Rent Overlord: Dark Legend for Wii
view large frontback

Overlord: Dark Legend

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad idea...

posted by Xenodeus (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overlord: Dark Legend is a cool idea. I mean who doesn't like to be the bad guy? The age category this game targets becomes obvious in that you never really do anything evil, just look it and throttle you minions a little. You get to look like Sauron though, and that's fun.

Pros: Game mechanics are fairly straight forward, and where things might be a little unwieldy at times the game never pushes you too hard to 'think fast' making the controls fun and interesting. The originality does keep it fairly interesting. The minions are a riot too, collecting bits of junk to wear into combat, like giant candy canes and pumpkins. Extra credit for the programmer who gave them sombreros and those mustaches.

Cons: Two things really got me, one this game was clearly not bug checked, and if it was they should get their money back. In less than 10 hours of game play, my system locked up no less than four times. Additionally, when I accidentally summoned my minions back from pushing an object too soon I couldn't resume pushing the object, forcing a reset and setting me back a small ways. The autosave kept these from being a huge issue, but they shouldn't have been an issue at all. Second, I almost never needed money. You get forges that allow you to purchase upgrades to your minions and your overlord, and throughout the game from that point on I was super powered. I almost never lost a minion until near the end, and as such was never challenged.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Minions and Bugs

posted by dekarobo84 (MANASSAS, VA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had a blast playing this game. Way too short if your looking for a great action/adventure/rpg type game but still a lot of fun. Reminds me a great deal of Fable for the x-box. Very straight forward but could have been a much more encompassing game.
Had its fair share of bugs too. Minions keep getting stuck or vanishing from the game all together. Second to last boss battle was interupted by the boss defeat scene when I had only halfway defeated it.
Still had a lot of fun playing the game. Would have been nice to have some unlockable content or outfits for the minions but what the game did provide was entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Shake your minions right!

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Sometimes, innovation is the hallmark of blazing a trail. Waggling a Wii-mote isn’t quite the motivation for innovation that I was looking for. In the end, waggling is what really killed this game for me personally.

Game play is summed up in a rinse, lather, repeat format where everything you have played in the original Overlord is completely the same, except that the mapping for the controller is a bit… different. No longer are you using the right stick to sweep your minions around to break things, you are now pointing and clicking with the hopes that they will respond. The real issue is the waggling to charge up the minions. While the catch and shake side of it is all well and good, the releasing is a bit sloppy. There are many times I burned through minions because I couldn’t get the release portion down. When you have a game rely on something as key as this to continue on, it is important to get those controls tight/better. My wrist hasn’t felt the same since.

Battles are the same as the original Overlord, the action/adventure layout with themed puzzles and trial and error combos. It is easy to get your minions to target and attack an enemy but it is tougher to get them to attack multiple enemies, even with the assistance of targeting. While minion control is an issue, the clunky feeling of attacking with the overlord himself is more of an issue. From swinging your axe to casting magic, it can sometimes be a chore.

Story is well written, as I expect anything from this series to be. As a forgotten child of a local lord who is obsessed with returning his kingdom to his former glory, you find yourself in a Cinderella-esque setup.

All in all, I have to admit that this is a fun game until you hit some of the flaws of the controllers. While it was a good idea to attempt the waggle, it shouldn't have been a key portion of the game itself. Rent this and see if you enjoy it, but don't come crying to me when your wrist kills you from exploding minions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wonderful yet too easy and short.

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I never played one of these games before and I was pleasantly surprised. There's a very goofy feeling to it; I never felt rushed or on edge when playing. The game doesn't run all that long - I think I clocked in a little over 10 hours.

What really irked me though was the map. there's about 12 or so sections in the game, if mind serves correctly, and they're all laid out in (what should be) order on the map menu. however, the exits don't match up. The menu may show two areas bordering each-other east to west but when you actually go to western most area and try to take the east exit, you may end up in another place altogether.

Also disappointing is hit detection and its sound. You can hit enemies with your weapon to aid your minions but there is no animation or sound to let you know you made contact. It's not too big a deal, but it just seems more unrealistic to me that way.

All in all, it's a good game for 10 hours worth of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overlord Dark Legend from an Overlord Fan

posted by OniRae (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As a fan of this series since it first came out on PC I have had my gains and flaws with all the recent additions to the title's history.
As a point with this one the game itself has a drawing story, and an open line but the same kinda repetition as the previous 3.. Rebuild your hordes by reclaiming stolen hives and then wage your own personal war on all those who cross your evil path.
The graphics for this one leave a little to be wished for but they are on par for what I expected to come from the Wii.
The control system is great and involving which does make up for the graphics and as with all the Overlord games the Minions are worth all in sheer laughter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overlord: Dark Legend

posted by haza12d (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I couldn't get into this game. I got it today and sent it back the same day. The control scheme isn't what I expected. I guess others might find this fun, but I, myself, couldn't get into it. Graphics, Sound, Music, are decent. Story line might be good, but I didn't get that deep into the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!!!!

posted by kidsreview (AMARILLO, TX) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

My 7-yr old says- Overlord is the best game ever!! The minions are funny! Everyone should rent this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i liked the other two more.

posted by sirjosh10 (SCRANTON, PA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i oley hate this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overlord = cute?

posted by Mandy23 (PORTER, OK) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

I thought that this game was very cute and pretty fun to play, the Wii remote and nunchuk were easy to use, in contrast to many Wii games that I have played in this genre.

The graphics were, like many of you have said, a bit glitchy from time to time, but I didn't have the problems of the game locking up on me.

I didn't finish the game, but I did log a few hours over the course of a week or so and I did enjoy this game, mostly because of the minions. I have a dark sense of humor I guess - but I think they are so blasted cute!

I just love having them smash up objects and then say, "For the massssttteerrrr!" It is good entertainment. ;)

That being said, don't expect too much from this game. I know I didn't, it was a mere rental and I had fun with it.

A solid 7 for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This game is awsome i love playing it. I dont know why it got a low raiting but it's great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good idea but bad execution.

posted by longhair19 (AUBURN, AL) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is a great premise but the game is glitchey, The camera sucks and loads are slow. Try again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Somewhat average...

posted by Renegade17 (COLUMBUS, OH) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

When I first tried Overlord: Dark Legends, it was an enjoyable game, up until I got to certain glitch-filled parts that led to my Wii freezing, a certain character getting stuck for no particular reason, and/or repeating themselves dozens of times asking for me to do a quest that I remember clearing, and glitches that made something invisible (because of this, many minions died).

Another shortcoming of it is being shorter than most Wii games I played, I beat it about 4 days after renting.

Now for the good, I found the controls to be very good, controlling my minions was easy to do and it was simple to get them to collect things for me, not to mention the strategy involved with them, you had to use certain ones at certain times, and I found their dialogue to be hilarious. The story was simple and didn't require much fluff, all it seemed to do was to give you an excuse to bash things in with your weapon and minions. As non-existant it was, I enjoyed it because to me, it was hilarious as well, so even though others may find it bad, I found it good because I wanted to get straight to the action and not hear people blab about nothing (or everything depending on the game).

Overall, it was a good experience, but not one that I will probably experience again due to the notorious glitches that I am sure that everyone has heard about, not to mention the short story that only takes a few hours to go through. If you don't mind the short playthrough and a few glitches don't bother you, then by all means, I recommend this game as it had a lot of other things that were certainly enjoyable such as the infamous endearing minions that made the game what it is today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the overlord

posted by lintlicker (SALAMANCA, NY) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This is a great game, the controls are easy to get the feel for and the entire set up makes for smooth gameplay. The story is pretty good, very easy to follow and entertaining. The bottom line is, it's just fun to control a bunch of goblins that just want to smash everything in sight and even kill themselves so you can regain energy. The game is easy, it won't take you very long to beat so just savor it. The only downfall is that it freezes my wii after playin for more than an hour, not every time...but 9 out of 10. It freezes and makes a terrible loud alarm clock like sound until I unplug it from the wall. I've played tons of games and this is the only one to have this effect on my wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't Live Up To My Expectations

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This would be cool if it didn't have Little Red Riding Hood and other fairy tale characters, super easy bosses, and a wrong ESRB content rating. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't awesome. Anyway thank you Gamefly for another great (actually not to great,) experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Justinator (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game has what it takes to be successful on the Wii for most ages.
The story is good, the gameplay is mostly enjoyable and the characters don't make you want to mute your television.
It's just too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rated teen but it takes you back

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

this game was realy fun. i liked the open-world, the various boss fights and the story wasn't mutch untill... you meet little red riding hood and the tooth fairy, and then the hansle and gredle witch. i realy enjoyed the story because it took me back to when i was little, and the overlord just killing and breaking everything made it just that more fun.
the fact that you have minions to do your bidding is asome and there are different minions for different tasks giving the game a puzzle type feel to it, dont worry they arent that hard, not even puzzles at all, just this minion can walk here and this can do that, basic strength and weaknesses. you get to power-up your guys and yourself with money that you collect and money is EVERYWHERE so something that causts $7,000 dollers it isnt that hard to get, you will have that amount about 3/4 the way through the mission so it makes it easy. another ASOME feature is the teleporter, so when they say go to this place and its all the way on the other side of the map it takes 2 secs instead of the usuall 10-20 mins. this game was a mix of all the things i like in a game, a game that isnt too chalenging, simple to complete, money and weapons are easy to obtain, just all around good fun, and the fact that you can order others to do what you want makes it that more fun because you can take the sacrifice.
i havent played the other OVERLORD's but i have them on my list so i HIGHLY recomend this game to ENYBODY!!! (wouldn't buy it though, no replay value whats-so-ever good rent though)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but over too soon.

posted by Jeremy87 (WAUKESHA, WI) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

the review title says it all. its a blast to play. it was really a lot more fun than i thought it was going to be. the reason i would give it a 8 is for 2 reasons...

reason #1, it is super easy. i think there was like 3 times in the entire game were i kinda came close to dying. 99.9% of the time you are sending your endless supply of minions onto the enemy/boss and never really worrying about the consequences. making the game seem redundant and a little boring at times. it also makes the game fly by since you never have to start over or try a different tactic on a boss that you just can't beat the first time through. this leads me to reason #2

reason #2, it is a very short game. like we are talking maybe 6-8 hrs. possibly 8-9 if you do the side quests. but i mean the game seems to be made this way. whenever the next series of upgrades come out you have so much money you end up buying the best thing right away and then just hording money until the next time.

all in all it was a fun time waster. not much thought is needed and the puzzles are super simple if you can actually call them that. this is a good game to rent not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Annoying!

posted by HelloKitty (EAST CANTON, OH) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Am I the only person who is annoyed by bad british accents & the minions CONSTANTLY saying "For my master!" in a weird voice like that thing on Lord of the Rings? It is a game for young kids who are getting the hang of an RPG, because it is more like a tutorial. Yes that is correct, the cook in the game tells you where to go & what to do. I can figure it out myself thank you! My intelligence was clearly insulted!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game should only b played by ppl without XBOX

posted by played (NOVATO, CA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game is fun if u have never played the original
if u have..... dont get this game
the story just cuts out in the middle of the game and its over. just like that its horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Rent!

posted by kriggens (RICHLAND, WA) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This is an amusing game in which you play tongue-in-cheek evil. It could have benefitted from being longer with more demands for strategy to complete your goals. But for a weekend giggle, the graphics are good, the comments by your "advisor" are amusing, and it's fun to bash things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More minions, more problems

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Imagine what would happen if Pikmin and Fable had a child... a very short child. That's essentially what you get in Overlord: Dark Legend.
In a twisted fairy tale world, you play a young noble tormented by his insufferable older siblings. Then, on his 16th birthday, he gets a menacing suit of armor and the ability to control minions. The game then takes you through his quest to steal power from his siblings and rule with an iron fist. Pretty sweet, really.
Controlling your minions will instantly remind you of Pikmin, but the minions in Overlord are a bit smarter than their flower-headed counterparts. Only the blue minions even go into water, file along narrow corridors and know how to handle themselves in combat. They're also far hardier, only dying after putting up a good fight. And spawning them is far easier, simply calling them from portals with the life force of fallen enemies. This makes the game streamlined and easy to play.
You'll collect tons of money which you can spend on armor and weapon upgrades for yourself and upgrades to your minions. However, you'll have so much money, you can buy everything quickly.
This brings us to the biggest flaws in the game.
First, it's easy. Even the bosses don't pose much threat and you can continually spawn new minions to replace the fallen ones. There are no real puzzle are strategy elements to the game, just four types of minions with special abilities that get you through environmental obstacles.
Second, it's short. Overlord is over in about 7 hours. Even short RPGs should last over 10 hours. This seriously hurts the game, since you can do everything in a day and there's no replay value.
Third, it's small. There's about 15 areas on the map and each has pre-determined pathways with invisible barriers. This is the part of Fable I didn't want to revisit.
It's a nice trip, but it's so incredibly short. Too bad, because it's good while it lasts. It's a great example of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

I've throughly enjoyed this game, but one time through it would be enough for me. The battles aren't too hard s long as you know how to use the minions correctly and luckily if you die you can come back to life and try it again. Once you explore a level, unless there is a quest for you, there isn't a reason to go back. Most of the 'puzzles' are easy to figure out.

The big complaint I have it that I can't tell when the game has saved itself or not. I read a walkthrough on line and it said when the game has a loading symbol running in between scenes then it has saved the game. But that doesn't always seem true.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

almost...

posted by fraskew (MATTHEWS, NC) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

overlord comes very close to being a real good game. there are some nice little touches to it, and some funny moments, but at the end of the day the play is too short, not much reason to go through it again, and some irritating control flaws that are the most difficult challenge to overcome. minion ai is spotty at best, meaning not stupid, but unresponsive at times, and while you can “take care of business” yourself, there are key battles where you need to coordinate your goblins to do specific tasks, and it doesn't always work out like it should. the good news is you can frequently replinish your ranks and try again without penalty, but it becomes frustrating, over and over. example: spiked barricades can be destroyed with no damage done to the overlord, but rather than going through the complicated process of grabbing, throttling, shaking and then attempting to aim your now-explosive gremlin-thing, before he blows up in your hand, it's quicker to bash it yourself, take the damage, and throw a minion into a bloodpit to heal yourself. this certainly beats going through the process only to watch your wildly-laughing bomb run off in the opposite direction of the target, forcing you to do it again. bugs, like a boss disappearing in mid-battle (do it again! hooray!) and flaws in control, ai, camera view, etc go a long way to killing the fun of this title. overlord could have used some quality control standards it seems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but short

posted by BigHeadB (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Good game but short, The game itself was alot of fun, but when it ended I was kond of suprised. It seemed like the first part of a three part game.
Alot of fun, easily played by a child, but complex enough to keep you interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

overlord?

posted by rich12 (LANCASTER, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Well not to bad. About what I came to know of the game base on the last overlord game I play. Once I was done with the game it left me asking what happen to the rest of the game. Just wish there was more in the game and not so hard to move your guys around. It help to kill some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse