Rent Otomedius Excellent for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Otomedius Excellent

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

220 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome game for shmup fans.

posted by SharkdrivR (CENTER POINT, AL) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is absolutely for fans of Gradius, Lifeforce or R-Type. It's exactly like them. Except instead of flying a starship you're a rather well endowed fembot dressed like a spaceship. Some of the backgrounds are strange but, if you look close you'll catch some cameos from the Konami family. Pretty kew huh? This game is fun and challenging. First board is fairly simple but every board after that, the difficulty ramps up dramatically. Especially if (and you will) lose all your power ups. Luckily the continues are not limited. A great rental. I will buy the collectors edition that comes with a pillow case. You heard me right...a pillow case!! But don't worry 'bout that! With all that being said, I would rather have a new Gradius, Lifeforce or R-Type. But this'll do 'til then XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gradius with anime girls

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a Gradius game made by the same company that made Gradius (Konami). Instead of starships and aliens, you got anime girls flying around and blowing things up on earth, for the most part. Its a weird story and setting, very Japanese, I wont even try to explain it. The game has a lot of elements of Gradius, like the power-up system and the end stage bosses, and even has some classic Gradius enemies. There are a lot of options to customize your ship. Its not in the same gameplay category as games like Radiant Silvergun or Ikaruga, and its a lot more simple type of shooter. The graphics are colorful, but nothing that will push your xbox. Strangely, there is some slow-down, I dont know if this was intentional or not. Overall, its a fun light-hearted shooter, although I still cant decide if its supposed to be a parody or not. If you like Gradius type shooters, highly recommend it. Might not want to play it in front of your wife or girlfriend, though, you may get some awkward questions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy, Weird, and Fun

posted by MegaSeveN (ANAHEIM, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've ever played a Gradius game, then you'll be able to jump into this title with no explanation. If not, the upgrade system can be a bit confusing at first. Instead of merely picking up a "Spread Shot" power up, or a "Shield", you have a bar at the bottom of the screen listing all your possible upgrades.

If you collect one power up, the first item is highlighted. If you collect another, the second one lights up, and so on. All you have to do to activate an upgrade is hit a button. So if you want to upgrade your speed, you usually only have to collect one power up and hit the button. However, if you want a shield, you usually have to collect six power ups and then press the button. It's complicated, but once the player gets used to it, it's hard to deny its excellence.

Otomedius blends that classic upgrade scheme with the Magical Girl formula found in many animes like Sailor Moon to have what I think are a bunch of high school girls that use ships similar to other classic games like Gradius or Twin Bee to fight of the Bacterion forces. All of the voice work is in Japanese so the story is delegated to scrolling text on the bottom left of the screen, but let's be honest... who plays these games for the story?

If you like shooters, regardless of your skill, this is worth a try. It's easy enough for new players to jump in on, and interesting enough for experienced players to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth it for the fans only

posted by Plasmawarrior (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I'm into Gradius, been since I was 4, so this game takes me back a long way. It's creative nature makes everyone you can select in this game different to play, which gives you a huge boost in the game. It's also not hard to play, meaning it's a start-to-finish shooting fest.

I do like some of the soundtrack, but by now I have to complain about the purely Japanese-only voice acting. I'm not bashing anime fans, but as a gamer I prefer my native language any day. A few times I often wondered what was being said because I didn't speak the same language. Video game companies in Japan, especially Tecmo-Koei need to learn this fast.

However the graphics and the controls are great. There weren't as many cheep deaths (in fact, none at all for me) as people told me. Everything functions very well from the start. And the outfits aren't as amusing as a lot of anime characters' outfits can be (If you saw Queen's Blade before, you know what I mean).

All-in-all, this won't hurt you to pick up for a few days. It's fun and enjoyable for anyone who wants to live their past gaming days in the present world of Otaku Culture.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Otomedius Excellent

posted by David777 (OXNARD, CA) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

O-to-me-di-us-su.
Excellent-to!

Okay, in short it's fun game. In recent months I've played big name titles like Mass Effect 3, Bioshock II, Skyrim, etc. etc. But what game made me smile? What game would often cause me to laugh? Otomedius!

And that's what I mean by that it's just a fun game, because that's what it is: fun. It's a good time. And is perfect as a great rental. Admittedly I wouldn't buy it retail because it's so short and lacking in content, but if you want have a good time for a day or three then Otomedius is perfect for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game makes me feel like a dirty pervert.

posted by shadowvfx (MUKILTEO, WA) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I'm a huge Gradius fan and I was hoping that this might satiate the need I've had for a hit since Gradius V came out, but you're not going to find it here. All the Japanese cliches aside, the game is bland, unchallenging and ridiculous. I felt dirty and creepy playing this game and it didn't give me any of the joys I usually get from a challenging title like Gradius.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would be better for 3DS

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

8 stages that take about 50 minutes to complete and dying multiple times relentlesly, that's about all your going to know for this game, there isn't much here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »