Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3281 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

abominable motion controls

posted by regularshowman Aug 3, 2014

Get this game on the PS2, because at least on that the wii-mote didn't constantly punch you with horrifically unresponsive controls, and brush strokes that need to be so precise that even when you DO preform it near perfectly it won't register! I constantly found myself getting in God knows how many positions to see which one would actually let me get the stroke right, and when you have to use the power slash, heh, well God have mercy on your soul!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An acquired taste

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I'd heard a lot of hype about this game but to be honest it wasn't anything special. Another downside is also something meant to be an upside and that's the wii remote. The brush requires accuracy but the wii remote is far from perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredible Game!!!

posted by gamejerk13 (KENNEWICK, WA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since May 2013

Okami is an incredible game! I love how it uses Japanese lore and mythology. My only problem, the controls with some of the weapons are a tad faulty, save for the beads. But still, it is an awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disgusting port

posted by Sockplay (GOLDSBORO, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I don't how this game get high reviews. Honestly I couldn't stomach more than 15 minutes of this. My largest complaint is the "speech effect" that goes with every syllable of text a character is saying. That was just too annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story and Art but..

posted by ElectricAngel (MADISON, GA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I absolutely love the story and art that would be rated an Excellent. But the 2nd game for the DS is better, the reason why: Because it was on the DS. I say this because of the way you fight, you draw horizontal lines through your opponent which is much easier to do through the DS. Also In the 2nd game you are able to use your weapon with out a limited time. The only problem i have is the fighting,it is difficult and quite frustrating. All in All though it's a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beautiful game, terrible controls

posted by sugacube (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Pretty graphics great story blah blah blah: a game isn't worth playing if the "game" part is a constant frustration. I think the best evidence for my case is the /Nintendo/ Power review (the lowest score on Metacritic) which said, "You should play the original [PS2] game instead of the Wii version if you can."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, Great on the PS2

posted by SeaFang (DELTA, CO) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I first played this game on the PS2 and I simply loved it so I decided to try it on Wii. However, I was dissapointed as I found the motion controlls hard to work with. I still love this game but when I play it again I will play it on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game hampered by bad motion controls

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I have not played this on the PS2, but I can tell you right now that if you have an opportunity to play this without motion controls, do it. If you have a PS3, rent the HD version thats coming out, because, holy wow, the controls can be frustrating.

Visually, this game is beautiful. It looks like a moving painting. The story and characters are charming. The gameplay and game flow is incredible. It feels like and plays like a Zelda game.

The combat is great, when you aren't using Celestial Brush techniques.

Now, anyone who hasn't played this yet, Okami has one major gameplay element that other games do not, and that is using the Celestial Brush to alter/affect the environment. For example, you can paint the sun in the sky to make it day, you can draw a quick horizontal line to cut stuff down, you can draw bombs, make trees bloom, etc.

This is all well and fine, and most of the time its great.

But then, every so often you get to a point where the controls just DON'T LISTEN. You can draw what looks like a wind symbol over and over, and for some reason, 8 times out of 10 it won't perform the action. Then randomly it'll do it no problem. It's got to be the motion control.

And here's my issue with that. The Wii is not super precise. Even with Motion Plus it's not perfect. Okami requires so much precision in all the brush techniques that it becomes mind numbingly frustrating.

For example, someone decided to include these minigame levels where you have to dig to the bottom of this course while simultaneously guiding an NPC to safety. All of this is timed. What's more, is that all of this requires constant use of the brush. Normally, the brush pauses time. Nope. Not the case here. The clock still ticks while you draw. Also, if you run out of ink, it takes a solid 5 seconds to recharge. So the STUPID NPC walks into clear and visible hazards. I almost rage quit countless times from having to re do the same level over because the sensor couldn't pick u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okami

posted by furryguy (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

It's not the average shoot 'em up, high graphics online type of game, it's a laid back, use some skills and look epic, type of game. the best part of this game is using the brush strokes, pausing in mid air, doing some kind of combo attack or blocking right when they bad guy is going to attack, the story line itself is awesome and enterntaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hmmm

posted by ecruz6 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

not as great as i thought. fighting technique with the brush is too difficult. too much narration. kinda perverted characters. just don't expect anything zelda like here. awkward camera settings too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's just the Graphics

posted by PaSe65711 (MOUNTAIN GROVE, MO) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The only reason I am giving this game an 8 out of 10 is because I just didn't like the overall graphic set up. The game play is decent I just couldn't get past the papery cartoon look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by Akumaken (JACKSON, TN) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

First off, i played the one for the PS2 until the console died on me. I love the game on the PS2 and found it very entertaining and puzzles very fun. I really thought that Nintendo did a good job with it on the Wii, but I found the controls very awkward and hard to use. I don't know know if it is just me still getting used to the Wii control design, but I found it hard to play with the way that is was set up. The game itself, i would give it a 6/10. For the Wii design (controls and what-not), I would give it a 4/10. but I am more used to having two joysticks (one for movement and one for camera controls) and the fact that they make you reach across the map of the controller to go from your camera button to your canvas button. It would be better if Nintendo programed the controls to side-to-side movements with the remote and the attack to the Nun chuck add-on like Link's shield in Skyward Sword. Good title on the system if you can get passed the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by vyckee13 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I thought that this game was one of the best games I have ever played!!! ( no joke) I love the visual effect in this game, and how the game just keeps going! It's funny how the characters talk in the game. Also the story at the beginning ( Was SO long) really got to you. You really have to pay attention when it's telling you the story because it's telling you who your character is and what you have to fight at the end. =';'=

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okami is okay

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game is fun until you get to the end, the main problem with the game is the no check book for side-quests, unlike majoras mask. the characters look the same the just suck. the reflector /glaive are not ment for the Wii. The game is not better than all the zelda games combined. overall the is okay but I wasted a month playing with stupid mini-games and idiotic side-quests, with perverted game programers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OKAMI FOR THE WII IS ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING

posted by jacquel (LA PORTE, TX) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

IVE PLAYED A LITTLE OF OKAMI FOR THE PS2 AND I DID LIKE IT.
SO I DECIDED TO RENT FULL GAME FOR MY NEW WII, WITH HIGH HOPES.

BIG MISTAKE.

THE CONTROLS AIMING WITH THE WII REMOTE IS THE REASON I PERSONALLY HATE THIS GAME OR MAYBE I HATE THE WII TOO.

I WAS ASKED TO DRAW A SIMPLE STRAIGHT LINE ACROSS AND AFTER MY 50TH TRY I CURSED AND GOT SO FRUSTRATED.

MY ADVISE IS RENT THIS GAME ON THE PS2
OR NOT AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

okami

posted by whiteshadow (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I didn't like this game play for like 1mint i stop. I recomment not to rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I don't see it

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I rented this game because I heard such good reviews on it. I heard it was just like Zelda and it has such a unique style of visuals and gameplay and puzzles, but I simply don't have the urge to play any further. I will give this game credit for its art style, it is very nice to look at and looks like you're being put in the center of a Japanese myth. And I like the idea of the celestial brush, it's creative and original. So on paper this game sounds cool, but there's a consistant monotone of boringness. Basically picture Zelda, only made up completely of exploring towns and talking to people. Puzzles are pretty scarce, and when you do find them you finish them in a few seconds. And once in a blue moon you'll get to fight some enemies, but it's over within 30 seconds. Not only that, the attack system feels really awkward at first. You warm up to it eventully, but that's irrelevant. It's one thing when you try to copy something as magnificent as Zelda, but it's another thing entirely when you don't make it as good. Zelda is just one of those once in a lifetime masterpieces that you can't recreate, like the Halloween movies. In a nutshell, this game seems like a decent attempt to copy off of Zelda, but somehow lacks that extra push that makes it as enjoyable as Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by Ricochet (PARK CITY, UT) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Though this game may look and seem old, it was one of the best wii games I have ever played (besides The Legened Of Zelda Twilight Princess) and I recommend it to EVERYONE.

I had so much fun going through the life of Ammy, that I began to feel like I was her, which is weird but very true.

It was difficult getting the brush motions down, and frustrating when they didn't work, but other then that the game was top notch when it came to controlling the wii remote.

All the characters had their own personallity and seemed to come alive even though they were only on the screen and I enjoyed talking to each individual till they ran out of things to say and began to repeat themselves.

Some of the bosses do repeat themselves and I found that I actually yelled at the TV when I had to fight Orochi THREE TIMES over in the exact same style which was....Kinda laaaame; they were also very easy to beat if you had Execute Slip L because they would blow away any Demon in a heartbeat and I found myself using those more then anything else and was kind of bummed when I ended up running out on the last level.

Just for the record I almost cried at the scene where Issun and Ammy parted ways because of how loyal they both were to each other and the bounds they had formed.

I also thought Waka was going to turn out to be the last boss for various reasons but in the end he'd grown on me and I loved how he came to Ammy's rescue against Yami.

ANNNNYWHO, this game is a must play for everyone. =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A unique adventure

posted by mhendon (Missoula, MT) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami is truly a beautiful game with a unique art style, a fitting music score, an epic story and memorable (if sometimes annoying) characters. This is the only game I've played that is enhanced by the use of the wii remote. Okami is huge. It took me about 45 hours to explore every nook and cranny and that was with a guide. I enjoyed every minute, as well as the extra art work that came after beating the game.

The only things that detract from this game is that the exposition can sometimes be overly long or repetitious. Some of the battles have the same problem. Lastly, the game sometimes doesn't get what you're trying to draw, leading to some minor frustration. Other than that, gameplay is smooth and enjoyable. I strongly recommend this game.

P.S. The teen rating is no joke. Despite the whimsical art style, there is a smidge of blood, and a smidge of nudity (bare buttocks mostly.) The violence is less disturbing than your saturday morning cartoon however, and a true death is handled seriously with a gravitas that I think is missing from a lot of games. I'd have no qualms about letting a child of mine play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, Bad Port

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I Played this game on the Playstation 2 when it came out. It was a great game with a cool art style and fun paint gameplay. This version however is not as good as the original. First of all attacking is done by swinging the wii remote. For anone who has played a wii game like this (The Force Unleashed) you know how unresponsive it can be. Some games manage to pull it off (Twilight Princess) but for this one it doesn't even make sence. If the caracter doesn't cary a sword then there is no need to make the game more imersive by swinging the controller like one. I know you do get a sword in the game but the controlls still don't fit the character. Another big problem with this game is the painting is done with the pionter. This sounds like a good idea but i found it to be much too dificult to simply draw a straight line and have it regester. I may be the only one with this problem though and you may find it easier. Other than the bad motion controls this is a great game. If you only have a wii than you should rent this game. If not try to get the PS2 version simply for better controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

im lazy so no long review trust me if u like or LOVE Zelda get it and if u havnt played zelda (U SHOULD!) and want a good story game and a funny game then....Get It! if u dont have a wii or hate pointing at tv then get it for PS2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the PS2

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I love this game! For me the Wii version of this is better than the PS2. Why? Here are the reasons:

1.) Better graphics: The PS2 just has bad graphics compared to the Wii. The Wii is clearer than any other system.

2.) How the pointer is used: The Wii's pointer is used for brush techniques and has better control than the PS2 joystick.

3.) Better for fighting: Now the PS2 controller just has buttons and joysticks. With looking at the screen for gameplay and using controls for the PS2, sometimes I forget where each button is (BELIEVE ME)!

Both have the same story and plot. With the reasons that I have, rent the Wii version than the PS2. But if you want to rent both versions to see which one you like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best adventure game

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this is by far one of the best games i have ever played it is an adventure game like zelda more like twilight princess only bad thing about this game is that it is hard personally i think it is harder and funner than zelda only bad thing it has a simple combat system but if you like any zelda game give okami a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, extremely well done, but not for me.

posted by NTACos (HERNDON, VA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

It's a good game obviously. Graphics and art are superb. Gameplay is good, but controls could be more self-evident or taught overtly within the game.

Although it's a very adult game in theme, it's written like a game only a 10 year old would have time to actually play enough to get into it. Too complicated - too many places to get stuck early on.

If you're a gifted gamer or have the time of a 10 year old on your hands, you'll be able to get more out of this than I did - and I still rate it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by 1234565 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

This was a great game. I was VERY sad when I had to send it back after I finished it. The game had great art and music. I loved the characters too...even Issun!!! Okami has a well developed story so you can't 100% it in 1 day. It takes more like a couple weeks or even months! If you don't think you'll like this game check out Chuggaaconroy's channel on Youtube. He did a complete play through of it. If you like the Zelda series, you'll probably like this game. Again, Excellent game. 10000000000000000000000000000000000/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse