Rent Open Season for Wii
view large frontback

Open Season

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.6

192 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Short and Slow

posted by UpsetInKY (COVINGTON, KY) Dec 17, 2006

Member since May 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The title of the review about says it all. I am not the quickest person to finish games, but even I was able to finish this game in a day and a half. The characters move veryyyyyyyy slow. Even when running! The camera is just plain annoying. You constantly have to adjust it. You can't even go back into the old levels and pick up any of the items that you missed. Don't waste your time with this game. Of course, if you do it won't be much time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Movie, Bad Game!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are good but the contols are under polished and there is not much of a game. Will try Barnyard, Ice Age, Spiderman 3, Cars, and Shrek.

This one is not worth the rental. Ubisoft just wanted this for a quick buck and spent a few weeks making it instead of 6 months.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Long and Fast.

posted by PrivateRya (WALNUT, CA) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This is the first step to the next generation to the Wii.

Go rent it, then, love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect game

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I loved the game as well as the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kids didn't like it.

posted by racinmason (HESPERIA, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

My kids played this game for less than 5 minutes after getting it in the mail and opening it. My son has been playing one game for a year so its not a matter getting bored. They just didnt like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Open Season - Younger Audience

posted by Delsandi (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Really suited for the younger game players, even my 11 year old complained about the speed of the game and graphics quality. Loading between levels is pretty slow and graphics medocre at best. Cute theme and may be more appreciated by those who enjoyed the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Start The Hunt

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

Pros:
Nice visuals at 480p. Very easy to pickup and very easy linear game-play: children friendly. Easy menu interface and in-game tutorials. Respawn at the same location when you die. Other mini-games.

Cons:
Some Wii tilting levels will get you testy, but very doable after a few practice rounds. It didn't make much sense to me when the rest of the game is very simple yet it becomes moderately difficult during the Wii tilting game missions. It was extremely fast paced compared to the rest of the game (i.e. ice level, mine level). You may have to help your children pass these levels. It was just like Link's Extreme Snow Boarding in Twilight Princess. Other than that, it was starting to become repetitive.

Here is a game that makes a great example of its target market: children. Me and my younger brother completed the game in just a few hours.

Tip:
1). Use C often to center the camera.

2). It was becoming very tedious sneaking up on hunters to scare them. I found it much faster to simply run up to them and then growl. Sure, you're gonna get shot at, but with unlimited respawns who cares. However, there are 1 or 2 levels where you have no choice but to sneak up on the hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

open season

posted by sibsdino (SHIRLEY, NY) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

a fun game to play with the whole family. my 5 yr old even enjoyed the game. worth the rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fine Mess. Parts fine, parts mess.

posted by Browell (ROANOKE, VA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

Don't let the more abstract low ratings fool you-- the game isn't that bad. Controls are very standard. Slow? Hold down Z like they taught you and it won't go so slow anymore-- but they won't remind you later. Which brings me to the first and largest issue with the game: the adventure mode asks too much of younger kids, from difficulty level wildly swaying from really easy to "wow this is tough" and back.

And let's also be clear in this review that this is essentially two games: an adventure mode that doesn't take too long to beat (if it takes a day and a half, that's pretty good for a kids game); and a series of mini-games, unlocked primarily after you've beaten levels of the adventure game. The mini-games are good, more fun than the adventure game and can feature 4 players. They also skew much better for younger kids. My biggest complaint with the mini games is the fixed camera that is unusually far away.

This game is available pretty cheap from Gamestop and others ($20 or less)-- it's worth the rent and maybe even the pick up as a kids game for a household from ages 4-10 (ages 4-6 for the mini games).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »