Rent Okamiden for DS
view large frontback

Okamiden

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

645 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best!

posted by sweetjen77 (LAGO VISTA, TX) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game... I like the story line in the game, and also liked that they mixed the game up by not just having you fighting the entire time. I played through the game 3 times before returning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More of the same is fine when it's this fun!

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jun 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With consistently satisfying gamepley including an exciting battle system and fun puzzles, delightful music and visuals, and a seemingly endless supply of charm, Okamiden is a rare gem that should be enjoyable to just about anyone.

It's not perfect. As a sequel, it has some shortcoming. Okamiden mostly takes place in the same areas as its prequel; combine that with a similar moveset and soundtrack, and it's hard to shake the feeling that you're playing the same game, despite the fact that Okamiden has all-new dungeons and enemies and adds a completely new partners system to the gameplay. In addition to this, Okamiden doesn't always fare well against its prequel in a head-to-head. The first Okami included more areas and, I think, a better storyline, and feels to me to be better rounded. On the bright side, the sequel eliminates a few of the rare annoying elements such as mark-defeating sidequests, and I found the controls on the DS to be easier to use than on the Wii.

Due to these issues when comparing Okamiden to its prequel, this may be a case where you can get the most enjoyment out of it if you have not already played the first Okami - though if you did that you'd have some catching up to do regarding some of the plot elements. I have played Okami and I still wasn't remembering everything the sequel references.

Even though my biggest complaint is that this game is more of the same, the game's ending leaves the door wide open for more - and that's just what I want. Because this game pushes the pedal of fun from the very beginning, rarely letting up before the end credits roll while sprinkling charm all over the place like it's confetti on New Years. Whether or not you've played the prequel, you'll want to experience Okamiden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best third party DS game ever.

posted by EmoChips (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Disclaimer: More enjoyment is taken from the game if you are familiar with Okami, but it is NOT necessary.

The good:

-The graphics: For a DS game, the Zelda games have already shown us that a cell-shaded-esque style can still look beautiful. And this game adds to the beauty.

-The celestial brush: That's the actual drawing that Okami is known for. The DS is the ONE console that Okami could work for flawlessly in this aspect, and like guessed it did.

- Chibiterasu: I'm a guy. And even I find myself laughing and d'aaaww-ing at how cute Chibiterasu is.

-The humor: has some cute chibi humor. Pretty much Zelda but with more humor.

The size: for a DS game, this is pretty big.

-The length: I'm a good 8 hours into the game and still believe I have a way to go before ending. This is GREAT for a handheld game.

-The partner system: Since Chibi is young, he actually requires a partner to be able to succeed in temples. This is awesome as every partner is likable in their own way. Plus there's a shtick in the game where every one gives Chibi an insulting-like name [like mutt, pooch, and squiddie for example].

The Bad:

-Not as epic as the first one: while the game is freaking awesome, it is true what they say that when compared to the original, it doesn't shine as bright. Again, it doesn't mean by any means that it's bad.

The Ugly:

-Engrish: Once in a while there is an error in the speech bubbles that those who usually spell horribly might not notice, but those with an above average understanding of grammar will. Nothing big, and it's a rare occurrence.

tl;dr: The game is great, the best third party action adventure I have played in the DS, and definitely deserves at the least a rent.

Final Score: 9/10

Buy/Rent- Personally with games of this style I just give them a rent as once they are beaten I don't tend to play them again. But if you're someone who buys the Zelda games, this is definitely a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okamiden is fun.

posted by cloakXdagger (OMAHA, NE) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I really enjoyed the artistry, music and gameplay. This game really uses the DS touch-screen well. Very similar to Okami on Wii, but still fun on its own. Unfortunately do to work constraints I'll never have time to finish, but I put in about 6 hours and felt like I was only getting started. Likely to buy this in the future if I find it at a good price. Worth a rental at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami-Den is Better than the first

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Okami was a great game, espacilly the Wii Version. The game focuses on Okami Chibiterasu, son of Okami Amaterasu. This game has a greter influece on children, focusing on children the entire game. Many characters from the previous game appear, like Shiranui, Nagi, Susano, Kushi , and even Mr.Orange. The game mentions and has cameos of Waka, and Amaterasu, but only during select cutscenes. The game will have you cheering and crying till the very end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool!!!

posted by temarifangirl12 (SUMNER, WA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A whole lot of fun

posted by raptor288 (NAMPA, ID) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

I think this is a great game. I cannot remember the last time I played a DS game as fun as this one. The characters each have unique personalities. I really love the music because the songs match well with any mood and event, and they're pretty relaxing too. The gameplay and storyline had really got me hooked; I literally spent at least 7 hrs playing and sometimes even more. To tell the truth, I haven't played the original Okami, but this game has made me want to try it out badly! I think Okami Den is a real work of art. I would recommend this game for players who are looking for something unique and full of epic Japanese mythological adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Okamiden Review

posted by destructor_290 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is a good sequel to the origonal Okami,but I managed to beat in a week. It is fun,and the graphica are works of art but you spend too much time reading text boxes.Reccomend it for more patient people.I give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game BUT...

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) Aug 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

First off why did we only get this game on the ds? Lame!!! This game was good but i truly thought i was playing the original OKAMI!! with a few different scenes.. Its very easy though and it moves quite fast and steady so you dont really get bored.. Really thought they could of made it better with a completey new story and concept.. Meh wasnt blown away but it was worth renting once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you loved Okami, you'll enjoy Okamiden.

posted by LemmaNADE (DENVER, CO) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I didn't play all the way through the game due to my work schedule, but I decided to buy it and I'm looking forward to completing the game.

I feel that because I am biased toward Okami for PS2 I can't give a completely honest review, but it is a fun game that really works well on the DS. I would recommend that even if you aren't familiar with Okami that you give this game a shot if you're looking for something beautiful, original, and relaxing to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good enough

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

A worthy sequel to "Okami". It has fewer things to do, and it's smaller and less epic in scope than its predecessor, but it's still an enjoyable adventure. The brush mechanics work almost flawlessly now that we can actually draw on the touchscreen, the graphics and music are lovely, and the characters are very likable. Of course, it doesn't convey the same sense of freshness and innovation that the original "Okami" did; "Okamiden" is very much more of the same (there aren't even any new brush powers introduced). Still, if you got a kick out of "Okami", it's likely you'll enjoy this latest quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A marvelous, adorable and unforgetable adventure.

posted by HLarge4 (WOONSOCKET, RI) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2010

Okamiden might be the easiest review I've ever had to write and can be summed up in one simple word. Cute.
Of course, that wouldn't make for a very informative review, so lets dive in.
Before you're even handed control the world's art style will invoke awe and admiration. It's beautiful use of thick "caligraghy" paintlines, soft water colors and dazzling nature scenes will captivate effortlessly. The world feels massive, and its a wonder to behold on the small, ageing DS system. The characters all act and speak with charisma and our titled hero's sideways stares and animated emotions translate powerfully to the player. You will fall in love with the world of Okamiden.
Exploration is done in a more linear style than most adventure types. Paths that were once closed open with new abilities, but the door rotates in one direction for much of the game. You'll be able to revisit the early points of the game later on, to get those last few treasures, but it can be painful to final unlock the brush skill needed to get at the one treasure chest, and repeatedly be refused access to the area of the map its in.
Its all temporary though, and your soon filling out your collections and finding the hidden artifacts that litter ancient Nippon's mystical hillsides and beaches.
The story is standard fare, with corrupting evils polluting the land and only you as the reincarnated sun god's child to restore order. But its pulled off with so much good spirit that you won't care if it feels been-there-done-that ish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT!!!.......could be better.

posted by torreepi (OLALLA, WA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Well while ill have to agree with many people, this game is great all around. But like every great game,there are its flaws. Lets start with the controls, there good but there's just something about them that makes my hands hurt. Next, the puzzles, while there fun and amusing it justs holds your hand too much. But other than that its a great game. Ill give this one 7.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okamiden 10 out of 10

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Okamiden has a great art direction and lovable characters. Who ever likes Japenese culture this is the game for you. With a great story line, places you'll never forget, children of the characters for Okami, this is my favorite game for the DS.

10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The legend of the child of the sun

posted by paulN8R (CONCORD, CA) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

Not bad, not bad at all. Most of the god children were really cute. The ending was satisfiying and a bit of a tearjurker; I get all choked up just thinking about it, although it would have been nice to see chibi reunited with ammy. A very nice touch is that they reused some sounds from the first game(i.e. the cherry bomb sfx, galestorm sfx, etc.). Although, sometimes I didn't really need my partner's help or he/she just sucked at helping. Other than that, good game all around. Just one question; will there be a third game telling us about kuni's travels?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!

posted by red_dog1032 (DULUTH, MN) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i got this game to slow down from my normal shooter games thinking this game may be a bit too slow due to being rated e10+ unlike okimi, but when it came and i played it, i got hocked on it! I LOVE IT!!!!! ever since i got the game ive been doing art on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best DS or DSi game ever

posted by TheGamer298 (AZUSA, CA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

When Okami came on the scene, i had never seen anything like it. the amazing graphics, incredible music, and Awesome gameplay make the okami game too good to describe. And now its been redone for the ds to be the succesor son to the okami game. question: does this game deliever? Answer: yes, it exceeds expectations dont rent this game, buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, But Doesn't Quite Stand Up to the Original

posted by niccea (NORTHLAKE, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game was overall, oddly familiar. It has most of the same characters and places just with different enemies. The northern country, Taka Pass, and most of the S. Ryoshima coast have been removed from the game, however the run time doesn't seem to suffer since there is still plenty to do in the locations that are still there. (And they added a couple more to make up from it)
Since this is the DS, the stylus serves as the paint brush. I played the original on the PS2, so I noticed some pros and cons to the stylus. The stylus is a little more accurate to draw with, but the accuracy is needed because the game is more reactive to it. Before you could get away with a lopsided or imperfect circle with extra lines poking out. In this game, if your circle doesn't close correctly, you might not get the power you want end end up using Galestorm rather than Sunrise. I had more trouble then I remembered from the original in using certain spells.
The game itself has been cleaned up a lot (as you can see from the E 10+ rating instead of a T). Though I don't know what exactly has changed other than a little less innuendo from the original. The graphics really didn't change between the two which is what I was impressed by. They didn't quite have the same painted look, but it was very close for a hand held.
The plot is pretty similar in elements to the original and rather straight forward. There are even some flashbacks from the original game. I feel that there were some cheesy/over done elements of the plot, but not enough to make me stop playing the game. I also feel that the ending drew out a little too long.
All and all, not a bad game to play and it makes me miss playing the original. (And since some things are the same, there was a sense of deja vu throughout the game) It also leaves plenty of room open for another installation to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »