Rent Open Season for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Open Season

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

1417 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Family Game For ANY and ALL Ages...

posted by jgoodew (MINNETONKA, MN) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I am a 23 year-old, who does not live with any young kids, but I rented Open Season for easy achievement points for a contest I am in... and I was extremely pleasantly surprised by how fun the game was. It is very simple and will not take long to beat, but it is so funny and entertaining. Everything about the game is comical, even to me. The way you throw your friend Elliott against objects, or the way a bunny attacks the hunters' faces... it is all hilarious.

A 7-year old would get a lot more playing time out of this game, but I think anyone with a sense of humor will enjoy it a lot--even if for only a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Extremly easy and entertaining.

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played my share of video games. This one is extremly easy and entertaining as well. I have played some of the most horrible kids games and have come to expect that most of them will be garbage. This one was very good. If you liked Shrek the Third game you will enjoy this. 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game FLy Rental only

posted by AL13NAL13N (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easy 1000/1000. Beat in 2 days. Nice for kids to play. Unlimited lives and can repeat levels. Do not buy not worth $.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better Then Expected (xbox 360)

posted by brookhaven (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was not expecting much out of Open Season but it turned out to be a decent platformer.

Storyline: I have not seen the movie so I don't know how well the game stuck to the plot. Don't expected much here, it is a kids movie after all, it's the typical finding your way home story that has been employed many of these digitly animated movies in the past.

Gameplay: Gameplay shines with missions that offer variety from racing to fetch quests. I loved that the game was broken into different mission types because anyone of them could have gotten tiresome on their own but collectively formed something enjoyable.

Controls: Controls worked well enough with the exception of the targeting system which could have benefited from an auto lock. Most the time I missed the target completely or came up short.

Graphics: The graphics were top notch for a throw away movie-related game, compared to others I've played. (Eragon, TMNT, FF:ROTSS, etc).

Sound: Character dialog was funny at first but boy did it quickly get annoying. Also the game did not have the same voice actors from the movie. In game music was worse, 30sec looped clips of terrible pop rock bands every now and again, read: use custom soundtracks.

Overall: 6.5

Like I said it was better then expected and held my attention throughout the game (I played straight in one night). Plus it's an easy 1000 gs for those wanting to add to their gamerscore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Enjoyable and Easy Achiv's

posted by blacklabel (FLORENCE, KY) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this for the easy achiv. however it is a very enjoyable game. If you have kids, its worth the rent, the controls are easy and very kid friendly and funny for the kids. Good game. If your in for the achi. you can get them all in about a few hours, the only level that has any difficulty is the snow blitz level. Took me about 4-5 trys.. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Achivements

posted by Matti861 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Perfect game to get an easy 1,000 gamerpoints. Other than than that its ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute and funny, fun for parents.

posted by Soulja (BALLWIN, MO) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My sister in law was surprised PETA allowed this game to even come out, as your character can and will get shot at by hunters. No fear though, as you can shoot back by throwing your moose partner, rabbits, skunks, and a variety of other animals at the hunters. Bored, pick up the hunter and throw him over the cliff.

This is everything you would expect from a kids game, linear with plenty of hints, cute characters with little backstory, and entertainment value. The mini games aren't the best, but they do entertain. Even the mini games in the story, like shaking the bear's butt to get the porcupine off, are cute and fun. I bought this game from Gamespot in a 3 game package just to have on hand for a visit from my nephew. However, when it was time for lunch my sister in law an I were glued to the couch laughing hysterically at the cute little things in the game and unable to leave the game. It is a blast and not a bad way to boost your gamerscore either.

Cons: just like Cars you have to figure out the camera angles a little bit in order to really be successful in the game.

Pros: fun and addicting even for adults. I also enjoyed the idea of earning points to improve the character's attributes. It is like a baby step to RPG games where you have some freedom to build up your character's abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Achivements

posted by Its4me2n0 (SANTEE, CA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for the achivements it was realy easy and i plowed threw the hole game in 6 hours. If you have kids or want an easy 1000 gamer points its worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty fun for a kids game.

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I originally rented this game for the easy Achievement points. I ended up enjoying my time playing it (unlike King Kong which was a drag to get through).

The game camera is probably the most annoying thing about this game. You are constantly trying to reset it and if you dont you will probably fall of a ledge and just waste more time getting through this game.

It was pretty fun throwing bunnies, skunks, and squirrels around and all the funny (and by the end tiresome) noises they made.

The graphics are not that bad. It has a little replay ability due to the unlockable minigames. But the replay value is geared mostly towards kids.

This game is probably the best children's geared/themed game for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Xbox 360 Review

posted by jerome2479 (ADDISON, ME) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was very in depth and quite easy to manuever through. Levels very simple and achievements for the most part were even simpler. Most stages require less than a few minutes to complete, but others were not more than 20 minutes long. Interactions with characters and animals quite amusing.
Game can be 100 percent completed in less than 20 hours, each stage you complete with all items found gives 20 points worth of achievements, per stage.
Overall game was very fun to play with its own challenges in mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for all

posted by Shiftythes (PLANT CITY, FL) Jul 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

open season is a very good game for the whole family it is a good way to get you gmr score up to this is one i let my 5yld cus play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by zyxwvuts (MEMPHIS, NY) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think dis is a good game. its a fun n funny game. Its actually easy ta get tha 1000 gamer points. so its an overall good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fair game improved by good use of Achievements

posted by geophf (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a licensed game, this particular branded product comes off surprisingly well. First and foremost, this really can't be called a "game" ... more like a "romp" -- the gameplay (with one "gather the forces" exception) is so linear as to be on rails. It also isn't particularly challenging (once one discovers that one can replay prior to saving without penalty).

Fine by me. Sometimes a gamester needs a break from the seriousness of GRAW and Gears, and, as such, this game is one of the better "shopping list" games out there (i.e. "collect the flowers; collect the leaves; collect the ... etc"). It acquits itself well in its straight-jacket genre (as, e.g., Burger King's Sneak King does not).

An easy 1000 achievement points? Yes; but with the caveat that you don't feel cheapened for getting them (what other "easy" games have a 15-page checklist as an achievement guide?), and as for me (GT: geophf), I decided to leave the snow- and water- racing achievements behind (racing games are not to my taste) -- many other get all the achievements, as this game doesn't make the mistake of making several of them crazy-stupid hard to get.

So, a good game, worth the rent for the achievement digger; but what sets this game apart is that the achievements are well-thought out and keep one progressing through the game: a statement that is hard to say for most of the X360 games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute animated movie game

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a cute game that was ok to play with my kids. it got boring kind of quick. my kids liked it which helped to boost the rating to fair. Good family game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

had fun

posted by ownerof (ATTLEBORO, MA) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was sick of all the shooters and I got this game for the easy achievements. I was happy to find out this was a fun game for both myself and my wife.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Easy, But Also very entertaining.

posted by Lakers101 (MONETT, MO) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the easiest game that i have ever laid hands on. But then again, i Got about 35 achievements off of it as well. This game is great for a second grader, but those of us who rely on achievment points, these are the easiest ones you will ever get. The mini games are very fun and the game in general is very fun as well. You can get through this game in about 4 hours, depending if you run through the game, or explore.Very fun, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

easy acheivements

posted by stickman (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its sooooo easy to get cheivements in this game you just play the game for 2 hours yo get 500 game points. gamer tag fire of stick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy 1000 points in 3 hours or less

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fun game, very easy to beat, and an easy 1000 points. Not at easy as Avatar, but as fun and as easy as Surfs Up. Believe it or not I downloaded the 15 page walk through cause I was having problems finding the mushroom badges, but as fast as the instructions were read to me, I was doing them. TOO EASY !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Quite Enough...

posted by Matt6288 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game in general is extremely easy. There is no way of making it harder than face value, and for most of the levels you can do everything the first time through. There are only a few that actually give a rough run for the player. For those few levels, I still was able to beat them in their entirety after the second or third run.

Now don't think that I am applauding these few levels. In fact I am doing quite the opposite. These levels were only a pain to do. The coding behind the idea of getting every point in a level was horrible off. Especially two levels in particular. The Snowball level and the Raging River level were levels that if you didn't do them perfectly, you didn't get every point. In fact, the Raging River level requires you to die to start from the beginning to travel other possible routes to gather more points (don't worry dieing does not make you lose any points you've already gained).

As for the Snowball level, you must jump from high ground to high ground, and while you are actually on the ground you gather 5 points per weird set amount of time. This time could range from every second to every fourth of a second. It varies so much that if not done perfectly, you would have to die and redo the section to see if there were any more points on that particular high ground area to milk out still.

The rest of the game was a breeze through. The whole idea of sneaking up on the hunters in the game was just for show. You could actually just run straight up on them and scare them before they even fired their weapon, which was the whole purpose of trying to sneak up to them.

The game was about 3 to 4 hours tops if you include the hiccups of those 2 levels. Its just too short, but I guess for a good reason. If there was a harder difficulty, maybe the game would be a slight bit better to run through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Achievements Ahead

posted by PvtRyan (ORANGE, CA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what you'd expect. A poor control reaction (not as if it needs any fast action) and graphically acceptable looks.

I only rented this game because the achievements were so simple to get. Yes, that is the only thing this game is good for.

And the little ones ofcourse...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by XBOXFAN (BURBANK, CA) Oct 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I mainly got his game for the easy achievement points, but after playing the first few levels i fell in love with the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

HEY KIDDIES...!!!

posted by novillage (COLUMBIA, PA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great game for young kids. Thanks Ubisoft. This game is fun, light-hearted, and humorous. However, if you're looking for a challenge, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hard

posted by rambo5 (gouldsboro, PA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this games campaign was way too hard. even though it is ages 10 and up, boy that was hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game that is very short. Kids did enjoy.

posted by munkyxtc (READING, PA) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is ok at best. Gameplay is very linear and the challenges aren't very difficult even for the youngest game player. I picked up the control and played for a few minutes before becoming bored; however, it did manage to keep the attention of an 8 year old for quite some time. Graphics are good, but the audio is limited. During extended play I had to mute the TV to avoid hearing the same audio tracks over and over. Obviously not for the hardcore gamer but if you are looking to pick something up for the kids I'd recommend it for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simple, maybe a little too simple

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

The game has some decent graphics but the gameplay is really simple. You can pick it up and in less then 2 minutes know how to play it. It will be a good game for children, which is who it is intended for, but older, above the age of 10 I would not suggest it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse