Rent Persona 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Persona 3

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.6

1656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

132 dark hours

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, first this is the longest RPG I've ever played.

I've played persona games before, and I have to admit in the past they have been too hard and frustrating, but this one nails it. The different game modes offers a perfect contrast to keep things rolling and rarely do you get bored. When you have to go and be social at school to make better persona's available to you its more fun than it sounds and very rewarding. Battle is often a very intense all or nothing struggle to exploit the enemies weakness. The tension at some points in the game is very high. The difference between a perfect win and agonizing defeat might only be who went first. So its important to catch the enemies off guard. You can do this with consistency because each group of monsters is represented by a shadowy avatar in the game world that you can surprise or be surprised by, it just takes a bit of clever running around and timing to avoid getting surprised, though laziness will still cause it to happen and you might even die!

All the main characters have rich personalities that in general are not totally stereo typical. The complete immersion into japanese culture is a learning experience and actually pretty interesting.

At the end of battle you often get to choose from shuffling cards to win new persona masses of extra experience, items or money. Carefully selecting what card you want is a bit of a mini game in itself and helps keep the pace exciting during long dungeon runs.

FUN FUN FUN, but I will mention my only complaints now.

The Graphics are acceptable, but really not very interesting. The dungeon, while it might have some psychedelic backgrounds that look cool is pretty much a blank empty space where monsters run, not very interesting at all.

Rarely you will end up with too much social networking time and no one to network with so you will just have to sleep through your day.

Bottom line, 132 hours of gaming, 125 of them were fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need more rpgs like this.

posted by PlayBizzle (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game i bought FES and 4 because of this it took away from me playing ps3 games on my ps3 lol, it is on the longer side but if you like JRPGs this is one of the best. Has a great story, i doesnt really feel like the other SMTs kinda felt like they just put his branding on it so it would sell but they really didnt need to this game was great. worth the rent for sure and in my case its a buyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An unforgettable experience

posted by Loyalgamer (ROCKY HILL, CT) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cutscene: A couple slow breaths, a shot on the monster ready to pounce on a helpless victim, another slow breath, a teenager holds a gun and thinks of what to do with it. He holds it with two hands curious of what he can do he slowly places it to the side of his head and slowly utters the word, "Persona." BANG!! A spirit comes out of his head and your first fight begins.

I was hooked for a seventy hour journey at that scene and I eagerly await a chance to sit through it again.

This game is epic! It takes place during a standard japanese school year. You have until the end of the school year to complete the game's objectives. On the final day of the school year, YOU CANNOT LEAVE THE DUNGEON YOU MUST BEAT THE GAME.

During the day you attend school and afterward you can improve your social links, attend events, or at night choose to go to the only dungeon called Tartarus. Tartarus is a massive labyrinth that appears only at night and it is where you're RPG elements and social link status are applied.

The controls are easy, the menus are well explained, and the elements are customizable to your needs.

The story will suck you in quickly and you will only come up for air once in a while or to sleep but this game won't get out of your head. The soundtrack is superb and even when you're done playing you'll be asking yourself what do I do next when I pick up the controller again.

This is one of my favorite games and I wanted to share my great experiences with you hoping that you will give this dark horse a try and maybe enjoy it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

im at the 50 hour mark and still not half way done

posted by Mkmd13 (NORTH RIDGEVILLE, OH) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game has got to be one of the best games i have ever played for the PS2 since Disgaea 2! If your a fan of long games and also a fan on nice replay value then definitly BUY this game! Ok lets get on with the Pros and Cons of this game.

Pros- The gameplay is top notch, The controls are very easy to pick up and play (like all other RPGs), this game is very different from any other game you have ever played which thats what makes this game so great, The replay value is just like Tales of Symphonia, Tons of weapons, armor, shoes, and accesorys are scattered throughout the game and you can also buy them at the shop.

Cons- Dungens sorta get repetitive but the monsters (or shawdoes) change about every 10 floors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's great, but...

posted by Urganite (AKRON, OH) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

A game that deserves much praise for just being what it is, Persona 3 is a game that despite some small shortfalls is so long and well balanced that it really makes you wonder what you're spending your money on with a lot of other games. I won't bore the reader with the high points of the game, I'm just going to go over reasons it didn't get a 10 score.

The tower exploration system which is similar to survival-style games like Gauntlet or Azure Dreams that relies on randomly generated rooms and hallways is a bit more simple than I'm used to seeing from a modern dungeon generator. You'll never notice this or even really care, because you spend almost all of your time in the dungeon either just leveling or finding the stairwell, and less than half the game will end up being played in the dungeon anyway. Fighting can be a bit tedious, especially when the enemy can be defeated at a particular level without taking damage by just autoattacking. Allowing your party to spread out, instead of causing your party to gain experience faster just turns you into a baby sitter. However, watching characters use the evokers is always entertaining on some morbid level.

The graphics outside of combat are pretty good, the tower graphics can be pretty plain after a while, but have their own high points, the music is pretty great, the only thing I can complain about really is the terrible voice acting. I'm getting really tired of playing games with cheesy, uninspired voice acting, it completely destroys the experience.

Other than that, this is an SMT game. Many people won't know what that means, many people will think this is the best game ever. I however think that I've somehow played this game before, only slightly differently, about 5 or 6 times now. I wish there was no tedious battle mechanic to get in the way of the character development. That's seriously how I feel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An RPG for people who enjoy RPGs

posted by Eekthecat (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Persona 3 is not a game for people who found Final Fantasy X too complicated. Persona 3 is not a game for people who loathe Japanese culture. Persona 3 is not a game for people with short attention spans who mash buttons just to speed through dialogue.

Persona 3 is a game targeted toward RPG gamers who like a nice challenge and a well-written story. If you are not one of those people, don't bother with Persona 3, because you will probably hate it. If you are one of those people, though, you are in luck.

From the very beginning scene to the ending credits, Persona 3 screams "MADE IN JAPAN" The game's character models all have an anime-ish look to them, but don't across as overly childish. My one gripe with the game is that despite a great English translation, characters still use "-san" and a few other Japanese terms. Keep in mind, though, that I hate 99% of anime and know almost nothing about Japanese culture, but I still loved this game.

The real stars of the game are the various persona at your disposal. The main character can create tons of them, all with their own look, stats, and selection of spells. Players can tweak stats and spells to maximize efficiency.

One of the most controversial elements of Persona 3 is the school system. The main character has to go to class and interact with friends when he is not killing demons. This may sound dull and boring, but the amount of backstory provided during school hours really helps to bring the game-world to life while breaking up the monotony of endless dungeon crawling. Furthermore, by interacting with different people you can give yourself the ability to fuse more powerful personae.

Finally, Persona 3 takes a huge risk by allowing you direct control over your main character during battles. This worried me at first, but your main character is so tough and the AI is so smart this isn't an issue.

So again, if you like RPGs enough to read past the first two paragraphs, you will love this game. So get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Dark Hour Coffins

posted by Demonic4ce (LANCASTER, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You know one of those revolutionary games that has just the right mixture of rpg story, and battling? Well this is one of those games. Persona 3 may not have the BEST graphics, but if you put that aside, you will truly see what a great game this is. You are a high school student who takes classes, gets girls, (occasionally... i chose yuko) and Fights shadows. You can walk around, meet new people, and develop relationships with them. Each person you befriend gets you stronger personas (basically aeons for those of you who have played FFX.) During the dark hour, a period of time between 12:00 and 12:01 (which is actually an hour) you go to the Tartarus and fight shadows, eventually fighting a boss during each full moon. You have freedom in this game, being able to go from place to place withing the town to increase your charm, courage, and academics. If you've ever wanted a virtual high school year where you fight dark creatures, this would be the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Possibly the Best Game Ever. Period.

posted by shadowmist (IRVINE, CA) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is possibly the best I've ever played. It's vastly different from the preceding Persona games and the Shin Megami series it's derived from, but in a good way. A very good way.

First off, this game is fairly dark. The atmosphere is gloomy, with poor lighting in many places, and strange blotches of black stuff that crawl about the edges of the screen in certain scenes. The monsters toe the line between creepy and funny. The music is a mix of strange rapping, operatic music, and other stuff, mostly in minor key. Oddly enough, even the strange rapping fits the atmosphere perfectly.

The game has you take the role of the main character, dropped into a strange place where 'Shadows' roam during the hidden 'Dark Hour' between midnight. You use a special gun called an 'Evoker' to shoot yourself in the head to call upon the powers of your Persona, a mysterious entity with powerful abilities. You alternate between managing your social life (making friends, getting good grades, eating out, etc) and roaming the Tartarus, a tower that exceeds 200+ ever changing floors. As you do so, you slowly uncover the mysteries of the 'Shadows' and how you tie into it.

This game is just pure awesome. Perfection in its purest form. While the PS2 is a 'last gen' system, it's by no means out of the game. With games like this coming out, it'll be in the running for a long time yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Leeria (FORT ATKINSON, WI) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love this game! It is an EMO game, what do you expect with the characters having to shoot themselves in the head to summon their persona? But that's perfect for me.

The qualities of this game are fantastic. I think one of the best things is how playable this game is by just about everyone. As long as you have half a brain in your head, you can play this game. The easy mode is relatively easy (I like to play easy mode because I prefer to focus on story lines, not difficult fights and training 24/7) and I think any inexperienced gamer would be able to play this game.

Another quality that absolutely sells this game to me is the anime cutscenes. The game starts with a confusing song and video. It's own little theme, just like you see in good animes. There are also anime scenes (complete with voices!) throughout the game that keep it fresh.

Also, there are tons of choices for the player to make in this game! You'll find yourself needing to play it again and again to see what happens if you make this choice or do things a different way. This makes for a completely customized experience.
You make relationships and you fight in this game; not too much of either. You can split your party up in the fighting area so they can take enemies out without you having to personally beat down every last one.

But here comes the section for the bad points- The graphics aren't my favorite. They are good, but I think everyone looks a little anorexic. The main character's head is about three times or more the size of his legs. Sometimes the voice acting seems a little stiff, like the actors are just reading lines, not actually in the situation. It's hard to make money (but that does make you appreciate it more when you get it). And sometimes the quest deadlines are a little too soon. Also in the beginning, I found myself saying "Okay! Just let me control myself already! Stop skipping lunchtime and the entire school day! Geez."

This was, all in all, a great game.
I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Shin Megami Tensei

posted by Marrek28 (FOREST HILLS, NY) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Shin Megami game. Tarterus the realm of the Dark Hour is simply amazing. To summen your Persona's you have to shoot yourself in the head with a 9mm pistol "ouch", but also quite interesting. The audio in the game is just embarrassing. The music is so horrible it made me want to throw up. On the other side the voice acting and character design is pretty good, BUT! When you are in school mode and the teacher asks you questions you probably won't know them, yet the easyist was when the math teacher asks you 1+1 thats simple but some the others would make want to go to Wikipedia or Google to look it up so my rating of this game would be an 8 out of 10 so this game is very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Persona 3

posted by Ehmenay3 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Persona 3 was one of the best games I have played yet. It grabbed my attention, and pulled me away from reality for a while, into the 'dark hour'.
For me, a game has to consist of three things, good plot to the game, great game play, and at least some challenges involved. Of course, this consisted of all three. First of all, the story line to it, was amazing. It captivated me, which is very hard to do, especially with my lack of focus. Though, if you are planning on plying this game, you must be one that reads the text and understands what is going on. Otherwise there is no point in even playing, because you won't get anything thats going on.
The game play had me hooked too. Sure it didn't have great graphics, but that isn't what makes the game play great anyways. You actually have to use some of that brain-power. It's not going to be like those cheep games where it is 'KA-BAM, Dead'
Challenging as it gets, it still had me. You technically have to balance two lives, one during school, where you build your social connections and get things as your charm and academics up. Also you need to keep tabs on your fighting, and all the persona's you can actually use.
Basically all I am saying, is hands down, one of the greatest games I have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Avoid Spoiler at all cost.

posted by TsuDaibido (WINTER PARK, FL) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great RPG.
It's feels like playing two different game at the same time.

1. a dungeon crawler
2. a Life-Sim

This game has an Anime feel to it, and takes place in modern day Japan.
People who are not aware to it's culture will raise a few question like "I'm going to School on a Saturday?"

The problem with the story that I have in this game is that I figure stuff out before any of characters could think about it. Leaving me always thinking "I could have told you this a long time ago".

The battle in this game is not balance. It's either you have the huge advantage, or your enemy has the huge advantage. I remember being game over before I can get my turn to attack. And if your main character dies, game over. even when your other allies are at full health.

What every you do? Do not look up the Ending to this game. That what I did and it got me to stop playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME!

posted by yesiriee (SILVER SPRING, MD) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ive only played this game for a few hours and it was great! the graphics is really good and so is the music. the battles are weird at first but once you tried it, it was awesome! I have been a big fan of the Shin Megami series and its one the best ever. If you're into mythology or legends you definitely will get the thrill when you can use personas...such as ghosts, goblins and vampires. Its very cool I tell ya. I will definitely buy this game on ebay once I return this game to gamefly. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best RPG NO!... Game ever Eat it Final Fantasy

posted by Cheddah (KOSCIUSKO, MS) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

To start this is an EMO game ,and you better have a good constitution. Still this game is better than any game I've played in ten years.Persona's story is happily creepy and shocking,The Game is better than any Final Fantsy Game ever. It is just perfect! The characters draw you into the game, and connect to you LOOK I could waste your time here, But I'll just say it GET THE GAME!!!!! i,m WASTIN MY TIME NOT PLAYIN IT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!! GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good Story Line, HORRIBLE Fight system.

posted by whodunnit (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I spent around 80+ hours on this game due to it's engaging storyline. Unfortunately, it's entire battle system is based on far to many repetitive monsters/levels and one hit kills instead of actual well designed monsters.

I'm sending this game back at the final boss, 3 Hours into the final event, my healer was charmed and in one spell fully healed the final boss. Poof 3 hours of work gone like that. Any game designer with half a brain should have thought of that happening and prevented it.

Great storyline, but really wish I hadn't wasted this much of my life fighting through a bad game to see a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't believe the hype

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

What's the world coming to when you can't rely on the user review system anymore. Apparently most of the reviews were written by fanboys. This game is actually pretty lame. I have spent 15 hours playing and the whole time thinking it has to get better than this, it doesn't. Basically you spend your time exploring a maze and going to school. In the maze you find a few items and battle monsters. The treasures are pretty weak, maybe a few yen or medicine. The maze gets repetitive fast. On the other hand you must go to school and interact with others to build your social skills. The conversation usually involves choosing from 2 very similar responses. The graphics look good, the music is fine, the story isn't great at all and the gameplay is boring and repetitive. Oh, and whose idea was it to have the characters blow their brains out to summon their powers. Japanese are truly deranged!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My Personal Opinion.....

posted by naruto1234 (TAUNTON, MA) Nov 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game isn't the greatest. If you're looking for a game with a great story then don't pick this title up. it's kinda slow paced and if you're like me you'll get bored very quickly. I've given this game many chances and everytime it did nothing for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best rpg out there

posted by bigboy3 (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

who th %&$# cares what the cridics say 3 words best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a waste....

posted by MarkoW (LA PORTE, TX) May 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

What a load of c&&$!! It is rated at 8.6..whoever rated that must have been smoking something..What a waste of money, time and effort

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

persona3

posted by copajoe (OCALA, FL) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this could have been an excellent game but it looks like the creators were more interested in making money than making a good game...there was a continuous theme of sameness ....some of monsters looked good but the entire gameplay was sameness with nothing different to excite you....the going back and forth to school was boreing..i was very dissappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

couldn't make it 20 minutes though this one

posted by fonefoo (YEMASSEE, SC) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

ok, this game has been getting pretty good ratings on the 'internets' so I picked it up.

It couldn't hold my attention more than the 20 some minutes it took to get through all the opening cut
scenes.

I really wanted to give it a try but its like a bad movie you can't sit through. there might be some gold if you can stick in there, but is it really worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very enthralling

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I'm not much of an RPG gamer, and when I do decide to play one, I tend to gravitate towards the simpler, more accessible titles like "Skies of Arcadia Legends" and "Mega Man Battle Network". This is undoubtedly one of the reasons why I enjoyed "Persona 3", as it definitely belongs to that class of user-friendly RPGs that can be picked up and played by gamers who've never so much as touched a Final Fantasy title. So, if you're like me and you tend to shy away from any game that has the word "strategy" on the back of the box, you really should just go ahead and take the plunge here, because "Persona 3" is a lot of fun. The anime-style graphics and pop music soundtrack are good, and the writing and voice acting are excellent. The characters are supremely endearing and likable, and the story is epic, with plenty of twists and turns. The combat is simple but engaging, and it's okay that you don't directly control the other members of your party, because their AI is quite competent. Also, the Social Links system proves itself to be a unique and entertaining way of powering yourself up. The game is a bit heavy on the grinding, and new weapons and armor are unreasonably expensive, but these are minor complaints.

All in all, I have to sing this game's praises. For the 79 hours it took me to complete it, I was hooked. I just couldn't put it down. I'm actually relieved to be done with it because maybe now I can finally take my life back. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST TURN BASED RPG SINCE FFX

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Jan 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

SHORT AND SWEET. I WAS SPOILED ON TURN BASED RPGS AFTER FFX. THIS GAME RESTORED MY FAITH THAT ANOTHER RPG COULD BE AS ENJOYABLE. PLAY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

oh japan....

posted by coconono (KOKOMO, IN) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

combat was pretty cool. I liked the combo system, lots of visual satisfaction there.

the story, while being told at a snail's pace was engaging.

The non-combat questing stuff was a complete turn off. I just want to zap monsters, not run for school president or take chicks out for coffee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

per...so...na

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

best game ever....I cried at the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse