Rent Persona 4 Arena for PS3
view large frontback

Persona 4 Arena

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

524 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great fighting game for Persona fans

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Persona series, having played P3, P4 and P3-Portable. I was originally disappointed to hear that the next Persona game would be a fighting game, was hoping for another epic RPG. However, I am glad to see that the developers implemented a very extensive story campaign (took me about 2 hours just to play through 1 character's story), as well as a very deep fighting system, similar to Guilty Gear. Its a 2d fighter, but the hand drawn artwork is fantastic, and most of the voice actors returned in their previous roles. If you are fan of the Persona series, and if you like fighting games, you definitely need to get this game. I have some minor complaints: the voice of the P4Arena main protoganist (Yu) is the same as the main villian from P4 (Adachi). Also, the static backdrops during cutscenes are poorly drawn and low res, almost if they were lifted straight from the PS2 version of P4. But, its a Persona game, and this is the next best thing from Persona 5. Get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Before reading this know I'm a big P4 fan.

posted by DarthSlim03 (BAYTOWN, TX) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First I love fighting games and I mean LOVE fighting games I never really played anything other than that and sports games but one day a friend gave me Persona 4 for my birthday and I was blown away by how well done the game was....so of course I had to play this game.
2nd the story is great it follows up after 4 and brings in characters from 3 as well as a new (mystery) boss at the end (maybe leading to P5) but back to the game itself online is very smooth (I have ok internet not great by any means) and whatever system there using well it fixed it so I had no lag.
The controls are great (4 button style) love it a little weird at first (to much UMVC3 on my part) but once I got into the swing this game brought back feelings of old arcade style play (just sooooo much smoother)
In short Play it you'll love it, the reason I gave it a 9 though was you don't get the true ending right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Persona-mazing

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Aug 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, let me just remind everyone how terrible a game Blaze Blue was. AWFUL.
Anyone who tried to be hip was in denial and say otherwise pretended it was this great new fighting game. It wasn't. THIS IS.

This game may have the best integration of story you could ever get in a fighting game, let alone a 2-D fighter.
It does a great job of translating a lot of the moves and magic from the RPG into a fighting mechanic and the characters are great interpretations of their RPG selves.

The downside is, I wish there were more characters, especially from Persona 3, although 1 and 2 would have been nice. But, then again, this game is technically an extension of Persona 4's story (which is awesome).
I wish there were more stages too and despite what appears to be a long soundtrack, I feel like I hear the same songs all the time. Good thing the music is so good.

It's relatively easy to pick up and mash. But there's an extensive amount of depth for the hardcore. The variety of character types is pretty good too.

At the end of the day though, it's a fighting game. Which will always be limited in replay value no matter how much story there is, how many trials/challenges there are, how many "modes" they put in, or even how many friends you have. Luckily, online is pretty fun, and the story mode alone will give you your money's worth (and it's a fighting game!?!)
Fighting games are perfect for GameFly.

If they ever do an Super Ultra Complete Mega Final Edition Persona 4 Area Plus, with more characters and bonuses, it'll definitely be worth playing through again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way too much dialogue

posted by AliCat4 (ROCKY COMFORT, MO) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the Persona games and when I heard this came out I gave it a try. It is good but not great. You spend most of the time going through the characters talking more then fighthing. The graphics and soundtrack is great. This is an ok game to rent but I cannot recomment buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only for Fans of the Series(?)

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've never played Persona 4. I plan to rent Persona 4 Golden for the Vita to give the series a shot, but I felt like playing a fighting game. The story mode was terrible. About an hour of cliché, anime walls of texts that are always either meandering babble meant as comic relief or exposition and only five, single-round fights. If you start off with the story mode without going into the training you'll be completely lost as to how to control your character in fight. The campaign's main attraction is the story, not the gameplay and it's not a very interesting or well presented story. It might just be because I'm new to the series, but it seems like every game with an anime art style game has a ridiculously convoluted story.

That being said, the other modes are fun enough. The actual fighting isn't bad. It's certainly not the best, but the unique art style gives them personality and the "personas" make the battles really chaotic.

I'm giving it a 4 because the main attraction of this game, the thing that sets it apart from other fighting games, is the story mode (which, if you couldn't tell, I didn't care for.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Like P3 or P4

posted by quinbin (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is completely different in game play style, fighting style, and story development then the past Personas. you have long periods of story where you do nothing but listen followed by a short battle, then a bunch of talking and battle. There is no exploration of the worlds, nothing really to figure out. The battles are pretty simplistic. No really strategy needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad fighter!

posted by P2D2 (NEW CASTLE, DE) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

First off, I've never completed P4 (just never got around to it yet, but will), so on that note, my review is without playing the story mode.

Pros:
-Diverse roster of character, that span both P3 and 4.
-Combo system is easy to learn and revolves around each person persona, so its fun to see each character abilities.
-Blends Street Fighter play style with a Guilty Gear combo system
-Tons of extras and unlockables
-Plenty of nostalgia for Persona 3 and 4 vets
-Art is amazing!!
-Original Voice actors and familiar music return
-Story dialogue is entertaining from what I saw
Neutral
-(Possible) Story mode is set after the events of P4, so it may contain spoilers of the parent game.
-Story mode is long and laborious, but I'm told it's good.
Cons
-Gameplay can feel too simplistic at times
-Characters should have been balanced better.
-Gameplay does get boring after a while, and I personally became bored after a couple days.
-Cast is also a bit small
-Story mode is only focused on one main story, and only contains slight dialogue variations with each character used

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great addition to a great story

posted by frogmanmike14 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'm a huge fighting game and persona fan. When these two merged I knew my pants would start fitting a bit more tight in the crotchal area. The game is sick, very similar to blazblue, but stands in its own right. You probably have to play or watch persona 4 to care about the characters, but even if you don't love the characters it is a solid fighter with crazy combo exploration. Get those fight sticks out, its time for some Persona!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect Firing game

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Dynamics
+ Music
+ Perfect gameply
+ Colorful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ruined a great series

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

What a complete let down. I loved the Persona series of games and thought this would be a new title in the series. I was completely stunned to learn that it was a fighting game instead of a role playing game. Unfortunatley, it wasn't even a novel fighting game. The graphics reminded me of Street Fighter 2 from the 90's. If you're a true Person series fan don't waste your time on this because it is Persona in title only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ugh REGION LOCK

posted by ronald162 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

had to send it back because i have a japanese console -__-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible netcode, bad balance. Impossible to like.

posted by Gray (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I really tried to like this game, but like the past 3 fighters released, including SFxT, it obviously wasn't tested very well. Online input lag is up to an entire second with a "perfect" connection (Might be your lag-switchers as usual), one character is god tier, while most others are in the same tier, but another 2 are above them, making it a Holy Trinity in terms of combat ability.

The game does very well in story mode and offline, but could definitely use a few animation tweaks, since a lot of the frama data and hitboxes interacting with each other seems bugged (whiffs on things that obviously connect, etc)

Now, the ugly. Any character can dragon punch with a single button, making rushdowns impossible unless you are the online host (see-lag). One char to rule them all-Mitsuru at SS+ Tier. Should be tourney banned, but isn't. No option to "ban" certain chars online, which is a much needed addition to fighting games.

Its much better than recent fighting games, which have, for the most part, all been trash that should be broken, beaten, and burned. Sadly, that means its really just an average game offline, and a horrid one online.

I really tried my best to like the game, but it's just not possible with the paltry effort put towards riding on the coattails of one of the most successful JRPG franchises out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All talk, no action?

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

I'm a Persona fan, but didn't much care for this game. The story mode is boring and since the vs. match is only one round, it makes it pretty tiresome having to read the text that starts seeming redundant and pointless a lot of times just to fight in a battle that lasts 30 seconds or less. The ability to skip text comes in handy, because after completely reading all of the dialog for 3 of the characters I ended up just skipping through the majority of the text for the other characters, even when it was unique and new to the story.

I haven't played online or vs. mode, which might make it more interesting but after playing story mode I don't even feel like trying to play online.

I wish Atlus would add another Persona RPG to their lineup, because I don't feel satisfied whatsoever with the P4 Arena title. yawn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Persona 4 Arena

posted by MAGIC13 (SOQUEL, CA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game really sucks i couldnt belive how lame the story was anyways dont recomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

looks and plays like classic street fighter

posted by Filthylooker (WORCESTER, MA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the story mode has about 10-15 minutes worth of dialog between battles, combos are small, super attacks are kinda lame, unless your a hardcore persona fan that just wants it to complete collection i wouldn't recommend buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FORGETABLE

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

AVERAGE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

rather not

posted by Stac2Cali (MANHATTAN, KS) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

if your looking for a persona game where you interact with the other characters, level up, and just become one strong persona player throughout. this isnt the game for you .its like the streetfighter games meet persona, after 30mins of talking. like seriously if i wanted to read this much dialog i would have turned on youtube and read the subtitltes for the next episode. never have i seen a game that talks more than you fight..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak cash-in.

posted by synce (CUMBERLAND, MD) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

With an ultimately meaningless plot and miniscule roster, I don't see how this game can satisfy either Persona 4 fans or general fighter fans. I thought P4 was the greatest RPG last gen since FFX, but even I couldn't take more than a couple hours of the game's lazily done story mode, which actually recycled bits of P4. Seems Atlus was content to just phone it in with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Persona Adventure!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Sep 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I honestly wasn't that excited to play the game thinking it would lack in the story compared to the real games, but the story is very good, well written, a tear-jerker, and the gameplay is fun!

It is a nice surprise and the story really makes you want to complete all of the story to find out everything.

The fighting, non-story, gamplay is as good as any game I suppose, and the online was pretty fun too.

This game really adds-up to a quality product that I played for over a month.... last time I did that was Final Fantasy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumd

posted by coolguy72 (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Aug 31, 2012

Member since May 2011

i was not happy with all the talking that goes in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by venom3249 (EXETER, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Seriously bad game Why would you even change the game so much the story seemed good but it was so freakin boring i mean you cnt do nuthin but fight nd read this game is so terrible i miss persona 3 this just aint persona this is some Terrible fighting game its no RPG Boo this game!!!! And some advice for the creators next time dnt change Something that Obviously works Very disappointed I was so exited after persona 3 i just cnt believe they screwed this Franchise so bad with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »