Rent Persona for PSP Games
view large frontback

Persona

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

433 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A New Experience

posted by eziel110 (HAHIRA, GA) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am an avid RPG player and have been playing RPGs since Final Fantasy on the NES. My bias maybe that I am not really into futuristic RPGs, unless they have a medieval feel to them. I have read that some folks have played the later versions and this was a great addition to a classic. Probably the same sentiments when I'm paying Final Fantasy I, because I've played all the other games.

Pros:
It gave me a new experience with the battle mechanics, this was not a simple select attack on any enemy. There was a high value on positioning your teams in a pattern to correctly and effectively attack the enemy.
There was a nice combination of various attack types. Melee, Guns and Persona.
For the time it was originally released the story line was acceptable.
Moving around in various maps, such as the city or building was not your normal views for moving as you'd expect playing other RPGs. This was a nice deviation after I got use to it.

Cons:
Seemed repetitive with fights once you got your formations set up.
Hard time understanding which Personas were elements of what and knowing which enemy to attack with which ones.
A lot of traveling via the city map and building going between floors.
When you are looking for items to assist in the quest, you can have a tough time looking for them as it's not always apparent.
The genre of the game was directed more at middle or high school students with the story.
Sometimes the formations were difficult to get right to ensure optimal attack spreads.
Using multiple characters made it diffult as they had certain attack patterns, so they had to be in particular formations to be effective and if you had multiple characters of the same attack type it made one generally useless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by Joserin (FRESNO, CA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I probably set this game up for failure to begin with, because the first persona game I ever played was Persona 3, but I tried to keep an open mind... and still was disappointed. :(

My brother played the game as well, and shared my sentiments. So I'll just do a Pro's/Con's list.

Pro's: Beautiful intro, good soundtrack, good cutscenes.
Con's: Bad story, ugly sprites, weird 1st person perspective in buildings, very slow battle system, bad persona designs, annoying point distribution.

We (my brother and I) put around 3-5 hours into this game, and genuinely could not push through any further. Even while keeping in mind that it is an old playstation game remade for the PSP, the character designs were poor, there's no deep story around the personas or their appearance/summoning, and it's a hassle to deal with some of the practical in-game features used to progress.

Overall it seemed like Persona was the awkward launching pad to an amazing series. So, I still recommend trying it for yourself to form your own opinion, and then go play persona 3 and 4 to see what an amazing series this game gave birth to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unenjoyable gameplay and frequent loading

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I'll start off by saying that I haven't played the other Peronas like the other review writers so I didn't have any prior exposure to the series. I had heard good things about the series and was pretty excited about trying it. I was pretty disappointed.

However, I think if someone has no prior exposure to the series, there's not really much saving grace to the game by itself. The only positive things I can say about the game is that I enjoy that it's in modern times which is not frequently done in an RPG and the overall story is actually interesting.

The dialogue is pretty terrible so you have to look past it to see the story and there is nothing positive to say about the gameplay. The fighting is a bore and I felt the repetition after a few battles. The transition from the dungeon RPG to battles to areas for story progression results in frequent load times that get extremely frustrating. You soon realize that you spend more time in load screens than actually playing the game.

If you have no prior connection to Persona, this is probably not a good game to introduce yourself to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally playing the first!!

posted by dragon5894 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing Persona 3, Persona 3 FES, and Persona 4, I was wondering where can I play the first till now. This is worth gettin if you are into the Persona series or need a new JRPG for your PSP.

If you never played a Persona game or played Persona 3 and 4 but not 1, the story may be confusing to you. Also in this remake, ATLUS finally puts an additional storyline called The Snow Queen Quest which never appeared in the original game released for the first playstation. All there are new animated cutscenes, new soundtrack which I liked (sorry fans, no old soundtracks), load times decreased, and many more. For those of you who liked the Social Link element in Persona 3 and 4, there no Social Links in this game. But there is a Demon Negotiation system where you can get their demon card just to fuse Personas (no, there is no "shuffle time" in every end of the battle so your only choice is demon negotiations). I recommend buying this game, but if there is something that is holding you back, rent the game and play it for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game that started persona

posted by Dubie21 (CLOVIS, CA) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I would like to start of with this if you've played the newer persona's and were a fan you'll love this one, but, if this is your first game in the persona series try persona 3 or 4 first. The game play is great it will remind you of other games in the SMT series like DDS(digital devil saga) or nocturne, since you're not fighting shadows like in the newer ones. The soundtrack could be better, and you might not always know where to go ,but , i haven't been able to get stuck so it just means you might have to look around a bit or pay a bit more attention then I did when they talked about where to go :p. The story so far is really good i always love a good story and so far persona has delivered. It starts abit shaky and somewhat dull at first but slowly and surely more and more things seem to start happening all around you.
If i had to fault persona for anything it would be that battle can get kind of repetitive but they even implemented auto fight so you can just have your team use their weapons, guns or replay what you did last turn and it goes by alot quicker. The fighting itself isn't bad and if you're a fan of rpgs then you'll be happy with the battle system.

Here's my rundown

Game play: 9
Story: 10
Music:8
Graphics:7
Game play consistency:10

Persona doesn't allow for a dull moment after the beginning and you'll soon get completely absorbed, I would recommend this as a purchase to any rpg fan,but , if your new to persona or the SMT series I would recommend playing one of the newer one's first because not only are they simpler they're addictive and will make you want to play every game in the series. Just like me :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Where's the velvet room?

posted by steven45 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since May 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is bloody awesome, it is fun, the negotiations are hard but worth it, but theres a problem... where's the velvet room? but otherwise, great game, now all they need is a psp version of little big planet, and the world would be complete ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time (even SMT Persona fans)

posted by Jkenny25 (CLINTON, MS) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I love the Shin Megami Tensei Persona series, was hoping that would be enough to overcome what it an aged game but unfortunately it wasn't. The 1st person dungeon crawling is horrendous, completely destroyed any chance of me enjoying the game. Sounds like a solid soundtrack from what i heard, but I recommend staying away from this RPG unless you played (and liked) Revelations. I'm into old school rpgs like lunar and early FFs, but this one isn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth every penny and time put into it!!!!!

posted by Dragonus2012 (YAKIMA, WA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I loved the way this game was created to improve an already awesome game. Very much worth my time. I loved it so much I went out and purchased it and am sent the rental back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good In It's Time?

posted by Lynx1993 (SNOVER, MI) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I recently played Persona 3 Portable on the PSP system. Loved it. Because of this I figured, "Hey, they have the first Persona on the PSP system too, maybe I should play it too."

Don't get me wrong, I think it was probably a great game in it's time, but the flow of combat, and the slow gameplay just turned me away from it. I just think that since they brought it to the PSP, they could have at least improved it some. The graphics aren't really that impressive and the combat music (while quite nice) doesn't really make me feel like I'm fighting a group of demons.

If you're a fan of the Persona series like me and you're willing to overlook the fact that this game is nigh on ancient, then go ahead and get it.

All-in-All I gave it a 3. But only because I think that the PSP version should be more revamped than what I had seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuck

posted by tmoulder (RIVERVIEW, FL) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I was excited to play this game, since I've always heard the Shin Megami Tensei series described as "legendary", and I generally enjoy remade games with their emphasis on storyline combined with updated graphics and gameplay.

This game preserved the worst of old-style RPGs. The interface is clunky, the graphics are poor, and while the storyline idea is good, the execution is terrible. When I realized the slot machine mini-game was much more fun than the actual game itself, I realized I'd made a mistake.

The continuity of the story is lousy (really, where did Mark come up with a battle-axe? Was he just bringing it to school fun, or was he planning a massacre before the demons broke out?)

Perhaps the others in the series are better, but this one was awful. Avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible...

posted by Serenitybo (LYNCHBURG, VA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I started the game very excited being the fact alot of people said this game was fun.. The furthest I got was wondering around the hospital not knowing where to go, I got so annoyed in the 1st 10 minutes after I ran around aimlessly not knowing where to go, or exactly what to do, I got up turned the game off sealed it back in the envelope and put in back on its way to gamefly. H O R R I B L E game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »