Rent Payday 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Payday 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

720 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Payday 2 - Co-Op It Up!

posted by Coyoteman (FREDERICK, CO) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Payday 2 is a true Co-Op. No other game rewards teamwork as much as this. If you have a crew, can invest the time, and can look past some minor shallow design decisions, Payday 2 will pay off.

Pros - Tight gunplay, addictive gameplay, intelligent AI, high replayability, fresh rewarding system, decend strategy.

Cons - Time consuming, maps could use more variation, occasionally laggy, medium graffic quality.

Gunplay feels great and is reminiscent of the movie HEAT in multiple ways. All out AR fights in the streets, moving critical high value cargo, and making a break for it launch you into the experience! Firefights seem quite realistic, assisted greatly by the gun dynamics and fluid AI. AI flanks, groups up, and frequently alters the robber's line of defense. Tense fights alway seem just on the brink of cracking. Graphics can't hold up to AAA titles but do the job.

Payday 2 will not be for everyone. Team coordination is recommended otherwise failure is likely. This will immediately discourage lone wolf type players. However, successful teamwork reaps great rewards. Big payoffs usually results from effective coordination - backing each other, healing, providing ammunition and covering entrance points while breaking in, gathering and organizing the loot. Communication is key.

Weapons, masks, and mods are the big rewards in the game randomly selected after a payday (successful mission). Weapon customization is pretty rare since you have to obtain the "just right" modification for your owned weapon. On the flip side, getting the "just right" modification is very rewarding and satisfying without feeling overpowered. The variations in weapons and masks are extremely vast and more involved than most FPSes.

Each overall map layout is unchanged, however is offset varying mission lengths, good map selection, and varying difficulties.

Payday 2 is a truly rewarding game that best played with 3 other friends for those ready to get paid. Highly recommended for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best coop experinces to date

posted by fire5idedata (CRESCO, PA) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is a game which is best played with a group of friends or with 3 people you met online paying the game with mics. this is soley a coop game i dont even know why the put a single player in this game because the ai cant do anything but revive.

this game made me keep coming bac because it's possible to do most of the missions without the cops coming. this aspect kept me coming back to mission seeking perfection.

Pros.
great leveling system with skill trees.
mask customization.
randomized level terrian
weapon customization
the randomized payday system.

cons:
single player is horrible
at the moment there arent very missions to chose from when finding a game.

in my opinion if you are buying this game for single player you are buying for the wrong reasons but if you are looking for a great game to play with people online
this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh....just okay

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overview
=======================
It is an improved game from the first Payday. I would even go so far as to say it can be somewhat enjoyable.

The problem is that it is just fair in almost every way (graphics, controls, etc.). One of the biggest flaws in my opinion is no split screen co-op. It is a game that screams for this, but only online is available.

It is a decent rent. It is just a letdown as a really good studio with enough budget could make this a really good game.

Pros
=================
1) new progression system gives something to play for
2) co-op can be fun
3) better than the 1st one

Cons
=================
1) graphics aren't good
2) controls aren't tight
3) no split screen co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

50/50

posted by Divine348 (CARTHAGE, TX) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Game was ok, seemed a bit rushed, Was very glitchy ( enemies walking through walls ect) and only only fun if other have mics and no one uses mics on the game almost....but it was very fun if you found a good crew with mics and able to work together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by mxbike07 (ROANOKE, VA) Aug 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is just decent, its a lot of fun but I feel like the developers cut A LOT of corners when making it, I feel like I am playing a beta version while playing it. There are a lot of little things that just make me say "Really?". Also the money system in the game just seems broken. You have to randomly unlock attachments for weapons so the chances of actually getting the attachment you want slim to none. And on the off chance you actually do get it the cost to attach it usually twice the amount of the weapon. The mask customization is pretty much non existent. All that said Ive had some fun with game but its nothing special. 6/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 18, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

While you'd think the game would have something fun in it to keep you entertained... Sounding cool, a HEIST game that is four player co-op... BUT, It falls short in repetition without any true entertaining elements.

Usually when I play a half-complete game I will look for what they place a lot of time into the game. The only thing that seem to have a lot of effort placed into it would be the menus and video recordings they had done.

But you can get the game for 30 dollars and... If you like repetitive gameplay ... You may like the title?

They could have added minigames for tasks of lockpicking, but instead you hold one button for EVERY side task... An the only different of task is that one takes longer than the other... Had they a mini game for lockpicking or safe cracking... Tasks could be done as easily depending on how fast the player could do them... Sure that sounds cool and its NOT in this title.

There is many parts of the game they could have made better.
EVEN THE TEXTURES... They could have made better adaptive lighting, added some shaders, and at LEAST had a good visual appeal. Nope.

I do not understand how a player can be detected during casing mode...The mode where you are just looking around the level. Some how the AI just know that you are about to do the heist... An once the heist begins all of the AI already knows that you are the bad guy, even without the mask being on..

IT just doesn't make sense.

I later found the game started off as a MOD of Left 4 Dead... That means, it use to be an expansion to another game. They should have try to use another game engine. They could have used Crytek's free license for the engine.. OR used UDK. I believe the game runs on the valve's source engine...?

If you place a incomplete title on the shelf you going to get some flak for it. THE MENUS LOOK NICE THOUGH--BEing the only part that does look nice.

The game is incomplete and shouldn't been released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

POOR

posted by smoothproducer (KISSIMMEE, FL) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

SAD.. SAD.. SAD OFFLINE MODE IS USELESS. THE AI GIVES YOU NO HELP. DRILLING TAKES FOR EVER. GOT THE GAME ON FRIDAY, SENDING IT BACK MONDAY. IF U GOTTA GOOD CREW U MIGHT HAVE LITTLE FUN. BUT WHOEVER MADE THIS GAME SHOULD COME OUT WITH A HUGE PATCH OR SOMETHING BECAUSE THE GAME CAME OUT LAST WEEK AND ITS ALREADY $30 THAT SHOULD TELL U A LOT ABOUT THIS GAME. THE GAMES I DID PLAY ONLINE MY CREW WAS GOOD BUT STILL NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE.. GOOD GAMES ARE COMING IN SEPTEMBER SO THIS SHOULD HOLD U FOR A DAY OR TWO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So. Bad.

posted by Darth_Tater (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Worst game I have ever played. Enemy A.I. sucks. Friendly A.I. sucks. Graphics are terrible. If you can get past all that, then there are glitches where you randomly fall through the map forever. Can't believe this game was released... Would rather clean the catbox and do laundry all day than have to play this game... wow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

online only

posted by philly87 (DALLAS, TX) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

this game is meant for online play only. also u better have some friends to jump in with u. i have way to many problems with this game to mention, but i do have to point out one. even though this is a online based game, they dont have a way to where random people can team up in a orderly fashion. u can jump into the middle of someones heist and also u can't control computer a.i. so most of the time ur just winging it. dont get this game unless u and some 3 buddies r playing to play it together call of duty or gta5 style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun

posted by DragonCat5246 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

this game puts FUN in a game disc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by XVCHRONIC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Only fun if you play online. Gets boring within an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but 1 thing missing

posted by MRconstantine (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 29, 2014

Member since May 2013

No split screen Co-op?! amazing game that you pretty much NEED to play with other but dosnt allow you to split screen or lan with someone. Very dissapointed by this as was my girlffreind who was looking forward to playing this with me

That being said the game is great fun, i can see it getting repettative after awhile but right now im having a blast just playing with random people.

7/10 becuase its fun but you kinda need to play online with other people which is kinda a big disclammer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was hard!!!

posted by GIL26 (RENO, NV) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The game was hard playing by yourself it is better playing on onlinecrimenet but if you dont have enough skill points people will kick you off. Also it is very hard to get the masks another bad part almost all your money goes to your offshore account an you cant use any of the money so its pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slightly interesting

posted by TX_Bounty (GILMER, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Seemed to be missing so much more that you could do. But I guess that's why they push for you to play online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its alright

posted by IamAwesome17 (LEBANON, PA) Mar 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Its a good game. I like how its a good game and graphics r nice. The down side is that its only better online and since I'm poor, I don't have online. The AI doesn't do squat so it sucks playing single player. Other than that, its a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hardy

posted by DavidU (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

must say this was a hard game not for me dont get if your bad at shoters gave it back the next day but it was a good game must say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alot of fun but needs more

posted by gremlin051 (WOODLAND PARK, CO) Mar 11, 2014

Member since May 2012

Playing the same maps gets old and weapons are so expensive that you don't get to change them much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Payday 2

posted by dmcbee (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Liked the game but only fun on multiplayer. The AI in single player mode is no help during the heist, making it impossible to actually finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Payday 2.0

posted by 07civsi (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

This title is the bees knees if you like pulling heists with other players online then this title is for you it also has skill trees and was soo addictive that i ended up buying it for the different ways to tackle a job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better with Friends

posted by nateburst5 (IRONTON, OH) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

It is fun and all, but could be better if you play in multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by poolman20 (PENSACOLA, FL) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

When I first played this game it told me I could only play online. I would not recommend this game to other players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Payday 2

posted by Tyvonw (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is garbage. Horrible graphics, bad controls. Will never buy, let alone think about renting this title again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

story

posted by kingpinspartan (FORT WAYNE, IN) Dec 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i would think it would have more of a story and siffrent types of jobs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Rental w/ a Friend

posted by nightfox07 (NAPA, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Bored? Have friends that are bored too? Pay Day 2 is a must-rent...pulling off stealthy missions is gratifying enough on its own. The heist planning/missions that you were expecting in GTA V with a FPS view is what you get with Pay Day 2. Needs DLC/splitscreen otherwise it would be a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not much of a payday really.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Nov 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

Please note this review is based on the few hours I was able to stomach this game I didn't complete it.

The concept sounded good: Perform various heists, upgrade your crew, score big. Yah!!! Well not so much really. The graphics are a bit dated and the movement seems off. Although you can adjust the sensitivity it's either too much or too little so it really doesn't help. You can get a variety of different weapons and masks to wear and modify the problem is actually getting enough money for anything. My first mission was a complete success. I took care of business and walked home with around $75,000 in a score. Or at least I thought. Turns out a good 98% of whatever you steal get's funneled to an offshore account which you can't touch (or at least as far as I've played). I ended up with only like $3,000 in spendable cash. What?! So I played some more, did more jobs, and the same result every single time. Most of the money goes offshore and I'm left with crumbs for my trouble. What's the point if I can't spend what I steal? You level up as you play and can unlock new talents. Problem here is you need both skill points AND money. Everything costs money in the game which wouldn't be so bad if you can spend what you steal. Also during jobs it's impossible to be stealthy. Once someone sees you the screen lights up with warnings then the cops come. Wave after wave after wave of cops and swat. It gets really boring really fast as all you really can do is hunker down somewhere and shoot the endless stream of law that comes at you.

THE GOOD
Play the bad guy and go on heists.

THE BAD
Dated graphics.

THE UGLY
Boring gameplay.
Unusable funds from heists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse