Rent Persona 4 Golden for PS Vita
view large frontback

Persona 4 Golden

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $27.99

GF Rating
9.1

755 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

This going in my top 10 favorite games

posted by olinkalex (SHELTER ISLAND HEIGHTS, NY) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a Fan of RPG's, in fact I don't like turn-base RPG's. But there was something about this game that made me want to give this game a try and I'm glad I did. It has great character, great story, great.. everything.

I don't know if the game is just that good or if the game just has some sort of brainwashing power that makes you love it.

All I can say is, if you own a PSVita you need to play this game!! If you don't own a Vita, go out and buy one and then play THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of all time.

posted by RenoTurkXIV (FLORENCE, AL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's persona... what can I say? All the persona games are usually top notch. Persona 3 FES and Persona 4 in particular. Persona 4 on vita is currently the BEST persona game to date, on any console.

It looks absolutely beautiful on the OLED screen with new and improved HD visuals. This doesn't just look like a new gloss... it looks like a brand new game. A new online dungeon system allows you to ask for help if your having problems and other LIVE users will instantly send you tips and helpful hints. The main new feature though is the brand new character, Marie, with a new social link and brand new (and very interesting) storyline. Also, 40% more of the dialogue has been voiced with this remake.

My only problem with this game is that there is no option to select the original Japanese voices in the game. Which don't get me wrong, most of the English voice actors have done an amazing job but the NEW voice actor for Chie is so annoying that it nearly ruins that particular character, which is a real shame. The music is a huge highlight of the game, too. It's amazing that J-pop can be played for countless hours at a time yet it never gets old in this game and you'll constantly find yourself bobbing your head to the beat.

Overall, if you have never picked up a Persona game then this is THE BEST place to start. If you like JRPG's you MUST have this... Heck, if you own a PS vita then you MUST have this. It's by far the best game out on the vita right now and probably will stay that way all the way through 2013. Rent this NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RPGing at it's finest.

posted by Dobiedobie (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I. LOVE. THIS. GAME. Never have I felt so compelled to write a review for a game as I have for Persona 4 The Golden. This critically acclaimed game is just that for a number of very good reasons. Every task you perform, whether it be eating a meal, tending to the garden, talking to friends, or working a part time job furthers some skill of yours in the game. Every little seemingly mundane accomplishment adds up to give you more power to create Personas and have stronger choices in dialogue. Persona 4 The Golden is so tethered to reality while incorporating enough fantasy through the use of personal avatars (Personas) that one can't help but find the town of Inaba more appealing than real life. This game works across so many levels that it is impossible not to be engaged with the characters and develop real feelings for them. If you buy one game and one game alone for the PS Vita, it must be Persona 4 The Golden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite game of all-time

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I cannot express in words of how awesome this game is. This game is the biggest reason why you should buy a PS Vita. This is one of those games I will be playing for a long time. Easily one of the best RPGs of all-time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By far the best title on the Vita

posted by Brianstorm (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've had the Vita since launch and this is the first and only title that has truly engaged me. I couldn't out my Vita down for weeks as I plowed through this.. all told I spent around 100 hours playing it and perhaps I'll go back some day for a second run through.

Highly recommended even for Persona novices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome.

posted by Tormoil798 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best PSVita Game. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of all time

posted by jpacs999 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Persona series is should go into the Hall of Fame. The additions made from the original P4 to make P4G are substantial so this is the definitive version to get. This game alone makes the Vita worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TOP 5 GAMES OF ALL TIME

posted by yomama12 (CHINO HILLS, CA) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With the slim pickings of all of the vita games there is only 2 that are really good Uncharted, and Persona 4 Golden. Probbly the best cast of characters that I have ever seen in a game, and even though the gameplay can be frustrating sometimes and there can be some cheap deaths, but it happens once every great while. The best part of all of this is that you can play it for 60 hours. There is no reply value though. DO NOT RENT, BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Was not expecting something this amazing..

posted by bagelbasket (CANTON, NC) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let's put it simply. The manager at my local Gamestop was practically begging me to pre-order this game. I figured why not?
Turns out this was the best decision of my life. EVERY SINGLE THING about the game is perfect. Absolutely perfect. I have a new favorite series thanks to this game. This is now my all time favorite game until probably Persona 5 comes out.
Amazing storyline, Amazing characters, just amazing everything, forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best game on Vita.

posted by Dualmask (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2008

Many others have already stated what's awesome about this game in great detail, so I'll just co-sign it.

It's an epic RPG with a compelling story, great characters and well-paced gameplay that treads a fine balance between dungeon-diving with battles and social interactions with story. Rarely have I played an RPG where interacting with the characters and seeing what the next Social Link had to offer was just as fun as fighting enemies and leveling up. The only possible blemish on this title is the fact that it doesn't offer the brilliant Persona 3 Portable's female viewpoint storyline option (which made the game feel almost like a brand new experience).

But this game sets and raises the bar for gaming on the Vita...go through this game and most of the rest of the system's library simply won't do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game!

posted by Fedor (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Persona 4 Golden is an amazing game. I loved it so much, and even if you aren't a rpg fan, you'll still love it. My sibling isn't a fan of jrpgs, but she loved the game! I recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't like

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I like JRPGs but this just wasn't my cup of tea. The game is beautiful and the sound is awesome. But progressing Personas through the social link system made me cringe. The 4 hour tutorial was a little much even though it eased me into the game. But if you like building relationships with people in general you'll have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Did not like.

posted by Horatio99 (BELLEVUE, NE) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

This was supposed to be such a great game. It took an hour and a half before it even became a game. Then after only one simple fight it throws you into a boss fight when you don't have hardly any experience with the combat system, and then when you die because you don't know how to fight a boss after only one simple fight, there are no continues and you have to go back to your last save which was forever ago. After two frustrating attempts I am sending it back. If I owned it I would break the cartridge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where's the adventure?

posted by Qiljoy (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I like my RPG's to be grand adventures. Sweeping tales of world spanning struggle culminating in hard won and much celebrated victory. Throw in solid combat, equipment and crafting systems and I will devote weeks of my life to exploring that world.

P4G has the combat, crafting and equipment down cold. Which combine with the 'create your own adventure' way that your daily decisions essentially write the story as you go to earn a 7. It really is very good at what it does. But, at the end of the day, absolutely nothing happens in this game. The story begins with kids jumping into a tv to fight monsters after school, and that's exactly how it ends.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by TwoChainsFangs (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Aug 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This is an awesome rpg game so far. this game will blow your mind away. I cant wait for persona 5 if they are making it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This has got to be my favorite game of all time.

posted by Netman (MEDIAPOLIS, IA) Jun 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

Persona 4 Golden, where do I start with this amazing game? Let's do some background first. Persona 4 Golden for Playstation Vita is a remake of the critically acclaimed game Persona 4 for the Playstation 2, which was released five years before Golden.

In this game, the basic plot is that there have been some strange happenings in relation to a rumor going around school about a mysterious Midnight Channel that is supposed to be able to show you the face of your soulmate. Upon trying this, you and your friends realize that this is more than just a harmless rumor, and something must be done to stop whatever is going on.

The game plays like a true turn based RPG in battles, and a third person dungeon crawler outside of battle. Encounters are not random, as you can see the enemies in the dungeons before you get into a fight with them, which can be used for extra training or avoiding battles depending on what the situation calls for.

Outside of dungeons, one of the areas this game excels in is creating a kind of life simulator, where you can build bonds with friends and various people around town by improving your social link with them. You can have a girlfriend, and do various activities such as studying or part time jobs to either work on personal skills, or earn money, or even both in some cases.

Another great thing is that this game practically requires more than one playthrough in order to experience all of the content it has to offer. If you're looking for a timesink, look no further as this game can easily eat away over a hundred hours like it was nothing.

This game truly has it all, from a great story that keeps you guessing, to awesome character interactions and developments, along with a great battle system and an environment that draws you in and makes you want to keep playing and playing.

If you haven't tried this game already, get your hands on a copy asap. You won't regret it for a second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Wow

posted by BlackDove58 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I have to admit this is my first real experience with a JRPG and I have to say I just love it. The fights are fun the story is absorbing and it's easy to figure out the game play without sitting through long boring tutorials. There's a lot of stuff to discover and do and it just doesn't get dull. What's nice about the Vita Version is that you can get online tips on what to do and when to do things and even help in dungeons if you get stuck.

Word of warning though is that there are some points where you will be sitting through 10-15 minutes of cut scenes for one reason or another. It's a very story heavy game but if you like that sort of thing (like me) then it's not a problem. Most of them are funny or heavy plot oriented and a joy to watch. If you're new to the persona games that's not a problem either as the game is pretty stand alone with only a few persona 3 references thrown in.

Anyway I'm just blown away by this game. It's the first game to make me actually lose track of time because I'm so engrossed with it. I'm even starting a second play through already. It's just that fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Yagami (ANDERSON, IN) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

Best JRPG I've ever played. Actually one of the only ones I've ever liked. I'm usually just into the action RPGs. The only turn-based RPG I've played recently was Pokemon, but the story of this game just drew me completely in. I never had played a Persona or even a Shin Megami Tensei of any kind before, but after this one I'm going to have to play some more of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome RPG

posted by Otakukking (DRACUT, MA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I haven't been addicted to playing a RPG since Final Fantasy 4. This game was awesome I recommend to anyone. I can see why they remade this persona and also made it into an anime

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant Reboot of the Original!

posted by austereavenue (CONCORD, CA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'll start off by saying that the original Persona 4 is hands-down one of my all-time favorite games. Having clocked in almost 200 hours on it has seriously drilled the story and characters into my memory. I love it THAT much.

I was not disappointed in the slightest with P4G. They take the original P4 and build on it to make it even better - new characters, new cutscenes, new Personas, new endings, new options to play with. It's not overkill, mind you. Everything ties in and captures the overall 'feel' of the original P4.

Don't doubt this title. Not even for a second. It will strike a chord within you and as you progress into the game, you will feel a true bond with the cast, as is typical for the Persona series. Nonetheless, this game is incredible.

The main reason I bought a Vita, in fact.

It's THAT good.

If you're a long-time RPG fan, this should be a no-brainer for you. Rent it. Play it. You know what, honestly - I'll bet you're going to want to buy it. Seriously.

If you're a newcomer to RPGs, go ahead and give it a try. You're bound to find something you like, whether it be the characters, gameplay, storyline... it won't disappoint.

I'll keep this part short and simple. They took a near-perfect game (Persona 4) and added on to it to make it perfect (Persona 4 Golden).

You won't regret it. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Took My JRPG Virginity

posted by SteveOIdaho (MOSCOW, ID) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

If you have never played a JRPG before, or just happen to be the guy who created Final Fantasy, Persona 4 The Golden is for you. I love this game because it feels like something that anyone can enjoy, but more importantly it is a game that you won't understand why you enjoy it. Every mechanic, plot point, and character in this game is top notch. I do not give this game a 10 out of 10 lightly, I truly believe that it is a masterpiece.
If you have a Vita and don't already own this game you are doing yourself a great disservice. When you are done with the game's 40+ hour campaign you can check out the other Persona games on the Playstation Network, all playable on PSVIta.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a game for everybody despite the reviews

posted by Severen (GRAHAM, WA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Persona 4 for PS Vita

+ Great Graphics.
+ Great Style.
+Modern Setting.
+ Good Battle system.
+ Traditional JRPG.

- Lots of Loading and while brief it is frequent and annoying.
- Annoying English Voice Actors and could not find an option for Original Japanese Voices.
- Not for Everyone despite reviews saying otherwise.

I have only played the original Persona on PS1 and remembered liking it ok so when I got a new Vita and was looking for games to rent I saw the rave reviews and gave it a rent. I will say it is not a bad game just an average JRPG with a cool setting. The dream sequence battle scenes were the highlight and pretty fun. The rest of the game is a cel shaded version of high school life. The voice actors are really annoying and a couple of the girls wil make you want to turn off the game they are so bad. Also the loading times are very frequent. Most are not very long thankfully but do happen way too much. If you love JRPG's then you will probably like it and have a good time. If you don't then try the demo first since despite reviews claiming it the greatest game ever, it is for genre fans only. Good game but not for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »