Rent Phantasy Star Universe for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Phantasy Star Universe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.1

2801 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Phantasy Star Universe

posted by VGFanboy (ONTARIO, OR) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Personaly I found the story mode very well done. Its almost like Final Fantasy, but a bit better in my view. There was a anime feeling during the opening scenes and the cutscenes that made them more fun to watch, and not leaving you feeling like you wished that you skiped it and that you just lost 10-60 seconds of your life are now gone.

The many weapons and weapon skills available makes it alot of fun to play by yourself. You can dual weild daggers or claws or just one dagger/claw. Or use broadswords and single hand swords. And the odd-ball weapons will be sure to either laugh or make your charater look cool.

Though the online feature looks good. I myself havent played it, due to the $10 monthly fee, but I've seen my friends play it and they say the community is good and doing the missions with friends makes it alot more enjoyable and easier. "Completly different from having the NPC charaters." said by my MMO playing friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Online Aspect review

posted by KillQuik (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Oct 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

49 out of 57 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Purely from an online perspective, this game is "awsome" The xbox 360 was in desperate need of a successful MMORPG outside of Final Fantisy, and has finally found it. With 4 species to take control of, with each having its own abilities and specs, allows anyone to find the charecter that suits themselves. Spanning over 4 worlds maybe confusing at first, but you'll soon find yourself traveling around with ease. the vast choice of weapons allows for complete freedom in the way you choose to slaughter your 'Seed form' Enemies. From Huge one handed Blades and dual wielding daggers, to Machine guns and Magic wands, Each with theyre own customizable attributes. The competitive yet friendly leveling system makes competeing with friends fun and enjoyable. With the ability to team up with 5 friends or just random people, helps make missions eaier and more enjoyable to complete.

The only draw back ive encountered, is the fact that a "Guardians Licences' is neccisary to play the online part of the game. All Though $9.99 a month is a resonable price for a MMORPG of this calibur, It seems somewhat unreasonable on top of the xbox live subscription, and Price of the game.
But don't let this hold you back from playing this games completely adicting online play.

This game is an overall Excellent addition to the 360 online lineup, and i recomend this game to anyone who is unsure of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool ARPG game

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

57 out of 69 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Pretty good Action RPG game. The single player story is set up like a cartoon series, you play from one episode to another, while building your character up and such.

The graphics are decent, could have been better, but they work.

I was surprised that the single player was actually fun to play and is almost like the online part (at least from the Beta, haven't gotten a license to play online yet).

The game is worth checking out and if you like the single player game you are probably going to like the online part as well. Just keep in mind that there is a $10 a month fee to play online for this game, hopefully it will have lots of new items and missions to go one for that price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Someone take this thing away from me!

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

24 out of 35 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Its like drugs for little Korean boys. I want to not play this game any more, but it won't let me. I don't understand it. I keep putting the controller down and turning the machine off, and then fifteen minutes later, I'm back to beating the experience points out of the same generic enemies with the same three move combo over and over again. Great single player game, great online play. I'm returning this now before I'm tempted to sign up for the pay service for another month. I hate that I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

About as much fun as doing my laundry.

posted by RecGamer (DENVER, CO) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

53 out of 85 gamers (62%) found this review helpful


After folding my remaining whites today, I was inspired to write a review for this game. Phantasy Star Universe is annoying, slow, and requires an additional payment of $9.99 a month to access multiplayer, on top of existing X-Box Live fees. I played for almost 30 minutes before getting into my first fight, only to find the enemies to be the silliest looking bunch of wussies ever to disgrace my 360. Even the characters note how the enemies appear “soft and cuddly”. I spent another hour and thirty minutes trudging my way through irritating voice talent, excruciatingly corny music, a lame, cliché plot, and some of the WORST dressed allies I have ever seen. I am not materialistic by nature, but I draw the line at a pink afro on what seems to be a 4-foot nothing male elf with two equally badly dressed half wit brothers. After enduring all of this, I still did not get the chance to fight again, as the game took way to much time insulting my intelligence in a prolonged tutorial. It even went to far as to “educate” me on how to accept a party invite. A yes/no answer, hardly rocket science. I guess I shouldn’t be angry to miss out on the games utterly non-dynamic two button fight system which didn’t even allow my character to jump or sprint. But I still am. I would not play on online version of this poorly orchestrated silliness for free, let alone pay to play. I would like to emphasize also on just how bad the voice talent and musical score is… I cringe when I try to recall the high-pitch whining screech that this game has the gall to call a soundtrack. Also, I am dumbfounded as to how a girl gains galactic wide fame for being “a seer who can see all”, who is then taken by surprise when an alien invasion wipes out half a space colony WHILE SHES STANDING IN IT. Didn’t see that coming, did you Miss Cleo? Useless. The game was to slow to get off the ground. It will find it’s way to the return box much quicker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great RPG!

posted by LoganP (LOUISA, KY) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

21 out of 33 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is a great RPG, i haven't been addicted to a game this much since Diablo 2. One of the really strong points i liked about it was the character creation, very rarely you will see another player that looks just like your character. I have yet to play the single player but id say its just as good as the online play. On the subject of paying 10 dollars a month, in my opinion it is worth it because of the vast playing area and assortment of missions that are going to be updated regularly. I gave this game a 10 just because i love RPG's and the game play online is so great, and their are some many different combinations of characters and classes. Get ready 360 fans for a great hit out of the proverbial ball park. Reviewed by: Logan Pinder (MHU HellPainter)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for none online users.

posted by joejoe1196 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

obviously ive only rented this game, thus i didn't have the money to throw down for an online account. Good news is, the story mode(not online) is still pretty decent. The beginning is slow and alittle discouraging but if you make it past that, you may find that this is a pretty good rpg. Only issues i had with it are the somewhat confusing methods to upgrading weapons, and the fact there are constantly things blocking your camera view. That set aside, this is overall a fun game. It is still worth a rent for those who don't want to play it online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Phantasy Star Universe Review

posted by JohnGamer (WEST ORANGE, NJ) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Phantasy Star Universe is a good online game if your willing to pay an extra 10$ a month for the online.The campaign is a little long and didnt really keep my atention till about half way in but is really good for achievments for you achievment heads out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

.... Disappointing...

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I have seen some of the other scores of this game which other people have made. I have to ask... what do they think is so great about this game?

In the story mode, the graphics are very well done, but... the fights can be repetitive and long. All you do is attack with a melee weapon when an enemy is close, and fire a gun (if you use one) at it.
I got to say, though... the story had me playing it. The cut scenes are very well done (like the fights in them, which are very impressive), and, in the story mode, you choose what you wear and what weapons you use, which shows in the cut scenes (nice addiction, I got to admit that).

But with all of the same type of levels, repetitive gameplay, and non-imaginative fighting (in-game, not cut scenes), that reduced my score on this game.

Oh! Online Multiplayer! This is interesting... umm, you have to pay an extra $15 a month to play it Online, which is a MMOG (massive multiplayer online game). I'm sorry, but that's just not worth it. If you want to play it online, get the FREE demo from XBox Live. Each month, on the 12th, the characters you make is erased, but it's still better then the extra $15 a month. If I wanted to play a MMOG for $15 a month, I would get on a BETTER game, World of Warcraft for example.

Still... in Free Mode of the game, and Online, you can create any character you want (I usually played as a robot guy!). Each race is different, which gives you some things to explore. And it IS fun to play Online (I've only played the Demo version of the Online).

And, for those that are looking to try to get more Gamer Points, this game can give you 1000 points, just by completing the whole game.

I would rent the game from Gamefly and beat it, then send it back. This isn't a game which you should buy (unless you really love it. Please keep in mind that this is all my opinion about this game and what it was like to me.)

6/10 from me. Not a game to go crazy over...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

u will love if u loved PSO

posted by nickisom (WARRENTON, MO) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If u loved PSO uwill love this HD treat.The monthly cost online sucks but hopefully it will be worth it. I just wish it was bigger. But the whole new SUV weapons and Nano beast mode are cool. Also opening a store and chillin in your friends rooms is fun. It is a greatgame to play while in autopilot gaming, thisis when u talk and don't realize u areplaying a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Say goodbye to ur social life.

posted by Chromos0me (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a big fan of phantasy star, I was concerned about all the drastic changes that they had announced for PSU... I could go on about this game for hours, but I wont because ur so impatient... In short this game is everything that I expected (as a fan) and waaaaaayyyyyyyy MORE!! This game really surprised me. It is so complete, for once I feel like it's really worth the 60 bucks. It will last you a really long time without getting boring (if you played PSO I & II, you would know what I'm talking about). Yes of course, coming from a hardcore fan my point doesn't have much value to non-fans... but check this out:
I convinced three of my xbox live mates to download the beta, so they could play with me (all of which hadn't even heard of the series) and each of them now owns a copy and is playing it like mad... MAD!
This game is worth every penny. Oh and yes, the ten dollar fee for the online pay IS a bummer, but note that I am writing you this review having only played the story mode (except the beta a little bit)... so there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Real Good Game!

posted by killuhkam (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a must rent for people who haven't played Phantasy Star Online Episode I and II for the xbox or game cube, if you have played that game, then this is a must own. I can see myself playing this game for ages as the online pay is only $10 a month. everyone that has a 360 should give this game a go and see how they like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is the unwanted cristmas gift

posted by Draco16 (VALENCIA, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My review is for the story mode of this game.
Killed the music and added my own to this horrible game. I had to play the old gamecube PSO to wash the awful distaste of this game from my mind. 20mins to get to any fighting and that's with skipping all the cut scenes. Looks like a direct port from the older game to a next gen console.

I give it a 4 for being horribly slow and annoying to watch, but i do have to give it a plus for getting the same feel of the older games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dreamcast on 360

posted by jahdie (GREENACRES, FL) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had an opportunity to play only a small portion of the single player game, so this review does not cover the online game. Initially I was disappointed with the graphics, the character models lacked texture and the environments looked bland. I also noticed that the NPCs would fade in and out of the game, which was really annoying and distracting. In terms of gameplay, this is Phantasy Star so if you played Phantasy Star online you know what to expect. After I reached the first boss battle I lost interest and sent the game back to Gamefly. Mind you my review is only based on a few hours playtime and does not inlcude online play, so the game maybe better online or the single player may improve as a play more of the game, but for me the game was a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This franchise has really gone in the toilet

posted by Ghoulthulh (COCKEYSVILLE, MD) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just bad. The play control is awful, nothing but button mashing with no strategy. The graphics are not something you'd expect on a Next-Gen system. Animations are boring and repetitive. Maybe the first year of the PS2 if even that good. The story is infantile manga garbage of the worst variety. This franchise was awesome back in the days of the Sega Master System and the Sega Genesis. There are much more worthwhile MMO's out there, avoid this game like the plague. I seriously played this game for ten minutes and sent it back. What an awful piece of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PSU from an adults perspective

posted by Digigram (SANTA MONICA, CA) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really want to clarify the problems people have this game for people that obviously have no clue.

1. PSU fails at having the charm PSO had.

2. The single player offline game is short, very simple, but consistent with the way PSO's story progressed. ie: you pretty much need to be a fan of the series to enjoy it.

3. While everyone keeps saying it's a MMORPG, it really isn't a true MMO.. can you play in 100 player battles, can you be in a dungeon with 10 other full teams competing for bosses? no. Instanced online role playing games aren't MMO's.

4. To set the record straight for the children that think they don't have to pay sega 'and' MS to play this game.... In all reality, we shouldn' have to even pay MS. The reason you PSU players have to pay to play online for only THIS game, is that sega hosts this game on their own servers. Now why do you pay MS?..... MS does not host a single dedicated server for a game in their entire library. If anything you should be upset you have to pay MS for forcing you to have horrible connection speeds due to forcing you to host your own games, not Sega. Still, PSU is still nowhere as good as PSO's beautiful simplicity was.

5. No true rare items, No mags, No challenge mode along the lines of how PSO's was. The only thing PSU has going for it is the boosts for attacks, which are actually fairly clever.

6. As bad as the game is, it's worth a rent to at least play through the story quickly and say "meh, on to the next game", the worst news about PSU, is that at the end january, PSO will no longer be playable online. ALL servers for it are being taken down forever by sega, all due to PSU essentially taking over and ruining the series as far as I am concerned.

So thanks sega, for ruining peoples expectations of what PSU was going to be, and destroying the possibility to play PSO again online. (for xbox PSO players, this also means no more offline as well, seeing as you can't play offline without the license).

pft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Live Play ???

posted by jwoodrow (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Live play cost 9.99 for a rented game. $120 a year. Sorry game renters MS is just getting richer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ridiculous, doesn't belong in 360 caliber games.

posted by RADiant7 (MODESTO, CA) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

First thing I did when I popped the game into my 360 was went to check out the online play of this game. Well, as you all know, we pay a fee for xbox live as it is right, and we don't have a problem with that because it let's us play games online with our friends and others. Well, it's ok until an individual game tries to charge you a monthly fee to play ONLY their game online!!!

Phantasy Star Universe is SCAM! It calculates to $120 annually just to play this game online by itself. Add xbox live fees and your paying close to $200 a year. You could have purchased a few good 360 games by that time. Due to this ridiculous fee to get online, I didn't even try to experience how the MMO part of this RPG feels like. From what I here it's good, but I'm assuming for fan boys only considering the "guardian" fees.

So I figured, well at least there is a story mode. So, I tried it. HORRIBLE! This would have been a low quality game on the ORIGINAL XBOX!!! I had to read a text boxes popping up left and right just to understand what was going on. Yes, I know that, that is what I should expect out of an RPG, but certainly not out of a next gen 360 caliber RPG, Oblivion didn't use text boxes. Any way I couldn't stand 5 mins of story mode before my stomach began to churn and my nerves begin to tingle from wanting some action. The graphics and animations were lame too.

If you're a fan of the series and don't mind the pay to play feature, then go for it. If not, don't waist your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is Lame

posted by Liamlondon (BOISE, ID) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The fact in the first 10 minutes of having the game in my system I was not able to play is rediculous. Who wants to play a game that has a 10 minute opening sequence of film. This is an embarressment to the Phantasy Star games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not too bad, but not the best

posted by X360Player (HILTON, NY) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was hoping that this would be the cure all for my RPG gaming, but I was slightly disappointed. For being an XBOX360 game, I was a bit disappointed with the graphics. With all the power the 360 has, this game sure doesn't exploit it.

Gameplay is decent and not to bad. However, I found myself becoming bored with the storyline quite quickly. A good RPG grabs you from the beginning you turn it on and you become immersed in the story and characters. Just didn't get that feeling with this game.

So it isn't bad, but compared to what I've played on the PS2, it is not the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst 360 game ever.

posted by jesman (NORWALK, CA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It isn't a true RPG. The game had poor moves weapons and characters. During game play you would have these huge dialog boxes covering the screen and loud corny music... etc...
Voices and animation sucks. Sega should stick to sonic the hedgehog. After a hour of playing this game, I returned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sega you've hurt me

posted by Minus16 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics, buy a dreamcast. Story line, the nutrition facts on a pack of hotdogs is more interesting. Don't waste your time with this game. Next-gen, try discount bin. We buy or rent the game, pay for Live, buy the pictures, themes and arcade games, why not rip us some more just to play the game on-line. The video game industry knows how to keep us happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a Game but an Animated Movie

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This isnt a Game it is an Animated Movie you get to Push the a button in. Had it in my 360 for 30 minutes and pushing the a button is all i have been able to do no game Playing at all. I guess this is what passes for a Game in Japan. Oh wait nope still just getting to push the A button thought maybe i was actually going to get to do something other then move and Puah the A button but i was wrong. This is One Ummmmmmm game that never should have been allowed to leave Japan.Totally a waste of a rental space giving this piece of trash a 1 is far to high a rating it should be given a negative 100 or worse and should have been called an Boring Kind of Interactive Movie not a Game. There is No game about to this just a Stupid moronic animated Movie. Sure Hope I get to play a game sometime but from the looks of it all i do is move and push the A Button

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For me to rate this low it has to be bad

posted by gnr2000 (LOWELL, MA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Where to start with this terrible product. I thought the story itself was ok and the graphics were fine so i didnt give it a 1. The music is rancid beyond belief like someone recorded it with a synthesizer in their basement. Second the main character voice was very poor as well, like he was bored.

Ok my two biggest gripes were with the gameplay. I felt the bosses were wayyyyyyyyyy to easy to beat. It was more could you kill them in under a minute more than could you kill them at all. Also the most annoying thing was trying to get npc's to follow you. They would just stop following you sometimes or get stuck crossing a bridge. Especially when trying to do timed trials this could be a big problem. Apparently there was no qc group for this game. I would not recommend this game to anyone and i wouldnt play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't bother if playing single-player mode

posted by annmarieda (ENUMCLAW, WA) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Boring, boring, boring. I loved the old school Phantasy Star back in the Sega Master System days, but this one is about as exciting as watching paint dry. Less exciting, in fact. Haven't tried the online version, though. Not worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse