Rent Opoona for Wii
view large frontback

Opoona

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.6

291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interestingly Unique With Some Familiar Old Style

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Opoona is an interesting combination of old school RPG blended with a novel realtime combat system. Add in graphics that alternate between cheesy and wonderful, together with music that can be haunting, relaxing but occaisionally aggravating and you have a game that will polarize opinion.
You're either going to like it or hate it.

Start it up and look at the intro beginning and you will probably start feeling that you aren't going to like this too much. That's how I felt. Try hanging in there and playing - and play for a good while (1hr) so that you have got all the boring set up of collecting your basic items and orientation out of the way.

Guess what might happen? You may not notice the clock going by - four hours later without noticing the time it had been a nice experience. Up to one star level.

This is not an action game and it's not the peak of graphic perfection either (but the floor reflections are nice :-)) but it somehow can draw you in.

Despite the extremely simple control system realtime fights are not always trivial and I am only just getting into the early parts of the game. The story is not complex either (so far) but it does leave you not knowing enough to want to play on and find out.

If you are willing to give it a go I think this game could be a surprise hit with many folks - especially if you loved the old school Final Fantasy I and II. There are already hints about hidden things to look for in the game suggesting you can play this simply or look for the bonus items.

It is deinitely not going to be for everyone though so consider carefully whether you like discovering more of the story or prefer the glitz and action of other, more modern style, games.

Overall I would say give this one a chance and RENT IT. You may be pleasantly surprised. I WAS. I have no idea how many hours it will take to finish but I would think there is a good bit of gameplay in this if you were to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Refreshing, and a real RPG for the Wii (finally!)

posted by hexmedia (BELLINGHAM, WA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been very disappointed by so-called "RPG's" for the Wii console. None of them are really RPG, with a separate battle screen. Opoona comes as close as you can get.

What to love:

-Absolutely charming graphics and music (definitely best with a surround sounds stereo)

-Fairly non-linear gameplay - you can wonder around earning your "job" licenses, which alone is a lot of fun and worth the game. There doesn't seem to be much of a plot at all.

-Fun dialouge and lots of secrets to uncover and collections to complete

What to hate:

-Scenes like traveling between domes and taking elevators are unnecessary and time-consuming.

-There are essentially no bosses, and battles are not very challenging except in a few optional areas.

-Upgrade items are scarce so it feels like enemies get stronger while your equipment becomes more irrelevant.

-Maps and camera angles are frustrating at time. It can take 10 minutes to get somewhere just to be told to go back to where you were to complete the task.

Overall: A good rental if you are willing to keep a game for a while, but I don't see much replay value. If you are put off by cute things or sci-fi, maybe not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hit me with your best bonbon!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Opoona is the story of a rotund Tizian boy who helps the planet of Landroll with their never-ending problems. He eventually gets helps from his brother Copoona and sister Poleena... who named these guys?
For the first hour or so, you may find yourself falling asleep as Opoona takes awhile to hit it's stride. Dialogue is long and tedious with bad translations throughout. And the backstory is basically unnecessary for a game like this. It's also unfortunate that locating anything is so frustratingly difficult. Cities appear to be laid out by M.C. Escher.
Once you get to the gameplay, you'll be somewhat confused by combat, which is all done in real-time, even though you have lists to navigate for abilities and spells. The basic attacks are much quicker, where you hit enemies with your bonbon, a ball on your head. Simply flicking the analog stick in any direction determines your bonbon's trajectory and the longer you hold it the faster it goes.
Unfortunately, Opoona is a game that gets in it's own way too often. Just as soon as you get into the combat, it forces you to play a painfully long fetch quest. Right when you get comfortable with Opoona and Copoona, they get blasted and you have to use Poleena for the first time, all by herself.
The rough production value and keyboard soundtrack make it feel like a lightweight. When it gets going it's pretty fun, but it doesn't get going fast or often enough. And although it's geared toward kids, it can be way too difficult in the second half.
It's a nice game, a long game and has plenty to do. It's just not exciting or dynamic or charismatic the way you want an RPG to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Opoona - Red Tape RPG

posted by Satsuki (WASHINGTON, DC) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

An enjoyable game with a unique fighting system. The camera controls can be difficult to use. Much of the non-fighting of the game is spent finding your way through the bureaucracy of the planet. Translations are excellent. Game play provides many useful features. A definite break from the RPG mold. All in all, as long as you're not expecting much from this game, it's well worth the play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoying the simplicity!

posted by Elemental (SALEM, VA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed renting this game very much. I liked how simple this game is. It was a joy to play such a very colorful, easy-to-handle RPG. I feel I will be purchasing this game in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game just has some flaws

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Apr 6, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For about 3 or 4 days while playing the game It's angered me and at certain times this made me say hey this is a pretty good game. So I'll list some of the problems

1. The map is worthless - This was the first thing that angered me as I was trying to find the library and well it took about 2 hours.

2. Level design for some of the levels is pretty bad. The first and the intelligent sea levels are badly laid out with the first level the worst.

3. Camera Angle - Not really bad until you get into the intelligent sea and then the camera angle there is ground level pointing up and you can't really see where you are going.

4. Bombs - not sure if there was a way to defeat them or not and there are ways around them but I hated those things.

5. Can't skip cut scenes - This isn't too bad of a problem but when you are travelling between levels and have to watch the take off and landing it gets tedious.

If they got rid of these things it would be a good game and I think it is a good game but with the flaws it definately takes it down a whole lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not terrible.. but not great, either.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Opoona. How many of you read this game's title, and went: "Wow.. that sounds really [insert random derogatory word here]. I'll go rent something else."

I ALMOST did just that. Right now, I wish I had.

Opoona is what you'd expect--a cheaply made Japanese RPG, and not a very good one at that. The controls aren't incredibly responsive, the story is boring, the character models.. don't even get me started.

I won't outright bash this game, as I've played FAR worse games--some on the Wii, as well--and, while this one is quite bland, it's not the worst RPG ever made.

Opoona has you starting off, controlling a strange alien child called--you guessed it--Opoona. What you see on the box art is more or less what you'll get.

Allow me to describe the story: bad guys attack ship. Ship crash. Opoona on alien world. People help Opoona. Opoona repay people. Opoona find parents.

..Just so you know, I'm not sure if that constitutes as a spoiler or not, as I haven't the patience to complete the game. I will say that after the several hours of playing I managed to wade through, I can safely say that the game does have a lot of depth to it--there's a lot to do, to see, and to talk to (no joke).

Despite the depth the game does have, you'll need far more patience than I to make it to that point.

I give Opoona an average 5/10, even if I do disagree with numerical scoring. Try it if you wish; I won't stop you--however, don't complain to me, if you do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost...

posted by galdon (ORANGE, TX) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It seems like a cheerful rpg game on the surface, but there are some things about it that bug me..

Here you are, a kid who is going on vacation with his family, when you crash land on the planet you are vacationing to. You are told your parents are in comas and that you are not allowed to see your siblings until you've worked long enough to have citizenship of high enough rank.

Then you are told to stay there you have to work. Some vacation huh? Not only that but they send this kid out to fight monsters. Two things fundamentally wrong with that really, first in game, they state that Tizan are not allowed to fight til adulthood. so they are breaking your home planet's law to put you to work! Second, they are telling this kid to do it. Maybe I'm ignorant but thats the kind of thing you do to an established hero not some kid with talent.

The combat system is interesting, but overly simple. When they explained how you could use it to hit enemies from behind and stuff, i thought i could get some wacky tricks going, maybe ricochet off bad guys to do bonus damage... Not really.. You merely select the curve, if it curves enough it 'counts' as hitting them from behind, and if anything gets away before you get ahold of your power plus you lose your attack. Without an action meter its impossible to tell when your opponent will move and suddenly be out of the way by the time the ball gets there too. You also have exactly 2 minutes per battle. do not expect epic fights, you will only have rushed fights trying to stay alive and deal a lot of damage fast.

The map is this game's weak link. There is no on screen mini-map, the only one you have is a stationary unlabeled GPS in the pause menu. By the time I could figure out a way around the dome they would send me to a new one, was it a deliberate focus to make you perpetually confused? Maybe.

Overall, its an ok game, but a little more touching up and a couple more features would probably have gone well for making it a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too cute for an RPG

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Opoona is an a tempt to put a rpg on the wii, however Opoona is also on the ps2 so it really doesn't utilize the wii-mote for anything, now 1st off i am a rpg fan and I love the wii so i'll be honest. This is not a game, its ok if you want a rpg on the wii just to say you have one, it's ok if you don't ever play rpg' s and want to break in the genre, it's even ok if you have kids and you want something simple, bright, easy for them. But if like rpg' s don't get it. I gave it a try and was disappointed, the story is weak and they try to make you think there is something wrong going on but you spend more time cooking, cleaning, waiting on people, picking out clothes, telling fortunes, fishing, watching tv, and sleeping than you do playing fighting monsters. And most of the monsters are easy accept a few places where the monsters go from child's play "you will die" without any warning. but those areas a far and few between, in short it's a glorified actionesce version of the sims, enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yay, Another FAILURE of a game on a good system.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

OMG, this game was horrible! It's so hideous to look at!
Look, I personally hated the wacky graphics and the annoying music.
The controls were horrible and so were the hideous camera angles.
DON'T get me started on the game's story! It's horrible and very un-thought out. It's like it was thrown together in pssh...three minutes.
This game is just icky and hideous. It's a failure on the Wii! And that's a shame, because the Wii is a good system!
These are some things I'd rather do then play this game:
Listen to that AWFUL music by Miley Cyrus.
Eat old liver.
Sell my favorite games on Ebay.
Get kidnapped by thieves.
Spill hot ramen on my head.
Get sued. (Which is very unlikely to happen since I'm too young to be sued. You can't sue a 12/half year old!)
Watch Itachi Uchiha from 'Naruto' kill my family.
And get run over by a train!
Ugh...let's hope Koei comes up with better games in the future! ;(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by Darkanine (ARCHDALE, NC) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This game is just amazing simply amazing You play the role of the 3 siblings opoona copoona and poleena and on their quest to save the parents and the dieing earth(i think its earth) The battle system is like Final fantasy 4,5,6 in the since that its real-time yet turn based except you need more timing since enemy's will move some times.However their is cons example the stats what i mean is their's somewhat pointless stats or its not clear what they do example the health stat i dont know what it does maybe it affect HP is some way and the strength stat doesnt seem to boost your attack power only impact seems to affect power and then art and fame these don't do much except they unlock a few side quest(around 3)and then smarts i thought smarts affected FP(Force points aka mp)but i think they have set damage.One of the coolest things is the art style its cell shaded and has a weird what the heck i mean the NPC's can look really weird in a cool way and the main characters are shape based...opoona the circle copoona the triangle and poleena the oval? i never really found what she's based off of.The music is quite good and relaxing the difficulty is so-so The story is good SPOILER ALERT! Its about opoona and his siblings at first to save their parents dadeena and momeena...yeah i hate the puns to nut anyway but eventually its about saving the world ran by religion and from the dark bon bons. some cons are the fact that opoona is a silent character which i hate so for the first 3 hours all the dialog is bye NPC's also poleena is not very good i mean she's a decent sage but copoona is much better and she's weaker than him she's mainly "support based"but the thing is copoona and opoona are both decent support sine they can heal a decent amount also there's no real exploration and the first dome(aka towns) is a pain to navigate and the map is useless also theres a fairly long selection where you have to play as poleena alone(well kinda) and like i said before shes useless....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

almost judged by the cover

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

I rented this game because I never heard of it and it was an RPG. I had watched videos and it looked kinda stupid, but fun at the same time. It is a very basic game, you only need the nunchuck to play it, if you didn't have to hook it up to the wii remote atleast. It you like rpgs, you should give it a try, it may look like a game for 2yr olds, but it is fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute but boring

posted by jogre1 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

The simple game play is combined with a complicated task based storyline. If you can get past the first few hours this game may open up for you, but I found it too tedious to continue. Having to navigate complicated maps with a bad user interface that keeps the camera locked in one position is a pain. You can move the camera manually, but it seems jerky. Battles are quite easy at first and don't really teach you how to do anything, fortunately? there are tons and tons of random battles for you to hone your skills such as they are. I would recommend this game for young kids that are interested in an RPG style game, as long as they are patient and have a lot of time to devote to moving the story ahead. It really can't be rushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Opoona

posted by hollie (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

This game had potential, but the reading never stopped. I bet I read for 20 minutes before the game play even sort of started. The story isn't that interesting or unique to encourage me to read my video game. I quit after an hour of play. I was bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh it's simple alright

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The catch phrase of this game is simplicity. While simplicity is a great thing because everyone wants an intuitive control scheme and fluid game-play but this game is just plain boring. The graphics are terrible. I know the Wii is not know for it graphics but in this game they are truly terrible. The story isn't bad I just didn't stick around to hear it because the battles were terrible. I would rather play an rpg from the 90's on virtual console or ds then waste my time with this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A waste of the electricity consumed.

posted by CapnSpank (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

I understand the need for uniqueness, but to control the game with the nunchuck controller exclusively is horrid. Here I am tethered to Wii Mote because I have to use the nunchuck attachment with this game. The intro took a rather long time to go through and after about two hours of playing the game I still had yet to really "experience" the game. I would not wish this game on my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »