Rent Persona 3: FES for PS2
view large frontback

Persona 3: FES

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

1521 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same story as persona 3 with some extras

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

33 out of 34 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

NEW features

-Several new popular persona
-new social links
-Hard difficulty
-Weapon Fusion- using persona-.. kind of like Devil summoner
-More requests added
-character customes

things i noticed..

-the character is faster now, so he can get around pretty quickly (you will see when you play the game)

-slightly better loading time

-and lastly, early access to the velvet room (i can't quite remember but i think.. they did have acess until you enter tartarus in person 3)

YES, you can use the saved file from persona 3 in this game.. things that will be transfer over are

-Registered persona (so be sure to register your personas)
-known fustion spells
-Academics, charm and courage rankings
-Items gained from Social Links that reached Max.

FES offered two paths

-the journey (the exact story just like persona 3 with upgrades if you have the saved file)

-the answer (the 15 hours or so gameplay time as mentioned before the game release.

it's practically the same game with some extras added that's all.. worth a rental.. but not a purchase.. unless you do not own Persona 3.. or if you have the money for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The perfect turn-based RPG

posted by magaloo (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game every RPG fan holds dear to their heart. With a multitude of rich playable and non-playable characters and beautiful game art, any design or art fan would be into this game as well. The customization available for characters is also really impressive. You get to do so much and really wrap yourself around the life you lead as a character in this town that you never really get sick of playing.

For me, this is on my top 3 list of best RPGs for the Playstation2 console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Persona yet.

posted by Seriatim (SOLON, ME) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Persona is one of those games you either love or hate. I still own the original Persona and Persona 2: Eternal Punishment for the Playstation, so obviously I fall into the "love it" category. That being said, I enjoyed the first Persona over the second, so I wasn't sure what the third game would bring.

First, the story line is fantastic, and keeps you wanting to play. Secondly, there are multiple paths you can pursue to try to strengthen your character. So many that you can't possibly do them all the first time through. Third, the animation is a huge jump over the previous two installment, with some nice anime segments thrown in as well.

A few minor complaints do knock off the 1 point from me giving this game a 10. First, the music gets quite irritating after a while. Very minor, but...ehh. Second, your fighting consists mainly of scaling an ever-changing tower, repeatedly. That gets a little old. The first 2 personas did a good job of switching locales. Only the fun fighting system prevents this from being more of a downer. Lastly, I miss not being able to throw in random objects when fusing personae. I liked this feature in prior Persona games, where you could only unlock certain persona by throwing in a certain item during creation. I think they streamlined the process in the third game.

All in all, if you liked previous persona games or if you like turn-based RPGs, or even if you are a fan of collection/fighting games like Poke`mon, you need to try this game. Just bear in mind it is "M" rated, so it isn't cute Poke`mon collecting, but collecting demons to stop people from getting their souls sucked out. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh My Gosh!

posted by Vidron (STATESBORO, GA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome! Actually, awesome probably isn't the word to describe this game. I'm not sure how to describe this but trust me and the rest of the reviewers here when I say that it is beyond awesome. The game had a fantastic storyline and I loved how you could use social links in order to make your personas more powerful. (Oh yeah, I'm new to the Persona series.) Absolutely no grievances whatsoever! 100% recommended! Rent it! You will love it, especially when you get to the ending!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Didn't hear about P3 before? You will now.

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never heard about the Shin Megami Tensei series until I read up about Persona 3 on GameFAQs.
When I heard that FES was coming out, I thought "Why not give it a shot? After all, I haven't tried the original before.". There were a few shortcomings, but FES quickly became one of the most enjoyable RPGs I've ever played.

Gameplay - 10/10

You start out by choosing a new game. If you've played the original P3, you can transfer save data and have most of what you managed to get(social links, compendium, academics, charm, muscle, etc.). There's now a new hard mode for those people looking for a challenge as well as easy and normal.

You'll eventually join a club dedicated to defeating Shadows called SEES. You'll be exploring a tower called Tartarus, trying to exterminate as many Shadows as possible and see what's at the top. You'll have boss fights with the 12 arcanas(Fool, Magician, Death, Justice, Hierophant, etc.) after you get into the game long enough. You have your standard turn based combat and personae which can help with spell resistances and certain attack resistances along with granting you attacks to defeat the Shadows.

While you're exploring Tartarus at night, you'll be building up social links(to buff up personae and be able to use personae with more power) and stats(to pass tests, be able to start new social links, etc.). This goes on basically until the end of the Journey.

New to FES, there's the Answer. The Answer explains all that happens after the end of the Journey. It's basically the same as the Journey except that you just go through different dungeons until the end.

Graphics - 7.5/10

The environment is kind of bland, honestly. You'll be seeing it 24/7 throughout the game. Kind of good at first, but quickly gets old. The animated cutscenes do look rather decent though.

Sound/Music - 9/10

All the good music is in the middle and end of the Journey and Answer.

Overall - 9.3/10

FES will easily last you 60+ hours. Buy it when you have $20-30.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Persona 3, top 3 RPG for the PS2

posted by RPGaddict (Chicago, IL) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anyone who likes RPGs with a excellent plot and a fresh battle system I have to give this game a really high recommendation.

This game has a real immersion factor to it that keep you playing for a very long time. The plot has some interesting twists as well as one of the most shocking endings I have ever seen. Most of the plots twists in RPGs are pretty predictable. This is one of the few that does surprise you in a very good way. This game has a very depressing mood to it and will actually resonate with you for awhile once you see how it ends.

The battle system is something new to me as this is the first Persona game I have played. I loved it. It keeps its challenge throughout most of the game(esp on hard mode, it is brutal) and not not a chore at all.

Graphics are not very important to me so I will not stress them but for a PS2 game they are fine. The character design has a good balance of seriousness and wacky looking characters.

The only thing I mark down on this is the fact the game can be TO depressing sometimes. However I love games that do something different in a world of shooter clones and happy storylines.

The soundtrack can get a bit repetitive but that is not a real issue. The main points of a RPG are very strong here, battle system and plot.

To sum things up

+ Amazing Storyline
+ Battle system as a whole is very enjoyable and doesn't get old
+ Immersion factor that I have not experienced since Xenogears.
+ Long play time(76 hours my playthrough) and it doesn't feel like it is dragging on. In fact you don't want it to end.
+ Very good character development throughout the story.

- Soundtrack a bit repetitive.
- Sometimes TO depressing but this is minor.
- Tartarus(the main area you will be exploring) can sometimes be a chore to explore.

If I could give it a 9.7 I could. 10 to me is perfect and while this game is not perfect it is close. It got me into Shin Negima Tensei games. I have Nocturne coming now. Can't wait for Persona 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing game

posted by j0shey (ATHENS, GA) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the better games I have played in a long time. I live in an apartment with 3 room mates and all of them are heavily addicted to this game now because of me. The combination of rpg style fighting and sim dating is mixed perfectly so you're never bored, which is great because this game can take 30 plus hours to beat easily. Also with Persona:Fes you get two games in one with "The Journey" and "The Answer" being playable in this director's cut version. All in all this game was an excellent rent that I'll end up buying as soon as I can find it for sale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ah back to the dark hour

posted by RedSkittle (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES you will take control of a high school transfer student. By day you will go to school make friends and even take quizzes. Though by night you will run around slaying monsters called shadows. In FES you will can obtain 20+ new Persona, armor that will change your characters costumes, and best of all and extra mode called Episode Aigis. Overall this game takes old turn based RPGs and adds some delightful elements. The only bad thing would be is that you can not control your other party members. This leads to the character AI to be flawed at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sequel is lacking, but combined, worthwhile

posted by yawmin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) May 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First things first: Persona 3 - The Journey was as much fun on the second playthrough as it was when the original came out, and was enriched by the addition of a few story bits and new Personas. Aside from that, not much has changed about The Journey.

I can't really say the same about The Answer, though. At least half of the entertainment value of the original Persona 3 was in the school life portion, and trying to grow your Social Links to level up your Personas. In The Answer, every time you fuse a Persona you only get them at their base level - which means you have to level each one up to get at their upper level skills. This just means that smart use of skill inheritance and Growth skills is key, but is still rather annoying. The Answer is pretty much a pure dungeon crawl with storyline. Compared to The Journey, it's like ordering a root beer float without ice cream. In my opinion, the storyline of The Answer isn't really a resolution, but more of a side story. I was fine with how Persona 3 ended the first time around, and the new plot seems a bit extraneous. The characters are also a lot more emo than in The Journey.

In short, if you enjoyed the battle system in Persona 3, go ahead and do some more in FES. If you thought of combat as something to get over with so you could do the school stuff more, give FES a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST SMT GAME TO DATE!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) May 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge SMT fan since nocturne came out.
and let me just say, nocturne has nothing on Persona 3! I'd have to say persona 3 is not only the best SMT game out, but one of the best Japanese RPG's ever made!

PROS: The story is magnificient! And thats saying alot, cuz ima huge critic when it comes to the plot of a game. Graphicwise its a whole lot cleaner than nocturne, although thats understandable since nocturne is an 04 game.
Gameplay is very fun and leaves room for discovery. Weapons and items are easy to find where ever you are. money is also easy to make in this game! Also, the difficulty can be changed unlike nocturne. The characters are so unique and real for a game its scary.

CONS: Advancing the game can be very repetetive.
Also, if you're one of those ppl who hates alot of dialogue, let me just clearify this is NOT the game for you! Also it would have been better if you had more of a choice to customize your character.

Other than that this game is a definite 10 in my book! An absolute RENT and possible BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing as usual

posted by kang568 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you've played the first game then you should love it and if you don't, then I guess your just got a phobia for stories and rpgs but I'm not here to insult the idiots so I'll leave it at that. I've got the original and beat it after the near 90 hour long story of just straight game play and from killing my first shadow to putting that lovely silver luger to the main character's head I felt this game was gonna be awesome. My prediction was of course correct and it seems this expansion pack of sorts will lengthen the single greatest tale of good over evil even further, making my day even better. I've only begun to play and already I love it just as I did with the original P3 and I can' wait for it to divulge more of the protagonists sudden leave. The controls and game play are as simple as the last with its many different and subtle tactics that make immense in choice and fighting style and of course the voice acting is top notch with the usual great musical score and finally the epic anime style cut scenes. Play this game, now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ok

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it was alright i think there was to much hype for the game personally but overall it was a great game. definetly recomend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a worthy sequel

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Getting use to the controls and an understanding of this series is important in wither or not a person likes this game or not. Lots of great things in this game nothing truly bad about it if anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eh

posted by Azureth (GARLAND, TX) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Thought I was in for a good time when I rented this game. From all of the reviews and praise it looked good.

What I didn't know was that it was pretty much a dating sim, and all you do is dating sim during the day and enter the same dungeon over and over while climbing its floors. Yeah... no. Just not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

8.7?

posted by rob465 (SANTA FE, NM) Nov 3, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Not sure who is rating this game, but it doesn't deserve an 8.7. What a concept. Characters that shoot themselves in the head to activate their Personan? An extremely disgusting concept. They story line game play were crud as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT GET THIS GAME

posted by GeoStigma (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 23 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games ever. I got 30 minutes into this so filled RPG game play and strategy game. No its like Final Fantasy times 10 the talking. Half of this game is about talking. So if you like renting movies or like final fantasy rent this game but otherwise dont get this because its horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great if you have time

posted by Eveekitten (AVONDALE, AZ) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game was very up and down for me. There were moments when I loved it and moments where I was quite bored. It was hard to find things worth doing durring vacation times, but other than that it was very entertaining and kept you busy. This game lasted a VERY long time. It took me two weeks to complete it, spending several hours a day on it. The battles weren't too difficult, except for the last boss. Definately worth the time if you like story based rpg's and have patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing.

posted by Oliviator (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Great rpg. Wouldn't recommend it for impatient people. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite

posted by KittyBangOuch (CORALVILLE, IA) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This and Killer7 are my favorite games of all time, and both are cult classics which resulted in huge followings for the creative teams behind them.
Persona 3 is a third person RPG. You are the new kid at school and you are moved from your regular dorm assignment because the building is full. You end up in a dorm with lots of empty rooms and 3 other students. Mysterious things begin to happen and you soon discover they are part of an elite monster hunting team that all have the power to use personas, which you discover you have as well.
This game is great because it has so much to do and so many possibilities. In order to gain different personas, which help you to defeat monsters more easily, you have to build up corresponding social links in everyday life. This also makes for high replay value because there are over 170 combinations of personas that can be made, some which can only occur by accident or combining rare cards.
Very long game, also has great voice acting, hilarious music and a visual style that was well before its time and still looks beautiful on an hdtv. A must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only for people with obsessive disorders

posted by GamerTech (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Too long and too hard, to the point that it becomes more work than play. You know the kind. But if you like WoW or FFIX, I think you'll like this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'm going to buy it!

posted by NGversusA (STRONGSVILLE, OH) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

It has it's slow points but I really do like it enough that I'm going to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

some problems

posted by JouteiHi (LA VERGNE, TN) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I loved this game, but there was a problem. So i'm sending the game back in and placing it back on my gameq, please send me a different disk than the one i'm sending in. To anyone reading these reviews, this is a great game and worthy of being bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A story done well

posted by DresdenK (BEND, OR) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

You've got a year... that's right, just one year to build yourself up to defend the world from the Apocalypse. "How do I do that" you say? By making as many friends as possible. Sure it sounds ridiculously cheesy, but it can actually be quite fun. I reserved giving this installment in the SMT line a 9 or 10 because of the way they make you level grind. It isn't hard to improve your character, but it does get monotonous. The actual battle simulations are always challenging and exciting, but when your not actually doing a story event (which is sometimes just a quick introduction to a boss) you are crawling around in Tartarus; a random maze generated tower that only lets you go so far depending on your progress in the game's story line. Other than that, prepare to have fun storming the castle and trying to juggle girlfriend(s), school, and other responsibilities. Quite a unique and entertaining game. (Be warned, while I loved the music and ambiance, those who dislike J-pop/techno may find the music a little mind bending).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved It

posted by Kiokushoma (SEAFORD, DE) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I personally loved this game. While the character customization needs work --you can only change Battle Outfits, and those cost tons-- the game it self was fun. I like how you can go into the Tower/Dungeon, though it got irritating after the first 50 levels, but you can also go to school and interact with other characters.
I haven't yet beaten the game, I just got the New Years, but it's a great game. I'm working on Persona 4, and I must say, I like 3 better.
The characters are cute, let's face it, the main character is hot, and you can even date the girls. I was kind of disappointed that the main character, a guy, couldn't 'date' other guys --I'm a Yaoi fan. But then again, no game has that.
If only a Persona game with a Girl main character would come out, that was be the best one yet.
The game is quick if you know what you're doing, though the Skills take a little longer to get up then I would like.
Overall, it's a great game, and I would play it multiple times without getting tired of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it!

posted by enrique (GRANT PARK, IL) Jul 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

when i first saw this game o thought it was okay, but as the game progressed, it looked so fun! i cant wait to get it and FINNALY SEE THE ENDING!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse