Rent Overlord II for PS3
view large frontback

Overlord II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2105 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the rental

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

39 out of 43 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If you got a chance to play the first one on the other console ( which shall remain nameless) then you probably had a pretty good time commanding your minions to do your bidding. The second round seems to be more of the same with some added features.
While I have not completed the game yet, I have had a pretty good time listening to my minions chatter and watching them destroy.
This is not the best looking game but it makes up for that with a good old fashioned fun game. For those who have played the first one, it starts out slowly teaching you the basics of the game. Controls, targeting (much needed improvement) and fighting. The game starts to pick up after you get past the learning session and you begin to feel powerful. Mind controlling peasants never gets old and they are actually fairly helpful in battle. At the very least you can use them as meat shields to keep fire off of you until you are ready. As your lead minion tells you, if you get bored with them, you can always kill them.

This is a fun game that I recommend giving a chance. Make it past the tutorials and if you still don't like it send it back, but I think that you will have a good time with this game.
I gave it an 8 because there are some things that could be improved. The camera angles, maybe an aiming reticule. Could have done better with the looks but these are all minor things that should not take away from the gaming experience. Since the gameplay is why most of us play games, its a good game.
Play the game and make up your own mind and have some fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An okay sequal, more like an exspansion

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you loved the first overlord you will love this one. It is basically an exspansion so i would say rent not buy. They added a lot of new features, like if you lose your favorite minions, you can always go and resurect them. The castle is completly different, and now for short periods of time you can play as a minion. Your minions can also mount wolves and spiders. Now if you havnt played the first one, then prepare to be patient. The starting is very slow.

Pros
-Upgradable castle, spells, armour, weapons and minions.
-New resurect feature
-Lots of fun to go around and reak havok by destroying everything in sight
-it can be a very strategic game depending on how you play it
-very different from any other games out there
-online playability

Cons
-not the greatest graphics
-frame rate issues
-repetitive
-its more like an exspansion pack so i wished they didnt price it at $60
-camera angles and targeting can be very frustrating

If you can get over the graphics and the camera angles you can have a lot of fun with this game. One feature i like is that you can choose the path of destruction or the path of domination. Which means either kill everyone, or turn everyone into slaves. Definate rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Know that if I die, I died serving you Sire.

posted by TheLoneZ (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Overlord 2 is a great game that anyone could pick up and learn. The controls are easy and simple to remember. The enviornements are enjoyable and well detailed and of course the potty mouthed minions have some great lines in the game.

Overlord 2 does a few things well and others not so well. The platforming action in the game is pretty good, not the best in a game but its fun and keeps the game varied, the upgrades you can purchase are fun and you have a decent sized selection of goods to outfit your overlord in but dont expect alot of cusomization.

A few things I really didnt like about the game is the lack of direction, more often than not you will find yourself wandering when you suddenly realize no one has been telling you were to go or updating you on the guy you're following and you end up grabbing at straws to figure out the right way to beat the boss or which way to head next. The game is also very short, there are only two towns you can rule in the game and only 5 areas you can actaully explore. The levels are decently well designed and differ from one to the next but dont expect your evil rulings to reach the endless limits of the universe in this game. There are also 3 powers you can get in the game. The first power is given to you and the other 2 are hidden in the game, and you probably wont ever come accross them. Not only did they never trueley explain these powers but there doesnt seem to be much use for them.

Sound: good, not the best but the effects are decent enough to give the desired feeling of a boulder smashing into the ground.

Graphics: Fair, nothing like Killzone2 but the cutscenes are mid grad at best

Gameplay: Fun, not to boring unless you get lost and end up walking from A to B until you figure out where you are headed to. Decent platforming action but you wont feel like your changing

Re-play value: Decent, theres nothing new to experience except for powers and decisions after one play thru

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the first

posted by DanielF (MONROVIA, CA) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun, and although it doesn't have the best graphics or best story, it's great at what it does. This is a game kind of like the God of war games in that you can pick it up for half an hour and cause mayhem, such as destroying a town or killing cute fuzzy animals. Or, as I have done, you can hop on for a couple hours and experience the diverse scenery and game play elements to discover. Whatever you do, this game is sure to entertain, and with multi-player Online and off, there's plenty to keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No co-op Story mode

posted by supafast (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game itself was fairly interesting. Nothing unique really from the 1st adventure except some new abilities. I was disappointed to find out that there was no co-op story mode, only little mini-games. If you are looking for a game that you can quickly pick up and play without a lot of involvement this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too frustrating to finish

posted by Vyyk78 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Whomever thought of putting the control of your minions and the camera on the same button should be shot. You can get through most of the game without this being too bad, but the final fight was just too much. And whenever this bad gameplay mechanic forces you to die (which it will), you will have to start the fight over from the start.

The voice acting was the best quality of this game, it was suprisingly well done. I enjoyed the script as well. Those two qualities are was caused me to rent and play through as much of the game as possible. The bad gameplay design was overall too much for me to fully enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Overlord 2: Quick Review

posted by Dagger (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overlord 2 is a cute sequel from Overlord 1. If you played the original you will like this one as well. I rated this one a 6 only because of two factors that annoyed me the entire time I played the game.
1 - Movement of the Overlord was frequently distrupted by the minions because I would accidently press UP on the stick, which activates the minions. The right stick activates minions and also moves the camera. Therefore in the heat of battle when you're trying to see which direction the enemy is coming from and look too quickly, your minions will take off if you do not have them planted.
2 - Walking, walking, and more walking. I enjoy a big map, but this guy can't run. Can't count the number of times I feel asleep going from one place to another.
Overall I would recommend this to those who played the original. Would I crank this one up and play it again? Even though I accidently killed the fairy queen, I can't see me playing this one over again to spare her life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a true co-op game

posted by misterjustin (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoy co-op games -- from FPS to RPG -- and although this is billed as multi-player and co-op it is not.

You are given two versus split screen options and two cooperative arena style options -- but you are NOT given a story line co-op game.

None. Nada. Zero.

So if you're looking for a story-line game you can play through from beginning to end, as we were, keep on looking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Kids Game

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was more directed towards younger kids.

Kinda fun for a few minutes, but it got a little too silly and way too many fruity characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's fun, but...

posted by HanuSenn (TAMPA, FL) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got to tell you, this title is fun to play, its nothing that you HAVE to play, but if you just want to kill some time waiting for a game you want to come out, then this will get the job done. At first this game may seem complicate and ever a little fustrated with the camera angle, but all that turns into laugh out loud fun in the next half-hour or so. When you really get into the game you find out that this game has some really neat and individualistic way of gameplay. the only thing i dont like about this game is the lack of camera control and the fack that you cant zoom in the map while youre at the pause menu... other than that, this game is a blast!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Flawed Game

posted by FitzMadrid (TEMPE, AZ) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The deadliest enemy in this game isnt a creature, puzzle, or combat situation its the terrible camera angles and broken targeting.

If you play this game for any amount of time you sink into that pit where there is little fun and the main challenge is overcoming the interface.

The game looks good but its just inexcusable that important basic features are so poor crafted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Overlord 2 for ps3 is the best ps3 game eveeeeeeer

posted by seancon6 (MESA, AZ) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Me and my cousin played the first Overlord game and had fun. Since now, Overloed 2 is the coolest game. At the beginnig, I got to play as Overlord Jr. I'm almost done complete the whole game. It was aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by Hogyn317 (HAGAMAN, NY) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like a game where you pretty much just hit R2 the whole time then this is the game for you, your a little dude controlling other little dudes, this game should be on the Wii as it is nothing more than a kids game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My score is worthy of truth

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I can't understand why a game with massive flaws is getting over 8.5 ? Maybe its because , many have not finish the game or waiting to play it - ! The gameplay is top notch , as you can control the little ones and cause damage to anything in your way .

What I can't get over is the horrid camera angles - I find myself struggling to re-adjust my view every 10 seconds , as this creates a massive headache for me .
Game progress was 5 hours of gameplay ; only to find myself giving up , because of the camera angles and the game messing up .

experience from this game tells me I would of giving it a 9 if the developers took the time , to eliminate all the bugs ...
But Overlord has poor framrates , massive bugs , and a slow Mp - Definitely not worth more then 6 !

( no point in writing full review ) My score is worthy of truth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Clumsy Controls

posted by andertrack (COLTS NECK, NJ) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I only played the demo of this, but the controls were so clumsy that I would not even think about renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by best (HIGH RIDGE, MO) May 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

the minions are crazy and the overlord's option are crazy best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by firemang (LEVITTOWN, PA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2006

To call this game a lousy game would be an insult to lousy games. Boring, uninteresting, juvenile, great graphics but choppy rendering. The whole game just fails to captivate. Boring battle sequences, hard to follow maps, just plain awful. I usually give games a chance to fail by playing them through to the end, but after 2 hours, I was bored out of my skull and enveloped it right back to GF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT A GREAT GAME.

posted by darkwelll (MISSOURI CITY, TX) May 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I rented the game just out of bordem. After only 30 minutes of play time I ended up buying this one and the first one. It is a really fun to be playing the on the side of evil and not just fighting it. It pulls all the aspects of other games such as puzzle and fighting it keeps you trying over and over to rule the land. It also gives you the options of what type of ruler you wish to be as you play your alinment will change denpending on the way you play. Either you will be a Tyrant or a destroyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Classic Problems on a New Game

posted by BrokenWire (COLUMBUS, GA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

As with many games from my younger years Overlord II has a classic game design problem. Walking through the levels is relatively easy, killing and possessing people one after another while moving steadily forward to the next object at the blinking cursor on my map. The problem being that every now and again will be a puzzle of some type without explanation and your left to decipher what the designers wanted you to do to solve the puzzle before walking to the next road block without any real flow between the two. I'm sure many will like this style of game play and for those who do, props to you and please enjoy the copy I just returned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by mtomic13 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Only reason i played so long was to get the trophies.. Online is TERRIBLE, game is ok, story is funny sometimes but the fact that you have to play it through twice to get everything without any changes in the gameplay just makes it tedious. The dominator and destruction trophies are a PAIN because u have to get the exact amount. Overall, bad game, waste of my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Overlord should have been banished

posted by Maj0rFenix (COLUMBUS, IN) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I don't understand players giving hype to a game that sucks. I played this until your character grows up and then stopped shortly afterwards. Games like this where you just stand there and hold a button for your minions to do EVERYTHING ruins the fun of what could have been a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

way below avrage

posted by guyuknoe (CONCORD, MA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

really boring... i could only get past the first few levels before i had to turn it off. at first it seemed promising but dont play if you are into in depth rpgs. This really only has on objective, at first this seems good to kill any thing in your way, but get boring extremly quickly as the combat is swing, bash, boom. again i thought it would be great but looks like i wasted my 4 hours with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Idiotic

posted by junkmail (ODELL, OR) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

If you like South Park but find yourself confused a lot while watching it, you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gauntlet meets pikman

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Well the review title pretty much says it all. The storys horrible and the controls are surely lacking. Graphics are pretty bad considering its a ps3 game and all. I must say that even through all that I still played through the entire game. It still had some charm in the hack and slash aspects of it. Good for a quick two or two play through and maybe a couple laughs while you are at it but not much else. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glitch Glitch Glitch

posted by Blatzphemy (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The creators can go F themselves, I spent hours stuck because of glitches and even had to exit the game because there is no option to do so in the start menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse