Rent Operation Flashpoint: Red River for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Operation Flashpoint: Red River

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.5

3579 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Realistic Shooter

posted by xnordheim13x (ROCKFORD, IL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

104 out of 115 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I just recently rented Red River, and I thought the game was unique, different and fun. Unlike other shooters like COD or BF, the combat in this game is far more realistic. Here I will give my pros and cons of the game:

Pros:
-realism. When entering combat, u cant expect to run out in the open field and take out 40 men single-handedly, u need to actually take cover, and pick off guys 1 by 1 while trying to conserve ammo.

-graphics. The graphics are a huge improvement from the last game (dragon rising)

-AI. The AI in the game are great, enemies will try to flank you and catch u off guard while the armored vehicles will come straight at your squad.

-customization. You can pick from 4 different character classes: grenadier (explosives man), rifleman (standard infantry), scout (sniper), and autorifleman (heavy machinegunner). Each of these classes you can individually level up to unlock new guns and scopes for your own customization. Also, you earn medals for doing missions and the better the medal, the more points you are rewarded. Bronze - 1. Silver - 2. Gold - 3. And you use these points to upgrade your character, for example how fast you sprint or your accuracy when using an M16 or M4.

-Hardcore Mode. This is as hard as it gets, u have nothing on your screen except your gun and where your looking at. You don't know where enemies are at, which way is north or if it's a friendly or not. You must fully rely on what u see. Very fun but very difficult.

Cons:

-Single Player. This game was undoubtedly made for co op, since you are a squad leader, it's easier to talk to your friends then tell the computer what to do. Everything in the game is co op accessible.

-Game modes. Aside from the campaign, there are 4 different mode u can play which are really fun but they only give you 2 maps for each mode.

-Knox. I love what Knox says because he always says funny demeaning things towards you but he talks way too much.

Overall:
Very gun game and worth rent. Rating: 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun realistic shooter

posted by CtrldPair450 (OMAHA, NE) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very realistic based shooter, you have to shoot, move, and communicate with you team mates if you wana survive in this game. Aside from poor AI (team mates) and the boring open back humvee rides this game is fun and exhilarating, get three friends and the game goes from good to superb. Over all the graphics are good a few meh moments, the gun play is more arcadey then drgaon rising but still feels realistic. The Staff Sergant gets annoying but is helpfull in the game, if you keep your guys out of harms way then you will have no problem with this game and have a good time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the most original shooters out there.

posted by Uber_MunkE_00 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game does not feel like I have played it before. That is why its good. Its original and not a COD copy. I am sure all the people who rated this game 1 are COD fan boys. This game has pretty good graphics but the game shines when you start a fire fight and you're getting shot from all positions. The sound is good on this game and the guns sound realistic unlike in other games... (COD). I know I kept this short but trust me, you want to try this out if you're not one of the 13 year old cool kids who constantly play COD and make YouTube videos about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game with friends

posted by Sainted1 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Pros
-VERY realistic (from the commands to the bullet drop)
-Long Levels (about 45-1hr per lvl, 10 lvls)
-4 player co-op is very fun!
-customize weapons and classes(about 5 primary and secondary gun choices per class)
-beautiful graphics
-great music(mostly rock and metel)
-good control response, but it does have some getting used to
-extra mission modes all co-op(horde mode, protect convoy mode, kill all enimies mode, ect)
-achievements are pretty easy to get
-challenging AI (they will take cover if they have it near them, or drop to the ground)
-very little loading times

Cons
-not much replayability once your classes are lvled up to 20
-solo play is much harder since your AI tends to rely on you constantly
-sometimes you CAN fail objectives by just not being at the right place in online multiplayer (which means pick up groups CAN screw up you fun VERY easily)
-no cover system, you basically crouch behind stuff and pray you dont get shot
-Only 2 maps in multiplayer and no vs mode.

final thought, this game is NOT for those who play Halo, BC, or CoD...why? Because this is all based on REAL motion. CoD can let you take several shots before you go down...here it's 1 hit (sometimes 2), just like in real life. Snipers WILL kill you from 300 meters if you dont take cover! This game was lots of fun with 2 or more players, and the more players, the more fun! This is about tactics and co-operation. It's something different, and that makes it worth wild. I would like to see more content and some new locations (since this game all takes place in one huge area). If you dont like the game, then this game type isn't for you, BUT the game itself...great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by djmonkeyman11 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was awesome I loved the realistic aspect of it. I think they over did the cussing, i personally don't care but there is A LOT of cussing.. keep that in mind if your younger or a parent... just saying... all in all i give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Co-Op/ Story driven game

posted by ishcabob99 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First I'll start with the Pros
- The AI in this game is great, very rarely will they not respond or walk in front of you while firing
- The story is great, fun, and interesting. You'll meet interesting characters and hear great voice acting and dialogue
- The Co-Op is the best part about this game. Playing with random people is fun, but not as fun as playing with friends. I had many stunning, action packed, and hilarious moments with friends
- It provides a good environment with Thijikistan (spelling error). It feels like you are a Marine on the front lines.
- It also provides good humor with the dialogue.

Cons
- With the humor racism and jokes towards women are included and could be offensive
- The graphics aren't bad, but not good either. They're a bit outdated.
- The humvee rides in the being can not be skipped and are quite long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding Game--For the right player.

posted by Soldierman (SWAN POINT, MD) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its realistic, its energized, its action packed. It even has Marine Corps style enthusiasm. The Marine Corps slang is correct. The Staff Sergeants witty comments and insults are just funny and the weapons are correct and incredibly real.

The game puts the player in charge as a fireteam leader in charge of 3 other Marines. You have a responsibility to keep them alive and kicking.

Overall, I love the game. Its not meant for your average CoD or Halo fanboy. Its meant for those military strategy buffs like myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really, it's a good game.

posted by Iamn00bz (DELTONA, FL) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It requires patience and tactical know how. Very realistic, very exciting, and an excellent story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Operation Flashpoint: Red River

posted by KRH (CIRCLE PINES, MN) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS DOES HAVE SOME CUSSING IN IT
+4 -4

+1 The Squad commands work well.
supress, hold fire, advance, flank, rush, follow, guard-person,secure building, defend bulding, or vehicle.
There is air su
When you get hit you have to patch youself up, if you can't move you have to call for a squadmember...
+2You dont die too fast from bleeding out which is a bonus..
+3You get to call in airsupport from time to time
+4You can walk on cliffs and pop people from above Big Bonus
First game ive seen that lets you wander and creep
somtimes you'll run into sorry i can't do that or "are you crazy" from your squadmembers on some terrain in the game but not a whole lot.

I have 4 negatives which are
#1-bad voice acting...
#2 you have to replay levels over and over to get your classes up
and the CPU doesnt aquire XP on your team, so if you want a sniper on your team with a silencer on his rifle u have to play as a sniper to level 16 which is alot of playin the same boards over and over, so every mission you can only really work on 1 class at XP....
#3 I couldn't even see enemies at long range to snipe them off....
it seems to be a problem in most games, very annoying....
#4 Great music in transport when it decides to play, good normal metal and some hiphop.
the AI is pretty challenging on normal, i didnt even try it on hard.

i played it for 2 days, it wasnt horrible
im givin this a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but Buggy.

posted by ZDrummer731 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Operation Flashpoint: Red River was a fun game to play. The class customization was great. The player skill customization was pretty good, but gaining points to upgrade got very hard after finishing the campaign.

I thought the campaign was very fun, except for the eighth mission. That particular level, named "1st and 10, Lets Do It Again", was fairly buggy. I had to reload checkpoints because the game wouldn't register when I had completed an objective. Anyways, the AI in the game are stupid. Your team mates are seriously mentally handicapped. For example, I got downed fighting a PLA Spec Ops soldier. My team mates killed him, I then called them over to heal me. I was bleeding out fast too. They kind of just casually walked over, crouched, and watched me die. However, they do a lot more killing than other games AIs. They tend to clutch situations fairly often.

Overall, I thought the game was fun. The campaign was humorous, enticing, and pretty entertaining. Graphics were decent, and friendly AI were sometimes mentally dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for your "average gamer"

posted by tactsims (BASTIAN, VA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2006

23 out of 28 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for another mindless rail shooter then look elsewhere. It may not be the most realistic shooter ever made... But it's easily in the running for the top console spot.

Be ready to do some micro-managing of your team if playing solo (this games made for co-op). That said, if you use them right they can be useful rather (than just a PITA).

Why not a ten?

Some small gripes...

Some of the dialog can be annoying and repetitive. Both in mission and on the rides to and from.

There were some lapses in otherwise very realistic gameplay. One example was when I wanted to turn off my compass (for a totally clean look with no HUD)... Until I noticed that the sun was do north (late afternoon if it matters). The ability to heal over and over (although, there are times when death is instant) can be far fetched at times... But at least it isn't the silly regen health everyone uses these days).

If you want to hop the planet from one over the top "made for tv mission" to another... Again, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a realistic and demanding/rewarding game that sets itself apart from so much of the garbage that sells like crazy these days...

Check this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this game.

posted by panek810 (FLINT, MI) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a wonderfully realistic game for shooter fans. Note the "realistic", one of the top negative reviews here states they were mad they can't jump off a wall or it takes time to pull out a sidearm, you do need to plan your moves and manuver like you would in a real combat scenario. You won't see many soldiers jumping off of roofs or out windows and in a firefight if you try to switch to your sidearm while someone has a gun pointed at you don't expect then to wait until you are ready.

In other words if you are happy playing call of duty and halo then stick with them, keep on circle strafing and jump shooting and loading clips into people. But if you miss great sprawling outdoor areas with one shot one kill gameplay like the old Ghost Recon and similar games then Red River delivers in spades.

However this game does suffer from a lack of polish. It doesn't have top notch graphics, the learning curve is steep and it can be hard to get used to being shot at from 200+ meters. But this is the only "real" shooter on the market right now and it gives a very fun and challenging experience that I have been missing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great and Frustrating.

posted by Needled247 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The game stays for the most part True to modern Combat with Real Terms and Good sound. Other than the Sidearm for the Marine Corps being the wrong weapon. All of the weapons are true to the USMC for it being made by a British company.
____
Pros
-Decent Graphics for a mil sim.
-Great weapons.
-Fun Multiplayer modes.
-Realistic Night combat.(You can't see in Night unless you are using NVG or if your in a building with the flashlight turned on.)
-Easy to learn Squad commands.
-Fun combat against PLA and Random Freedom Fighters in Tajikistan.
-Bullet drop
-Getting shot in a limb will give you serious penalties.(Shot in the arm can make your aim real wobbly, shot in the leg will slow your run and make you unable to sprint.)
____
Cons
-Its too hard to fight in the dark unless you have Thermal optics.
-On the easiest mode the game can be to hard.
-You seem to be out numbered in every scenario.
-You have to get your team healed very often.
-No matter where you get hit in hardcore mode you will instantly die.
-Enemys don't get revived by team mates when you only knock them down.
-A downed enemy wont bleed out but your team can bleed out in mere seconds.
-Getting shot in the head in Normal mode wont kill you but when you do any higher difficulty it will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Knox

posted by silenthog (UKIAH, CA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

id rent this game just for SGT. Knox's commentary, had me laughing the whole time i was playing, great game if you have patience for strategy, cant win with run and gunning (very hard)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lost Oppurtunity

posted by TVs_Matt_Rowe (MONTGOMERY, IL) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

OF:RR is a mixed bag of improvements and set backs to what makes the franchise great. There have been some tweeks in controls and UI, and the edition of player progressioin and loadout selects are nice. Where the game takes a pitfall is in trying to bring in a larger audience with low brow humor and boringly predictable firefights. In the past you were givin your objectives and you would then proceed to scout, issue orders, and take the objective any way you saw fit. In RR however, your annoying cliche of a commanding officer barks at you constantly what to do and most paths your lead on are straight foward and linear. OF:RR tries too hard to emulate what other shooters do well mixed with its brand of sim style gameplay. Codemasters is a long way off from achieving the breath of what makes current 5,000 lb gorrilla great. Enemy Ai seems to have gotten a little bit better, but will stand still out in the open to be shot at still. Your teamate AI, on the other hand, is still dumber than ever. Countless times my teamates won't follow orders, can't seem to take cover nor engage enemies 10m away, and is prone to be run over by the humvee convoy in some missions. Your better off finding 3 other humans to play with over XBL or PSN. Which brings me to multiplayer, Sadly no adversial game modes available, but what you do get is a revamped FTE(Fire Team Engagement) Mode. No longer is FTE just a quick battle from the campaign. There is Rolling Thunder which has you escorting a Convoy, Clear and engage which has you clearing a map of enimies and destroying HVT's, CVac has you entering a red zone and rescuing pilots, and the final mode is reminiscent of the Horde mode from gears of war which you face off against wave after wave of increasingly difficult enemies. All in all if your a fan of the OF series, try this one out you might still like it, but for you fast paced twitch shooter fans out there you may want to pass, this isnt the modern shooter your looking for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but does take some skill

posted by adrunkfool (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jun 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I found this game way better then Call of Duty and just a little under Battlefield. This game really puts you on the front lines as a soldier and is crazy realistic. There is no just running up in a town and sprinting around corners and killing everyone in this game. In Red River its all about playing smart and using your team to accomplish the missions. Other shooter gamers mainly the fans of CoD will fine this game annoying seeing as you have to use your brain in this game. All ways have cover, never sperate from your team, and move up slowly to prepare for any combat. CoD fans who are so use to putting on Juggernaut, last stand and just running in trying to be the hero will not like this game. But if you want a team based game thats as realistic as it can get and using brains and strategy to overcome your enemy then this is the game for you. 8 out of 10 for me. Very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

left feeling cheated...

posted by agt_johnny_utah (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Operation Flashpoint: Red River filled me with moments of great frustration, disbelief and the occasional fun. i against all better judgement persevered through the campaign in its entirety, experience several moments of joy, but ultimately unfulfilled. Few quick thoughts...

#1. Nearly every interaction with enemy AI is at great distance. You'll spend most of the game shooting enemies the size of ants. I played through the title on a 61" television and found myself squinting to see the baddies for 95% of the campaign. Sniper up and you'll enjoy this game more. For a game that sought realism i found this incredibly frustrating. No afgani fighter with a 60 year old AK-47 is going to be able to hit me at 1,000 yards.

#2. The long humvee and heli rides in and out of a mission... i get the point of trying to add realism, though this just sucked the life out of me. Waste of time with no clever integration into the story. just a front row seat to a constant berating by your staff sergeant.

#3. mission guidance was lacking. several missions require calling in airstrikes on enemy encampments... well, good luck trying to figure out what to bomb. the environment is bland, repetitive and the lack of heads-up display on your target leaves you failing to fulfill mission objectives.

#4. Airstrikes and mortar support were fun while they lasted.

Rent. Don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cindy's Red River Review

posted by Sinner_D (SANTEE, CA) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Operation Flaspoint has Always been well known for being an extremely realistic Combat Simulation from it's PC era, and frankly I was amazed the first 360 installment pulled off the absolute perfect PC 2 Platform transition that it did, with only minor and subtle losses noticable only to OFP PC version fans.

Sadly I cannot honestly say that this installment of OFP lived up to the same ground breaking caliber which the first 360 title knock my socks off with. I found far too much either flawed or worsened in OFP:Red River to hold it up in the same light as it's predisessors.

With that said... I am in no way shape or form damning this game at all, infact I would strongly and highly suggest this to any FPS fan cause even though it seems to have taken a step backwards from the previous, it is still in my opinion the best FPS when it comes to the ultra realistic graphics and physics standing far taller then any FPS title in that respect .

If I had to choose one thing to change this title for the better I would by far have to choose a total overhaul of OFP: Red River's Multiplayer gameplay, Which souly consists of utilizing Xbox Live to Co-Op all the Main Story driven Missions and Stand-alone Secondary SP missions. Don't get me wrong, the SP missions were great fun, although had I known that was all there was regarding MP options, my overall game playtime for this title would have been drastically less.

Final Note(to codemasters): if you guys do plan to pick this title up again and please do, Please Please PLEASE! BRING ON THE VEHICLE COMBAT(ground, air, and add sea!) the PC vehicle combat was EPIC!!!

OFP:R.R. SP rating: 9/10 -add vehicles to achieve 10/10
OFP:R.R. MP rating: 0/10 -MP only got this horrid rating due to the fact that I couldnt bring myself to overlook this great titles Major oversight of having 0% additional MP content. Sure DLC soon to come(not good enough an excuse)

-Overall Rating 7/10 (-2points) due only to above mentioned MP flop-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, not so great dialogue.

posted by Tat2dDad (CYPRESS, CA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great game play, loved the squadron based combat. It is much more realistic than CoD so it may not appeal to all gamers. Their are two major downfalls. First, you cannot customize the amount of ammo that you carry, so you always run out by the end of the mission, and should you die and restart from a checkpoint, your ammo is not repleneshed. Second the AI dialogue can get confusing, calling out casualties and firefights while it is quiet, and misleading you are just a few of the "quirks" in the dialogue. All in all, it is a great game, and the most realistic FPS that has been put on the market in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HATS OFF US MARINES AND RED RIVER

posted by kujayhawkone66 (HANOVER, KS) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME REALLY IS VERY HISTORY ORIENTED, I LEARNED SOME HISTORY ABOUT THE MIDDLE EAST AND HOW WE AS A COUNTRY GOT INVOLVED IN THE MIDDLE EAST. THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC, IF YOU LIKE SHOOTER GAMES AND BEING A SOLDIER. IT REALLY WITHSTOOD ALL OF THE HYPE THAT WAS WITH IT BEFORE ITS RELEASE DATE. IF YOU HAVE YOUNG CHILDREN, YOU DO NOT WANT THEM AROUND WHILE PLAYING, THE LANGUAGE IS VERY STRONG. BUT FROM BEING A VETERAN AND SERVING, THIS GAME WAS VERY GOOD. I AM BERY SERIOUS IN GIVING THIS GAME A 10, AND IT IS WELL DESERVED. MY HATS ARE OFF TO ALL SERVICE MEMBERS, ESPECIALLY A US MARINE. THANKS TO ALL VETERANS AND THOSE WHO SERVE, WE ARE IN A WAR THERE WITH A FACELESS ENEMY. GOD BLESS THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND ALL VETERANS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Modern Shooter

posted by Hazsard (WINNETKA, CA) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

23 out of 51 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game has it all, it has many fan favorites such as weapons. A very good story line,

The storyline is so good, you need to be stealthy at some points and be very caution on what your gonna do next! The story line is about sox hours long and the ending is so good, I would recommend this game to anyone who loves games such as Call of Duty Blacks and other great modern shooters and also this game had online,

The online is great as well! You can rank up high, use all your favorite weapons and customize as well. It has great gametypes the fans love. I would recommend this to anyone who loves to play online shooters, you would want to be on this for more than a match,

Overall this a game is amazing get it for a good storyline and the intense multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Operation Flashpoint: Red River - Worth Renting

posted by GearPunk (PLAINFIELD, IL) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Red River sells itself as a sort of military simulation and/or tactical shooter.

Good: Seems to be very realistic, one bullet can (and mostly WILL) kill any target. Giving orders is easy and streamlined from the last game. Missions are challenging and long.

Bad: Poor AI, See below. Dated graphics, especially at long range. Long sequences where the player rides in a vehicle.

Overall: I rather enjoyed playing Red River and it was several hours until the AI wore me down. The last time I played, I lost a "Final Stand" (or Last stand) side mission when I told my fire-team to defend a structure while I called in for extraction. The AI proceeded to run around the building, while we were surrounded until I was the only one left, unable to call for extraction, I was eventually surrounded and killed, losing the match. I then threw the disc back into the gamefly sleeve and mailed it back immediately. This was mostly a unique scenario however, and after a week, this was the just the worst one.

IMPORTANT: The fire-team can be made entirely of online players, removing the AI issue.

Summary: A good game if you can babysit AI (or play with friends). NOT for fans of COD who are looking for something similar. Action is slower and more realistic.

7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed fan

posted by steve21nj (LAREDO, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

30 out of 71 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I am reading other reviews and wondering if people are playing the same game here. Operation Flashpoint Red River is by far the worse game of the year. I have talked about the game for months in anticipation after reading the developers notes and how they promised to deliver a masterpiece after their failed attempt with the first game.
The only thing the game has going for it is the scenery. Pretty amazing. But after playing the game for about 30 minutes, my eyes started to hurt. I am not sure if it was because I was squinting trying to use a sniper rifle, or the fact that my 50-inch TV isn’t big enough to make out enemy soldiers.
Your superior officer is consistently mumbling garbage while you are trying to play the game. The sound comes over garbled and becomes annoying all the way through the campaign.
For those medics out there, you will love this game. You are always patching yourself and team members. Considering you almost never see enemies until you are fired at, get used to holding the A button to use the med kit. I spent ¼ of the campaign doing this. Also, switching between items takes forever. If you want to pull out a pistol, prepare to take cover for a bit as grandpa draws his sidearm.
I don’t even want to talk about the multiplayer. Since only 1000 people bought the game, no one is online. My first experience, I spawned outside a camp and had to run for three minutes to the front of the base to get in. I was greeted by a bunch of enemies to only die and be spawned in the same spot. I could’ve just jumped the wall, but there is no jumping in this game unless it’s a pathetic vault maneuver that takes five seconds. You can only customize a few items as you level up, so there is no point in spending hours leveling up.
Codemasters…. I do not even know what to say. I cannot believe I wasted 60 bucks on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game in it's own right....

posted by LDG720 (OCOEE, FL) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

&I love this game for what it is, a realistic 1st person-shooter, a thinking & planning game. No run & shoot here, because if you do, you'll die. Great story-line, smart game play, if you know how to use your teammate, smooth on-line play. Well done level design & over-all graphics.

The A.I has improved on both sides, & the enemy A.I. moves a bit quicker this time around, taking up key positions & flanking smartly.

My only complaint is to much talking from the SSG, outside of that, all is well.

This game is not trying to be COD, MWF, BF or GR...and it does itself well refreshing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True military shooter

posted by WWXSpartan (LIVONIA, MI) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This series of games has always been focused on realism. This game continues that and enhances many aspects of it. I have always said that these games are not for people who play bad games like call of duty. This is especially true of Red River. That is a good thing though, making this a very hardcore shooter. When an A-10 flies over you know it's an A-10 from the sound of the engines, when a cobra flies over you know its a cobra from the sound of the engines. The weapon sounds are dead on to real life and so is the weapon handling. This is the best game of the flashpoint series to date and I look forward to more flashpoint games in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse