge. the online play is fun but with limited chat. the combat is kinda like dragon age with guns i seriously reccomend this to anyone who has a ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do not rent!!!

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

This game is all over terrible it starts off looking good with a nice anime opening with some pretty epic looking battles but when you start playing you see the eyesore graphics (even for the DS these graphics are terrible) and then you go into a overview map world and start doing the terrible fighting style of the game the combos are difficult to do and most of the time your character is missing, and thirty minutes later you see your first boss which is way to difficult for how low of a level you will be at. And as soon as you get a partner in battle you think that she`ll help you with your battle but she ends being more of an obstacle than the enemies she fights recklessly and is constantly dying and taking all of your potions. So in short the game isn`t worth anyones time its terrible the whole way through so unless you want to waste your time with a game that you`ll deffenetley hate don`t rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boo!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Nov 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

YUCK! ;( It's not good at all! I wanted a female human character and I got a male humen character! The only thing good about the game is the anime graphics. Rock on anime! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »