Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

slightly disappointing

posted by Rorschack (PATTERSON, CA) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

back when okami came out ion the ps2 it was an absolutely brillant game, sadly not that many actually knew of it's exsistance. this new wii version will definitely get more people to play it, however it's controls are nowhere compared to the original. Take the fighting mechanics for example, you have to swing the wii-mote in order to attack, that doesn't sound so bad right, but most of the attacks won't register so you may be flailing for quite a while and you will only actually attack 3 or 4 times. The idea of using the wii-mote for the brush techniques also sounds like a good idea however more often then not, for me anyways, i'll be trying to do the cut attack then it will make the onscreen brush jump up or down midstroke. or ,for example, when i got to the part when you first unlock the bomb skill i tried to draw the bomb however the brush kept jumping and it ended up as some wierd spikey "Q". Overall this game is nothing but a cheap immitation of the original ps2 title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interactive art at it's finest

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Since it's humble origins, several titles have sought to elevate video games to a true art form. Okami is one of those games. It's a game that redefines how the mainstream sees the medium.
Just the visual appeal should prove that point. It's like a living Japanese calligraphy painting. All the flourishes and effects keep the spirit of this visual style. Similarly, sound design has a far eastern flare that sets an appropriate mood.
Gameplay might remind you of the Zelda series, which is a good thing. However, Okami has some surprises that keeps the gameplay fresh. Upgrading abilities and weapons and training in new abilities are noteworthy features that add some light role-playing elements to the game. But the big thing about this game is the brush. With a quick hit of the B button, your screen will freeze and reveal a calligraphy brush. Using the A button, you can use the Wiimote to draw symbols. Some of these reveal secrets, some helps you reach new areas, some solve puzzles and some help you fight off the nasty enemies you'll encounter. By the end of the game, you'll use your brush strokes to control wind, fire, water, lightning and all the power of plants. These techniques are surprisingly easy to pull off, although sometimes the game gets it wrong. This is usually when you're trying to draw a line from one point to another. Overall, it works quite well.
The journey of goddess wolf Amaterasu is quite long. Easily over 30 hours long, the game never feels boring or repetitive and gives you plenty to keep you coming back. One thing that will likely bother you is the amount of text you'll need to read and the frequency of cutscenes. It has a tendency to break up the streamlined gameplay.
Minor quibbles aside, the game is a wonderful piece of digital technology. You owe it to yourself to play Okami.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like Zelda games you will like this.

posted by TeePea298 (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007


There is not much to say for the graphics of this game. But this game plays like a Zelda game and I enjoying playing though this game. Using the Wiimote you need to draw specific brush techniques. Sometimes these techniques do not work do to the way you hold the Wiimote but whatever its still a good game.

Great battles, adventure, and puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE IT

posted by Popofish (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Alright Okami I get it you're a good game, in fact your hitting the ledge of greatness, the only problem is that you're unappreciated and seldom played by the masses. So what do you do, you re-release yourself with updated controls,
hi-gher resolution visuals, and wide screen support on the 2nd fastest selling gaming console of all time,Wii. Okami made this transition so well that it was like playing a completely different, and for the most part, better game.
Your combat takes a lot of getting used to, but used to it I got,juggling, parrying, and annhilating everything in the batlle zone, and your IR Celestial Brush can get a little aggravating sometimes, but I was able to pull off attacks so quickly that the I ran out of ink in seconds. But you are a must play kind of game your so unique and creative even though your structure is similar to that of a Zelda title, you make it your own. With 16 different weapons increasing in power at every step, and hudreds of different items, treasures, and things to do; you are without a doubt on of my favoriite games. An Absolutely Fantastic Game in the "censored word" Filled Sea of Games on Wii. I can't wait for the inevitable sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worser Then Gitaroo Man

posted by FarFarAway (MELBOURNE BEACH, FL) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

this game stinks its the worst thing possible ever and its dumb you have to attack using some ink or something it is really a bad game and i cant believe it got a 8.0 rating from people because i seriosuly do not like it so anybody who is a fan of grand theft or those fighting games you would not like this at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best for the Wii

posted by TehGar (AKRON, OH) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Okami is basically a Zelda game with some major differences. It is more or less a dungeon adventure game with a top world. All creatures have a few strategies that work, and they mix & match the creatures to add toughness to the game. The game length is also comparable to a Zelda game, and Im nearing the end at around 32 hours of gameplay, including some running around and looking for goodies. This game is very unique and the story is fun and interesting.

Now no game is perfect, and every game has some low points, so I'll point those out.

First, this game tends to tell you EXACTLY what to do. I sort of wish there was an option for this. You walk into a room with a puzzle, a generic example would be if theres 4 platforms you have to jump up to get a key, and then a lock, it will pan the camera up each platform to the key, and then zoom down to the lock showing you EXACTLY what to do. After that, your companion will spell it out for you in case you didnt get the first hint. I Sort of like solving my own puzzles, but every now and then they actually let you.

Second. Like many games for the Wii this one takes a lot of precision with the Wii-mote. One tip for games like this is that you have to find a very sweet spot for your sensor bar. Drawing shapes in Okami can seem very difficult, especially the slash power you start off with. But with a little practice it isn't that difficult.

Overall I don't see these two minuses as any hindrance to the game itself which is very fun to play, I believe this game should earn a 10 as if I am willing to say its as fun as any Zelda game, then I better back it up with a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't believe the hype

posted by Yoyosoul (MARIETTA, GA) May 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

This version of the game is awful. The game frequently had trouble registering controller movement, drawing with the wimote was difficult, and there isn't any new content. Overall this game isn't worth playing let alone renting. Either skip it or get the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!

posted by redsandman (HELOTES, TX) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

this is one of the best games I ever played on the Wii. Its got action, adventure, humor, awesome levels, good music, lovable characters, good story etc. The list goes on and on. With 30 hours of game play you cant complain about the length, and the difficulty is just great, you'll hardly ever get frustrated. All around great game, you should definitely buy this game or rent it. Put it at the top of your game Q because you cant miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami Wii Review

posted by n1njaaces (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is simply stunning. If you are a fan of Zelda, or even games like Metroid, hopefully you have already experienced this game on the PS2 a few years back. If not, do yourself a favor and buy this game!!!
An awesome story about life and peace. A nice change from the usual blow this up and shoot here scheme. It's fun with a great moral, and a few innuendos here and there for the adult audiences. I give this game a 10, for originality, art, and the new innovative use of the Wii controller scheme. (a little buggy every now and then, but not enough to change my rating.)
With Clover gone, I can only hope that there may be an Okami 2 on the way in the future!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simple, Fun, and Engaging

posted by Sertasheep (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

If I had to sum Okami up into one word it would be "colorful". I've only played the Wii version of this game, but I can say that the Wiimote works very well in this game and does not feel like a "gimmick".

The story is detailed and beautiful along with the music and sounds that accompany the game. The game has a way of pulling you into its world. It's an easy game to be caught up in.

I do have some minor gripes that do not take too much away from the game. No voiceover, but there is this little bug noise while you read the text like they're talking (maybe in Japanese or in a Sims-like language?). Next, some of the actions with the brush can be frustrating, ex. the power slash. I KNOW I did it properly, but it doesn't register. Lastly, it appears as a little blurry on my 50 inch TV, but I do still have the basic cables for my Wii. I do wish they made the paint brush strokes not as thick as it appears on my screen. Overall, these minor issue only take the game a slight notch down to 9 from 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

okami

posted by eradgeraby (HARVEST, AL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since May 2006

this is the best wii game yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Confusing at first, but turned out to be great

posted by mjones71 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

At first this game sort of turned me off, and I actually did not play it for a couple of days. After I picked it up and started playing again, the game turned out to be great. It has a great artistic style to it, and very good gameplay. The only complaint I have is that if you have a standard TV, it is actually kind of blurry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okamination!!!!

posted by Koodii2971 (SELLERSBURG, IN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is awesome, from what I have played so far, I have already decided to buy it, I love the unique look they use on the game, it is quite detailed and the motion controls on the game run smoothly. I have nothing bad to say about this game I guess you could say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not perfect, but beautiful and engaging

posted by Tanukichan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Despite certain design flaws which border on the user-unfriendly, Okami is a beautiful and engaging adventure. I only play about one Wii game a month now, and at times question my decision to stand in the rain at 4 am to buy one when it was first released. However, occasionally, a game like Okami is released (although a PS2 port) that instantly gets my attention and keeps it. The opening story had me in tears, literally (though I must admit being slightly drunk.) The game play is reminiscent of Twilight Princess, but the art style is soft and unique. The game will try your patience at times, but it deserves your patience, and ultimately, if you play games for novelty and for story, you will be rewarded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by Peppironi (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

I bought it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse