Rent Peter Jackson's King Kong for DS
view large frontback

Peter Jackson's King Kong

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.7

123 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by shadowx (NEWTON, MA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I started playing and when i got to the first level, I immediately shut off my DS because the graphics and movement systems are really really poorly done. I would not recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Plays like a really early PSOne game

posted by Mumbles (ALAMEDA, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Although I admire Ubisoft for attempting 3D gameplay on the DS, King Kong feels a bit like a really early PlayStation game. Those early games full of low resolution, muddy texture maps and not much else. Compare this game to the nicely done job Nintendo did with Metroid Prime Hunters and you'll soon be moving on to better games.

The DS is a great system. It's perfect for revitalizing the 2D gaming of yore and so-so for 3D gaming experiences we remember from the past. Unfortunately, 2D games still come off well these days where as these types of 3D games just look horrible and play almost as bad. Put it this way, if you're going to attempt a full 3D game on the DS, it better be incredibly well done. I think Nintendo realized this when they went from the demo of Metroid Prime Hunters: First Hunt to what they finally released a year or so later. First Hunt was really disappointing, especially the control scheme.

I really think Ubisoft should have been better off going with a 2D rendition of this game. How about a new take on the great Flashback-type game? That would translate well for this sort of material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a really bad game!!!!!!!

posted by macnaju (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game has bad grafics, bad gameplay, and HORRIBLE controls!!!! so if you like a really bad game get this one!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

walk thougth.

posted by steven123 (ELIZABETHPORT, NJ) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

this game is fun i think because i didnt played yet so i really cant tell if is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the worst game on DS

posted by matthewsea (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

a game that trys to take advantage of DS tocuh screen but fails, check. grphics that look like a 1994 PC game check. really stupid friend A.I check. do you smell, a contender for worst game of the year. king kong for DS is nothing like the good console counterpart. you play the game like this you aim with the low senstivay bottom screen. you have to touch the bottom twice to pick up and item. and grphics just look at screenshots. length short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »