Rent Over the Hedge for Xbox
view large frontback

Over the Hedge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC, GBA, DS
GF Rating
6.9

311 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good co-op game to play with your kids

posted by scooby (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My daughter (9 yrs old) and I had a good time playing this together.

Overall, the gameplay is a bit repetitive but the storyline is engaging enough and had some nice humor moments. While you won't see anything you haven't seen in other games I do appreciate a co-op game that you can play with your kids. Though I am getting a little weary of sarcastic cartoon creatures they were mostly cute and funny.

Though you can play as a few different animals from the movie there's not too much difference in their ability to make an actual difference in the progress of the game. There's some side games that you can unlock along the way but nothing all that compelling that you'd want to go back and unlock additional levels.

It didn't take us too long to finish and none of the boss battles were overly difficult. The camera angles were a bit frustrating at times but nothing we couldn't work with or haven't seen before. Sometimes the screen got a bit cluttered with all the animals hitting each other so you couldn't tell where you were. There weren't any puzzles or things that required much thinking; it was just basically bonk all the baddies before they get you.

It was especially fun when one of us would die and the other would have to stay alive in order to avoid restarting the level.

If you're looking for something nice to play with your kids because they get too frustrated with the difficulty of many of the games out there then this is a good, though not great, game to try. Another good one (even better IMHO) co-op game to play with your kids is Tak 3 - the Great Juju Challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok...

posted by Onisan (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Why did i play this you ask?
To make sure a write a review so you wont get it.

Gameplay: Its a movie game based for kids what do you expect? The grapchis are like my N64, nah jk but they still aren't that good. Not much gameplay and not that much action. But you shouldn't expect that much from this kind of title.

Story: Based on the movie but add those kiddy puzzles.

Overall: Rent it if your a 9 year old or younger, give it to your little cousin if you accidently bought it. No renting it at all unless your messed up in the head.

Gameplay: 5
Story: 5
Overall: 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bestest Game Ever

posted by Yooper (BERGLAND, MI) May 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is Being Reviewed by a 8 and 9 Year old Boy The action is wonderful You can do lots of stuff its cool rent it you will like it unless your too old M&J

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was very happy

posted by weksaj (TULSA, OK) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented it for my children who really liked it even though they have not seen the movie. We are thinking about buying it. The game control scheme is easy to pick up. I enjoyed playing the game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Truly Is A Kids' Game...

posted by MICHAELSD (BRICK, NJ) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, Over the Hedge starts off in the last heist at the end of the movie then starts a new story all its own. Unfortunately, though none of the voice actors from the movie could come. The replacements are good but, no where near as good as the ones used in the movie. The game is far too easy! If you take a peek at the options menu you'll notice a difficulty select, easy,normal, and hard but, even on hard the game is way too easy.

It does do a lot of things the way Lego Star Wars did, for better or for worse. Including unlimited health and 2 player co-op. But, trying to fill the game's shoes just didn't work out. You'll run around smashing things, too. The combats OK at most but, just not that much. Platforming is very simple, too. Often requiring you to jump over lasers. You can pick up shovels and kiddy guns after you kill an enemy that's holding it for different combat style.

The game also features a ton of extras that you can unlock ranging from comics to concept art to various videos. Oh, and did I mention the TERRIBLE camera??? The camera has preset angles that you can't control at all! It would've really been better for a game like this to have a camera you control.

The graphics look decent at best but, nothing that'll amaze you. And the cinematics Activision did add are uninspired, dull, and not at all funny. The game offers 5.1 channel surround sound in the options menu but, the positioning is horrible. After you complete a mission you can go back "over the hedge" and see animals using it, eating it, etc. You can also hear different conversations between the animals. This is defetinely on of the game's only good things, unfortunately. Multiplayer is another snore fest due to bad controls and dull games to choose from.

The game is also pretty short. It should take about 4-8 hours to finish depending oh how many extras you want to collect and things like that. So basically if you want a good platformer rent Daxter(PSP) and only rent this for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Over The Hedge

posted by justgames (MESA, AZ) May 19, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over the hedge is a pretty good game to be honest. If you had a bad day and you want to feel good again, just play this game and hammy will make you laugh. It a good game i liked it. Graphics yes could have been better. Enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is okay

posted by camymills (HILLSBORO, OH) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This was a cute game, but some of the things that you have to do is kinda hard for kids. My son loved the game but I had to do alot of the extra things before he could move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Over the hedge-in general

posted by AVRandVLR (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

The game it self is easy(for a 12+ year old). Seeing as i finished the game in 3 days, it's a good game. The graphics are okay. The mini games aren't bad, being: bumper carts, racing, and ranging. If you have time to spare and want a child-friendly game this is probably the right game 4 you. Fighting rats, bunnies, moles, bears, and more.... it's not boring, it's just easy...even with its choices of easy/medium/hard......I hope i helped....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

over the hedge

posted by funman (FORSYTH, GA) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

Not a grate game for adults. But my kids love it. Simple and easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »