Rent Petz: Catz 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Petz: Catz 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.2

240 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Actually Pretty Fun

posted by samfish (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had never played a pet simulator before, but I rented Catz 2 just for the Heck of it.
Perhaps it was the result of extremely low expectations, but to my surprise, it's really not bad. It's actually...pretty good!
The game's description is deceiving. There is indeed a pet simulator category, but there's also a really cool Adventure Mode! This of it as Zelda-lite, except instead of Link you're a kitten...and instead of killing enemies with a sword you scare the daylights out of them by sneaking up behind them and meowing.
Basically the game is you run around helping other cats fix their homes while trying to get back a Magic Hat from an evil wolf. It's simple. It's silly. It's surprisingly engaging!

Anyone who has any sort of experience with video games will find the game's difficult to be elementary, but it's ultimately a easy going and oddly relaxing game.

It's not the most amazing game you'll ever play by any means, but it's still pretty interesting and I imagine it would be good for younger kids or people who have never played video games before.

Seriously – give Petz: Catz 2 a try, regardless of how old you are. You might be pleasantly surprised by this simple but entertaining little game! I know I was!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a Pet Sim!

posted by PixelPi (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because of an article posted on Kotaku in mid-November of 2007. You may be wondering why Kotaku had an article about this game, as it looks like just another third-party garbage game for the Wii, but I'm here to tell you it's not.

The easiest way to describe Catz 2 is to say it's a cross between Animal Crossing and an RPG, and, of course, the cast is all feline.

You start by selecting your cat's breed. You choose between forty breeds, which is much more than I thought would be included. The only short-coming here is that there is no Calico/Tortoise-Shell option, so if you want to play as your own cat and have one of those two, you'd be out of luck. Other than that, the selection is rather impressive.

After a bit of introductory play, and some of the longest cut-scenes in the game, the story takes off. An evil Wolf called Ivlet has tricked you in to giving him the Magic Hat-which your father had been entrusted to guard-and is trying to destroy the world. He starts with your town, which you summarily have to rebuild before going on to the real adventure and your quest to stop him.

Once the town is back to normal, you have a pharmacy, where you can buy healing items; a fashion house, where you can buy accessories to dress up your cat, and the other villagers; an aquarium, where you can display fish you've caught, a zoo, where you return the exotic animals that Ivlet let out run amok all over your world, whom you will battle in mini-games which, when won, will return them to the zoo; and a pawn shop, where you can sell anything that you can collect-fish, insects, fruits, vegetables, and flowers.

As for the game play itself, it's rather simple. Everything is controlled by the Wii-mote, no nunchuck necessary. It's targeted toward children, so it is rather easy, but it's still very enjoyable for people of any age. For guys looking to get their girlfriend to try RPGs, Catz 2 would go over well. However, you'll find yourself enjoying it, too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kid's Role Play

posted by WoMensan (MIDLAND, TX) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If anyone is giving this a bad rating - did they really think it was for serious adult gamers? The six rating is not for myself, it's obviously aimed for kid's, someone older who's just into kitties and straightforward play, or likes dressing up pets. Your character is a kitten who goes through a story of retrieving a magic hat, stolen by an outlaw wolf. There are lots of mini games, treasure hunts, besides the main quests of going places, finding things, or completing a task. My kids don't play it hours on end, but they like it, and it's regularly one they get out. They especially like working toward earning that next outfit, cool sunglasses, etc. No violence, but the outlaw is bad enough it makes the player want to win. Better kids game than most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

petz catz 2

posted by aidan101 (DALLAS, GA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

petz catz 2 is the same as petz dogz,and if you
already played petz dogz 2 then it is not going to be different from
petz catz 2.

sincerly,aidan101

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cute

posted by Leahzc (LAUREL, MD) Dec 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's cute, but I have more fun playing with my real cat than I did playing this game. In fact, my cat crawled into my lap while I was playing this game. He seemed offended that I would rather play with imaginary cats than him!! LOL

Good as a rental game, or maybe for little kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY GOOD!!!!!

posted by kittyluver (DOVER, DE) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I THOUGHT THIS GAME WAS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I RENTED I LOVED THAT YOU GOT TO HAVE AN ADVENTURE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Real cats are more interesting

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, so you have a cat that doesn't know what it's doing and has to run fetch quests to find things that don't even really matter to save a magic hat, yes magic hat, from a wolf that wants to destroy the world. He turns all animals evil and it's your job to get it back. Yeah. A cat will save the world from a magic wolf. Not only does this game have WAAAY too much text but it's really not interesting or fun.

If you're a child I could see where this game would be fun. However, I find my actual cat more interesting than the ones in this game. The text is insane and the story is pathetic. The game itself is just short of badly made. This was the first animalz type game I've rented. I'm sure none of them are far above a 2 rating.

I knew this game would be bad. I thought maybe it would be hilariously bad. It wasn't. I laughed at it for a few minutes then I was sad I wasted a rental on it. I played for about an hour and read the equivalent of 3 chapters of a book and managed to fix a bridge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kind of boring

posted by AKKGFK (EPHRATA, PA) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seemed pretty fun at first, but all you really do is run around and do errands. Nice that there's 40 different cat breeds, but gameplay is kind of dumb. The whole game is kind of boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by fungame (HILLIARD, OH) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is the best game ever! Wish there was more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game play controls

posted by TEKKEN33 (WINCHESTER, VA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I am 10 & these game play controls look way to hard for me let alone younger kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by vidiogame354 (TOWSON, MD) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

great mini games and amazing game play! Some parts are easy and other parts are kinda hard. I was almost addicted after the first few quests. This game is worth a buy or a rent any day! BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »