Rent Payday 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Payday 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

421 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Great Idea, Mediocre Execution.

posted by Realm (WESTMINSTER, MD) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the concept of making what is essentially a bank robbing simulator into a video game. It was pretty fun to rob jewelry stores and banks...for a while. Even with low-difficulty heists, it seemed impossible to successfully rip off a bank without alerting authorities and suddenly start playing an FPS. Either it's a little to difficult, or the game is unbalanced in the beginning. On top of that, it takes much too long to accumulate enough money to buy decent equipment and upgrades, at least when you're starting out. The game also doesn't work fairly with offline play, so gamers such as myself who don't have a good internet connection for gaming online are out of luck. You'll get two NPC henchmen to help you fend off cops, but they don't do anything to help lug the stolen goods into the van and have poor accuracy. It's a wonderful concept, and can be entertaining. Just don't get it if you don't play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Sequel, More fun, More Masks, More Heists 8

posted by BigMIkeNyc (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall I gave this game an 8 for all the fun I had while playing it. If your looking for GTA, or Saint's row it's not like that. I wouldn't even compare those games to this it's in a class of it's own a bank robbing shooter. You play as one of 4 classes which have their own perks per heist. At no point during the game did it feel that one person was running the show EVERYONE was important. This is probably one my favorite things I loved about the game. If you've played the first title in the series then get ready for more fun, more customization, and most of all more masks and 30 heists which kept me on my toes.

Pros- New Heists, More customization, Polished guns controls and A.I(if you play offline), Tons of masks to make your character unique.

Con- While this game was fun I think the only thing that bugged me was at times I'd disconnect randomly from a co-op session other than that perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A lot of potential bogged down by poor porting.

posted by rmysterio80 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Payday 2 is a great shooter, just...not on console.

This is an obvious port, and a poorly made one at that. Constant slow downs, crashes, and connection issues. The game is playable, but just barely. I'd love to be able to tell you to rent or buy this, but its not worth it. Right now i would advise anyone interested in Payday 2 to buy the PC version, or wait for all these issues to be fixed (if they ever are).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by whatsup22222222 (TURLOCK, CA) Aug 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

it was one of the best game i ever play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Payday 2 is Redundant

posted by CageRage (NICEVILLE, FL) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Any hope for the game is lost due to it's repetitive nature. Hundreds of cops overrun your every move, while you spend ALL of your time reloading your puny gun and look for more bullets...while the AI does nothing but stand around and wait for you to die so they can heal you.
The online gameplay is awesome, but just when you finally break into the vault it loses connection...The PC version may be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I don't know what this was...

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First up, the main menu was baffling, there was no choice for "new game", "play game" or "join game" or anything. I don't play multiplayer games so maybe this is normal. Eventually I figured out you need to "Log In" to some kind of network, But I didn't know if this was the real online network, or just part of the game.

Then you spend 30 minutes getting familiar with your safe house. Are these graphics, design and controls really this horrible, or is it just me?

Finally, I figure out how to choose a mission and go, I chose what seemed like the easiest mission to get me started. Go to a mall and smash up the place. Do $50k of damage and leave. I went in. Wow, the graphics, design and lighting are truly horrid! I start shooting up the place, windows, cash registers, display cases, equipment, nothing... no "damage" yet. Um... Ok. It seems that you have to shoot specific things to do damage. So I found a CAR and emptied all my clips into it. Nothing... no "damage" registered. Finally I figure out I have to snipe wine bottles one by one while the swat team is swarming you. Ugh... this sucks.

Pop out the disk, back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game I have played all year.

posted by Trevmac44 (ALVIN, TX) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Played for 10minutes and stopped. It was that boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by XxsallimanderxX (GLOVERSVILLE, NY) Nov 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

My husband loved this game its one of his favorites.he especially liked the fact that he got a bunch of new masks for his character.I'm so glad i bought payday 2 for him I've never seen him happier with a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

CRAPDAY2

posted by taz24709 (KENNERDELL, PA) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

The game has so many problems in my mind. First off, the guns have terrible aim, the drills take FOREVER to complete the task of opening a door, the lock picking method also takes what seems like forever, the missions tend to be the same time after time, you get booted off your selected mission on a regular basis or the connection is lost, you may be given the option of colors but you can never pick them for your masks, it also seems like there is no way of improving your lock picking abilities, and lastly the amount needed to access Infamy is ridiculously high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

payday 2

posted by ngh (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

there is something wrong with it because it is in the 300 minutes to download and it only takes 34 minutes to download

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Game

posted by ShadyX109 (OSWEGO, NY) May 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

Incredibly poor gameplay, no main storyline, lack of a backstory, overall gameplay during missions was decent but lacked direction or any real way to know what was going on. When doing jobs, despite a large bag, you couldn't hold more then one thing. This game has a lot of room for improvement and came out well before it was ready.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Whoever says this game is a 10 didn't play it

posted by DMD423 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

There is a great concept here. FYI for those of you who got kicked online after you got into the vault…the other players did that not the game lol.

Co-Op is amazing. Playing alone it is overly repetitive and boring. The difference between easy medium and hard is about the difference between fighting an ant, then fighting a bear, then fighting the biggest mothership from the biggest alien movie and doing it alone.

The graphics would break down and get warped. The weapons were not at all as described in their power charts. And my pet peeve, the cost of everything is exponential. So you might pay for one upgrade at $5,000, then 12,000, then 24,000, then 100,000, then 500,000 … etc. Mind you on a mission that has three gold stars and is significantly difficult you might bring home a useable $400,000 …. MIGHT. But that is atypical and you usually net in the area of $50,000 - $180,000 for a pretty tough mission and that is often with taking all the loot.

And that brings me to one more stupid point, you get all this cash but only can spend 10% on anything and the rest goes into your vault for brags. WTH is the point of that? Just … NO! Let me use the cash and then if I have not cash to brag with I at least have equipment.

This game was a huge let down. Even playing some intense rounds with some good players we only lasted a week. And the only reason why we spent that much time doing it was because we thought it would get better. It didn't Don't waste your time unless you've literally played every other game on here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad..Could of been great.

posted by brian1980 (NEW HAVEN, IN) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Among all the bad reviews...I liked this game..yes there are some glitches, split screen would of been great..more weapons like a shop in the safe house I could purchase upgrades instead of flipping cards,more boards to choose from.. some gernades or exploding cars..what this game has is a lot of fun factor..which so many games miss...I found myself building levels,playing for weeks..i ended up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Swing and a miss

posted by Podmore5063 (LANSING, MI) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This was a great idea poorly executed.
It TOOK LITERALLY 3 HOURS TO UPDATE
I played it for 2 missions....... sent it right back
Renter Beware

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I loved it

posted by I_AM_BONAN (OCEAN PARK, WA) Dec 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I didn't have any connection problems. It stalls a little when someone joins midway through a heist but that never stopped me from completing any jobs its a great game that encourages good teamwork. I will definitely be buying it or renting it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by trav71 (MANCHESTER, ME) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Bottom line, same thing, over, and over, and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Payday 2

posted by Funmom_o (RUSKIN, FL) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I really liked this game for what it has to offer and all of the new items, weapons, customization, skills, and missions it has. Although I give it a 6 for one small, yet big problem. If you buy or rent this you will not be able to play online, they did a patch where you will automatically get lost connection to the host, so it's very rare you will play with psn friends, or just anybody in normal you might aswell play offline or payday: the heist. You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »