Rent Petz: Dogz 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Petz: Dogz 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.0

379 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's perfect for my 8 year old

posted by mtappa (WAUSAU, WI) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Petz Dogz2 was certainly not designed for most people over the age of 12, and that's what it does best. My eight year old received this game for Christmas and it has been the favorite gift this year. He enjoys the perspective of naming his puppy and buying accessories for his virtual canine. There's many adventures to perform and my son loves that his little puppy gets to "save the day." There's a lot of reading in this game so I'd recommend a minimum age of 6 or Mom and Dad will be reading constantly on the screen to help junior figure out the newest task.

This game is not about raising a virtual pet. Your puppy is the central character in a virtual world where they perform many human-like tasks to rid the town of the evil wolf. There are many small mini games within the context of the story. Fishing has become one of my son's favorite puppy activities.

If you don't go into this game expecting Nintendogs or a complex game designed for teens, you'll be pleasantly surprised. For my son who loves animals, this was the perfect game. As a parent, I'm thrilled he's playing a game that doesn't involve violence or questionable content that has become so common in many games. Overall, I'd recommend this for any child between the ages of 6 and 12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WHOA!!!

posted by awesum34 (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was waay better than i thot it wood b.i mean im 10 and this was supposed 2 b 4 my little bro but he got bored so i tryed it out. it was pretty cool but definetly not the best game ever.i giv it a 7 and reccomend this game 4 anyone between the ages of 7 and 11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

8 plus gamers

posted by integrity1 (ANGOLA, IN) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all its not at ALL like the petz game on the computer. But, after getting over that, my 11 yr old found that she loves the game. Its not for young players who cant read.. the game is mostly reading. But, there are a lot of activities for the pet to do and you can choose between 40 different dogs. Its kinda cute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for kids!

posted by Cardfamily (HARRISON, MI) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely spectacular for my 8yr old! He loves it. It's engaging, fairly easy, and lots of fun. For an adult though, it's too easy and "childish." I found it boring in the first 10 minutes. But as a children's game, it's really great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good option for kids / early readers

posted by hexmedia (BELLINGHAM, WA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 6 year old daughter gets to practice reading and solving problems with this game. Of course the plot is dumb (a bad wolf gets a hold of a magic hat!?) but that's not what matters in kids games. She gets to customize her dog with buyable accessories as she accomplishes tasks involved with helping her community members rebuild their town. --liberal alert-- A lesson in focusing on local issues to counter larger global problems.

We ended up buying this title for her.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pro and con about this game

posted by crua99 (COCOA BEACH, FL) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is made for kids. but what blow me away is they made this game a world of dogs. i thought it would be a v-pet. anyways this review is base on a adults point of view

pros:
1. it has alot dif dogs.
2. theres min games and stuff like that.
3. for a wii game this game dosent look that bad.

con:
1. this game is super boring.
2. you have to read alot. there is no vioce.
3. i was done with this game in the first 5 min of playing.
4. the story line is realy bad.

over all this game sucks. this game might be ok with a kid but your kid might say that this game is bad too.

i wouldnt waste my money to rent or buy this game, not even if your just trying to fill up your game q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game for a 6 year old girl

posted by kaligirl (WAIKOLOA, HI) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games (besides Wii Sports and Wii play) that we have found so far that my daughter can play without becoming very frustrated. The story, layout, controls are step by step and very simple (older kids and adults would find it too slow).

A definite plus in her book!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Dog!!!

posted by Daistaar (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

There's no way around it. Petz Dogz 2 deserves a rolled up newspaper for pooping all lover your Wii.

Dogz 2 has way to many flaws to merit it any good, where neither kids nor women could find it entertaining. Even my own dog could not get over the urge to angrily bark at the screen.

The list a few of the finer points of doggy poo:
1.) As mentioned previously, there are no voice overs.
2.) The dogs look nice, but do not animate well. Their feet slide and the do not gesture the way real dogs do.
3.) This is NOT a virtual dog (as mentioned in the previous post). Although the perfect platform, do NOT expect this to be Nintendogs. There is no frisby throwing or belly rubbing. With that said, you do not interact with the dog, you control or are the dog. The dog is your character and goes on "adventures".

Two words summ this one up: Skip it (or Dog Poo)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GOOD FOR LITTLE KIDS

posted by dwg2003 (LYNDONVILLE, VT) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Thats all its good for is little kids! dont rent if your over 3 years old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pass on this one.

posted by carlitocoolfan2 (WINDSOR, NY) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I bought this game thinking it was super cute and would be fun to play. I was wrong the strange story mode is slow and you cant bypass it, the challenges in the game are very simple. It is by far just for younger children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?

posted by Sarah0310 (TRENTON, NJ) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I bought this game thinking 'oh, i get to take care of a virtual puppy!' But first of all, you're the dogs point of view, in Pawville! Plus, you don't create the town, YOU RE-CREATE IT!!! Why? Because you're character gave a magic hat(?) to an evil wolf!! Seriously! So this game is not about being a wonderful pet owner, but an evil wolf that takes over the world! I played it, not wanting to waste my money, it was sort of fun, i guess, but not really. Maybe good for a five year old, but anyway, think twice before buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

King Kool

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jul 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

Let me start by saying in this game you don't take care of your own dog (which is the reason my sister wanted this game in the first place) instead you play as a dog who owns a magic hat. Even my sister didn't like this game. The only reason i didn't send this back the first time i played was the same as MySims (which also stunk). they are addictive. Don't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's Okay

posted by luvariel20 (DULUTH, GA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The only part my daughter didn't like was the part when the wolf was big and ugly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too scary for little kids, too boring for big kids

posted by tgoneill (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is probably only useful in a narrow age range. My 6 year old daughter was traumatized when one of the snakes killed her cute little puppy, and she couldn't get away from it. Much older kids would probably find the game and its story line boring and simplistic.

Note this is an adventure-style game where you control a dog, not a v-pet simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »