Rent Order Up! for Wii
view large frontback

Order Up!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

1159 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fake Cooking is...FUN!

posted by ecase629 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

25 out of 25 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, first things first. This game is NOT for everybody. Just think about it, is there any possibility you might find the idea of cooking in a video game fun? If you said no, then just move on. If you said yes, continue below.
I'll start by just mentioning that my occupation is cooking. I'm a line cook at a fine dining seafood and steak house and have worked many short order cook positions in the past. This game really represents the feel of cooking in a restaurant! From just burgers and fries in the beginning to full French preparations later, every meal gives you a semi-accurate feeling of cooking the dish. You grill the burgers until the indicator reaches the appropriate level (some might like it well done, others rare and most medium) while also trying to fry the fries, slice the tomato and leaf the lettuce...and that's just one customer out of four.
It's this multi-tasking in the game that gives the feel of restaurant line work. If one meal is done before another's, it will get cold in the window. So, you really have to have to pay attention to what needs to be done first by doing the longer tasks first and even hiring sous chefs to help (although, most of them will get bad scores on what they do).
As you progress, you'll unlock themed restaurants (mexican, italian and french)as well as spices to use in dishes and chef specials for each restaurant. It's these features that give the game a little more depth. You can purchase spices like garlic, pepper, salt, lemons, basil, etc. and use them for a patron (salty sam likes...salt)or combine in a dish to make a chef special (add cinnamon to each pancake and you'll get cinnamon pancakes). You can also buy these specials so it'll tell you how to make it, but for me it's more fun to try to figure them out (it'll also save you money, because the specials are very expensive).
My only complaint is that the mini-games are pointless and it could've been longer. But, I haven't yet tried hard, so that should keep me busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best cooking game

posted by Irish79 (APOPKA, FL) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the game my husband bought me with my Wii for Christmas. He knew that I had played cooking games on the computer and figured I would like this one. He was right! This game makes cooking, chopping, frying and more so interactive.

After 2 days of playing this game with my right arm I could barely raise it without it hurting. There were muscles worked in that arm that I didn't even realize I had. I had to play the next few days with my left arm.

This game also has GREAT sound effects that come from the Wii remote such as bubbling, frying, knife sounds and more. It is somewhat difficult to get the hang of at first so I would not recommend for children under 10. My 5 year old wanted to play so bad and when I tried to let her play the training mode at the beginning she got frustrated and didn't want to play anymore.

The only down side to this game is that you can not pass up some of the career video modes. After beating the game in Normal mode in 9 hours I went back and started playing in Hard mode (also fun), but you can't skip pass the videos and since I have already seen it, it seemed like a waste of time to me.

All and all a GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Order Up" Try before you buy

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The recipe for Order Up is to take Cooking Mama and toss in a huge helping of Diner Dash.
Players in this game assume the role of head chef. Once they've gone through the tutorial, they embark on a culinary mission to turn four disaster sites into wonderful eateries.
To get the job done, players will have to make dishes. Each dish has several steps and each step is a micro game where the player utilizes the Wiimote.
You will mix, fry, bake, chop, peel, dice, and do other cook's functions. Perform them well, and you'll get more cash for the dishes you create and serve to your customers. The customers in turn will inhale their food; I swear, I've never seen such bad manners in a game. They just use both hands and stuff whatever food's on their plate into their mouths. This game doesn't have the Miss Manners seal of approval.
With money you make from serving your dishes, players can opt to buy more dishes, spices, and better equipment. You can also hire AI cooks to help make the work load. This puts a good strategic spin on the serving games.
The game play is almost solid all around, and it's easy to pick up and play. Cooking Mama fans will eat this game up (figure of speech).
But Order Up doesn't add much spice to the game play; once you've played an hour of the game, you've basically seen everything you need to see. And to get to the later parts of the game, you'll have to play it for quite some time. People who hate Cooking Mama will find nothing to like on this menu.
Another problem is the comment cards the customers leave behind. They consistently whine about the lack of spices in their dishes, even when they don't ask for said spices in the first place.
And the last big problem is the graphics; I like the art style of the game, but the food doesn't look at all appetizing. Some dishes look like a blurred mess of colors.
Despite that, Order Up is a simple, fun game. So rent it first and see if cooking's in your blood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Weenie1802 (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The best WII game ever!!! And I have played most!!! Not for kids younger then 6.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it can be fun and boring.

posted by shadow101 (JOLIET, IL) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

order up is fun dont get me wrong. when u get home and start playin it for a couple of days it gets boring. when u pass the frist resturant and them u get to the next one u have to complete the five stars the same way u did at the frist resturant. but for alot more money. so it just gets boring biut for some people it might be fun. its for everyone to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Order Up!

posted by ryyla (COBB, CA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I enjoy cooking games - they give me the idea that I'm an amazing cook (which I'm not). Generally with these games there's not a lot of variety - there are the same types of motions throughout the game, and they can tend to get pretty repetitive. While these things are also pretty true of this game, I found that it wasn't a hindrance to my enjoyment of it. There are many different dishes, a few different styles of food, different restaurants. I particularly enjoyed the restaurant patrons - they added some variety to the preparation of certain dishes, and their comments were quite funny.

The final level ("restaurant", "task", whatever) of the game was surprisingly clever, and I genuinely laughed - cheers to the writers!

All-in-all, I was entertained/amused, and that's what I need in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

posted by cuppycake748 (BLANDON, PA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I loved this game!I also loved all the resturants you can own. The food you can make are really cool and fun to make.I thought this game was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute garbage!!!

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Good graphics...for a kid game. But controls were awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

ifyou like simple games that are fun and hard at times but not all throught the game this is a gamefor you i loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cute and funny cooking sim.

posted by pinkwerewolf (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I would have to say that I actually liked this game a lot, and found myself playing it throughout the week without putting it down. O_O The gameplay is nice but a little twerky, however it's the humor that caught me and style of the overall world/characters. They poke humor at things like Iron Chef, and it's worth getting to the end of the game to see what I am talking about. It is only one player and does not offer a competition mode like "Cook or Be Cooked" so the replay value is very poor. But still a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its ok

posted by tglass (LOUISVILLE, OH) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I would have rated it higher if it was a multiplayer game. Other than that I thought it was a pretty cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Order Up is a dish best served hot!

posted by ReviewIt7 (FRESNO, CA) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Playing Order Up was a blast start to finish! From the opening scenes of the 2 characters drop shipping from the air plane, to the simple, but fun game play and graphics, I was slicing, dicing, baking, sautéing, cooking and laughing the entire game.

My favorite aspect of the game is buying new restaurants along with real world recipes. Once you earn enough coins you can open a new restaurant, you can add cool upgrades to make it a 5-star cuisine. I had so much fun cooking, that I set the kitchen on fire frequently. It's hilarious to hear the assistant chefs yell "fire"!

During the game, make use of assistant chefs who help speed up the cooking by taking on tasks. There is a good selection to choose from all with their unique personalties. If you want a new chef, all you have to do is hire one and fire the old one. This is fun feature.

My only 2 gripes about this game is no multi-player mode and overall lack of depth like the ability to open up more restaurants. All in all, a simple, but fun game.

I liked the game so much, I just bought it. It even comes with a chef's hat to wear while cooking!

Order Up!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hours of FUN!

posted by Ketchup201 (WATERTOWN, WI) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This is my favorite game for the Wii. It is nothing like Cooking Mama.
The actual gameplay sets it apart from the other cooking games out there.

You can prepare up to four recipes at once, all with 3 or 4 steps. You will be grilling, frying, sauteing, chopping, baking, dicing, slicing, folding, cutting, and grating your heart out. All the steps have unique moments for the Wii.

There are many assistants to choose from to help you out on the recipes.

The added bonus of earning more money by customizing a dish to a customer just adds to the excitement.

Unlocking spices, new restaurants and new dishes are another added element.

Some recipes include Chicken Parmesan, Burger and Fries, Tamales, Calamari, Filet, Tacos, Italian Wedding Soup, Ceviche, and Roasted Chicken.

The health inspector visits as well as a food critic.

I find the characters to be hilarious! Some of the things they say make me giggle like a school girl.

I have spent hours enjoying this game on both levels, normal and hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

suprisingly fun

posted by coslayer (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

im not what you would call a video game junkie, but i do like to have fun. order up did not meet all my exspectations but i was fun. its not a game i would recomend if you are planning a game night or something but if you just want a quiet day by yourself playing games this ones for you. it is fun and funny my brother is a chef and he was laughing the whole time we were playing this game. i liked it but it might not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LOVED IT!

posted by Jayallan20 (BRONX, NY) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Order Up is a excellent cooking game. Its the first cooking game I've tried on the Wii and it was great. I finished the game front to back even on hard mode. My only complaint is that I wish it was a little more challenging & longer but besides that awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can't even pass the food critic

posted by clwrdk05 (ASHTABULA, OH) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

We rented this game from Gamefly and we still have it. It's really fun and pretty realistic. The only problem is is that we can't impress the food critic. We've tried it like 100 times and just can't figure out what it is that he wants. I know everything must be "perfect" but even when it is he still fails me. If anyone can help us that would be so awesome. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Short

posted by tess13579 (OMAHA, NE) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This was a fun game. Well done in the way of cooking games. My complaint is that it is WAY too short. The entire game can very easily be beaten in 8 hours of play. Another 2 hours to unlock everything. Then what? Fun while it lasted, just didn’t last very long. I did appreciate the Iron Chief spoof at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Order Up!

posted by tucker666 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I got this for the kids, and it was too complicated for them. They just play Wii Sports and no other game seems to grab their attention more.

It's like any of the Dash games on Shockwave, just whip up some food and get it to your customers as fast as you can! I loved these kinds of games a few years ago, but the excitement wore off quickly. If you haven't played similar games, this is tons of fun for weeks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Family Fun

posted by BobbyC (JACKSON, MO) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have a 7 year old and a 4 year old that both enjoyed playing this game. For me, the game was a bit repetitive and didn't advance quickly enough. It was fun and easy to learn, but I guess I just didn't want to have to do the same thing so long before I could move on to a new level or a new challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just play H ell's Kitchen or download Diner Dash

posted by tmar89 (WHITEHALL, PA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game has a fun concept, but the executions is so-so. I found that the same concept was done better with H ell's Kitchen or just by playing Diner Dash on the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lot's of Fun!

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The game was loads of fun. Both myself and my younger niece enjoyed it. She especially liked discovering new ingredients and I like pushing the paper boy over lol yeah I know those roles should be reversed XD. It's a great game for the entire family as it's not a fast paced game so kids will have plenty of time to comprehend the basics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

It's very similiar to cooking game based on Gordon Ramsay's kitchen show where you have to cook for each table, take the next table's order, keep your customers happy, etc. You have to cook multiple dishes at once keeping an eye on everything to keep the food from burning. This is the 3rd cooking game I've tried and I haven't liked any of them. I find them boring. If you like cooking games then this one would be for you. It's a cute game even though I didn't very far with it as it's not my cup of tea. I don't like to cook in real life which is probably why I don't like the cooking games. If you enjoy cooking in real life then this game would probably appeal to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Order Up for WII

posted by runner22 (DANVILLE, VA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I really enjoyed playing this game it is very addictive you start and you can't stop. I really think anyone would like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My favorite game on wii!!!

posted by el35475 (NORTHPORT, AL) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have really enjoyed playing this game. I wasn't sure if I would like it, but i enjoy cooking so I wanted to try it out. The controls were very easy to understand and the game was not overly complicated. This game is really fun and addicting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Casual Games still need to be good games

posted by mq1234 (TULSA, OK) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Disappointing game. Not much to do in the game and it seems like the designers wanted it that way. I am sure that this genre will improve--at least I hope it does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse