Rent Overlord II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Overlord II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.7

5408 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same but improved

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

74 out of 84 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The main problem that I had with the first game has been remedied with this sequel. In the first game, I never truly felt like my character was evil. Before killing a unicorn, the game made sure to do something to twist and warp the unicorn to make it seem evil. Then I'd kill it. I wanted to kill a bright and sparkley unicorn. That's what evil would do. And before rampaging through a villiage of "hobbits," the game first twisted them into nasty little guys that you wouldn't mind killing. I wanted to destroy Hobbiton, not a goblin villiage. The new game gets this right, including haughty sounding fair skinned elves, villiages full of good and decent people, and even little baby seals and hoppy bunnies for you to destroy. That's EVIL!

So now that evil is good, what about the gameplay? Well, it's very much like the first Overlord game with only a few variations. Graphics are improved, looking like a cross between World of Warcraft and Fable 2. Controls are pretty easy to get the hang of and the sound and voice acting is excellent.

The only real flaws in this game to me are the repetitive nature of constantly sending your minions to solve puzzles for you. That's what the game is supposed to be all about though, so if you enjoy doing that, then this game is for you. I really liked it at first, saw that it was a really good game, but after a while it did grow tiresome for me. I think I wanted my Overlord character to go out and do more kicking of goodie goodie fannies by himself. Get his hands dirty so to speak. He can mix it up with the enemies from time to time, but it's best to let your minions handle most of the work.

Telling a story and providing humor are the main two things that most strategy games are missing, but they are widely abundant in Overlord 2. These coupled with the excellent graphics, sound, and fun fantasy setting make the game a definite rental for at least one playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The sequel is as good as the first one

posted by Blaarth (Silver Spring, MD) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first Overlord, you'll like this one. While many other reviewers have criticized this game for being too much like the first one, if I had a delicious piece of pie, I would not turn down a second, especially if the second piece had whipped cream.
THE OLD The Overlord series is primarily a (violent) puzzle solver. Your primary goal is to travel from point A to some objective at point B, with all manor of obstacles in your way that only some of your host can pass. This is the puzzle solving part – getting only yourself or some of your minions past a point, in order to make the way safe for the rest.
THE NEW The ability to occasionally ‘possess’ your minion (allowing you to squeeze past areas too small for you as overlord), and the addition of wolves (allowing minions to jump across gaps) and spiders (allowing minions to climb walls) adds more convoluted puzzles to solve. Revisiting the culinary metaphor, the mounts are the whipped cream on this second helping of sinfully delicious pie.
Man am I hungry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Has Good But Also A Decent Amount Of Bad.

posted by Wewo1234 (STAFFORD, VA) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the good: It's extremely fun to go around and cause mayhem with your minions, it was fun to upgrade your overlord and your castle. The graphics were good.

The bad: It was very hard to control minions with the many controls,The minions are dumb(more then they should) and hard to work with, It felt like i was runing around doing the same thing's just making mayhem and killing people witch dont get me wrong is fun but gets to be more of the same witch makes it realy boring.This game could have been a great game if they had fixed at least some of these problems.

In other words it's worth renting but definently not worth buying.

This is my first review so you might want to look at some other reivews also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awkward camera and controls

posted by gamerGigah (LOMITA, CA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say that I loved the original. It's one of the few games my wife will watch me play cuz the minions are "so cute". So I am a huge fan of the original but this sequel has some serious camera angle and control design problems. Very specifically, w/o spoiling, there is a time when you need to control a spider along a wall. I spent hours to no avail. Several forums are full of other gamers w/ the same problem. I wanted to keep going but couldn't. This is the first game that I got stuck on and gave up on. Very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but buggy

posted by Ctweak (SAVONA, NY) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the original Overlord, and was enjoying this one as well until I hit a game stopping bug. I had defeated the Salamander King and stopped playing without saving. Figured I could just go back and defeat him again, wrong. The next time I went to play the area loaded in the first section where the Salamander King breaks some barriers for you. Unfortunately there was no Salamander King and no way to get past the barriers...I was stuck in one section with no way to get by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun..for awhile

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) May 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The same technical problems that were in the first make this a bit of a bear to play in some levels. Still it's humor alone is worth the price of admission!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

overlord II

posted by feardragon (BLUEFIELD, VA) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was fun for a couple hours but got real repeditive and boring. i will say this one was better than the first overlord but still not a very enjoyable game more agervating than anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and clunky

posted by WhyTee (WESTMINSTER, CO) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll start off by saying that I really enjoyed the first Overlord. My biggest complaint about it was the lack of a mini-map, aside from that I thought it was great.

This game, what little I played of it, turned me off within two hours of putting it in the console. The first thing I noticed was how slow the frame-rate was which gave it a very clunky feeling. It also felt a lot more cartoony and targeted towards children than the first one did. Especially since you start the game as some weird kid that nobody likes, then grow up to be awesome. It's hard to keep my eyes from rolling just explaining it. My assumption after my brief play was that all boss fights would be handled by sending your minions to activate this or that in order to cause something to kill the boss.

The final coffin nail was how bored I was just going through the beginning. I kept wondering when I was finally going to be able to play the game until I got to a point where it became obvious that, indeed, this was the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun!Fun!Fun!

posted by Ninjalo (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of those titles (like its predecessor) that has no redeeming factors- It's just a blast to play. The only bad part of Overlord 2 is it's (sometimes) Screwy Camera. I found that the camera control was easier to use if I just held it all the time. Destroying people and creatures with no worries. Easy gameplay. You can construct your own underworld domain to your liking (Not extensively, just a quirk). It's silly, It's Easy, It's Goofy, It is exactly what it looks like. You really do get what you pay for- Nothing More/ Nothing Less!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could of been better?

posted by scallornz (OMAHA, NE) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well its about like the first one find this get this take this there, fun but gets annoying when your minions dont do what you are controling them to do, when you subdue your town people to follow and fight they get lost and dont follow you, and alot of the time you are wondering around not knowing what you should do next because you dont get enough imformation on what to do, and some times the game glichs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game still needs some polishing

posted by Tubber (LOMA, CO) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first you should definitely pick this is up. Once again the best part of the game has got to be the minions. Improved AI from the first one. You can bring back your favorite minions from the dead now. Tons of stuff to upgrade also. What holds it back for starters has got to be the camera a problem from the first one and still a problem in the second. Still some problems with the minion controls from the first one. All in all though it's a pretty good fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could of been better

posted by Grimfel (NAPA, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It was a fun game for the most part. The minion control can leave something to be desired half the time. Usually it is pretty good, but it can get tweaky and touchy and glitchy. The enemies can be kind of cheap sometimes and as a result your best minions are getting killed of rather easily quite a lot. The gameplay is entertaining though. And the strategy behind using different minions different ways in different scenarios is also entertaining.

As an aside for achivement peeps like me. There are 2 achievements that are glitched. 1 of them is glitched by two different things. Look it up before you play to avoid this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Return of Chaos

posted by StarWars94 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

40 out of 54 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

We last left off with the Overlord trapped in the dark abyss and the minions fell without him. Now, a new Ovelord has been found and a new enemy along with him. Take down the evil roman empire in the latest installment of a truly awesome seires. New features include mounting onto animals to take down your toughest enemies without losing all your minions. Fans will no longer walk around in a daze thanks to a new mini-map display. Now you can upgrade your minion hive to increase the strength of your minions. You lost your favorite minion in batlle? No matter! Go to the new grave sight to trade in weaker minions and bing back your heavy hitters. Too many enemies in the way? Go towards the nearest catapult and watch them scatter like the roaches they are as they try to avoid the boulder you just threw. Brain wash the simple minded fools to do your bidding so you don't have to risk losing your minions. Choice to be evil or even more evil. Your decisions will lead to you either being the new ruling conqueror or the descrutor of all the lands. It warms my heart to see my minions go all over the place destroying everything in their path. It's just like the minions say:"This is fun!" This game is a definant rent, or better yet, a definant buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the first

posted by VinceT (BOCA RATON, FL) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty good, same general play as the original.. get the hives.. do some evil.. this version however is plagued with bugs from camera issues to solid lockups.. a great renter, but by no means a keeper.. some achievements are for online, which you can never find anyone on to play against..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How a Camera can ruin a game.

posted by Jonny66 (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Overlord except for the camera angle. This time it's even worse. The game is funny, the minion A.I. doesn't suck, the graphics are pretty neat and the game is much larger in scope than the first one. However, the camera drove me insane, the controls don't quite work right and the missions are repetitive. I sent it back before I finished it. Let Down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, but gets boring.

posted by OssxKiller (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is defiantly a rent only game. The gameplay is easy to get the hang of and is very fun at first, but to me it gets boring within about a day or two of playing. This might just be me but it looks and feels alot like Fable. One disadvantage is you have to collect "life force" in order to spawn minions, and if you don't have the life force to spawn red minions (which shoot fire) to burn a wall down, you're screwed until you find sufficient life force and then you can advance further. But overall its a fun game, just not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Evil or more evil

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Aug 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Overlord II gives you the choice of being evil or more evil. In this game you are the overlord which controls a bunch of menions that do everything for you and control them yourself. So if you crave a game where you can just be really really evil try this out. The graphics are pretty average. Theres a little bit of online but its not much so you should stick to Halo or Call of Duty for online. The story mode in this game is pretty deep. The controls work really nicely in this game. But one thing i noticed that i hated about this game is sometimes it doesnt tell you where to go next and youll be running around in circles looking for what to do next. So overall this game is pretty good and if youre evil try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

World Domination could be much more fun...

posted by QuiLLby (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok I'll just do a PROS and CONS list!

PROS

- Dominating the world

- Killing Fluffy cute animals/creatures ( If you're into that kind of thing)

- Surprising amount of customization for your minions

- Big world and lots of exploration...lots...

CONS

- Camera Control is really really clunky. It only turns left and right so you can't fix your aerial view or get a better view of the ground. You will constantly be stuck with a terrible view of the action

- Exploration ( My biggest gripe. ) This game is big and the loading times are ridiculous when trying to get to point A to point B. Just looking around your HUB/Base took me like 45 mins. That is without using all the unpolished features and looking at the bland scenery. The mini map they give you is all you're going to get so you basically wander around aimlessly untill you discover your next objective.

- Achievements - Well I for one enjoy getting achievements and I hate it when a game makes you play the story all over again to do so... Kill things or enslave things is what it really comes down to in this game

So out of a perfect score of 10 I give this game a 4. Honestly people shouldn't even consider renting this game because its and waste of time and there are over 100 other Xbox 360 games better than Overlord II.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great!!!, if you played the first Overlord.

posted by Squiddly (WEST HAVEN, UT) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm an Overlord fan. I rated this game high, but I'm biased. Having got that out of the way........

I can say that the graphics are WAY better than the first edition. The environments are a lot crisper graphically. The campaign is intriguing and lengthy. The addition of minion mounts is a great idea!

As far as negative things to say the camera and minion sweeping combo is very annoying. The way that I have to overcome that issue is to recall my minions, and then move the camera. This is problematic for a number of reasons. Also, this is one of those games that you really should play the first one first BEFORE playing this one.

If you didn't like the first one, don't bother with this one. If you did however, you will enjoy this more than the first.

FOR YOU!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improved Tyranny is Still Not Perfect

posted by TheDox (MARYVILLE, TN) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off, for those of you who played the first installment in the Overlord series, the one major failure has been fixed - there is an in-game map in Overlord II - HUZZAH!

If you didn't play the first, the premise is essentially this: you grow up as one of the few people in the realm able to use magic, and use your inherent powers to seize control of the world, rather than play the benevolent hero. During these events, you gain control of different minions, some of whom are pure fighters that will battle to the death for you, and some of whom have more specialized purposes. The game offers a "good/evil" system, but whereas the "evil" path involves killing, well, everyone, the "good" path entails enslaving everyone you see. If you're an achievement-oriented person, you'll have to play through the game twice, as there are achievements/trophies for each alignment.

Nonetheless, the gameplay is entertaining, albeit a bit glitchy. As with the first game in the series, the camera controls are rather irritating, and the minion "sweeping" system will aggravate you at times (you move the Overlord with the left stick, and your minion horde is controlled with the right stick).

There are some rudimentary puzzles involved in each level, but the game is very easy to complete. Codemasters definitely pushes the limits of the "T" rating in this title, as (if you play your cards right) there are some slightly raunchy yet humorous "adult" scenes in the game, including a bizarre bedroom trifecta.

Definitely worth a rental, but not a buy in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Broken Version of the First.

posted by Freakon (NEWARK, CA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since May 2009

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a rating of 5 only because it retained some of the elements of the first, the whole idea behind the game mostly, which in my opinion was a fairly decent game.
Anyway, Overlord II is simply horrible. The camera gets in the way about 90% of the time, let me explain, if you played the first one, you know by now you can control your minions with the R stick, which worked somewhat ok, but on this installment, this is a frustrating thing to do; I would find myself stuck not being able to move the camera without moving the minions;I would have to literally walk backwards to get the camera to reset.

You should also know that the game is basically the same as the first, so you won't be missing much if you don't rent it. If you have the first Overlord, do yourself a favor, play that one and don't waste your time with II.

PROS
The general idea of the game is still there.
Mayhem is always fun and the minions, LIKE THE FIRST overlord are a fun bunch.
Your minions can now ride some animals (wolves, etc)

CONS
Control issues
Camera issues
Graphics have some how been downgraded from the first one. (cut scenes mostly)
Same as the first. Except this one is broken.

All in all, this game is not worth to buy or rent for that matter. I played it for about 1.5 hrs. only to find myself wanting to play the first to forget about some of the frustrating issues Overlord II has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's good to be bad, but it's better to be evil

posted by Undead (PASADENA, CA) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you've played the first overlord game and loved it, then you'll love this one even more. If you haven't played the first game though, here's the premise: you are an evil and almighty overlord who must harness the power of his minions to conquer the Holy Roman Empire. You have four types of minions (although they're not all available from the get-go) at your disposal: browns, which are your melee fighters, reds, which throw fireballs, greens, which are stealthy and can jump on enemies' backs, and blues, which can swim and revive dead minions. You use these minions to explore the world, solve simple puzzles, fight various enemies, and expand your evil empire.

Compared to the previous game, the work is much bigger, there are more enemies (which come in more variety and are more interesting), you can have mounts for your minions, and there are much cooler weapons in the forge, not to mention you can also upgrade each of your minion types. Another big change from the last game is the whole good and evil system. This time you don't really have the choice between good and evil. You now have the choice between evil and very evil. During the game you'll be able to conquer two different (and fairly big) towns. Here's where the moral choices come in. You have the choice of either making everyone in the town subservient, or making them dead. This choice will either move you toward being a destruction overlord (which becomes better at destroying things) or a domination overlord (which has better spells). Lastly, there's the multiplayer. There are 4 or 5 modes of play, including a mode where you sail on ships and compete for treasure, the classic deathmatch, a co op arena, and another co op mode where you assault a roman controlled town. All of these modes are fun, but there are few people online.

Overall, Overlord 2 is a very enjoyable 15 - 20 hour ride through fun action and strategy, challenging fights, tongue-in-cheek humor, and great multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Overlord 2 Fails to Put The "fun" in a Game.

posted by Gamer3434 (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overlord 2 fails to put the "fun" in a game much like the first one. It is more like work than a video game. If you like games that are fun then this is not the game to play. Don't waste your time because you will find yourself trying to beat an annoying level using the different colored minions until you realize wow I would rather be working, studying, or bashing my head into a wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

overlord

posted by money42o (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i didnt like the game needed better camra angles.and a goal that would set you on a path show you the way insted of getting lost on that dumb boat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sequel blunder

posted by corpsefire (CHICO, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really optomistic about this game, I truly enjoyed the first one and thought it was hilarious.

With Overlord 2 I found myself getting bored. After playing for 30 minutes I would want to do somthing else, I just wasn't hooked. I think it mostly has to do with the AI. The baddies sit in clusters and wait for you to come to them. Not very engaging and I wish they gave you more control over the camera so that way you can fully appreciate the character design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse