Rent Omerta: City of Gangsters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Omerta: City of Gangsters

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
4.0

606 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Niche title - not for shooter heads

posted by TISHIE (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

If you are not a fan of haemimont games and think that the gaming world revolves around FPS then you will not enjoy this game. Omertà is about constant strategy not action. Haemimont hasn't changed the look of its games in years and this is refreshing. We see what happens to franchises when the developer tries to appease the masses (think: res evil 6). This game slows down some for me when I have the combat missions. But if you focus on the 80% that is simbuilding beauty, strategy, haemimont silliness, then you have a quality game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Actual strategy game

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 17, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This is an actual strategy game, this isn't the nonsense EA has been pawning off. There is no build a defense mine something for ten minutes then send a swarm of whatever to the enemy base.

This game is set in prohibition Atlanta, where you are a recent immigrant from Sicily. Yes the place where mafia was born, while you don't seem to be mafia you sure do act like it. So let's move on to the actual game.

As I said above this isn't action, this is plod your way along with plenty of what do you want to do to do this options. Graphically speaking, this isn't that good, the different characters in the game are a voice and a picture of people from then. Sets the scene well so I'm happy with it.

Combat is turn based, so if you want fast, don't go here. There is no cover action, you move to a spot you can take cover you do, however doing so may not help much. There are options to ignore cover when shooting, the bad guys will do it just as often as you will.

The control on the battle sections isn't the greatest, but it works. You pick a place to move and press the button twice to move. After moving if you have an attack you can attack. Overall a little simple but it works for what it's supposed to do.

Great game overall with a couple problems. Mostly on Xbox, if you do not have an HDTV don't get the game. It does not really adjust the screen for not having one so the text is very small. No option to adjust as well. Also, once you get a good way in to the game, this is on PC so may not apply but probably does, you run into a what the heck situation. On the PC you are to get documents out of a warehouse, so there are 3 guys to take out and then you can run up and get the document. On the way out 6 guys appear out of nowhere. A classic case of the designers cutting corners. They decide to make this harder but not in a way that is applicable to the era or common sense.

Good game, definite renter but not a buy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun conquering Atlantic City

posted by tripint (CARNATION, WA) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm currently a big fan of the Boardwalk Empire so I was looking forward to this gangster sim. Although, there is no affiliation with the series you're playing in actual landmarks in Atlanta City during the prohibition era. The controls have been simplified for the console, which I like. You can quickly set up jobs for your henchmen like extort, bribe, etc in real-time. The downside is that you have to wait for them to perform those duties, which seems like a drag when you're first starting out with only one henchman. I think a fast forward function would have been a nice addition early on, but if you're playing a sim game I think wait times are expected. The fun starts when you begin to build your empire and send in your goons to go in for kills. There's nothing like setting your guys around the perimeter with tommy guns while you walk in with a bat to beat faces in. :) I'm still building my empire so I'm not sure what it'll be like when I conquer the city, but I'm having fun doing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by Shiner (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was actually really excited about the thought of a decent management-style Mafia themed game. Sadly, this game didn't do much to scratch that itch.

It started off promising, but I realized very quickly that things were way too simple. I played the storyline and was flying through it. I decided to play on my own, outside the storyline, and there was nothing to it. You buy a bunch of buildings to produce, buy a bunch of other buildings to sell what you produce, and buy a couple other buildings for cash on the side....

The real problem is that you never really have much money going out. It's impossible to go bankrupt or fail, basically. There's no challenge to the game whatsoever, and it all happens way too fast. So... I mastered and completed the entire game in an hour.... great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2 Thumbs Down

posted by Kaimakai (NORTH EAST, PA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I was expecting much more from this game, especially with the hype it got. Spelling and grammatical errors abound in the game dialogue, the graphics are sub par, the combat isn't even comparable to X-com:enemy unknown, which they say it is. It's just bad in general and feels very rushed, I realize games can be fixed with patches these days, but this game would need a complete overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Honestly really fun Sims style

posted by yoitssps (MIAMI, FL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like the game you get to do lots of fun illegal activities and there are more options in create a character than I realized

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Feb 28, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From all of the scores I was expecting to just be almost grossed out by how bad this game would be. It is fun, for a while. The combat system is lame but making money and buying buisnesses is very addictive. This game is not worth $60 though. In fact, they probably could have put it on xbla instead of a disc release. Again, the combat system is very annoying. It is like a board game that you have to take turns moving and can be so frustrating. I wish they would have taken that out and replaced it with something else. I'll say it this way, if you are looking for something different than anything out there right now then give this a chance. FYI Play the demo online and you will know if you will like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's games like this

posted by Tias44 (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I am so thankful I have gamefly and did not buy this POS. I am one of those fans that enjoy XCOM, so please keep the verbal abuse to a minimum. This game just looked thrown together in a few minutes. Anyone else notice the huge amount of spelling errors? I recall reading one where the character says (reads) "If you can thrust me I can trust you"...

Yea.. But to be honest I did not know Kalypso was associated with this game and should have spent more time looking into the game than just reading the sweet marketing description of the game.. Kalypso has unfortunately fallen victim to my mind's word association.. When I hear Kalypso I think POS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is why Gamefly exists...

posted by Jahardo (AURORA, CO) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You will be glad you rented this game for one of two reasons:

1 - You pop it in, start to play and realize it's basically mafia wars (you know the turn based facebook game) on your console and then instantly shove it back into the return sleeve and send it back.

2 - You pop it in, like it or love it and play it and then send it back (probably won't happen though)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Omerta-junk

posted by SForce (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Spent 2 hours playing this game dont waste your time This is trash game of the 80's. Spy vs Spy in 80's was alot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great concept, terrible implimentation

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game could have been great. It has an interesting premise, and it has a pretty cool look to it. But it suffers from a really clunky control scheme, as well as an equally clunky interface. There's a cover system that's broken beyond repair, and a turn-based combat system that would make Final Fantasy one look good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SORRY

posted by Khronic_Madness (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Raggedy game not worth the rental or buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

omerta

posted by evolb (LEESBURG, VA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like sims. this did the same thing as Gangsters PC game, I think that what it was called, it sucked, had a cool SIM idea going on, but it totally sucked 10 years ago, and you just did it again, Im enraged I rented this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UUUUGGHH!!!!

posted by JonRivera (Lakeworth, FL) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Terrible game, this should be a free download on the market place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!

posted by lilgamer3223 (BALLINGER, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

all i have to say is HORRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a fan at all

posted by dan_man (BOWIE, MD) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this was more of a rts (real time strategy) and going into it i honestly should've done my hw lol and i personally did not enjoy playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An Offer Easy to Refuse..

posted by TheMG (Fullerton, CA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was slow, boring and just plain annoying from the start. Terrible gameplay and the combat sequences are just horrible.

Pick ANY other game to rent... Literally. ANY. OTHER. GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A lot worse than expected

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

We live in a wonderfully diverse world full of wonderfully diverse interests and activities. However, I do not have the intelligence or imagination to fathom what kind of person would enjoy or create this piece of software. Baffling. Befuddling. Bewildering. Boring. I did not like Tropico, but at least I could see how it might appeal to some folks. But Omerta? I am left clueless as to how to play as well as to why I would want to waste my time. Bad. Bad. Bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OMERTA

posted by H8MACHINE (GRANTS PASS, OR) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very Disapointing,would have been good 15 years ago..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible game

posted by canez0020 (PLANTATION, FL) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

please avoid renting this game at all cost

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrid

posted by Goose33 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this games wack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really even worth a rental

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Clunky interface, buggy menus, poor game play, need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Biggest Letdown Yet

posted by HoustonTexans (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This has been in my GameQ for a month, and i played this for 20 minutes and could not stand any more. Game developers should have enough knowledge of how awful something is. Thats why they hire game testers. I feel bad for anyone involved in making this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Endless fun!

posted by Jokerde (KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC) Jul 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Having played Kalypso's Tropico 3 and 4, I was very excited to hear about Omerta. Game play is a lot like Tropico so if you have some familiarity with other Kalypso games or enjoy them then you may find Omerta satisfying.

Multiplayer and Sandbox modes are available though I enjoyed sticking with the story on my first play through.

You have the option of being liked or feared or little bit of both. Your actions determine how others with treat you and the kind of profits your business will make. Steal and sell firearms or run a brewery and sell your beer out of a nightclub.

A good variety of weapons you can swap with others if you are more into sniping or hand to hand. Characters are able to level up and gain more perks you can choose.

Overall I really enjoyed the game and looking forward to more expansions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool game i heard

posted by coolandrew246 (FULTONDALE, AL) Jun 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I heard it is a cool game might rent it or buy it don't know yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse