Rent Penguins of Madagascar - Kinect: Dr. Blowhole Returns Again for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Penguins of Madagascar - Kinect: Dr. Blowhole Returns Again

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.6

154 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent for young children

posted by Shidara (CAROL STREAM, IL) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is designed for children, ages 6 and up I'd say. Adults will find it entertaining but simple and repetitive.

The game is on-rails, meaning that you simply move to react to the environment as the penguin passes through it. There are 3-6 mini-games per level, each one very easy to understand and accomplish, as well as forgiving - usually, three tries and it moves you along.

The levels are also very short - 10-15 minutes each, allowing for short gaming sessions.

The Kinect implementation is very good here; on the occasions when I had to step in to help my daughter, it didn't attempt to switch users or adjust the Sensor, meaning that I could simply jump in, complete the troublesome minigame, and jump out again with no hassles.

The characters are well represented - any fan of the show will be entertained by the game, with Neil Patrick Harris reprising his role as the Evil Dr. Blowhole.

A worthwhile rental for kids, but adults, unless a big fan of the show, can skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

getting better

posted by monkespit (PARRISH, FL) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

these kinect games are really few and far between. they all seem to suffer from the same minor issues. this penguins one does pretty good about cutting out difficult kinect motions. there are maybe 1 or 2 that are very tricky to get the kinect to recognize almost every time. gamefly does not provide the instruction manual online for this game so you pretty much have to guess motions from the on-screen indicators, which is fine for the most part.
this game does have some bugs. which have caused the game to be screwed on at least 3 occasions, several other times they worked themselves out. Falling through a texture hole and the entire screen is black or all you see is your penguin. other times the entire board locks up but my penguin can be seen doing it's idling movements.
game is made up of 3 short worlds and an interesting dance section with 2 modes. generally the game has no problems recognizing my movements at all, but the continued bugs are rather annoying. luckily i have only lost current level progress.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

Chivo hunters will love this game... gives points like nothing... Looks like it would be fun for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the penguins of madagascar

posted by pat0101 (DECORAH, IA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the greatest game ever

i thought it is the best game i have played for the kinect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »