Rent Outfit for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Outfit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

3964 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun, light action title...

posted by wargamer (APEX, NC) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

57 out of 66 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I first fired up The Outfit I was quite skeptical. Cheesy stereotypes, b-movie cut scene acting and a plot straight out of every bad World War II movie ever made.

Once I started playing, however, there's something strangely addicting and perversely enjoyable in The Outfit. The mechanics are much like Mercenaries but set in World War II. Three Ramboesque characters are selectable between missions (or upon death in a mission) each with their own blend of tactical strengths and weaknesses.

Capturing enemy buildings (through capture-the-flag proximity) and elimination of enemy troops provides the game's currency and unlocks air support drop ins that can range from simple squad reinforcements to rocket equipped main battle tanks. Much of the game is played in frenzied combat and calling in tactically appropriate reinforcements such as machine guns and anti-tank guns that drop from the sky after short delay.

The action is frenzied and, while many of the missions have a puzzle-like "what unit do I need to call in now to get the upper hand" feel, overall the game is enjoyable and the plot just immersive enough to want you to advance past the next mission and get the ultimate villain.

The Outfit is definitely worth considering if you've burned through the other half dozen or so currently available games that make it worthwhile owning an Xbox 360 thus far. As a rental, The Outfit is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good Outfit overlooked....

posted by P0tLuck (OCEAN BLUFF, MA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

26 out of 30 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I've read recent reviews on this new war game for XBOX 360. I just recently purchased this game and wonder now if these people even played the game. Ok, so it's not exactly a hard game to beat. Somehow I really think they did this on purpose. The gameplay turns into more of a fun time blasting people, vehicles, buildings and wiping out everything Naxi..(site won't let me spell it correctly? is it an obscene word?). Add a second player and you can really see how the next gen games are going to be for two players. The higher resolution on the 360 allows for more screen area to be shown, so split screen isn't a burden to players anymore. The physics of the game stay the same for the second player also. Meaning you can also steal vehicles and creatte diversions, and control your own squad of five men. thats a 12 man squad with one and two player connected creating massive destruction in a beatifully rendered landscape. Take the game online and now you have a whole new perspective. Dropping equipment and flanking and all the tactics you can think of become necessary. Online is where the game becomes that almost impossible AI that makes you want to toss your controller. Yeah it's not exactly anything new, you almost get a Mercenaries type feel as the controls are almost identical. AS is with the dropping of supplies as they come barrelling in attached to six parachutes. Overall if your looking for a fun game to play that's not impossible to beat, I recommend trying on the Outfit, one size fits all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

big guns lots of fun

posted by REAPER (ST CLAIR, MI) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

if your into fps strategic war games this may not be for you. but it is loads of fun to play when your getting bored of those other shooters out there. there are so many types of weapons and possibilities in this game. destruction and construction are both important in this game. you can build cannons around your bases our call in a tank and roll over your opponents. FUN GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I've seen it before

posted by socomsix (DULUTH, MN) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun game worth renting but you really have to like it to buy it unless you live where I live and can get it for 9.99 new then you might as well buy it for the sake of buying it and gettin the achivements

Pros:Ok graphics
>Great Mulityplayer
>Co-Op online(share the single player misery)
>great features(calling in Vehicals, setting up little artillery bases)
>I personally liked the storyline

Cons:Horrible single player gameplay
>the missions are long boring and dull

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awsome game

posted by DeadlyDevi (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome

the aim is a little bad thoe but no biggie you get used to it, the online is GREAT and doing co-op online to get gamerpoints is a big bonus, awesome game rent it for sure, 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different and Fun

posted by RedToof (NASHUA, NH) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A very different kind of game, ordering new equipment and setting up defenses is just as important as good aim and shooting.

Has the feel of an RTS, with the action of a shooter. The campaign mode is fun, and enemy AI is good enough to keep you on your toes.

The game really shines on live, providing a very unique multiplayer experience.

This game is not for everyone, definitely worth a look for those that like high level combat strategy mixed in with their action shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots OF Fun In Multiplayer

posted by Alowe2007 (HIGHLAND HOME, AL) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best part of this game is multiplayer. If your going to play dont play alone, This is not a good single player game. If you like to blow things up you will probably like this game. With a variety of guns and vehicles like this you realy cant go wrong. I loved to play against a friend but couldn't realy get into single player. This is still a fun game all around and I would recommend it to anyone who likes war games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stratigy and the 360

posted by Xceptiona1 (OMAHA, NE) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Outfit is a great game for casual gamers who enjoy strategy. This is not a FPS and isn't really a hardcore strategy game. To me, the Outfit is a casual strategy game. It has good graphics and sounds. The single player game is fun, but little more than a way to teach you the various weapons in the game, a tutorial of sorts. You really only play as the Americans, so I wish you could play as the Germans for a bit, to get more familiar with them for multiplayer. As with most Xbox360 games, it is rather short and quick, but if you are a casual gamer and enjoy strategy it's fun to play a quick match after work before dinner and the like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lot of Fun!! Addicting...Online is Terrific.....

posted by Jethro1964 (MANSFIELD, TX) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

If any of you have seen the movie Kelly's Heroes this is kinda like that in a way. You know when watching the movie that its not a serious war movie but a fun to watch exciting movie with guys behind the lines outnumbered, cracking jokes the whole way and blasting the enemy, not too realistic but fun...well that basically "The Outfit" xbox game.

The full version is better than the demo and ive enjoyed the campaign very much and this game is terrific on xbox live with team play or head to head.

The details in the weapons are great, the collateral damage from blasts is much better than on the demo and the rag doll effect is pretty cool. Driving vehicles was tough at first but now that ive played a while its become second hand and not difficult imo.I blasted through german defences and took the main objective only to have german reinforcements coming up from the rear. I had left a damaged tank on they way only to find the enemy had repaired the tank and was using it against me, lol. It is cartoonish, the movie clips are entertaining and the one liners are kinda funny imo....again kinda like the one liners in K.H. I have read over and over about the aiming of weapons. Remember this is in the 40's during WW2 not 2006 so laser guided aiming and pinpoint accuracy was not available and again imo seem to be accurate for the era the game is geared toward. Thats why the Allies would send 1,000 bombers or mass their artillery for effect...so dont expect pinpoint accuracy and no cruise missles.

I would say rent the game see if the game is for you. If you have xbox live its a MUST to try online if not then your missing out on the best part of the game. Also, its a little frustrating at first with the vehicles but practice then go online.

If your looking for a serious xbox WW2 game the two best IMO are Call of Duty 2 (xbox 360) and Sniper Elite (xbox) both of which are terrific WW2 games. However, for a fun light hearted game with terrific sound, realistic WW2 weap

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is no Call of Duty!

posted by hickflix (KEYSER, WV) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If your looking for great graphics and awesome game play your not looking for this game. However if you liked games like Mech Assault then you might want to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

About the Outfit

posted by Revan67 (RED OAK, TX) May 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

All around its a fun game, but the ease of it left me bored. I never died, at one point I had over 9999 support money saved up which apparently glitches an allows you to infinitely call down whatever you want as much as you want which made the game even easier. In short the campaign was weak I beat it in under 24 hours, could have been alot harder about the only time i lost a base was when they parachuted right into one.

The saving grace of the game is multiplayer except that everyone will buy the biggest tank, the biggest piece of artillery the biggest machine gun thus spending all the money without out being smart with the placement. So within the first 5 seconds of a match both teams go broke. Though I will say multiplayer is pure mayhem which is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Co-op, but kinda boring solo

posted by BradLee (SOUTH ELGIN, IL) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The Outfit is fun with a friend, but rather boring alone. The game is all about capturing bases and killing nazis, and the gameplay lasts fairly well throughout playing co-op, even despite the crappy controls for the vehicles. But, if I played alone I probably would have only gotten through half before I got bored and quit. After you beat it, there is little reason to keep playing, except to unlock achievments if that kind of thing is important to you. It is a fun game for a few days, but certainly nothing special (especially the graphics, the game looks like it was designed for XBox1).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible World War Two Shooter

posted by Kopperhead (SPARTA, NC) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Horrible does not even begin to describe what you see in THQ's the Outfit. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, HECK, DO NOT EVEN RENT THIS GAME, IT IS A WASTE OF TIME COMPLETELY! The graphics are comparable to some of the original Xbox game's graphics, and the game play, what game play? This game does not have a point, strategy, or even realism! It is a stupid, pointless waste of time and resources. And to even think the producers of this game killed a tree for its production is a catastrophe. I got shot possibly thousands of times just to charge up the field and complete my objective, which seemed all the more pointless. At least with Army Men 3DO you had a challenge and a good time. This reminds me of Army Men without the entertainment, or humor. The best thing about this game was the cinematography, and if the game play was remotely close to the cinematic rendering, THQ would be rich. However, this game is not even worth completing the first level, which I did not, although I could have, I however had better things to do with my time, like watching the grass grow. If you want a good military game, do not choose this one, if you want a good shooter, do not choose this one, if you want good toilet paper, rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY VERY FUN GAME

posted by ridge89 (DALLAS, TX) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Very good co-op and multiplayer, i recommend this game to people that like games that have no limits

A+++++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst 360 game on earth!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by phillzy (EAST BRIDGEWATER, MA) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 22 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This is a very bad game and there is no point in renting it! The graphics are Okay but the game play is terrible! I have never played such a bad Xbox 360 game in my life. There are only 3 characters to choose from. I would never recommend buying, renting, or even playing this game!!!!!!!!!!!Its just BAD!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Totally Sucks!

posted by gaktsu (LOMPOC, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 29 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game totally sucks! It's a complete waste of time. Ghost Recon has upped the ante. Playing the Outfit feels like going from Sega Genesis back down to Atari. Go spend your time playing something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How do I put this?

posted by Baddadd (KOKOMO, IN) May 5, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

this game blew big nasty chunks. I love squad/first person shooters. That being said this looks like Call of Duty's bratty little brother.

A real let down. Bleh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

S.U.C.K.S

posted by timalebos (ALVIN, TX) May 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever!!!

posted by jonestown (Fort Worth, TX) May 2, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If I were to tell you a game had really good graphics but made you want to kill yourself after playing, would you still play? That's about the only solution that I could come up with after renting this game. I just hope nobody paid money for it(rhymes with). Drink up, JONESTOWN!!! Horrible gameplay, horrible aiming systym, horribly easy...Horrible!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Outfit

posted by waynegretz (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible do not waste your money on it. It is good for about the first five minutes then it sucks more than kameo. I would rather eat a cow's terd than play this game. Therefore, never ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever play this game or you are a loser and should die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont even bother

posted by Jalderson (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since May 2004

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game isnt worth a penny, i played it for 5 minutes and sent it straight back. its like a game from original nintendo. Also,if you dont have a high def TV, you wont be able to read the in game instructions, for they are blurred and blended with the background.

DONT BOTHER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

INCESSANT FREEZING!!!!

posted by THETAD45 (FITCHBURG, WI) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Constantly froze on multiplayer, losing all progress. Sooooooooo frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The outfit

posted by Winnie123 (BELLEVILLE, MI) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Aweson game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1 of the best games ever

posted by 2400 (BENSON, AZ) Mar 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

i bought this game and it is soooooo cool u can order a tank to come out of the sky i say get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was good at first

posted by loganator57 (CHARLESTON, WV) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Well, it started out very well and very fun! But at the end of the second mission it started to freeze up. So I had to turn off the whole console again and try it again. The other bad thing about the game is that you cant save it. So if u quit u have to start all over again. Then I got to the end of mission two and it froze at the same place AGAIN! So I took out my old xbox 360 and played it on that, but it still froze at the same place. I am MAD that it didnt work. But I have a account and I can rent another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse