Rent One Piece Unlimited Adventure for Wii
view large frontback

One Piece Unlimited Adventure

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.6

537 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Actually worth trying

posted by rubyonyx (PUEBLO, CO) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was too complicated at first and I hated how you can't just have all your attacks at first, but then I got pretty far and realized that it was actually a cool game. Eventually my uncle got hooked( because he is obsessed with Nico Robin and loves her cursed fruit power.) We have played previous One Piece games before, but so far this is one of the of the best. Compared to the other games this is much better because it actually has an RPG like story mode. The previous One Piece games only had random characters to fight or just a ship and you fight a bunch of people. In this game you actually get to walk around an island and discover things, and unlock characters by fighting enemies and walking around. Plus a real thing that is actually kinda cool is that it isn't the 4KIDZ dub.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good.

posted by catsamurai (GROVES, TX) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of the manga series and this game pulls from it very well.

The attacks of the bosses are very inventive, the graphics are great, the enemies grow more challenging as the player's power grows, and the voice acting is perfect. The whole Funimation cast does a wonderful job. The man who voices Franky is reprising the role for the Funi dub.

The collectables and costume swaps are fun to look for and see.

I would recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the series and good action games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome, but bad vs. mode

posted by enjarin (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

the adventure mode was great! what made it fun is that to BEAT the game, you have to : get all the fish, creat all food, make every item, catch all bugs and beat all optional bosses! the bad part was the vs. mode was lame... it totally lacks the word "teamwork" and you ALWAYS know who's gonna win depending on the character choices but overall, it was a good game. PS. IF YOU ARE IN A BOSS FIGHT AND HALF OFF YOUR CHARACTERS DIE, BE CHOPPER AND EAT A RUMBLE BALL THEN DIE. JUST SEE THE RESULT...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One Piece Meets 3-D Acceptably

posted by Lordjon (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't quite as good as I expected to be but it wasn't half bad either. I actually hate to say it but I enjoyed story mode more then versus mode, it's confusing at first to find the various Orb Spots in the game. Versus mode lacked in the sense that it forces you to use "teams" and you always have to have at least 2 characters in a team since the only two options are 8 and 15 points. Each character has a specific value assigned to them. Examples? Luffy 5 Nami 3 Chopper 3 Sanji 4 Zoro 4 Smoker 4(You have to beat him in story mode to unlock him, the same applies for all REAL characters from One Piece.) You get alot of lame characters like the ones you face at the beginning of the game(Level 1 scrubnubs)aka lv 1 Navy men who take about 2 to 3 hits to kill. Your first three unlocks will probably be Navy Man 1 Navy Man 2 and Navy Bazooka Man(Bazooka man being the most worthless since he fires so slowly that he can't hit anything.) Sanji is the fastest and has speed "hax" so to speak, Zoro has very long range while Luff is Medium Ranged and Nami is an Aerial player with mostly Cloud/Lightning attacks. The Cut scenes are very nice and the story is actually kinda good, it kept me interested despite the long times it took finding the right items to mix together at base camp.(Which you will do during every level to unlock the next.)I got stuck on the 3rd or 4th stage and felt like renting something else but this game in my opinion is really worth the buy not just the rental.(That is of course if you can spend a few days on Story Mode before inviting your friends over for some One Piece vs...or if you don't already have One Piece Grand Battle for the Ps2/GC) Grand Battle is more fun because it doesn't focus on just mashing the A button and waving the Wiimote frantically. This game really should've just used the gamecube controller or at least added support for it. I don't have any major gripes other then the misleading fact of "Over 40 characters". mostly sucky 1s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by Rico70 (GRAPELAND, TX) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of One Piece. I personally think it's the greatest anime of all time. I've also played every (American) One Piece game. And out of all the One Piece games I've played, I say One Piece: Unlimited Adventure is the best one yet.

First of all it's dubbed by Funimation (which is WAY better than 4kids). It has a lot a different playable characters like Franky, Lucci, Kaku, Aokiji, Shanks, and Whitebeard. The graphics are decent and the game play is pretty good.

Although I wish the story line was about the normal series story line and not just a made up one. The game would've been better if it could play wi-fi.

Other than that this an awesome game. It's definitely a game worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Unlimited, But Definitely An Adventure

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Dec 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, I totally love this game. Costumes are great, landscapes are great, characters are great, humor is great. There is only one problem: the length. It normally wouldn't be too long, except for the fact that if you die, you have to start whatever you were doing all over. Other than that, it's an amazing game. By the way, if you've read my Super Mario Galaxy review, add another game to that list. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is another of my all time favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!

posted by kevso1 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I think that this game is preety awesome what i dont like is the crews cloths i mean they're not even in the tv series but beside that i give this game 10 its got some simple but fun fighting special moves awesome bosses the bosses are like really hard though i think its awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Much Here...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This is my first "One Piece" title and I felt a little dissapointed because I was hoping to get into the series. The graphics are ok and there are so many "invisible walls" that it gets annoying. It also gets boring because there is not much here; the fighting is compentent but there is not much to collect and you cant use the items you collect. Even if you are a fan I would say "not worth renting"; I would wait for Dragon Quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been alot more than it was

posted by JoshRyche (CARBONDALE, IL) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

The game really wasn't to bad aside from he empty feeling world and somewhat poor colison detection.

Combat was good nothing to special fun but simple, I like the on the fly character swapping and the Vrs mode was good fighting but what got me was the overall production of the game feeling empty.

Take for example One piece Grand adventure that game was great there where items everywhere and stuff the world changed with the battle but this had none of that you fight 1 on 1 on an empty beach with lack luster background.

I would say if your not a fan of One piece just skip it but for the fans I give it a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An overall good Game!

posted by Candisos (CRESTWOOD, IL) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

For those who love One piece sub and dub! This should be a game that you will like, the characters have technique that mimic them perfectly and they games goes perfectly with the storyline. The flash-backs i kind of found a bit annoying. And I enjoyed finding Pandaman in places. There was one Flaw i saw and it was using Chopper's monster form, after you used it, he would just stand there and you have no choice but to restart the game from your save point. I also thought that if you died fighting a boss or whatever, you go back to when you saved. So save before you go to a boss. I like how they make you work for fighting a boss. Getting materials or ingredients and making you work. But overall it was a fun game with an awesome ending. For those who love One piece, get this game and you'll ended up smiling at the end!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my style

posted by rossta (DAVIS, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This game looks like it would be a lot of fun for 8-13 year olds. For me it was just a little to "crazy". Not wild and energetic, but more like the character you play has ADHD and finds everything way too interesting without much investigation.

The game just put me off right away. But for more information read on for a bit.

I felt that the controls were good, but the fighting was way too easy. Combat attacks were clear and easy to understand (you are prompted to push A repeatedly and swing the wiimote as you go), but they just weren't exciting.

The storyline was pretty bad. A bunch of teenagers somehow managed to manage a beautiful pirate ship, enough said? Yeah, hard to believe.

The rating on this game throws me off. I think the age of those who rate games should be listed here along with average ratings for the group.

Anyway, not a game for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »