Rent Persona 4 Arena for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Persona 4 Arena

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.4

527 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great 2D fighter

posted by Razacross (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Having played both the Playstation 2 Persona games, I came into this with some backstory as to the character. While it's not necessary to get full enjoyment, I'm sure it will add to the experience if you have played them.

That being said, I'm not afraid to admit at being mediocre at most fighting games. I started out on Easy difficulty and am now up to Normal where I win regularly and intend to step up the difficulty even further in an attempt to get even better before taking this puppy online.

If you are like me and enjoy the PS2 Persona's then you'll find most enjoyment in the Story mode. The characters are the same as you'd remember and it's nice to finally have a fully talking P4 main protagonist. The story centers mostly on Labrys, a character you will meet in this game. Her story is beatifully tragic and is a main draw. The other characters and their backstories are also well done mesh together well; an excellent translation and good English voice acting further enhance the experience. Basically, if you are here for more adventures from the Persona cast, you will be very happy.

The fighting is fast and fun. Special moves are fairly easy to execute but the numerous advanced combos will take some time to master. There are also instant kill moves that can be made but most of the time they are just for a flashy finish as you'll probably have drained your opponent of most of their health by the time you accumulate enough SP to use them.

The Story mode is around 30 or so hours of gameplay to finish everyone's arcs up. There's Versus, Online, Challenge, Score Attack and Training modes as well, so there's a lot of value here.

As for complaints, I would have like to see more backgrounds and more characters (there are 13).

If you liked fighers in the style of BlazBlue, you'll like this. If you liked Persona 3 and 4, you'll like the Story mode at the very least. RPG gamers shouldn't hesitate to jump in as it easy to learn, but difficult to master.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mostly for Persona fans ONLY

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Text. The story mode has enough text to fill out a 500 page book. The thing is though, about 70% of the text in story mode is unnecessary. If you took out the thought text and just left the dialogue text, the story mode would go by much faster and smoother. The game has character from Persona 3 and 4, since I only know the characters from 4, the characters from 3 I have no clue about. The fighting mechanics are similiar to Blazblue, so if you played Blazblue, it won't take you long to used to this game. This game will feel right at home for Persona fans, but if your not a fan of Persona 3 or 4, it might be hard for you to get interested in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by masterlight (KENNER, LA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

This game was the best persona game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Persona 4 Arena

posted by Dcio333 (ENDICOTT, NY) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Short and sweet, the game moves nice has great graphics and appeal. The moves are easy to do and the fighting system is pretty deep. However it allows for alot of very repetitive and cheap play where people take advantage of the games flaws. Sad there are a few holes that allow players to do that and take a skilled player out with cheap tactics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD.

posted by mynameisnathan (CLEARWATER, FL) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

A very cool fighter that Persona 4 fans would appreciate playing and being able to control the characters they love in an intense fighting game. Me personally i prefer the RPG Persona 4 to the fighting game Persona 4. But anyone who enjoyed Persona 4 should give this game a try. The controls are as equally as satisfying of a fighting game as Street Fighter or Blaz Blue. Only flaws is that it didn't have as many characters as you would want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazed

posted by swagmaster12345 (DORAL, FL) Mar 10, 2013

Member since May 2012

This was really just an amazing experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Persona 4 Arena

posted by Captaingin (NESCONSET, NY) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Overall its a great game. The fighting is awesome and so is the story. If you are a fan of Persona you will like this. This game has characters from Persona 3 and 4. Heck, even if you never played ANY Persona game you would enjoy this. It is not like other Persona games. Its a nice change of pace though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game But not for everyone

posted by quenten12 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

It was a good game just a little to hard to get used to but the moves are crazy awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nice visual candy, complicated mechanics

posted by joex1977 (LAREDO, TX) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

As with every game i try for the first time I do the tutorial first. The game had gorgeous graphics and nice frames. I can tell thats what the developers were counting on to pull in the consumers. the mechanics however was like trying to pilot a tank. Why couldn't they have made it similiar to the typical fighter genre(capcom vs marvel,tekken, etc.)?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fighting system focused on advanced techniques

posted by Eric61425812 (NEWARK, DE) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I LOVED Persona 4, but never finished because my PS2 broke. I tried, but couldn't get interested in the narrative here. I am a big fan of the fighting games made by this developer, though, so I had high hopes.

The Street Fighter style fights are kept very simple in terms of the number and variety of moves each character has. Where it gains it's depth is through the universal-to-all-characters counters, cancels, and advanced techniques. If that doesn't make you drool, you probably won't spend much time fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »