Rent Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers for Wii
view large frontback

Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

413 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

With a little stank on it...

posted by jackzodiak (APO, AP) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lock-on helps with the masses, as does practice, but this game is definitely worth a go. I'm a veteran gamer who has beaten all the Wii "biggies" (Zelda, Metroid, Mario, Evil, etc.). I mainly 360 as my Wii gathers dust; my snobbery for excellence in design gives sub-par games little chance, so, with Onechanbara, finally the Wii has something decent for the hardcore to get off the couch for!

It's got waggle, swagger, movement, and time: mix with some funky beats, some zombie treats, and some costumed beauties bringing the heat, and you've got Bikini Slayers.

The controls are simple, intuitive, and near- 1 to 1, even without MotionPlus. Moving both the nunchuck and Wiimote, or either alone, will net you some kind of movement to bring the pain. It's much more interesting than Wii boxing, and loads more satisfying than most anything the Wii's got.

Slashing up Zombies with either of your starting characters is easy for beginners. Vets will pick up on the nuances faster &, after a short learning curve, both will soon be more precise, thereby leading to combos, thereby leading to layer upon layer, depending on your level, of attacks and animations as the ladies slice and dice their way through the horde. The more you kill, the more experience you can spend upgrading 4 stats: animations/attacks, health (vitality), attack power, attack range.

The soundtrack is super funk, much akin to SSX Tricky on Gamecube (Run-DMC); I found myself on my feet, movin' to the beat, slashin' my way with the ladies as they left a swath of destruction in their wake; but then again, I'm down with the old skool beats from the East. If you're looking for death metal or any other kind of music, this game won't satiate that thirst: you'll have to look elsewhere.

Hey Wii owners tired of Wii-Nap and Wii-Bean Counting, BUY Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers and help the ladies rid Tokyo of the scourge. Nothing says sexy more than bikini-girls covered in zombie goo. Bring it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sad...

posted by Memdoch (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So I'm a bit of a perv, and I guess that's why you're contemplating a rental of what in theory could have been the best game ever made... if the title payed out.
Yes, you kill zombies. Yes, you get to play characters that fit into various Japanese fetish modules, and yes that apparently doesn't make a great game.
I'm just as shocked as you are. It's like someone somehow messed up a S'more. The chocolate (game play) was stale. The marshmallow (the girls) was burnt. And the graham (poor controls) was incapable of keeping the thing together.
I know everyone wants there to be a quality adult themed game to hit the market, and we all wait and cross our fingers while occasionally getting stuff like the Leisure Suit Larry series or Rumble Roses... umm... I really can't think of anything else.
So if you want something that's perversely erotic, you already have an internet connection, and I'm sure you'll have no problem finding it. If you want a good zombie killing game, you also have a gamefly membership and can get Overkill.
If you want a good bit of juvenile sexy eye candy in a quality video game, we're all screwed until the esrb becomes as permissive about sexuality as they are about violence.
What a world we live in. In San Andreas it took consensual "relations" with a girlfriend to make people freak out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

'Snakes on a Plane' of Wii games

posted by qwerty76 (BRONX, NY) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is the ultimate in hype let down. I was totally psyched about this solely on the title alone.

I mean, HOW CAN YOU MESS UP BIKINI GIRLS KILLING ZOMBIES???

This game will show you how.

I don't know what kind of games some of these other reviewers are used to, but this was pure garbage bags. Plain and simple.

Played this for about two and half minutes before I mailed this right back.

Graphics were poor, controls were irrelevant to the gameplay, and most important of all — Game is not fun.

Don't play this game unless you are SEVERELY, SEVERELY sexually frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can I Please Have My Sword Back?

posted by laosword (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game. I loved the idea of my character running around in a bikini and a cowboy hat - and it was fun for the first five minutes.

The controls are tough to get used to, you can slash your sword around freely if you get a hang of it, but you'll use the targeting button a lot.

Once I started getting my sword stuck in the zombies, the game started going downhill fast. I would get stuck in one area, throwing projectile after projectile, scared to slash because every other slash would get stuck in the zombie, and I'd have to yank it out while the zombies patiently waited around to kill me (I was playing on easy mode).

Then the nunchuck freaked out, and my character got stuck running backward constantly. I thought my character had gone in to some kind of freak out mode and couldn't find until she recharged her courage.

Maybe if I was better at this genre of games, I'd have enjoyed, but the learning curve of this game was way too horrific and it was one of the least fun experiences I've had on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't let others deceive you

posted by rpger19 (ARLINGTON, WA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is actually really fun! And, it doesn't rely nearly as much on the fan-service as the 360 version. The combat never gets old, and you can get a serious workout from this game. It's also a plus that we're not really getting a 'localization' so to speak, but a 'translation'. Just to explain, if you don't like Japanese Voice acting, stay away from this game. It has, I repeat, has ZERO English dubbing. Instead of dubbing the game, they just retained the original VA's, and made official subtitles. Why more games won't do this is beyond me. If it both had English dub, and Japanese VA options, then I wouldn't care either, as long as I got translated subtitles rather than localized ones. Anyways, back to the game. On top of the combat which is actually integrated quite well with the Wiimote and nunchuck, you have a level up system, where your currently played character gets 3 skill points to put towards four different attributes. I have not played it far enough to know exactly how these work.
All in all, this is a game that will probably get underrated because the 360 version gives it a bad name. It's no longer a 'button masher', because you use the wiimote and chuck to do battle. The buttons are used, but the majority of them are not for actual fighting moves. This game is what convinced me finally that the Wii had hope, and I didn't waste 250+ dollars on it for the third time! Also, it convinced me that I seriously need to get a component cable. Composite cables just don't do games justice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lol

posted by DJTomEGun (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For mindless fun, rent "Bikini Zombie Slayers"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Let's get one thing out the way right off the bat: Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers was made for one group of people in mind.
That group is guys who love to see beautiful women in skimpy outfits.
So what are these lovely ladies doing? They're beating up a bunch of zombies or engaging in boss fights with another lass in a skimpy outfit.
But I believe it takes more than ogling at women or mindless violence to get me to buy a game.
Yes, there are problems with Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers. First off, the camera wanders about too much and off screen enemies hit me with too many cheap shots.
Then, the Wiimote motion controls are sluggish and clunky as to encourage mindless arm flailing.
Then, there's the lack of depth; there are only eight stages in the story part of the game, so the game makers make you go through it with different characters. Each run goes about two hours.
There are a few differences between each of the four women available, but that didn't quench my thirst for more levels.
Besides, the story is about some strange blood is completely disposable. (As if anyone is going to pay attention to that.)
The other modes don't help much either; all you do is beat up zombies either by yourself or with a friend.
Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers will satisfy some players needs - it is just not quite enough to meet my expectations. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ALMOST.....

posted by reumax (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this could have been a nine but the frustrating camera angles and repetitive gameplay dropped it down a couple. funny thing is i bought this game for my Wii just because it's so much fun. Not as fun on the xbox thus the overall low ratings. But for less than 15 bucks a Wii must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it :)

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

ok, so the title does bring the guys to play. Being a guy, yes, I had to atleast try it, even with the bad reviews people give. I have to say though, I did enjoy playing this one. It isn't a perfect game, but it is fun to play. I enjoyed the controls and killing zombies is always fun. I can't say everyone will agree with me, but it is worth atleast renting to try. I will probably end up buying this one at some point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost Okay....

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

I went into this game not expecting much due to the reviews I'd read, but I thought I'd give it a try anyway. With a name like that, how can you expect much more than just some silly fun, right?

And it does start off being such. The controls aren't great: generally you just flail around a lot. There can be something satisfying in that, though, if it means that you're at least doing in a bunch of zombies (especially after you've had a long day). That is fun...for a while. Then you get to a point where your sword starts getting stuck in the undead! Rotate the controller back and forth a little and you can get it out, but then you'll get it stuck in the next one and the next one...and then you send it back to Gamefly in hopes of getting a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad graphics

posted by flyguy420 (ALPHARETTA, GA) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

several spots freeze on this dumb game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mudman Combo

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

Play it and you'll know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bikini girls matter

posted by Gratch12 (DOUGLASS, TX) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

If you're looking for an intelligent, in depth game then this is NOT the game for you. Fortunately, most of the people who try it out aren't likely to care. Let's be honest, this game is all about the girls and not much else, but there is something to be said for it. The game is easy, short and simple. See a zombie horde, hack it to pieces, rinse and repeat. And repeat. And repeat. But that's what's fun about it. It may be different on the 360, but slashing through endless waves of the undead with the wiimote never gets old, which is refreshingly odd since the same four levels are repeated for each character. By playing the two main characters you unlock two others, so while you're stuck with the same levels for all the characters, you get 4 different story arcs, which while sparse, provides plenty of zombies to hack through, and that's why you're playing, to see scantily clad women rip through waves of the undead, not the story, so why care? That said, you can unlock 3 alternate costumes for each girl, and view mode is really quite fun, because if you play this game you can't lie and say you don't care about it, because you do. So if you just want a simple hack and slash with pretty girls to goggle at, try it out. Maybe you won't like the game play, but who cares?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Worst Game Ever On Wii

posted by Matthew31 (DES MOINES, IA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

This game is the worst game ever on Wii.What were they thinking about.
Did they think we can understand the subtitle on the bottom of the screen.But the slashing zombies was fun.Make sure you are american to make a perfect zombie slasher game but not like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Will make you feel like an athlete!!!!

posted by ninjikiran (BRONX, NY) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

For all the wrong reasons. The game itself is your basic budget title fair, its hack and slash with lots of blood and a chick in a bikini.(theres other characters of course but they don't initially wear bikini's)

If you set your expectations real low, and just enjoy the mindless beat-em up style of the game than you will have a blast. The 360 version of this game was tons of fun after you shut off your brain. Graphics are not great but to be honest graphics never stopped me from playing a game before.

There isn't much else to say about the game, you kill things in one way and that is all. This version has more refined content and gameplay than the 360 version being this is a sequel to it, but at the same time gameplay suffers for one reason. Instead of pressing a button over and over again your left shaking your wiimote and nunchuck for the entire game. It is really crazy and sort of a game breaker, the game makes you work too hard for the type of game it is.

Bottom Line is if you own a 360 play that one, if you only own a wii then prepare waggle like you have NEVER waggled before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ehh...

posted by MrCaleb (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I'm a big fan of zombie Games, and pretty easy to please, but this game was just Bad! it was ok for like one level until I realized that it wasn't really going to get any better. Just to be fair, I kept playing just to see if it was going to get anybetter, but it didn't.
I would recommend passing this title up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Missed The Mark

posted by ZoneOut (WILLOW GROVE, PA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game sounded like it might good, but it really missed the mark. If your looking to a RE4 type of game this is not it. The best way to describe it is that it reminds me of the old Smash TV game for SNES. You go in a room, kill all the guys(zombies), and then go to the next one.

The controls are hard to figure out for all the different moves. The basic control if just waving the remove and nunchuck up and down repeatedly. After and hour you can not even feel you arms.

This is one game not to play. The idea is there, but they give you a 90's style play and controls for a wild man to use. The only good thing is that it gives you a training mode to learn the controls, but they do not even tell you what controls do what moves.

Save yourself the hassle and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

just what the wii needs.

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The reason why? cuz any young adult male has been wanting a game where the wii remote is a sword. i must of spent at least 3 hours on this game today. it doesnt get old with slashing zombies.

bad things: not worth buying. just rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hot girl slashing through waves of zombies...

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

... with a katana. Hard to go wrong with that formula.

Very fast paced, visceral (pun intended) game play. Has some character-building/item aspects and combo moves to keep it from being a pure button masher, which prevents it from getting repetitive.

The only reason I haven't Kept It yet is because I want to see if I should get this or the X360 version (or both).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok fun but no depth

posted by fraskew (MATTHEWS, NC) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

no depth at all to this game. zombies literally stand around and wait for you to give them the business. some actually walk up to your character and stand there until you whack them. fun game, to a point, and yes, the cheesecake is nice, but it gets old, and there's just nothing else to carry the game along. locations are the same for each storyline, so you see the same cityscape or mountain path over and over. story is mostly incomprehensible, so you skip that after the first story screen. not a big variety of enemies, you'll see the same do-nothing zombies over and over. "oh look, it's another zombie with a lead pipe!" very little replay value. grows stale very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its a very good game. Its also a bit challenging.

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Its a very good game. Its also a bit challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too frantic

posted by rgburch (O FALLON, IL) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

I really had high hopes for this game. The graphics look good (reinforces that it is possible on the Wii) and the storyline is interesting. Unfortunately the control scheme is too complex and frantic. Some moves such as the hand thrust to kill mudmen is practically impossible. Example on the 3rd, 6th or 9th move of a sword combo hit a button combo. When you are flailing at a dozen zombies, who can count special sword moves. I almost hyperextended my elbow in some of the big fight zones. There has to be better way to do this game. Resident Evil 4 Wii had an intuitive and great control scheme. What a lost opportunity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

About as good as could be expected. . .

posted by rusgoodman (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I'm a fan of horror-oriented games so slicing up a bunch of zombies as a hot anime-looking chick sounds like a nice bit of harmless fun.

First off I do want to say that the name is a little misleading since not all of the characters wear bikinis. There is a middle school-aged character and only one of the 4 characters is well-endowed by my standards. You'd think earning the extra costumes in the game would be a nice kicker. However, every extra costume earned in the game doesn't actually add much variety to the look of a character. Kind of disappointing really. Cause it makes you feel like you've accomplished nothing.

The storyline is based on these sisters that share a characteristic of what is known as 'baneful blood' so they are driven to kill all that is in their path. It's in the blood. Perhaps it's a bit weak on plot but it's all I need to get started chopping the living dead to bits. But trust me when I say the storyline really goes no deeper than that.

Game-play isn't bad if only perhaps quite a bit 'waggle'-heavy. Watching the way these awesome moves tear these zombies apart is actually pretty satisfying and the blood-splattering-the- monitor effect is a welcome touch.

There are 8 levels which are basically the same for every character and not much variety there. So I'm sure this game is the type that is enjoyable but gets old fast. The game is totally easy and poses no challenge no matter what your gaming level. Like seriously, it's one of easiest games I've played in a while.

Onechanbara is a very simple game which probably didn't take a whole lot of manpower to develop. If the title sounds intriguing to you, than it would be worth a look-see. It delivers what it promises well enough.

Here's to hoping that the 5th hidden costumes I have yet to unlock are the characters wearing nothing. That would up my rating to a 7 for this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GORY SEXY FAST PACED SLICE N DICE FOR WII

posted by atarit (SUFFOLK, VA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

THIS EXTREMELY GORY FAST PACED GAME IS NOT FOR KIDS FIRST THE BODY COUNT PER LEVEL IS UNLIMITED BECAUSE , EVERY TIME YOU GO INTO ONE AREA AND COME OUT THE ZOMBIES COME BACK. NEXT EVETY THING THAT MOVES WILL BE SLCED IN HALF WITH EXTREMELY BLOODY RESULTS. NOW ANYONE WHO ARE FANS OF THE GENRE WILL BE HAPPY TO KNOW THE WII VERSION WASN'T SCRAPPED. IT'S MAIN MECHAINIC WORKS WELL. NEXT THIS GAME IS VERY FRENZIED GROUPS OF 50 COME AT YOU AT A TIME. MY ONE COMPLAINT IS WAY TO EASY. OTHER THAN THAT THIS A SOLID WII TITLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its..ok

posted by hocky98 (MILPITAS, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since May 2007

You must be on something to give this game a 8.

This game is about as good as you see it on the cover. I'm not sure what all the upgrading of the stats or leveling up does anyway. Every level, same action. Up down up down with one sword or press C and get double sword.

This game would of been better with more girls in different bikinis. As I see it Aya is the only one worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »