Rent Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door for GC
view large frontback

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

3249 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Does it Again!

posted by GCGuru (MERRIMACK, NH) Apr 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

48 out of 50 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Mario pulls off another great RPG game. The game itself is long, but worth ever minute of it. It took me approximately 45 hours to beat. Just to help you figure out if you should buy or rent the game. Either way, its worth it.



The battle format is easy and fun to use. During battle each character has a way to increase the damage inflicted, by pressing the buttons shown on the screen. Furthermore, the battles take place on a stage, where the backdrops and audience can interact by giving you items or by inflicting damage to anyone on the stage. Each character has special abilities to assist Mario progress. By finding secret pipes, retrieving otherwise unreachable items, and giving you the opportunity to strike first. Thus giving you the chance to attack your foes first.



Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door may not be a game for everyone. This is due to the games sometimes confusing puzzles, lengthy text conversations, and pointless side quests that must be completed in order to progress through the game.



Overall, I would say that it is one of the best RPG games I have ever played. The plot line kept my interest, the “battle game play” was phenomenal, as well as a constant change of scenery. Each chapter consists of a different theme. For example, my personal favorite was Chapter 3. This chapter was about a fighting arena, and Mario aka Mr. Gonzales, had to fight his way to number one!



Graphics: 10 <--- The 2D characters in a 3D world was fun to play around with.
Sound: 9.5 <--- Mario music and sound effects, doesn't get much better then that!
Controls: 9.5 <--- Its a Mario game, always easy controls.
Fun factor: 10 <--- Great Plot and Fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A True Masterpiece

posted by GameWatch (Yonkers, NY) Jul 4, 2006

Member since May 2005

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is terrific and I would recommend this to ANYONE! Mario lover or not. What really caught me of this game is the epic Boss Fights and the Hilarity each Chapter holds for the player. Also this game is very lengthy so I would consider anyone to buy this game. Two-Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweat game play and charters !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) May 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

paper mario is a sweat game,the bosses are nice and fun,the boss that i was stuck on was hooktail,i had to use a pow block to defeat him.I was very gross out to know that hooktail ate the first crestal star and koops dad.if you love mario games,rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Elnherring's Review

posted by ElnHerring (BOZEMAN, MT) May 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game is a BLAST! I've made it to level 8 and can't quit, I'm HOOKED! I'm in the Great Tree and I'm trying to get all those little ones to the room with those bat looking critters, but when I try thy fall down to the bottom. I don't know how to get them past the winding part without losing them? Perhaps someone who has past this part could tell me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

possibly one of the best mario games ever.

posted by xxsonicxx (LAFAYETTE, CO) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Paper Mario Thousand Year Door is possibly one of the best Mario games there is. Paper Mario features a great story featuring many interesting partners with follow you around. This game has lengthy gameplay not too long not too short and has many laughs along the way. This game is way too good just to rent this is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a MUST PLAY!!

posted by InsertCoin (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

At first I didn't think I would like this game but my friend talked me into renting it. IT IS AMAZING!! This game is so much fun. Its a RPG but better. The levels are great, lot of diversity. The first level is kinda classic style, the second reminds me of Pikmin, the third you the battle is organized, and etc. Its a very fun game. This is a MUST PLAY for all Gamecube owners. You won't be disappointed. Great story, great fun. Took me over 30 hours to beat so there is alot to do but it never gets dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Origami gets a game

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door is not your typical RPG. Battles are quick and action-oriented. The storyline is quirky and fun. And yes, it looks like the pop-up storybook you read when you were three. And while this is obviously a game made to be accessible for children, a lot of the button timing and gameplay lend themselves to an older audience. And that might be where Paper Mario takes a step back: it's too cute for hardcore gamers and a little too complicated for children. However, for the afficianado, this is a breath of fresh air for the RPG genre, especially on the Gamecube, which has a near absence of good RPGs. Mario battles his villains on stages where crowds gather to witness the ensuing fight (it's like reality television). At the end of each chapter, you'll spend some time following the storylines of Princess Peach and Bowser, playing both throughout the game. But mostly, it's all about Mario and you'll be spending plenty of time with him. The addictively oddball game will take you a good 35 hours to complete, easily 40 if you want to complete all the side quests and collect everything. The world is flushed out well and there is never a lack of things to do. The problem is that most of the side quests and some of the main quest revolve primarily around having you backtrack through much of the game. For instance, the story requires that you to travel from Twilight Town to Creepy Steeple and back three times. That's a whole lot of tedious walking. Also, while the story is okay, it's the gameplay that will keep you going. And my final complaint is that there is so... much... reading. There is no voice acting in the game (although, who really wants to hear goombas and koopas speak the stilted lines they're given). There are so many text bubbles in the game it could have been a graphic novel (or five). Still, the feel and style of the game reminded me of Wind Waker (which I loved). Gamecube owners would do well to check out this fun, quirky adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SONIC FAN SAYS BEST MARIO EVER MADE! by Loozur

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

LOOK FOR MORE REVIEWS BY LOOZUR!!!

this is by far the best mario game i've ever played. it was adventerous, cool, ingeniously designed graphics & better than the original. the only problem was that it was extremeley hard on first try & extremeley short and easy on a replay. but even for an experienced gamer (like me, member since year 1) it will keep you entertained for weeks & is definiteley worth replaying. my favorite part about this game was the strategic fighting order, sonic chronicles did a similar fighting setup but not as good. the items, special moves, jumps, hammers, and badges were the most ingenious gaming characteristics i've probably EVER seen. i really think sega tried to copy this game with sonic chronicles, so i reccomend this game over sonic chronicles & i reccomend sonic chronicles over this if you're looking for replay value.
Sincereley
Loozur
(IF YOU WANT ME TO REVIEW A GAME, WRITE A REVIEW ON "FROGGER ANCIENT SHADOW" AND RECCOMEND A GAME TO >Loozur< AT THE BOTTOM OF YOUR REVIEW. I WILL RENT THE GAME AND REVIEW IT WITHIN TWO WEEKS.) :-)(-:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, Fun, but a lot of reading

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When I started with GameFly this was one of my first rentals. I enjoyed it immensely. I love RPGs and I love Mario, so this game was a perfect combination. The characters are entertaining, the game play is solid, puzzles are mildly challenging for adults and possible more so for kids. If you have a GameCube it is a must buy or rent.

The game play is long and adventurous. The battling is easy to get used to and enjoyable to the end. Special abilities plentiful. Not too difficult for kids, however, there is a lot of reading for a kids game. Adults will understand the plot, but I am sure kids will not have the patience to read all the dialog that goes on.

I highly recommend this title for kids and adults alike. With Nintendo, anything with Mario in it is almost a sure thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so so fun

posted by pokeking (GROVETOWN, GA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ohh once you win ask the guy who has the chest its a well cant say but you wanna strangle him

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

paper mario the thousand year door

posted by crazynano (LA GRANGE, NC) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

paper mario the thousand year door is hgygyheyg aaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmm- maaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzziiiiii- iinnnnnnnnngggggg!!!!!!!! it is the best in the paper mario seiries it is awesome that is why i put it on my list and my rating is 10 i loooooooove it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- yeah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must play for anyone who has a GameCube.

posted by Kazoto (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When ever a RPG staring Mario comes out its safe to say that the game is going to be good. And Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is a good example, because this is one of the best games for the Game Cube.

If you played the original Paper Mario then you know what to expect form the game play, sense it’s pretty much the same as before, but that’s not a bad thing, sense the game play in the original was already good, but that doesn’t mean that the game play hasn’t been improved. For starters the battle system has got some new stuff added such as the audience, so the way the audience works is cool, basically depending on how the battle is going will affect what the audience will do, for example if your not doing that well then the audience will throw stuff at you, or when you doing well then the audience will give you items, so this makes the battles much more interesting. The game play itself hasn’t changed, so it’s pretty much the same as it was on the N64, but that’s not a bad thing sense the game play in the original was good to begin with.

So the graphics in the game look very nice, the environments are nice and colorful. However, the graphics haven’t gotten a huge upgrade, the game dose look better then the first one but there’s not much deference between them, but the game still looks good.

The audio in the game is nice; the music in the game is good. However, there is no voice acting so you’ll have to read lots of text, so for those of you who don’t like reading lots of text that could be in issue.

So the game clocks in at about 40 hours, and that’s not counting all the side quests that the game has, so there’s a lot to keep you busy with this game for a long time.

Over all it’s a great RPG that’s very fun to play, and it will keep you busy for a long time, I would recommend this to anyone who’s looking for good long enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its a great game!

posted by carlito (FREDERICK, MD) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well let me say im a huge paper mario fan.i loved the first 1 so i love the second 1 2.everytin that was great in the first 1 is back included with more.the story is great,the characters are all unique and kool,mario has new abilities. its just an all out great game..sure it has some backtrackin but its worth it just to keep playin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a great game!

posted by Icantspell (BATTLE GROUND, WA) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This one of my favorite games! This game has great gamepay and a good storyline. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost perfect

posted by dudeguy987 (COLUMBIA, MD) May 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Paper Mario 2 is really good. The only problems were that you couldn't go back to a previous save point and that there were to many enemies. Besides that it was GREAT. To be good at that you need to have really good reaction timing or otherwise you'll always mess up. For all of the cheaters out there, you'll be angry because there are none. It was the BEST and I'm not joking. I can't wait till super paper mario comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and Repetitive

posted by Ithlilian (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game for approximately 4 hours before I had to stop. There is entirely too much dialog that is not important to the plot. I got tired of reading through pages of sarcastic comments and stereotypical bad guy comments. The gameplay is exactly the same as in the first Paper Mario, but it is not enough to force me to beat the game.

I would say that if you liked the first Paper Mario, you will like this one, but that is untrue. I enjoyed the first game and disliked this one. Too much dialog, entirely too boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Much Talking

posted by PS3Mom (ORLAND PARK, IL) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My 10 yr old son lost interest quickly. So much so, he wasn't even interested in reviewing it. Too much unnecessary character "talking" he said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dissapointed

posted by ratingx (HIALEAH, FL) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

i didnt really enjoyed playing paper mario. its nothing like the old one. and they try making it to suffisticated for a game console. its more like runescape type.. hated the fact had to stop a talk to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

all play and no script makes Mario a VERY dull boy

posted by balexbot (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

if you're a fan of the N64 paper mario or the portable Mario & Luigi games, this game will feel like familiar ground to you. the action commands are the same, the art design is similar, the characters are quirky; you've got it all...except an entertaining story. the script, which is what made the other Mario & Luigi titles so funny and enthralling, is weak. there's nothing funny in these lines of painfully dull dialouge and monotone storytelling. even themes that are somewhat unique to the mario universe are pretty cliched everywhere else. while the game is fun gameplay-wise its just not enough to pull you through the whole thing, unless its perhaps dragging you from the back of its car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Much chatting

posted by melissaand (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

I really did not like this game. I played it for about a hour and 45 minutes of the game was used to click the A button while the characters talked. And the battle scenes were weak. my four year old would not even like this game. Snd he loves to play Mario games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I WANT MORE FIGHTING

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

R-P-G-S BLOW

THEY DO I MEAN YOU PRESS A BUTTON AND IT DOES IT FOR YOU I WANT TO CONTROL MARIO ALSO THERE IS WAY TO MUCH "JIBBER JABBER" LESS TALK MORE ROCK BUT IT DOES HAVE VERY GOOD GAME PLAY AND THE 2-D MEETS 3-D IS A GREAT IDEA BUT THIS GAME IS A RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring game play...yawn

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game had to much boring game play. all you did was constantly run around place to place. Nintendo could have done better. and the fights were dumb to. i 38% recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too flat for BULLY123.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is kind of fun but what I don't like is how flat and newspapery it looks. I can't stand games with poor graphics like this! I like games that look a little more realer! But even though though graphics are terrible I still can't get into it! Plus they talk on and on in this game. I have to sit through LONG conversations. But when the're through they still go on and on!!! The characters are so flat looking they are so weird to control too! To top all this off the story makes NO SENSE!!! Look, I don't like it but you might.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game's alright

posted by RPGPimp (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

not all that great. i'd rather play tales of symphonia

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Paper Mario should be set ablaze!

posted by Scapegod (WOOD RIVER, IL) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I have almost lost all patience with Nintendo when it comes to Mario associated games. Its old, it’s gotten dreary, and it’s infantile beyond all end. The truth of the matter is that the gaming world has grown up, and matured, but yet Nintendo still have not really made that jump into the more adult orientated games, via excluding a huge part of the gaming market, an I cant but help to find this strange, considering adults tend to have the money that is required in order to purchase these games in the first place.

However with all that said, every once in a while Nintendo will undoubtedly surprise me, but sadly this game was not the case.

Instead this game was horrifying; I mean honestly it was enough to make even this old game veteran go mad, and I found it shocking that Nintendo would allow this game to be on the open market, again I lost a little more respect for them on a whole.

So here it is, my review is that I found this game incredibly repetitive, slow, & very, very tiresome. And yes folks I fully understand that this is an rpg game, but for crying out loud people there was no audible dialog to be found in the game! Instead Nintendo gives us a never ending ocean of reading, panel, after panel, over & over, again & again! It was as if I was being forced to read a copy of "War and Peace"!

Anyway I personally hated this game, & if a never ending supply of written dialog, mixed with junk music, and junk graphics does it for ya? Well then I guess this would be the game for you! As for me I am for evolution, and this game from Nintendo shows no clear signs of them evolving, none at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse