Rent Overlord: Raising Hell for PS3
view large frontback

Overlord: Raising Hell

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

2610 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

just plain, evil, fun....

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

theres nothing quite like ordering a horde of minion goblins to pillage a halfling village.

you take control of a minion horde in order to reclaim your place as supreme overlord. the concept is basically you going out and finding things to upgrade your castle. i never played the 360 version, so i dont know what the differences would be. the controls are fairly easy to catch on, only problem is the lack of camera control. the biggest downfall of this game is that there is nothing, outside of a small radar sized map, that lets you know where to go, and since its a fairly open mission type game, its rather hard to find certain people or places. its not that big of a deal since you can jump to any area from your castle. aside from the very few faults, there is definitely alot of fun to be had with this game. may be worth buying, but rent it first, since there are a few aggravating difficulties with controls and camera angles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN!!!

posted by mikehawk73 (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the voice-overs and missions to the spells and realms, this game is loads of fun. There are some frustrating moments with horde control, but once you get the hang of it you can play it for hours and not get bored. Be good or bad, strategize or just ransack the heck outta everything. There are plenty of options for playing how you wanna play, and the graphics are very clean and pretty. Challenging and funny, gross and beautiful, this game really makes it good to be bad!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I wish I had my own horde of midgets to do my work

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Completely loyal minnons that will die for you happily for no good reason to do anything your phsycotic mind disires. Nuff Said. I just can't wait for the next Overlord to come out.

Their is really no story to the game but for this much fun you don't need a storyline. I recommend renting this game, buy if you like (I did).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COOL GAME

posted by HmongNTown (FRESNO, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was a great game controlling those minions, esp. the brown cuz they can use almost all weapons and armor. Like controlling them every where. W8ing for the next Game OverLord 2...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

JUST LOV'D BEIN AN OVERLORD

posted by Glockoma (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazingly good. One of the best games i've played in quite sometime. Been playin it for hours upon hours, and it just gets better. There is a lot of things u can do. like upgrade weapons, armour, minions, and the castle. The missions are sometimes easy and then there are challenging ones. You could even play online against other overlords, or play at home doing split screen battle, or co-op.

This is a must rent, or even a must buy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic: a near masterpiece

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overlord simply oozes imagination, wit and fun. It's easily one of the best games in many years, combining the thrill of early Warcraft games with a fairly original third-person control scheme and an unusually morbid sense of humor.

There's a ton of nonlinear play here for people who don't need games to tell them what to do. The complexity of the game mechanic isn't too hard to grasp, but it's deep enough so that you can get very involved in both strategy and tactics.

The design of the world is a sheer treat, a massively sprawling medieval realm where you can go about causing infinite mischief above and below the surface. Hand in hand with great visual design, the game also manages not to descend to the cretinous level of most recent game storytelling. For a change dialogue is witty, piercing, even sardonic. I loved razing some helpless town of plodding burghers with my little ghoulies while the narrator's voice cackled and praised my evil deeds; ah, evil. There's lots of it here. You do like burning down towns and upsetting limp-wristed elves, don't you?

Perfect, then? Not really. You'll do a bit more backtracking through the world than you should. Load times were irritating (a PS3 hardware limitation, actually). And the game is way too long to complete, although I can't see why that should matter. The keep enhancements idea is fairly silly, the mark of designers who seem unable to know when to stop adding features to a project they clearly love.

In a gaming market of cubic zirconia, Overlord is a glittering gem. Not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arrive. Raise H?ll. Leave.

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No, this is not Stone Cold. But, as Overlord, you get to do that all the time.

As Overlord, you get to command at most 35-50 of your loyal minions. You have a weapon and some magic with you but the minion army is your best weapon.

The Overlord can choose two different paths: one is good, the other evil. There are different rewards for choosing a certain way of doing things.

There might be some camera problems that you will encounter. I had some when I faced a specific boss. you have to hold on to L1 and turn the right stick to rotate the camera. Sweeping minions can also be a pain as it is hard to control them, especially if you have a huge army.

The Overlord, as powerful as he is, is a mute. Not a single word came out of his mouth the entire game. Heck but that makes him silent but deadly, really deadly.

But all of those problems are overshadowed by another bigger problem: In one of the abyss levels, there is a particular task that is really so annoying that it took me at least 50 tries to finally accomplish it. That, for me, is the worst part of the game. Not the camera, not the sweeping, just that particular portion. And no, you cannot move on to finish the game without accomplishing that task.

Being evil, being corrupt, having your own private army and conquering one world after another is fun. Killing pillaging and making the world submit to your power is one of the best things to do in a video game, sometimes I would wish I could do it in the real world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game, Confusing Interface

posted by fracted (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I loved the idea of being able to play the villain, and the story-line was, for the most part, done well. I enjoyed the concept of minions, crafting armor, building a castle, and having worshipers/corruption. However, there were a few bugs, glitches in the story-line, irritating and confusing interface/game play. "Rushing" your minions easily confused their movement AI, 3rd person camera movement was very frustrating, and the "boss-enemies" were easily "tricked" to the point that I could avoid being damaged most of the time. Other than that my only complaint was that(without spoiling), there was a part of the story-line that didn't seem like it should be complete-able before some of the other "quests", it made for a confusing time line.
Overall the game was a lot of fun and I would recommend it to any RP gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great concept, lousy execution

posted by Eekthecat (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game. The concept was brilliant: Be a super evil overlord and command your minions. Make moral choices, where the options are "evil" or "really really evil." What's not to love?

Sadly, the reality was somewhat of a letdown.

The game's biggest problem? Every bit of the game was the same. Run around. Tell your minions to kill people. Swing your sword/axe/mace (all of which were mostly the same) by mashing X. Repeat. Oh, they threw in a few easy bosses where the strategy consisted of "run around behind him and attack!" and a few hundred wheels to turn and a few hundred objects to collect, but it just got old. No, I don't want to watch minions slowly carry my new object back to the portal. No, I 'm sick of running around and smashing enemies. No, I wouldn't like to fight another boring boss.

Still, I kept at it. Even when the bad controls and lousy camera killed my minions (which I had to farm and keep alive to upgrade equipment... Bad design decision), I kept at it. The game had its charm... It made fun of typical D&D type heroes and fantasy settings, and I would be lying if I said the game was a total failure. It was just kind of... dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless, rampaging, fun

posted by Daedleus (FARIBAULT, MN) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I fell in love with the general idea of Overlord right from the beginning of the games life span. Early advertisements, the previous Xbox title, up to the expanded release on Ps3, each left me wanting to dive headfirst into the game and revel in the expected content head-long.

Well, I've finally dipped into Overlord and frankly, I'm not wholly disappointed - nor impressed.

Easily put; the game does a decent job of delivering what it promises - zany comic fun. But is it really all that chaotic? no, not really. Instead as much effort as has been put into disguising the matter as there is - there's nothing random or chaotic about Overlord in the least.

Rather it's a very simple, linear and straightforward title that plays like a game on "rails", sure a player can create distractions in the game by randomly playing various areas repeatedly. But in general, the game hand-holds players forward as the plot progresses, very seldom leaving a player guessing, and also strips a player from the one feeling I hoped Overlord would give - a feeling of a distraction filled side-quest ridden fun.

Does that make Overlord a bad game? No, surprisingly, it doesn't. Overlord does succeed in offering a romp through an irreverent game world with giggle inducing silliness around each turn. It's just that it's not a game that offers much customization, or grants any feeling that a player is accomplishing something unique.

Though the game is very simple in both control and lack of appreciable strategy, it more than makes up for it in playful giddyness.

Overall this is a "good" game. It's not a failure, nor does it mess up any of it's application or execution of gameplay. But it's not nearly as deep as one could hope, and the online/multiplayer elements are simply useless. So why call it good? Because youll get a chance to enjoy yourself while playing Overlord - but it might not be all you expect or hope, or in other words.. good not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Unique Game: True Evil RPG

posted by Patriarchy (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm new to this kind of game. I would say that this game is so addictive as you can control your loyal minions to do all the work for ya. Yup, this game is for egomaniac. You tell this and that to your minion, and they'll do it for you. And that's where the excitement emerged from this game. I also like the the idea of you being evil, killing all the good guys. Yesss, this time we're the evil trying to conquer the villages.

There are 4 types of minions; Brown (the fighter), green (the backstabber), Red (the flamethrower/far-range comabatant, and blue (the healers). Each type of minions have weakness and strength--depending on how you play them.

The con: the game has some framerate issue, even when you are playing single-player mode. The camera only has two views (third person/and top). That's good but I wish that I can control more of the camera. It's sometimes hard to control your minions with only two camera views. The graphics doesn't have a wow impact. It seems that it was proted from PC (well it's originally a PC game), but I wish developer had polished them a bit more.

The Plus: When I heard that this game has already included the expansion pack, I was surprise. To me, the game has a total 12 hours gameplay including the extra stages that added 3 hours to the gameplay. Very worth it. Who would've thought that this kind of game can play multiplayer. Wow that really added somethin to this game altough the multiplayer gameplay are more often lagging.

Just rent it from gamefly. Show your dark side through this game and buy it if you like them. I love collecting unique games

PSN ID: NiTe-W1n9
Currently playing (MGS4, GTA4, GT5, SSHD, TEKKEN 5 DR, Sid Meier's, & Overlord)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fear Evil, Breed Evil!!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played this game last year on my PC and absolutely loved it!!! Now that I am playing on my PS3 I can really enjoy it without having to worry about my computer being fast enough....

This game is so different from what the PS3 has out there right now that it kind of is a nice breath of fresh air. Sure the graphics aren't anything compared to Metal Gear 4 but it will last you long time......

If you've never played it before and like to pillage, buy it. If you can't afford it then you are not hurting yourself renting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Game

posted by ostin7900 (TONKAWA, OK) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

You know i really enjoyed this game when it came out on the Xbox 360. When i saw that this one had a different title, i assumed that it was the second game in the series. When the game arrived though, i found out all too soon that it was the exact same game as released on the 360 only it had a new title. like i said though, still a good game. i just wanted to play a new one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

more of the same.

posted by urizen65 (PEARL, MS) Jul 24, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I loved the original Overlord. I played it on the x-box 360, and revelled in the evil glory of the adventure. when I had the chance to play this game on the PS3 platform I jumped at it.
I was terribly dissappointed. there is simply nothing in this sequel that doesn't come off as a complete rehash of the original. it is just more of the same that was already done in the first overlord. it is all repetitive, and boring. it is my love for the original game that gets this game a 4. I would have rated lower, but I liked the original so much that couldn't bring myself to rate its sequel at a 2. no matter how bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing!!

posted by Ascanio26 (BENSENVILLE, IL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I got ta say, I tough this game might of been like a kids game, but i loved it the minions were hilarious and had a very interesting plot can't wait to play the second one do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Misrepresented

posted by Domin8 (VILLE PLATTE, LA) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Its misrepresented to be an adults game but is very kiddish and horrible graphics, so just a bad game if your 15 or older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for the Master [Great Exploration Game]

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

Graphics 7, Controls 6, Story 8, Sound 5, Overall gameplay 7

Overlord is one of the best open world action adventure games I've played on the PS3. The game combines RPG and RTS elements for a rather long, well written exploration. I was pleasantly surprised with the story and missions, most open world games (anything by Rockstar) try to trick you into thinking your on a story driven mission when you're really just on a fill in the blank side mission. Overlord's story is really put together well and keeps the gamer focused on the objective, conquering the world, and not trivial missions that lead to more trivial missions. Once your horde is a good size (over 30) you can really wreck havoc with your minions and your full potential for evil is realized in humorous ways. It has some flaws, but if you like long exploration games with story driven objectives then I'd recommend buying the game. Rent the game if you're not sure.

The Flaws: The learning curve is not realized until near the end of the game. Some upgrades are based on the number of souls you've collected, each time a minion dies you lose one soul, so by the time you get near the end of the game when all the really cool stuff is available you might not have enough souls to get any higher level upgrades. So, try not to waste you whole horde like I did several times in the beginning of the game. The sound wasn't too bad, however after 30 plus hours of gameplay your minions talking really grinds. Unfortunately, you can adjust all audio settings except for your minions. The main character (Overlord) never speaks, which is something that bothers me in any game. Controlling and targeting the horde takes getting used to and could have been improved [however it's still better that Overlord II]. It's too easy to accidentally sweep all your minions into water/fire/poison or danger and then all you can do is watch them die. There's no in-game map, so you pretty much have to remember where things are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

overlord

posted by wayne27834 (GREENVILLE, NC) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

it was ok not for the hard core gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just not for me

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

I played OVERLORD for the wii and that game was asome, i really liked it. The main reason that i didnt like this OVERLORD was that is was missing a map. sure it had the mini-map but that was not help at all, and when you get directions like "the halflings that stole our food went east" you cant find east because there is no cumpus on the mini-map.
this game was good though, nice graphics and not so mutch of a story line but it was ok, but not good enough for me, i would not recomend this game for my friends or you, unless you have a VERY good memory on location and "did I do that allready?" situations. Just not the game for me, this is my second OVERLORD game and i have the rest on my list so the next one i get will deturmin if i like the series or not, i like the game its self i just didnt like the fact that it didnt have a map, if it had a map that i could look at then this game would have been perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

average

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I liked this game but it wasn't a game that gets into your head and makes u want to play it and makes you even think of it when you close your eyes. I thought it would have somewhat similar to the game pikmin which was very successful and fun to play in my opinion. so atleast rent it though I probably wont again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Decent Game

posted by DnJ420 (TORRINGTON, CT) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Was a good game, but my boyfriend and I both agree it is a game best played if you own it. Quests take a long time, there is a lot of exploring to do in the world, so it's not a game to rent if you want to get a lot accomplished in a short period of time. Was very entertaining, I loved the minions and there is a lot of stuff to destroy. You certainly are evil, which makes it fun. A little slow, I wish the gameplay moved a little faster, I found myself getting stuck wandering around for long periods of time between quests. I would definitely play it again, and I look forward to the newer Overlord games.

My Boyfriend would give this game a 7, and I would give it a 7 also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Needed Some Tweaking...

posted by Kaitaku (CHAPEL HILL, NC) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I'll admit that I was was jaded from having played Overlord II before this, so I immediately noticed some flaws. The biggest problem (for me) was not being able to pull up a map of the area. Sure, you had a mini-map on screen, but you pretty much had to explore everywhere and memorize paths in order to know where you're going. Second, you aren't able to control the camera. Aside from rotating the camera behind you, there's no other way to move it. I found it very irritating when fighting. The Overlord is pathetically weak in this game, so until you get some armor and weapon upgrades, just send your minions to do the dirty work. Also, the minions are pretty dumb in this game. Not even close to as polished as the second game. Not only did they not follow orders at times, but they also seemed to get caught on the environment, ruining some encounters. The graphics were also a bit lacking, and the Overlord ran like he had hemroids. However, you can't really get on them about that, since at the time, it was still an up-and-coming franchise.

Alright, now for the good aspects of the game. The first great thing about this game is it's humor. It has some deliciously dark humor for such a cartoonish game. Most of this is provided by the minions you order around. You'll find yourself loving them before you even finish the first quest (I want one!!! =D). I found myself laughing at most every joke thrown at me. It also helped me progress through the game, since I wanted to see what my little minions would destroy next. The battle system is alright, although it can get tedious and monotonous. One thing I liked was your minions being able to pick up and equip dropped equipment from your fallen enemies. Not only does it give them a cosmetic touchup, it also increases their stats slightly. I laughed when I saw one of my minions pick up a pumpkin he had smashed and put it on his head.

All in all, I'd say this is an alright game. Pick it up if you feel like being evil >=).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its always fun being the Bad Guy

posted by DarkDove (BRONX, NY) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

For every great hero there's a great villian and even though we don't always amit it, being the villian always seems more fun. Not having to worry about the safetly of the world is such a weight off the shoulders and that what this game offers. Though the graphics aren't the best and gameplay gets repeative the fact that you get to play a evil overlord is pretty awsome. The game is more of a crude comedy then an all evil hellraiser but I think that you'll find that relieving with a number of games out there that is a little more darker. I enjoyed having minions to do my dirty work and take the credit for it...just like real life...lol. This game is just a way to poke fun of the evildoer. It can be a bit of a long game with numberous of objectives to do but you'll get a laugh out of it. So I remeand this game to anyone looking for a good laugh and a little evildoing in mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not so good...

posted by darktrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I have already sent this one back. It was amusing, but I like to control my avatar, not the little gremlins that follow him around.

This game is geared for younger audiences. There is a sequel so it must be liked by some, but I will stick with my copy of Oblivion and Fallout 3 for more satisfying RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the critics say.

posted by Drchimpo (DALLAS, GA) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This game is all fun and games until someone gets hurt really. Whether it be sheep's or people evil is the name of the game. Even with the upgrading of your castle, upgrading your armor, choosing a spouse, and most importantly killing heroes, I think the game deserves better ratings and it is fun for most ages. This game will also make you laugh with the minions hilarious personalities. I just think it deserves a try if you haven't played it. So put it on the Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse