Rent Operation Flashpoint: Red River for PS3
view large frontback

Operation Flashpoint: Red River

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.9

1470 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard, yet rewarding

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

34 out of 36 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

When it comes to any Shooting game, ANY shooting game, the Sniper Rifle is my best friend, my man. It stays by me the whole time. So when i played CoD: Black Ops, i was bit annoyed that it was nothing but "Run forward, plant some Demo charges, get back to cover, kill some guys, watch explosion and then advance to next objective" over and over again. But then i got this, OF:RR, which was complete "Long-Range Paradise". I'll break it down.

Visuals and Audio (Graphics and Overall Sound): You can definitly say the Developers took their time with the game, no doubt. It wasn't like some other games i've played where they just throw together a few Voice Actors and patch a few Textures and Enviroments to make a level. They took their time to make the Enviroment a strategic oppurtunity at every turn.

Overall Gameplay: Let me just get this out here before i start; THIS GAME IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. Like i mentioned before, this is a Long-Range Paradise, meaning, if you like Sniping, etc. you will really like this game. Yes, there are a FEW Close-Quarters sequences, but for the most part its Assault Rifle-on-Assault Rifle or Sniper Rifle-on-Sniper Rifle.

Is it worth a buy? I don't think so, but that's because im a very decisive gamer. Meaning i don't buy a game unless i can play it over and over again, which i couldn't find in OF:RR. You might, and i think thats cool because this is a very awesome game in my opinion. Definitly worth your time.

:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Cool

posted by Gamefr3k15 (RONKONKOMA, NY) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most definetly enjoyed playing the game. as real as a game can get as far as military terms, vehicles, actions. seams almost like a simulator the marine's would use in training. plenty of unneeded cursing so watch the little one's around this game, earmuff's all day.
graphics were ok, but the constant onslaught of enemies keeps you glued.
very realistic kill shots, and very realistic story line. this could actually happen very soon. overall i give the game a 7, better graphics would have given it a 9.
i am still waiting for someone to create the best destruction of buildings and tanks etc.... to look more realistic. once someone gets this down these war games will be even more fun.

aL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by metalplayer07 (SALISBURY, MD) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bet a lot of the people who gave this game a bad rating are COD addicts. This game is not nearly as fast paced as COD, but, in my honest opinion, is MUCH more realistic to actual military operations. You must act as a team, damage does not regenerate automatically, damage is more realistic, and the banter reminds me a lot more of my days in ROTC than COD does. I really enjoyed this game and recommend it to anyone wanting a realistic military game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Operation Flashpoint Red River

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Operation Flashpoint Red River is a true realistic game about being in the Marine Corps. You have to invade Tajikistan and suppress the enemies in order to stop global war. This is more realistic than Call of Duty yet OF:RR got pretty bad reviews. I have to disagree with those people. This is what a true war simulator should be like. Not too much violence and being able to hold on to the real stuff that people do in the wars in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Operation Flashpoint: Red River

posted by Boon84 (BRANDON, FL) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a solid shooting game. I was impressed by the realism in long range combat, and close quarters combat situations. The length and difficulty of the mission was satisfactory. The graphics are up-to-pair.

I had some minor issues with the game. First was the game play. The sensitivity settings are automatically set at 5, on a range of 0 to 10. This was little slow for me. After setting it to a 6, this become too sensitive. Changing directions while aiming, I found myself getting shot. Either I could not turn fast enough, or I would turn too fast. Thus, making the crosshairs move past the enemy making it difficult to defending myself.

In combat, depending on the type of scope you have, it can be difficult to see the enemy. When using whats called a Marksmans scope, once you are zoomed in, the view is as follows. Starting from the center of the screen, the view within the scope and its crosshairs covers about 50% of the screen. Outside of the scope, one can see the rest of the scenery. This is not realistic. If you are aiming through a scope, you will only be able to see what's through the scope; not whats through the scope and whats outside of the scope at the same time, in the same view.

As realistic as it may be, I felt it was a bit boring the characters options were limited to the types of weapons they could gain. Depending on your characters position in the firing team, determines the different options you have for weapons. On other shooting games the character may start with limited options, but as you progress further you gain more options for weapons; and the ability to customize each weapon. I did not find this to be the case in this game.

Those are the only of issues I found in the game. I do not consider myself in anyway an expert on shooting games. Yet, I have played many shooting games from Contra on Nitendo to MWF: Black Ops and EVERYTHING in between on all systems. I have to say this is an overall solid shoot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Operation Flashpoint Red River

posted by Stormfyre (MARIETTA, GA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the original Flashpoint game Dragon Rising, and this game is head and shoulders better than that one. They have improved upon the game in every way. The weapons, and even the AI are vastly improved. The multiplayer is actually fun now and the missions are varied and interesting and add a degree of challenge. The controls are still a little awkward but once you get used to it..works out just fine. The graphics are even much improved although could still be better. The only negative is the annoying seargent but at least some of his stuff is funny and related to the game. I also wish you could drive the vehicles more. But overall it is a fun game and one I am adding to my PS3 Library. It is well worth a rent, or even buy if you really like shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME IS SOO SWEET

posted by soulASASSIN (PERRY HALL, MD) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game i was thinkin if i would like it but its soo realalistic i love commanding people. what the game struggles in most times r ur partners sometimes they get stuck on a barrior where u can vault but thts minior. another thing i liked was it felt real i liked the seargent yelling and stuff and how they say real words i love this game it does have issues but i like this game i think all of you might like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

only rent for fun ultra-realism

posted by mrbig97 (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This, to be completely honest with you is a wicked fun game. But the reason I didn't make it perfect is the way you, as the consumer would buy it. This game takes pride in hyper-realism, in which Call of Duty is not. You need to lead your squad around, make orders, lay rockets, and not bleed out. This game make war seem oh so very in your living room if you have a good enough TV and souund system. This game is perfect for me because I really enjoy the extreme realism, while many of you may not. This game gets 9 wounded squad-mates out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Co-op at its finest.

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The late U.S. release of Operation Flashpoint was a huge mistake on Code Masters part. The game was blasted in almost every game review and people in the states already had a misleading take on Red River. If you are one of those people, you are missing out on one of the best coop experiences to hit the shelves this year.

Red Rivers Co-op gameplay is where it really shines. The game will be much more appreciated if you have some friends on your console lists to play along with. Nothing is really breakthrough in Red River except for the customizable load-outs. A great addition to the game.

With Customizable load-outs, almost any mission can be a stealth mission and having more than one of each class on the battlefield can really turn up the fun factor. (ex.- Four Auto Riflemen in a close quarter battle is all but boring, intensity at its best!) Sometimes I feel more like a SEAL team with my friends than a Marine Squad, especially when we all have silencers on.

Graphics are average, never bothered me once. The characters in this game are really its biggest downfall. Having that Staff Sargent constantly blabbing about rules and calling every one names with a swear word added into ever syllable get really annoying fast! The funny comments get drowned out in all the jibberish.

The long rides from one engagement to another were useless to the overall game experience, they hurt more than they helped. Code masters should have never got rid of the option to get into a Vehicle, almost any kind, and play the mission your way. It may not be realistic, but we are talking video games here, C'mon!

Over all as I have said before, Rent/Buy this game with some friends, its is the only way to get a full experience from Red River. Single player is intense, but your buddy AI gets in the way most of the time and hinder your abilities to focus. Dont miss out on Red River because of lack luster reviews, it is an excellent filler until something better release. Oorah!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so Bad!!

posted by gait79 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I actuallywas very surprised after playing this game!
Initially I thought this game was going to be quite boring and not even good enough to help me get over for 1 second my No COD until Novermber blues!

Then something good happened. I stopped thinking about the reviews and acually played the game for myself!

The game plae was quite good, the maps and backdrops were amazing. I in some levels actually felt like a Marine in Iraq.

Down side is that if you don't like being in complete control of your team and their actions, you won't like it.

The lack of the option to play online against other gamers rather then just on the same team versus the AI kinda took away from the game as well!

Overall however for what the designers were trying to achieve with this game, they hit the mark! Whenever you have other gamers or friends playing with you, there are definitely times you feel like you are really in the military on a real mission!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sometimes Realism Isn't Fun

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This game is supposed to be a more realistic military shooter. In many ways it is more realistic than standard shooter fare.... However, a couple gaming elements (that are probably realistic) should have been left out.

In particular the constant profanity laced blabbering of the seargant character. The worst part being the long rides in vehicles between skirmishes (where you get to hear the seargent drone on).

I didn't play co-op (1-4 player) which I'm sure is much better than the AI. Maybe this is worth renting if you play co-op....otherwise probably a skip.

Pros
==================
1) enjoyed more realistic feel (ie. take cover and be cautious or die)
2) graphics are better than last game (still not great though)

Cons
==================
1) long jeep rides with seargant going off ad nauseum
2) have to tell each individual soldier to get back in the jeep every 10 minutes (realistic...probably not; boring for sure)
3) weapons didn't feel satisfying (like shooting BB gun)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game play

posted by tygor (HAVERHILL, FL) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked the game play of this game. The only down side is you spend most of your time riding in a helo or humve. game play is good just not long. story mode is very good story. yet agian I must say it is way two short.Liked the fact you can roam map to complete objectives. I will say that if you like f.p.s than you will like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Semper Fi

posted by WiSHKiLL (LA QUINTA, CA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

really down to earth game right here it resembles combat and the marine corps way of life flawlessly if you are interested in the corps or any military branch in general and you want a realistic shooter this is your best bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Operation Flashpoint Review

posted by battlefield1988 (BEND, OR) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I rated Operation Flashpoint at a 6 because it lacks in some categories.

The CONS: It seems glitchy, your gun takes up to much peripheral vision, and terrain/building graphics are bad at best. There is no way to spot your enemies like in BFBC2 (Battlefield Bad Company 2) and this would be very helpful as the enemies blend in very well. Also the tutorial is about 30 seconds and doesn't cover much besides shooting, reloading, and changing weapons.

The PROS: Fun to play and the commentary is very comical. Very cool way of controlling your squad and I bet it would be easy to be good even if you are first starting.

Final thought: If you were buying/renting this as a serious shooting game: examples: MAG, COD Black Ops, or Battlefield 2.... you will not have fun. If you keep in mind the comical part and just buy it to shoot stuff up and have fun it will be entertaining for awhile. Most definitely a game to RENT not BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REALLY REALISTIC

posted by Gmills32 (MIDLOTHIAN, IL) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only on Level two and i fell in love already . So many realistic things happening like real Tactical plans , limited ammo and now . . my gun just jammed !!!! I never thought it would be soo cool to have your gun jam but i just geeked when that happened to me lol . I am also loving all the rivalry between the Marines , Army , Navy , and even the Fireteams themselves with clever well thought out banter that really caters to guys like mine enjoyment . Another great part of the gameplay is the trajectory physics ; Not only did my cover deterioirate but they animated the "Bullet Drop for shooting from far distances . One bad thing is that they render ALOT , it is an open world like enviroment and theres ALOT of data to process but other than that and the fact that my soldier is nearsighted as HECK . . its a GREAT GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not easy

posted by durfeecoach1 (FALL RIVER, MA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the most realistic shooter out there. You're not chasing aliens or running up to someone to smash their face in. In this game you got a goal and you can feel the enemy out flanking you. There's guys popping out of places, the enemy re-enforces each other, no magic spawn points or preset bosses. Just your side vs them.

Pros:
Realistic
Intense
Hard

Cons:
Team sucks at helping you
Healing takes awhile
Super real which makes it real hard at spots
Long intro into missions that you can't skip

If you give this game less than a 7 it means you'll probadly never shot a real gun and should stick to killing aliens with lasers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just horrible

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 27, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The first Flashpoint was a very realistic modern shooter that was fun to play. I wasn't expecting a game that was like COD out of red river but i certainly wasn't expecting one of the hardest and worst FPS games I've played since Rogue Warrior.

The only good thing about Red River is the graphcics, still they won't blow you away.

Probably the most frustrating thing about Red River is the fact that even on the easiest difficulty which is normal, you are dead if you get shot twice. There's nothing wrong about having a realsitic game but when it's so realistic that when you get shot twice and die it will frustrate you off beyond belief.

There's no competitive multiplayer like there was in red river. There's co-op campaign and fireteam missions which are stupid.

Overall just stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OPERATION FLASHPOINT: RED RIVER

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Great concept & freeness with the language. I have to say this game was boring & too long between the uneccissary bantering of the Lt. srgt. or wutever he was on the rides to missions. The game AI talked too darn much. U being made to give orders all the time to ur team was stupid. It gave u not enough leeway to get into the action & do sum killing urself. This game should've taken its lead from Socom navy seals & call of duty more. Make sum minor tweaks & upgrades & this will certainly be a more enthusiatic & formitable game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

average

posted by thecriticalcrit (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game isnt that bad realistic warfare game play. decent graphics ,open and large maps kinda like battlefield cranked up a notch .story generic but hardcore fps or mil sim fan youll like it for a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Operation Flashpoint: Red River

posted by FRITO_63 (SEVIERVILLE, TN) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Alright, despite all the hate this game has been getting, it is a MUST for any military enthusiasts. It is all but obvious that the developers took their time in researching and developing characteristics unique to your average ticked off 19-year old devil dog Marine. Let me break this down.

You are Sgt. Kirby, fire team leader of Outlaw 2-Bravo. Your unit consists of an Auto-Rifleman, a Scout, a Rifleman (You), and a Grenadier. If utilized correctly, you can OWN the mountains of Tajikistan. You are being led by SSGT. Kirby, who gives the general smart allek remarks to questions asked by his squad members. Now the entire story is great, but i would like to have seen a little more involvement by the characters, i.e. some hints of being on deployment, talks about home, more cut scenes, etc.

Game-play: Although it feels like you are being instructed by an angry Japanese man, the controls and the command radial become second nature before the start of the 3rd mission. Controls were smooth to me, and functioned well. A.I. got glitchy in some places, but hey, its a MASSIVE map, with tons of sounds and effects unique to the mission. In the 5th mission, you go from fighting insurgents to the PLA. The game-play does really well in creating the "oh my god" factor felt in the characters' voices during the mission, due to never have engaging a true military force before. The fighting in that mission is hectic, and throughout the rest of the campaign, you are reclaiming areas you swept clean of insurgents days before. The game delivers this material very well.

Graphics: With the massive map and environmental effects, it is safe to say graphics hold back the game a little. They don't stick out, but they aren't awful either.

Overall: Welcome to Tajikistan. Get ready to get dust in your pants, and hair on your chest. Go get some Devil!! For any military enthusiasts, this game is nothing short of a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Buggy

posted by Stokes80 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Your teamates AI is horrible. They will run straight into your own humvess and die. Best way to play is with 3 other people so the computer won't be controling them. It's not a bad game it just need alot of improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by dodge46041 (KIRKLIN, IN) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Great game but would be difficult for slow reactive people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Operation Flashpoint: Red River f/ PS3

posted by tractrdave (NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

WAY WAY TOO MUCH TO READ n LISTEN TO n KEEP-UP WITH when playing...Almost like you need to take a COURSE on the game BEFORE you play it...and get an A+ !!!!!!!...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by deejaymac96 (CAMERON, NC) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I WOULD'VE KEPT THIS GAME WAY LONGER IF I DIDNT HAVE OTHER GAMES ON MY Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Flashpoint: Red River

posted by nnn_newt (CHARLOTTE, MI) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is not for most of you younger arm chair commandos out there. I served in the Marine Corps infantry from 03-07 with two combat tours. This game took me back. If played on a harder level then it is a pretty accurate simulation. You will have to pay attention to everything that is going on around you and direct your men as in real life. If you are looking for a mindless shooter with endless "trigger" time this isn't for you, stick to your COD's. Semper Fi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse